Meath vs Antrim

It seems the game was a draw. This is a terrible mess, if Meath were awarded the Cup on the error of a scoreboard operator that cannot stand. Equally to ask Meath to hand back the Cup & replay the game would be devastating and demoralising for a fine bunch of hurlers. who deserve every bit of encouragement the Association can give.
I agree with the Proposal to promote both teams into next year's Championship but either outcome re resolving the Cup itself could be deemed unfair.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 06/06/2016 08:04:55    1862037

Replying To srb:  "Meath knew shortly after the game there was a dispute so if they chose to celebrate then fair enough. Over the 70 mins they were the better side, but didn't score enough to win the game. Had their last gasp free went over instead of wide then we wouldn't be discussing this. The facts are that the game ended level. As much as Meath deserved the win, they didn't win. It's horrible for their players to hold a tainted title for that is what it is. They are not Christy Ring Cup winners, they did not win the game. Extra time should have been played, it wasn't so we go again to decide who are the champions. Sentiment doesn't come into it. At 5.29pm on Saturday, two sets of players lined out expecting a fair game with a fair result. We haven't got that. Let's go again and find out who can win a game of hurling over 70mins plus, we didn't find out on Saturday as it was a draw. As for fellow Antrim people giving it the 'ah let them have it' - where is your pride? I know if shoe was on other foot Meath lads would be going mental and rightly so. fair play, is that too much to ask?"
But it did look as though Meath scored a point that the umpires waved wide.So perhaps Meath did score enough to win the game..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 06/06/2016 08:32:35    1862040

this mess is no fault of Meath's or Antrim's so neither team should be left to mop it up. It's not right to strip Meath of a trophy they've been made to believe they won. At the same time its not right to deny Antrim something for this mix up. They should allow both teams to compete in Leinster next year. Not that it'll do much for Antrim hurling, its in a bad way and I can't help but think that if they had any sort of ruthlessness they wouldn't have been in this mess in the first place. They have probably found their level in the Christy Ring Cup so be careful what you wish for because many teams that Antrim used to beat easily in Leinster are now teaching the lessons to them. Depressing! but well done to those teams for putting in the hard work.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 06/06/2016 09:13:00    1862044

Replying To srb:  "Meath knew shortly after the game there was a dispute so if they chose to celebrate then fair enough. Over the 70 mins they were the better side, but didn't score enough to win the game. Had their last gasp free went over instead of wide then we wouldn't be discussing this. The facts are that the game ended level. As much as Meath deserved the win, they didn't win. It's horrible for their players to hold a tainted title for that is what it is. They are not Christy Ring Cup winners, they did not win the game. Extra time should have been played, it wasn't so we go again to decide who are the champions. Sentiment doesn't come into it. At 5.29pm on Saturday, two sets of players lined out expecting a fair game with a fair result. We haven't got that. Let's go again and find out who can win a game of hurling over 70mins plus, we didn't find out on Saturday as it was a draw. As for fellow Antrim people giving it the 'ah let them have it' - where is your pride? I know if shoe was on other foot Meath lads would be going mental and rightly so. fair play, is that too much to ask?"
In fairness you cannot blame the Meath players for celebrating as they thought they won the game.The GAA president presented the cup to the team so to suggest they shouldnt be celebrating is wide of the mark.What happens from here on God knows a replay would seem the likely outcome but I wouldnt hold my breath.After the 2010 debacle,where the GAA hierarchy hung Meath out to dry,anything could happen.Well done to the Meath team whatever the outcome is on an absolutely fantastic performance.

runnerin (Meath) - Posts: 202 - 06/06/2016 09:13:27    1862045

Replying To seanie_boy:  "If it's deemed a draw but nobody wants a replay then promote both teams. Let Meath keep the cup for 6 months since they already have it and then hand it over to Antrim for 6 months. If that's not agreeable then only other solution is a replay."
Good compromise - its neither teams fault but a total fiasco caused by ref and CP - its inexcusable and downright embarrassing. I was going to say amateurish but that would be an insult to amateurs.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 06/06/2016 09:40:38    1862053

Medals for everyone
Six months each with the cup
Both promoted

or else....

Replay

Cherno_Samba (Louth) - Posts: 632 - 06/06/2016 09:45:20    1862055

SRB I feel your pain. I was in the Cusack Stand at the Leinster Final in 2010. I walked out of the stadium thinking Meath had grabbed another smash and win. I recieved phone calls and text messages telling me what really happened. I felt gutted and devastated that for a team to reach their first Leinster final in 50 years that this happened to them. Aaron Hoey who came on as a sub that day and was the longest serving Louth player at the time. He was playing with the Wee County since 1997 and he summed it up and said that the Leinster final was his highlight and worst day of his playing career. Another Croke Park blunder hands Meath a title and that is no fault of Meath either.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 06/06/2016 10:11:37    1862059

Replying To ziggy32001:  "yeah every team should offer a reply if a referee makes a mistake.Stupid......."
If you don't see this as slightly different than the average refereeing mistake then I'm not sure I'm the one being stupid.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 06/06/2016 10:37:53    1862070

Huge blunder by the referee which I assume will be rectified by CCCC prob by forcing a replay, although I think Meath proved they deserved to get their craic at Leinster next year so maybe promoting both teams keeps everyone happy. Although im not sure how that will benefit us next year as I believe we will not benefit from it and it will paper over the huge cracks that are already there.

Im like UM to a certain extent and more concerned about the Antrim performance again when the going gets tough.
As I watched the game unfold over the first 20 mins when they built up a 9 point lead I said to my da that my concern was the referee giving Meath a couple of soft frees to keep them in the game and Antrim complacency setting in and I did think both happened.

However, on reflection I think now there was a certain arrogance that somehow Meath shouldn't even be on the same pitch as them and I also believe as supporters we are also guilty of that same arrogance. Meath in the second half simply showed more hunger and fight and that never say die attitude probably meant they deserved to win the game. You can have all the great stick work in the world but if you don't have sufficient players that have the testicular material to win a 60/40 or 70/30 ball then you will win nothing in hurling.

Sadly When I think we cant plummet down the list of intercounty teams any further we somehow manage to do it. Inter county hurling in Antrim is now in such a precarious position that Central Council have to become involved as unfortunately I cant see us digging our way out of this hole on our own. There seems to be so much apathy among players and clubs now that no one is really that surprised any more when we lose and unfortunately it seems to be a vicious circle with no end in sight.

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 06/06/2016 11:12:01    1862085

Very unfair on both teams

Who both gave it their all and played out an excellent game.. Antrim overall imo were the better team but what a great come back from Meath to force what was actually a draw

Such a pity that this error has spoiled all that

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 06/06/2016 11:16:05    1862091

If the game ended a draw it has to be replayed, but this being the GAA they are busily examining the badly written rules for loop holes and get out clauses. The bottom line is if the game is a draw it is replayed or at least extra time played. Anything else is rubbish.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4898 - 06/06/2016 11:20:47    1862094

Replying To arock:  "If the game ended a draw it has to be replayed, but this being the GAA they are busily examining the badly written rules for loop holes and get out clauses. The bottom line is if the game is a draw it is replayed or at least extra time played. Anything else is rubbish."
I should also say if the referee screwed up then unfortunately the score will stand.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4898 - 06/06/2016 11:25:56    1862097

There is something seriously wrong when a final can be decided on an error in scoring.Jesus,this makes a complete laughing stock of the GAA again after the 2010 fiasco. I suspect if this was any other organisation there would be a replay and the whole sorry mess would be put right quickly.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 06/06/2016 11:32:26    1862100

Ziggy a point that was waved wide that was really a point can't happen anymore, if it's a point even doh waved wide the referee is told by the Hawkeye people to view it cause it's a point they didn't do this so it was 100% wide (I hope I'm explaining it right so you understand). I watched the game back and it's a draw game and it has to be replayed how can it not? And another thing how are Antrim people saying their team was terrible ? They were the better team through out until the very end when Meath got a goal and point out of nowhere , maybe you's are judging it on Meath being a weak hurling county and disgusted you drew with them. Well done to Meath but if it's a replay Antrim will win cause they are the better team. Again the game has to be replayed if this was Antrim v Kilkenny in an all Ireland final would they have the same attitude?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 06/06/2016 11:33:17    1862101

And another thing how are Antrim people saying their team was terrible ? They were the better team through out until the very end when Meath got a goal and point out of nowhere , maybe you's are judging it on Meath being a weak hurling county and disgusted you drew with them.

Cos I think some people just look for the doom and gloom clondalkin. I didn't get to see the whole game as was busy though still got to see about 30 mins in total and I thought we were playing well enough (and I mean well enough given where we have been all year so far!). We did seem to ease up when we got 7 or 8 points ahead, let Meath close the gap a bit but then kick on and open up a the same gap again. I had to go when the clock had just passed the 61 minute mark and although I felt we should have been able to see it out at that point I still asked the wife to let me know the result at the end as I just can't get that confident about our team at the moment. When she texted the result I was shocked but not shocked at the same time - if you know what I mean. It was only later that night that I heard there was a bit of controversy over it.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 06/06/2016 11:46:31    1862112

Things is Antrim would win a replay,but I think Meath would have won in extra time..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 06/06/2016 11:47:49    1862114

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Ziggy a point that was waved wide that was really a point can't happen anymore, if it's a point even doh waved wide the referee is told by the Hawkeye people to view it cause it's a point they didn't do this so it was 100% wide (I hope I'm explaining it right so you understand). I watched the game back and it's a draw game and it has to be replayed how can it not? And another thing how are Antrim people saying their team was terrible ? They were the better team through out until the very end when Meath got a goal and point out of nowhere , maybe you's are judging it on Meath being a weak hurling county and disgusted you drew with them. Well done to Meath but if it's a replay Antrim will win cause they are the better team. Again the game has to be replayed if this was Antrim v Kilkenny in an all Ireland final would they have the same attitude?"
Apparently hawkeye wasn't working though!

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 06/06/2016 11:49:55    1862118

clondalkindub I suppose some of us are looking at our own house in terms of where we are now at on the hurling landscape. Christy ring seems to be our level right now and watching the game on Saturday Meath showed a lot of the qualities that we feel are badly missing from our game i.e. hunger, desire, heart, togetherness, never say die etc etc.

I was not too sure about these reports when they first surfaced on Saturday evening but it seems from what has come out since that a mistake has been made. I don't know is a mistake counting up the score a greater mistake than incorrectly awarding/not awarding a penalty, incorrectly seding off/not sending off a player etc?

I am still not sure where I stand on it - sporting integrity would probably say that the game needs to be replayed and for any players competing in any competition they deserve a fair crack but at the same time I feel that we have been a shambles again this season and winning the Christy Ring would Just have papered over some of the cracks. The real pressing need for Antrim hurlers is to start addressing the slide in a manner that will see us giving our all for the county jersey.

But for the two squads competing on Saturday this is pretty unfortunate stuff not of their own making.

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 06/06/2016 12:00:46    1862127

Replying To Naysayer:  "clondalkindub I suppose some of us are looking at our own house in terms of where we are now at on the hurling landscape. Christy ring seems to be our level right now and watching the game on Saturday Meath showed a lot of the qualities that we feel are badly missing from our game i.e. hunger, desire, heart, togetherness, never say die etc etc.

I was not too sure about these reports when they first surfaced on Saturday evening but it seems from what has come out since that a mistake has been made. I don't know is a mistake counting up the score a greater mistake than incorrectly awarding/not awarding a penalty, incorrectly seding off/not sending off a player etc?

I am still not sure where I stand on it - sporting integrity would probably say that the game needs to be replayed and for any players competing in any competition they deserve a fair crack but at the same time I feel that we have been a shambles again this season and winning the Christy Ring would Just have papered over some of the cracks. The real pressing need for Antrim hurlers is to start addressing the slide in a manner that will see us giving our all for the county jersey.

But for the two squads competing on Saturday this is pretty unfortunate stuff not of their own making."
I agree with you,but say a team loses with a last min penalty that should not have been given? Thats an injustice but we don't see replays.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 06/06/2016 12:15:13    1862137

That's a bit different though ziggy in that the ref has made the call of penalty and awarded the score when it was put in the net. Meath have a score on the scoreboard that he neither marked down nor signalled for.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 06/06/2016 12:27:12    1862149