Selective condemnation

Calm down. I saw two Leitrim players punch Roscommon lads and not a peep..big deal it happens.

Tyrone by a mile have been the biggest target for grossly unfair condemnation.In fact their is an Anti Ulster brigade in the media that will always find faults with Tyrone and Donegal when they come down and beat the Dubs or Kerry.

Kerry are by far the dirtiest team in the last decade.They have ticked all the boxes and they seem to have a free licence for it and immunity from national condemnation. Mayo are the kings of simulation and are really pushing the boundries in this area with a massive free ratio. I find Dublin hard but fair along with the big 3 from Ulster.

salvador (Roscommon) - Posts: 439 - 06/06/2016 20:16:35    1862444

Replying To salvador:  "Calm down. I saw two Leitrim players punch Roscommon lads and not a peep..big deal it happens.

Tyrone by a mile have been the biggest target for grossly unfair condemnation.In fact their is an Anti Ulster brigade in the media that will always find faults with Tyrone and Donegal when they come down and beat the Dubs or Kerry.

Kerry are by far the dirtiest team in the last decade.They have ticked all the boxes and they seem to have a free licence for it and immunity from national condemnation. Mayo are the kings of simulation and are really pushing the boundries in this area with a massive free ratio. I find Dublin hard but fair along with the big 3 from Ulster."
Your spot on there regarding Tyrone

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 06/06/2016 20:30:46    1862460

Replying To Joxer:  "
Replying To extranjero:  "MDM received a left hook to his nose on Sat. He hadn't laid a hand on the Laois player.

That's nonsense, he was clearly interfering with the Laois lads run, who in turn was wound up and reacted stupidly. He got the line and if he gets a longer ban can't really complain. I'd argue it's more a case of the analysts on the Sunday Game having a bit of sense last night and not overreacting. On the other hand, the likes of Brolly or Spillane would have likely made a right storm of it.

(on a side note, perhaps the SG analysts moved on so they wouldn't have to explain MDM probably deserved a black card for his role in the incident?)"
Extrajnero you clearly don't know what you are talking about. You are claiming that MDM 'probably deserved a black'. For what exactly? I was about 15 feet away from that incident sitting in the main stand. The the two of them ran across each other that's all that was to it. The Laois player reacted with a left hook and may have broken the Dublin player's nose. Do you want to make anything else up about it seeing as though I presume you weren't there and obviously you don't know much about the contact before the punch as you are saying that it was 'probably a black card'? Laughable really."
Weather you like it or not interfearing with someone's run off the ball is a black card and that's exactly what happened. I also saw Laois players doing the same and ref letting it go. If it was enforced properly the game would eventually be a lot better it.

mrfox (Wexford) - Posts: 338 - 06/06/2016 20:41:01    1862468

Replying To extranjero:  "You'd have the culchie numb skills out in full force..
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts:15175 - 06/06/2016 19:05:48

Well done, you've really claimed the moral high ground with that statement."
You're better than that response Jim.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 06/06/2016 20:41:15    1862469

The Laois lad deserved to get sent off and he did. The Mayo lad deserved to get sent off but didn't. What are we supposed to do about it? Start a petition. Ring Joe Duffy. If they get suspended they will probably get the lawyers to the CCCC whatsits and get it overturned. As for Mayo being "the kings of simulation" I hope they simulate a bit more as we don't get half enough frees. Big Aido must have been missing the day they were getting lessons as he can't buy a f*****g free.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 06/06/2016 20:59:27    1862475

As all lads whoever played hurling can attest to,that sneaky,cowardly,innocuous looking jab of a hurley into the crown jewels,is the most painful injury a man can feel.I was on the receiving end once and couldn't walk straight for a week.That Mayo player deserved to be called out last night although it was brushed over fairly quickly.He should receive a nice ban,also.The genitals are a no go area.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts:4111 - 06/06/2016 16:59:49

100% cue, when it happened on Saturday funnily enough my da, whos 65 turned to me and said its the most cowardly act he's seen on a hurling pitch and if it had happened to him he'd happily take a year or 2 for whatever revenge he felt necessary.
I have to say I agree with him and isn't it ridiculous that we penalise and suspend players who pull faceguards yet let those who could break a rib and puncture a lung or do serious damage to the crown jewels are ignored.
Declan Coulter showed a serious amount of restraint and given he was the best player on the pitch at that time I also believe it was premeditated and not an off the cuff reaction which makes it worse. How that referee didn't see it...well he had to see it because he was only 10 /15 yards away from it!

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 07/06/2016 10:27:54    1862633

Replying To The_Fridge:  "
Replying To extranjero:  "You'd have the culchie numb skills out in full force..
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts:15175 - 06/06/2016 19:05:48

Well done, you've really claimed the moral high ground with that statement."
You're better than that response Jim."
The Fridge

For what it's worth it wasn't me who disliked your comment!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 07/06/2016 10:37:54    1862647

Replying To Malonemagic:  "Ah seriously. Last year when d connolly was punching lee keegan on the ground the dubs said you cant blame him when someone keeps pulling you back and checking your run. And they appealed it on a technicality. The only problem on saturday was michael dara should have gotten yellow. O gara hit munnelly a real nasty slap in face too. And mccarthy got away with blatant foot trip . Free was given but no black."
Connolly punched Keegan because he had him in a head lock last year. It was nothing to do with his runs getting blocked.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 07/06/2016 10:57:06    1862665

Replying To salvador:  "Calm down. I saw two Leitrim players punch Roscommon lads and not a peep..big deal it happens.

Kerry are by far the dirtiest team in the last decade.They have ticked all the boxes and they seem to have a free licence for it and immunity from national condemnation. Mayo are the kings of simulation and are really pushing the boundries in this area with a massive free ratio. I find Dublin hard but fair along with the big 3 from Ulster."
I agree with everything you said with the exception of passing a blind eye to the two Leitrim lads. For me a punch deserves a ban and anyone who does it can have no complaints.

I agree totally about Kerry, one of the dirtiest and most cynical teams to ever play the game. They have always been dirty and cynical. Only difference is the media refer to it as 'Cute Kerry Hooerism'.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 07/06/2016 11:00:43    1862668

Well this this topic has gone exactly were you'd expect , as predicted

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 07/06/2016 11:07:01    1862673

I know MDM struck a Portlaoise player Whelen in the Leinster Club Final and got away with it. Broke his jaw.

crikey (Australia) - Posts: 355 - 07/06/2016 11:08:13    1862675

Replying To crikey:  "I know MDM struck a Portlaoise player Whelen in the Leinster Club Final and got away with it. Broke his jaw."
Don't let the truth get in the way of that comment!!

http://www.sportsjoe.ie/gaa/video-portlaoise-player-recovering-from-broken-jaw-after-devastating-hit-from-michael-darragh-macauley/53739

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 07/06/2016 11:41:40    1862702

Replying To crikey:  "I know MDM struck a Portlaoise player Whelen in the Leinster Club Final and got away with it. Broke his jaw."
And yet.... he didn't strike him

Those 3 thumbs up you got for that lie.. is quite telling to boot.

Have you anything to add to Jackeens post?

Again.. all this rubbish.. is not addressing the point of this thread and really only goes top further enhance my point

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 07/06/2016 12:10:14    1862732

Good woman yourself!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 07/06/2016 12:10:39    1862733

Replying To gotmilk:  "Connolly punched Keegan because he had him in a head lock last year. It was nothing to do with his runs getting blocked."
The build up to the incident was Keegan kept blocking Connollys runs, The tangled on the ground and Connolly struck out, IMO both should have went like at weekend ref should have taken action again MDMA. On last years incident Cillian O'Connor struck Connolly twice in back of head while crying to linesman about Connolly and rececived no punishment either. ALL three should have got the line

Pingcity (Longford) - Posts: 568 - 07/06/2016 12:26:01    1862749

Didn't stike him, was a fair shoulder. Jackeen has posted the link below.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 07/06/2016 12:41:02    1862761

Replying To Pingcity:  "The build up to the incident was Keegan kept blocking Connollys runs, The tangled on the ground and Connolly struck out, IMO both should have went like at weekend ref should have taken action again MDMA. On last years incident Cillian O'Connor struck Connolly twice in back of head while crying to linesman about Connolly and rececived no punishment either. ALL three should have got the line"
I agree with you but of the three players I think Connolly would have felt most aggrieved to get the line.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 07/06/2016 13:02:51    1862771

if you asked ger lounghane,he'd probably say that hurling is a man's game or it was only a yellow card or he was trying to pull on the ball.....pun intended....

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 07/06/2016 13:47:15    1862811

Replying To perfect10:  "if you asked ger lounghane,he'd probably say that hurling is a man's game or it was only a yellow card or he was trying to pull on the ball.....pun intended...."
No he wouldn't.Ger Loughnane has always maintained the worst blow he ever got was the exact same jab into the genitals by Gerald McCarthy in the '78 or '79 Munster final.A Cork ball was going over the bar or wide and McCarthy did his dirty deed as Loughnane had his eyes on the sliotar.The most painful,cowardly act he ever got.Of course,it wasn't seen and nothing was done about it.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 07/06/2016 14:08:54    1862820

Replying To Joxer:  "
Replying To extranjero:  "MDM received a left hook to his nose on Sat. He hadn't laid a hand on the Laois player.

That's nonsense, he was clearly interfering with the Laois lads run, who in turn was wound up and reacted stupidly. He got the line and if he gets a longer ban can't really complain. I'd argue it's more a case of the analysts on the Sunday Game having a bit of sense last night and not overreacting. On the other hand, the likes of Brolly or Spillane would have likely made a right storm of it.

(on a side note, perhaps the SG analysts moved on so they wouldn't have to explain MDM probably deserved a black card for his role in the incident?)"
Extrajnero you clearly don't know what you are talking about. You are claiming that MDM 'probably deserved a black'. For what exactly? I was about 15 feet away from that incident sitting in the main stand. The the two of them ran across each other that's all that was to it. The Laois player reacted with a left hook and may have broken the Dublin player's nose. Do you want to make anything else up about it seeing as though I presume you weren't there and obviously you don't know much about the contact before the punch as you are saying that it was 'probably a black card'? Laughable really."
First off Joxer, if you were only "about 15 feet away" from the incident, I'd say it'd put you either on the sideline, maybe even the pitch, but not in the stand!

Secondly, you imply that my not being in attendance at the game excludes me from commenting on it. So by extension, are you suggesting anybody on this forum not in attendance at a specific match should not be allowed comment on it?

Next, you ask if I "want to make anything else up" about the incident. What specifically have I made up? Both players were running parallel to the sideline, O'loughlin cuts in diagonally and immediately MDM runs across him, tangling up in him and impeding his run, thereby preventing him from partaking in the Laois attack. You can see this from the camera behind the Dublin goal. What exactly have I made up here?

As I said before, O'Loughlin deservedly got the line, and if he gets a longer ban I'd have no sympathy. MDM, from what I could see (and a few others have agreed), could have got a black card for cynical play. And it's nothing against Dublin/MDM, if it was a player from Wexford, Antrim, Sligo, whoever, I'd say the same.

Finally, the topic here is "Selective condemnation".
I'd just like to know, has anyone read or heard from any media outlets in this case who covered the match and did NOT condemn the Laois player? Because all I've seen are pundits saying he deserved a red card.

extranjero (Wexford) - Posts: 375 - 07/06/2016 18:47:25    1863069