Meath vs Antrim

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Ziggy a point that was waved wide that was really a point can't happen anymore, if it's a point even doh waved wide the referee is told by the Hawkeye people to view it cause it's a point they didn't do this so it was 100% wide (I hope I'm explaining it right so you understand). I watched the game back and it's a draw game and it has to be replayed how can it not? And another thing how are Antrim people saying their team was terrible ? They were the better team through out until the very end when Meath got a goal and point out of nowhere , maybe you's are judging it on Meath being a weak hurling county and disgusted you drew with them. Well done to Meath but if it's a replay Antrim will win cause they are the better team. Again the game has to be replayed if this was Antrim v Kilkenny in an all Ireland final would they have the same attitude?"
I was there it was a clear point and hawkeye was not working .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 06/06/2016 12:46:45    1862162

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "That's a bit different though ziggy in that the ref has made the call of penalty and awarded the score when it was put in the net. Meath have a score on the scoreboard that he neither marked down nor signalled for."
That's the only reason I feel slightly different about this situation than I did about Ireland in 2009 and Louth 2010 (both of which I was totally against getting a replay, nothing personal but it's how I felt). Unfortunately they were both robbed by scores that shouldn't have stood but our Hurlers won because of a score that never even happened and I think there is a difference.

I'm very hesitant to support the idea of a replay because it sets a dangerous precedent, but I think situations where a game mistakenly ends early or the wrong score is declared and it effects the result then there is at least an argument for it.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 06/06/2016 12:56:32    1862171

Clondalkindub- Thing is, 'some' of my more outspoken county compatriots do not see the irony of their criticism of our players. Its still an amateur sport up our way and I cannot bring myself to slate players or management for trying, even if, to some, the efforts might not seem good enough. No player ever goes out to play badly. Fact. So how can we rail them. We can however be critical of the lack of real initiatives from Croke Park for teams outside the 'top table'. Thats for another day.

In terms of the game itself. We were not a disaster. We started comfortably and should have put it to bed when we went a few in front. Perhaps with a few of the more experienced players, who are currently unavailable, we would have closed out the game. Our tactics were also clear from early on, and when they were countered by Meath, we didn't appear to have plan b. Thats the nature of sport and the game that we play. However we did not lose the game and a replay should be set, and quickly.

Glensboy (Antrim) - Posts: 290 - 06/06/2016 13:03:01    1862178

Replying To Dellboypolecat:  "I was there it was a clear point and hawkeye was not working ."
Should Meath have been awarded a point that was waved wide? Because if that's the case then we did win by a point and there's no need for a replay.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 06/06/2016 13:06:34    1862180

Should Meath have been awarded a point that was waved wide? Because if that's the case then we did win by a point and there's no need for a replay.

Again I suppose that is different in that it was waved wide and not given i.e. regardless of who says it was definitely a point or definitely wide the fact is that a decision was taken i.e. it was deemed no score.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 06/06/2016 13:13:19    1862184

Meath knew shortly after the game there was a dispute so if they chose to celebrate then fair enough. Over the 70 mins they were the better side, but didn't score enough to win the game. Had their last gasp free went over instead of wide then we wouldn't be discussing this. The facts are that the game ended level. As much as Meath deserved the win, they didn't win. It's horrible for their players to hold a tainted title for that is what it is. They are not Christy Ring Cup winners, they did not win the game. Extra time should have been played, it wasn't so we go again to decide who are the champions. Sentiment doesn't come into it. At 5.29pm on Saturday, two sets of players lined out expecting a fair game with a fair result. We haven't got that. Let's go again and find out who can win a game of hurling over 70mins plus, we didn't find out on Saturday as it was a draw. As for fellow Antrim people giving it the 'ah let them have it' - where is your pride? I know if shoe was on other foot Meath lads would be going mental and rightly so. fair play, is that too much to ask?

srb (Antrim) - Posts:337 - 06/06/2016 00:06:35 1

SRB, excellent post quite simply the best i've read about this.

To everybody else who just thinks it's over & what's done is done, you have to remember there is a BIG difference with this case as the ref is following the scoreboard operator who incorrectly (obviously duh) added a score for Both Antrim & Meath but never removed the extra score for Meath. Now from time to time we all complain about refs not doing their job properly, but this is way beyond a normal mistake. From u8's Club to Senior Inter County keeping the CORRECT SCORE IN THEIR NOTES is a refs primary job.

IrelandUnited (Tyrone) - Posts: 77 - 06/06/2016 13:22:08    1862190

Although the result was wrong, it would be wrong to strip meath of the chance to play in leinster, meath hurling underage has been flying for the last number of years and this would only boost their development, it would be unfair on them to be denied the chance to play mccarthy cup hurling for a decision they had no part in.

It puts a sour taste on what was a terrific meath performance.

TheQuietMan1975 (Down) - Posts: 14 - 06/06/2016 13:30:29    1862200

Unfortunately theQuietMan that's not the way things work. You can't really go giving out things on who someone thinks deserves something more.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 06/06/2016 14:00:29    1862225

Replying To IrelandUnited:  "Meath knew shortly after the game there was a dispute so if they chose to celebrate then fair enough. Over the 70 mins they were the better side, but didn't score enough to win the game. Had their last gasp free went over instead of wide then we wouldn't be discussing this. The facts are that the game ended level. As much as Meath deserved the win, they didn't win. It's horrible for their players to hold a tainted title for that is what it is. They are not Christy Ring Cup winners, they did not win the game. Extra time should have been played, it wasn't so we go again to decide who are the champions. Sentiment doesn't come into it. At 5.29pm on Saturday, two sets of players lined out expecting a fair game with a fair result. We haven't got that. Let's go again and find out who can win a game of hurling over 70mins plus, we didn't find out on Saturday as it was a draw. As for fellow Antrim people giving it the 'ah let them have it' - where is your pride? I know if shoe was on other foot Meath lads would be going mental and rightly so. fair play, is that too much to ask?

To everybody else who just thinks it's over & what's done is done, you have to remember there is a BIG difference with this case as the ref is following the scoreboard operator who incorrectly (obviously duh) added a score for Both Antrim & Meath but never removed the extra score for Meath. Now from time to time we all complain about refs not doing their job properly, but this is way beyond a normal mistake. From u8's Club to Senior Inter County keeping the CORRECT SCORE IN THEIR NOTES is a refs primary job."
Please think before you type the ref made a error fair enough but to lambast him is wrong .all refs get score wrong now and again .by your post looks like you had great life with no mistakes .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 06/06/2016 14:06:04    1862229

Glensboy I am certainly not criticising the players who pulled on the jersey on Saturday but what I am saying is that Antrim needs to address the slide we have been in for a long time now - that will include initiatives from Croke Park as you mention as well as a number of other factors that we perhaps have more control over. Are you telling me that the Antrim county jersey means the same to the best players in Antrim as the Kilkenny, Waterford, Tipp jersey means to the best players in their county because I am not so sure it does. Can I be clear that I am not criticising the guys who are putting all in but rather the bigger picture in terms of the Antrim County Hurling. Yes we maybe want to fight the outcome of Saturday but we should be fighting much much harder to try and lift the game in this corner and indeed in Ulster as a whole.

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 06/06/2016 14:19:55    1862238

Replying To MesAmis:  "Dead right.

The replay will have to come from Central Council though as we know that the Meath County Board won't offer one."
it should never be up tp us to say give a replay or not ccc should make a decision one way or the other

srgt_slaughter (Meath) - Posts: 462 - 06/06/2016 15:22:20    1862282

Replying To srgt_slaughter:  "it should never be up tp us to say give a replay or not ccc should make a decision one way or the other"
Your spot on why should the Meath county board offer a replay .like I stated yesterday put both up and leave it alone .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 06/06/2016 16:07:10    1862304

Replying To Htaem:  "Should Meath have been awarded a point that was waved wide? Because if that's the case then we did win by a point and there's no need for a replay."
It was a stone wall point and the reason Hawkeye was not used because it was not working .I stated yesterday that leave result and promote both .common sense

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 06/06/2016 16:09:45    1862305

Surely all that counts is the score the ref has written down?

Brianmac78 (Dublin) - Posts: 1168 - 06/06/2016 16:30:09    1862312

Replying To Brianmac78:  "Surely all that counts is the score the ref has written down?"
He Said he made mistake and it should have been draw .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 06/06/2016 16:39:46    1862316

Replying To Marlon_JD:  "Hopefully we'll get more clarity over the next few days over what went wrong. But from what I've gathered so far, the following failures occured yesterday:
- The Scoreboard in Croke Park had the incorrect score
- The referee wasn't keeping his own independant scoring record, for whatever reason
- Hawkeye wasn't available for use

Are all the above correct? I don't want to lapse into indulgent whinging, but if all 3 of the above are true, someone somewhere is finally going to have to address how these games are treated."
Correct on all 3. The scoreboard issue wasn't just the single incident of a point that was given to Meath instead of Antrim about minute 65, there were problems right through the second half. There were delays in registering scores. Sores being added and taken away before the point in question. I gave up on it and just tried to keep my own tally. Not much to ask for as a paying patron that the stadium can give you the right score.

showforit (Meath) - Posts: 156 - 06/06/2016 16:41:43    1862318

Meath knew shortly after the game there was a dispute so if they chose to celebrate then fair enough. Over the 70 mins they were the better side, but didn't score enough to win the game. Had their last gasp free went over instead of wide then we wouldn't be discussing this. The facts are that the game ended level. As much as Meath deserved the win, they didn't win. It's horrible for their players to hold a tainted title for that is what it is. They are not Christy Ring Cup winners, they did not win the game. Extra time should have been played, it wasn't so we go again to decide who are the champions. Sentiment doesn't come into it. At 5.29pm on Saturday, two sets of players lined out expecting a fair game with a fair result. We haven't got that. Let's go again and find out who can win a game of hurling over 70mins plus, we didn't find out on Saturday as it was a draw. As for fellow Antrim people giving it the 'ah let them have it' - where is your pride? I know if shoe was on other foot Meath lads would be going mental and rightly so. fair play, is that too much to ask?

To everybody else who just thinks it's over & what's done is done, you have to remember there is a BIG difference with this case as the ref is following the scoreboard operator who incorrectly (obviously duh) added a score for Both Antrim & Meath but never removed the extra score for Meath. Now from time to time we all complain about refs not doing their job properly, but this is way beyond a normal mistake. From u8's Club to Senior Inter County keeping the CORRECT SCORE IN THEIR NOTES is a refs primary job.

IrelandUnited (Tyrone) - Posts: 77 - 06/06/2016 16:58:15    1862328

Replying To srb:  "Meath knew shortly after the game there was a dispute so if they chose to celebrate then fair enough. Over the 70 mins they were the better side, but didn't score enough to win the game. Had their last gasp free went over instead of wide then we wouldn't be discussing this. The facts are that the game ended level. As much as Meath deserved the win, they didn't win. It's horrible for their players to hold a tainted title for that is what it is. They are not Christy Ring Cup winners, they did not win the game. Extra time should have been played, it wasn't so we go again to decide who are the champions. Sentiment doesn't come into it. At 5.29pm on Saturday, two sets of players lined out expecting a fair game with a fair result. We haven't got that. Let's go again and find out who can win a game of hurling over 70mins plus, we didn't find out on Saturday as it was a draw. As for fellow Antrim people giving it the 'ah let them have it' - where is your pride? I know if shoe was on other foot Meath lads would be going mental and rightly so. fair play, is that too much to ask?"
Meath lads accepted cup and celebrated in good faith. I was socialising with some of them later that evening when the news spread.

showforit (Meath) - Posts: 156 - 06/06/2016 17:10:22    1862337

Replying To showforit:  "Meath lads accepted cup and celebrated in good faith. I was socialising with some of them later that evening when the news spread."
If you look on there Twitter page when they put up score I told them twice they had score wrong and it was there PRO and this was few minutes to go but he decided to ignore that .but they should be allowed to keep cup and send Antrim up to .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 06/06/2016 17:45:31    1862362

Replying To Dellboypolecat:  "If you look on there Twitter page when they put up score I told them twice they had score wrong and it was there PRO and this was few minutes to go but he decided to ignore that .but they should be allowed to keep cup and send Antrim up to ."
The players weren't looking at Twitter feeds they were playing a match. They ref told them they won, they celebrated there and then what they thought was a genuine victory.

showforit (Meath) - Posts: 156 - 06/06/2016 18:06:58    1862376