Infamous GAA moments

How can we of a certain age ever forget this(and especially Donegal folk) ----the penalty that never was in a National league semi final -Donegal v Galway. I think the year was 1967, if so almost 50 years ago.
Donegal were awarded a penalty , Neilly Gallagher of GWEEDORE went to take it, the wind moved the ball from the spot, N G replaces the ball on the spot and in doing so is deemed by the ref ( I think Eamonn Moules of Wicklow) to have fouled the ball and so Galway got a free out
Donegal did not get to take the penalty and I think were beaten by three points.
Can anyone help me on this as I'd like to refresh the story as I kinda forget some of it.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 07/06/2016 19:36:18    1863105

Replying To runnerin:  "A lot of Mayo people seem to forget that it was Anthony Finnerty started that row and it was Pat McEnaney that sent Liam McHale off and not any of the Meath lads so ye might want to direct your fatwa elsewhere!!!!"
I know rightly. The ref 'sending off the wrong man' is just a good excuse for us losing.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7373 - 07/06/2016 19:36:56    1863106

Offaly 1998 hurling all ireland champions. The first team ever to win having being beaten x2 in the same year.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 07/06/2016 19:38:37    1863107

triple "assault" on shane mcCabe . monaghan v Fermanagh. which he deserved 3 straight reds.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 07/06/2016 19:40:18    1863108

John Finn '85.

http://m.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/the-gaas-greatest-whodunnit-26371137.html

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7373 - 07/06/2016 19:40:26    1863110

Fermanagh beating Meath by a point and the Mayo ref celebrating it at the end was one the strangest things I have seen..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 07/06/2016 19:47:03    1863117

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Fermanagh beating Meath by a point and the Mayo ref celebrating it at the end was one the strangest things I have seen.."
Seriously? Surely someone has a vid on You Tube !

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7373 - 07/06/2016 19:49:27    1863118

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Fermanagh beating Meath by a point and the Mayo ref celebrating it at the end was one the strangest things I have seen.."
Ye, cause that happened.........Would ya give over.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 07/06/2016 20:27:26    1863148

Philip Jordan diving in 03 final to get Marsden sent off. Tiernan McCanns dive against us.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 07/06/2016 20:30:35    1863155

Replying To waynoI:  "Ye, cause that happened.........Would ya give over."
Ask any Meathman who was at the game.I am Deadly serious.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 07/06/2016 20:34:14    1863164

The Cork boys heading off to get the train in the league final extra time leaving Dublin on the field

showforit (Meath) - Posts: 156 - 07/06/2016 20:51:49    1863186

The Meath man who jumped for joy and kissed his friends wife in front of me after Brian Farrell scored the fifth goal against the Dubs in 2010 and then forgot to stop kissing her, even though his friend and said woman's husband was the other side of her, was a fairly infamous moment in my mind. The look on the husbands face was enough for me to think they didn't stop in the Cat and Cage for a pint on the way home!!!

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 07/06/2016 21:08:00    1863203

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Ask any Meathman who was at the game.I am Deadly serious."
Probably be more surprising if he didn't celebrate. Should have waited until he was back in his changing room though.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 07/06/2016 21:22:38    1863218

Replying To Richieq:  "The Meath man who jumped for joy and kissed his friends wife in front of me after Brian Farrell scored the fifth goal against the Dubs in 2010 and then forgot to stop kissing her, even though his friend and said woman's husband was the other side of her, was a fairly infamous moment in my mind. The look on the husbands face was enough for me to think they didn't stop in the Cat and Cage for a pint on the way home!!!"
It's as well Meath didn't score a sixth!!!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 07/06/2016 21:26:15    1863222

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Ask any Meathman who was at the game.I am Deadly serious."
Was it Mike 'Jimmy' Daly?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7373 - 07/06/2016 21:33:26    1863235

Was at a league match back in the day in Tuam between Galway and Mayo. A bit of a row broke out on the field and as if it was choreographed supporters came from all four sides and invaded the pitch. People were milling about and looking sheepish as if to say what the f*** are we doing here? The ref abandoned the match and Galway, who were leading by about twenty points at the time, were awarded the game. It was a surreal experience as the pitch invasion made absolutely no sense. And yes I was one of the eejits and I still can't figure why.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 07/06/2016 21:37:09    1863240

The dog on the pitch during 2004 international rules

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 07/06/2016 21:46:40    1863247

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "It's as well Meath didn't score a sixth!!!"
lol!!!!!!!

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 07/06/2016 21:50:34    1863252

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Was it Mike 'Jimmy' Daly?"
Honestly can't remember but it was a 2004 qualifier in Enniskillen.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 07/06/2016 21:51:16    1863253

Replying To SamOnErrigal:  "How can we of a certain age ever forget this(and especially Donegal folk) ----the penalty that never was in a National league semi final -Donegal v Galway. I think the year was 1967, if so almost 50 years ago.
Donegal were awarded a penalty , Neilly Gallagher of GWEEDORE went to take it, the wind moved the ball from the spot, N G replaces the ball on the spot and in doing so is deemed by the ref ( I think Eamonn Moules of Wicklow) to have fouled the ball and so Galway got a free out
Donegal did not get to take the penalty and I think were beaten by three points.
Can anyone help me on this as I'd like to refresh the story as I kinda forget some of it."
From memory (my Dad was at the game), Donegal were three points up when they got the penalty, and had they scored, it was most definitely game over. But I thought that the wind blew it off the spot once and the referee signaled it to be re-taken. Then it happened again, he went to replace the ball, and then the ref ordered a free out. I have a book at home somewhere written around 1990 called Catch and kick by Eoghan Corry which has a couple of pages on it. Must look for it next time I'm back in Ireland

petejoeduff (Donegal) - Posts: 329 - 07/06/2016 21:55:30    1863260