Nothing about Waterford v Clare?

Awful first half seen better juvenile games than this rubbish. Both teams with over 10 wides a piece - you can hope second half is better.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 05/06/2016 16:50:20    1861840

Replying To gotmilk:  "There's wides but they aren't coming from mistakes. Coming from pressure by opposition.I think it's a great game and both sides are going hammer and tongs at it."
Clare are having a nightmare with their shooting both from frees and open play. Waterford are slightly more accurate. Game can only improve in the second half and hopefully the crowd will wake up too.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 05/06/2016 16:51:08    1861842

Have to say Maurice Shanahan has fooled the ref twice in this game, holding onto his opponent's arm on the refs blind side and winning 2 frees that were pointed. But the most amazing thing of all is that Michael Duignan on commentary accepted the ref's decisions at face value. Unbelievable.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 05/06/2016 17:11:58    1861847

I must say i'm delighted that Waterford have won today.The league final defeat must have hurt badly.They could have wasted time sulking about the harsh loss,but it is a fantastic sign that Waterford put in such a disciplined,highly skilled performance today.

Clare are my All Ireland tip but there is no reason this Waterford team cannot brake their All Ireland famine.

I have seen two of the finest individual performances by Kevin Moran and the outrageously talented Austin Gleeson.We were all singing the praises of Tony Kelly and Austin Gleeson last week.Tony was nowhere to be seen today while the Waterford genius served up a masterclass in the arts of the game.A privilege to witness it.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 05/06/2016 17:37:33    1861851

The best team won. Waterford used the hurt from the League final defeat to drive on today. Clare were disappointing. They faded out of the 2nd half badly.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 05/06/2016 17:46:30    1861856

Replying To keeper7:  "The best team won. Waterford used the hurt from the League final defeat to drive on today. Clare were disappointing. They faded out of the 2nd half badly."
I thought it was more than just that. Colin Ryan will go straight back into the clare team for freetaking alone, I don't remember Mahony missing one.

In 2013 clare had McGrath in the full forward line ready to pounce. Now he is just lost in the congested middle third with Podge, Tony Kelly etc.

To me you play one of O'Donnell or Honan who feeds McGrath with Kelly and Collins bursting through from the wing forward line.

Conlon should be out on the half forward line winning the dirty ball with McGrath inside, not the other way around.

I watched Clare lose to Cork in Thurles last year and it was done to crazy tactics like this. All this talk about Clare's defensive system and short handing passing but Fitzgerald's inability to use his forwards properly is the big he's problem.

I've probably made the same point 3/4 times above but it's that obvious.

Now for Waterford. They started nervously despite scoring 1-1 so quickly. That should have settled them down.

Overall Waterford were very good and it looks like they know how to close a game out now. Tipp could learn a lot from the last 15 mins.

Somebody needs to tell Gleeson he is not superman. He overdoes it, he turned a goal chance into an Austin Gleeson point. If it was the lads in black in Amber you know it's a goal and that's the ultimate difference between contenders and champions.

I think Waterford are very strong and have a nice balance about them.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 05/06/2016 18:16:14    1861864

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "Have to say Maurice Shanahan has fooled the ref twice in this game, holding onto his opponent's arm on the refs blind side and winning 2 frees that were pointed. But the most amazing thing of all is that Michael Duignan on commentary accepted the ref's decisions at face value. Unbelievable."
:) Maurice fooled the ref a few times?? rewind the first half my friend, 4/5 frees, and commented on by panel, not given by fouling Maurice

juniorjudge (Waterford) - Posts: 383 - 05/06/2016 18:19:32    1861865

thought the best team won, the majority of lads from other counties that I have spoken too agree that Waterford were the better team in the two league finals too - Stephen O'Keeffe best goal keeper in the country by far, Gleeson potentially hurler of the year, Padraig Mahony back fully fit combined with the Goliath efforts put in by the other 12 players and squad players, Waterford have arrived as serious contenders, 2 very impressive seasons of hurling, they will be there or thereabouts on 04/09.

juniorjudge (Waterford) - Posts: 383 - 05/06/2016 18:23:35    1861866

Waterford by far the best team and I am delighted for them. Cyril Farrell name checked Kevin Moran as having a great game on the TV coverage. Will have to look at it again...all I can say is he was brutally bad in the first half -- hitting bad wides, taking wrong options etc. Obviously he improved hugely in the 2nd half to have got name checked... Waterford are a serious team and are on the shortlist for winning the All Ireland. Clare can go one of two ways -- fade away like in the past 2 years or regroup and be very serious contenders too.. Since they won't meet a team of any consequence in their next game I think they will regroup and will still be All Ireland contenders.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 05/06/2016 18:27:20    1861868

While it is fresh in my mind let me say

1. Well done Waterford! Ye were great today and I applaud your victory; and

2. I am hurting because I feel Clare are going to return to the nearly men days of the 70/80s.

Don't know what else to say really other than Clare had the game in their hands in ten first half but with hindsight it was over at that point when they didn't take their chances! I'm sure the anti Davy brigade will celebrate but today is a tough day for the real Clare fans not the ones who turn up to all Ireland finals!

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2479 - 05/06/2016 18:30:11    1861869

Replying To juniorjudge:  ":) Maurice fooled the ref a few times?? rewind the first half my friend, 4/5 frees, and commented on by panel, not given by fouling Maurice"
Im sure there are other things that I didn't see where Waterford were hard done by but I am 100% certain that Maurice Shanahan did fool the ref twice. I was watching the game with an Antrim and Meath man and they saw both incidents the same way as I did, without any suggestion from me! Delighted for Waterford today --- ye were the best team and ye really do deserve an All Ireland.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 05/06/2016 18:33:48    1861870

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "While it is fresh in my mind let me say

2. I am hurting because I feel Clare are going to return to the nearly men days of the 70/80s.

Don't know what else to say really other than Clare had the game in their hands in ten first half but with hindsight it was over at that point when they didn't take their chances! I'm sure the anti Davy brigade will celebrate but today is a tough day for the real Clare fans not the ones who turn up to all Ireland finals!"
the "anti Dave brigade" won't be out today cos he didn't play up to the cameras!! ~coming from Waterford man who didn't want him to go...facts are simple, he brings it on himself.

juniorjudge (Waterford) - Posts: 383 - 05/06/2016 18:39:05    1861872

Waterford were definitely the better team but it could have been much closer. McGrath will never have a game as bad again he missed so many handy scores for a player of his calibre. Clare depend on Tony Kelly and he was not as influential and Galvinwho was the best midfielder in the country hasn't hit the heights he was at pre America. Clare will be a team to be reckoned with when Conlon Cunningham and McInerney are fully fit. Honan wasn't really at the races either today I think he is suited to full forward with Shane O Donnell and McGrath working off them.

Waterford will be delighted their full back line was very strong and apart from an early chance by Reidy Clare rarely looked like getting a goal. Coughlan coped easily with O Donnell although I think he never gets frees when clearly being fouled. Think Shanahan pulled the Dessie Dolan trick in fouling himself and getting frees. Curran was poor and will need to be better especially if Waterford face Tipp, Bennett was poor also but senior championship will bring these lads on. Great to see O Mahony back aswel he wasn't fantastic but is very assured from frees. Thought since he didn't see much league action that he was well off but delighted to see him back. Brick and Moran are still two stalwarts for Waterford. Brick does so much unnoticed work and Moran is a trojan. I love these two players and would love them to win an All Ireland

dubshurling7 (Dublin) - Posts: 1017 - 05/06/2016 18:40:41    1861873

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "Im sure there are other things that I didn't see where Waterford were hard done by but I am 100% certain that Maurice Shanahan did fool the ref twice. I was watching the game with an Antrim and Meath man and they saw both incidents the same way as I did, without any suggestion from me! Delighted for Waterford today --- ye were the best team and ye really do deserve an All Ireland."
an antrim and a meath man???? replay or no replay!! I live in meath so well done the royals :)

juniorjudge (Waterford) - Posts: 383 - 05/06/2016 18:44:33    1861875

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "While it is fresh in my mind let me say

Don't know what else to say really other than Clare had the game in their hands in ten first half but with hindsight it was over at that point when they didn't take their chances! I'm sure the anti Davy brigade will celebrate but today is a tough day for the real Clare fans not the ones who turn up to all Ireland finals!"
Hard luck LRH. Davy's tactics are baffling to say the least though.

Colin Ryan has to start the next day to turn that dominance into scores from placed balls.

Bringing McInerney on as a forward was strange.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 05/06/2016 18:57:51    1861884

Great performance by Waterford , very impressed . An All-Ireland in them yet maybe?

BarryPD (Dublin) - Posts: 34 - 05/06/2016 19:08:12    1861890

Well done Waterford. That was a serious performance but Im not a bit surprised. Brilliant performances all over the field. As for Clare, we cant expect to win when 4 or 5 of our best players fail to deliver. Podge, Kelly, McGrath were shadows of themselves int he last game and Conlon might have made a hasty return. , Some of our players just didnt seem up for it..maybe the heat factor. We will regroup and will be back I think...I hope

ZUL10 (Clare) - Posts: 693 - 05/06/2016 20:18:14    1861938

enjoyed the game. waterford were by far the better team for about 65 minutes of the league final replay agin Clare so I suppose we shouldnt be too surprised. Tony kelly, Shane O Donnell, Podge Collins were taken completely out of the game.
Waterford are really improving, and have a very exciting young team.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 05/06/2016 20:31:11    1861952

Replying To BarryPD:  "Great performance by Waterford , very impressed . An All-Ireland in them yet maybe?"
Yet? They are a very young team starting out. They are hardly anywhere near the end of the road.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 05/06/2016 20:42:34    1861960

Like to see Waterford do well but is it me or are both counties overrated, huge amount of wides and pretty poor first half. If Wexford can at some point get their act together nothing to fear they should have beaten both of these in the league. Don't think there is one outstanding team in it this year, Tipp lack a killer instinct, Kilkenny not the team of old, Limerick and Galway will collapse at a crucial moment and Cork struggling. Only good thing is Offaly getting a bit of form back, love to see them give Galway a rattle, another overrated team.

Jedobi (Wexford) - Posts: 143 - 06/06/2016 04:16:39    1862035