Meath vs Antrim

Replying To bumpernut:  "Yeah janesboro that's it

There are no stands mind you, just grass banks, so bring an umbrella if its wet!

No reason why it cant be a double header in croke, would prob suit youse as much as us.

We'll run it by the Meath boys first tho as they seem to call the shots ;)"
Ah come on Bumpernut, this isn't a case of Meath calling the shots. Its a case of Meath's county board actually standing up for their hurlers. I'd say nearly 25% of hurling discussion on this board is around people complaining about the position teams outside the top tier are put in, i.e. unreasonable fixtures, unreasonable fixture dates, unreasonable match locations etc. If other county boards, especially from counties that are football focused, stood up for their own hurlers like Meath have, people would have a lot less to complain about.

Meath were crowned winners last Saturday.It was due to a series of blunders by the officials, but its what happened. It wasn't a typical drawn match. Meath brought up the scoreboard issue to the officials during the match, and were told to play to the scoreboard. They did, they were crowned winners, and given the cup. Their biggest ever hurling achievement, and the end to their season. Of course they are going to celebrate, it wasn't a foregone conclusion that there was going to be a replay. It took 3 days for the CCCC to meet, and they announce the replay for 4 days later. Ridiculous.

But instead of just accepting it, and wallowing in victim-hood, Meath asserted themselves. That's what every county board should do when they're not being treated right, at least if they care about their hurlers. Should Antrim have not done the same thing for their U21 hurlers for the 2013 final location?

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 09/06/2016 17:35:04    1864377

Replying To Marlon_JD:  "Ah come on Bumpernut, this isn't a case of Meath calling the shots. Its a case of Meath's county board actually standing up for their hurlers. I'd say nearly 25% of hurling discussion on this board is around people complaining about the position teams outside the top tier are put in, i.e. unreasonable fixtures, unreasonable fixture dates, unreasonable match locations etc. If other county boards, especially from counties that are football focused, stood up for their own hurlers like Meath have, people would have a lot less to complain about.

Meath were crowned winners last Saturday.It was due to a series of blunders by the officials, but its what happened. It wasn't a typical drawn match. Meath brought up the scoreboard issue to the officials during the match, and were told to play to the scoreboard. They did, they were crowned winners, and given the cup. Their biggest ever hurling achievement, and the end to their season. Of course they are going to celebrate, it wasn't a foregone conclusion that there was going to be a replay. It took 3 days for the CCCC to meet, and they announce the replay for 4 days later. Ridiculous.

But instead of just accepting it, and wallowing in victim-hood, Meath asserted themselves. That's what every county board should do when they're not being treated right, at least if they care about their hurlers. Should Antrim have not done the same thing for their U21 hurlers for the 2013 final location?"
very good post Marlon

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 09/06/2016 17:49:24    1864385

Replying To janesboro:  "dont think the qualifer time is set yet - so probably be on the sunday"
If this is the case then I stand corrected. I just heard last night was Corrigan on that date with the time to be confirmed. But I suppose even if it was the intended date that may now change as the dates set aside for the Qualifiers were the Sat and Sun.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 09/06/2016 17:58:59    1864388

So you would have no objection then if Antrim County Board stood up for our Gaels and refuse the dates proposed? Do you not venture in to Mexican standoff territory, each time the respective County boards being lauded for their stand?

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 09/06/2016 18:02:08    1864389

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "Seems a bit unreasonable to me Mes, and thankfully the Gaa has reconsidered and fixed it for the 25th, now there can be no excuses and may the best team win.

lol - at least now we only have to decide if we are going to see our Hurlers in the Christy Ring in Dublin or in the Football Qualifier against Limerick in Belfast the same day. But don't worry about us ;-)"
Your kidding with this post aren't you ?, you are not happy even in the circumstances where a game is replayed

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1359 - 09/06/2016 19:18:14    1864423

Replying To Naysayer:  "Exactly what I was thinking Bumper - I would like to see this accommodated to give each team their best chance but for some to say Antrim should be able to play Christy Ring on the Saturday and Ulster semi on the Sunday instead of Meath having to play the Saturday after the weekend when their players were on the drink is some new crazy brought to this debate. Maybe we should have an new version of the All Ireland where it is all played in one week early September from Provincials right through to final while anyone who is not on the field playing at any given moment must be drinking alcohol."
Yesss! But (using the football as an example) it would need the provincial finals and the round 4 qualifiers (or the round 4 qualifiers and the All-Ireland quarter-finals) be played on the same day. I see it like this:

Monday: Leinster, Connacht and Ulster Round 1
Tuesday: Provincial quarter-finals and Qualifiers Round 1
Wednesday: Provincial semi-finals and Qualifiers Round 2
Thursday: Provincial finals and Qualifiers Rounds 3 & 4
Friday: All-Ireland quarter-finals
Saturday: All-Ireland semi-finals
Sunday: All-Ireland final (with replay immediately afterwards if level after 70 minutes)

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1042 - 09/06/2016 19:59:36    1864441

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "Seems a bit unreasonable to me Mes, and thankfully the Gaa has reconsidered and fixed it for the 25th, now there can be no excuses and may the best team win.

lol - at least now we only have to decide if we are going to see our Hurlers in the Christy Ring in Dublin or in the Football Qualifier against Limerick in Belfast the same day. But don't worry about us ;-)"
Your kidding with this post aren't you ?, you are not happy even in the circumstances where this game is now being replayed ?. Was talking to a guy at work today who happens to be from Louth and he was slagging me because of this and about Meath and replays. He then said he had heard something about this replay and didn't think about it again but when the story dragged on and then he actually read a article on the web about how this came about he was amazed that the GAA could order a replay. And this guy was from Louth!. The GAA have went out of their way to sort this out for ye, you should not now be complaining.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1359 - 09/06/2016 19:59:53    1864442

25th fine by me, would be a pain if football same day but at least gives everyone a chance to clear their heads and a fair go at winning. That is the important thing for me after the shambles of the last week. May the best team win.

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 09/06/2016 20:13:03    1864450

Replying To Richieq:  "Yes but you see back then, as you say, the Leinster Council took a pro active stance on it, in 2010 they did not take such a stance nor did Croke Park or the CCCC and the left the significant ball of sh1t on the steps of Pairc Tailteann which was completely wrong. Everything that Croke Park and the CCCC have done in relation to this matter has been wrong to both Meath and Antrim and as I stated before where is the apology to both teams?? I a led to believe that tonight's Meath County Board meeting has agreed to a replay but not next Saturday in the interests of player welfare and instead want it played on June 18th in Croke Park, back to you CCCC"

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2908 - 09/06/2016 21:09:07    1864467

Replying To Richieq:  "Yes but you see back then, as you say, the Leinster Council took a pro active stance on it, in 2010 they did not take such a stance nor did Croke Park or the CCCC and the left the significant ball of sh1t on the steps of Pairc Tailteann which was completely wrong. Everything that Croke Park and the CCCC have done in relation to this matter has been wrong to both Meath and Antrim and as I stated before where is the apology to both teams?? I a led to believe that tonight's Meath County Board meeting has agreed to a replay but not next Saturday in the interests of player welfare and instead want it played on June 18th in Croke Park, back to you CCCC"
Replying to Richieq: Yes but you see back then, as you say, the Leinster Council took a pro active stance on it, in 2010 they did not take such a stance nor did Croke Park or the CCCC and the left the significant ball of sh1t on the steps of Pairc Tailteann which was completely wrong. Everything that Croke Park and the CCCC have done in relation to this matter has been wrong to both Meath and Antrim and as I stated before where is the apology to both teams?? I a led to believe that tonight's Meath County Board meeting has agreed to a replay but not next Saturday in the interests of player welfare and instead want it played on June 18th in Croke Park, back to you CCCC

But,but,but, should Pairc Tailteann not have thrown that ball of sh1t back at Croke Park,the Leinster council and the CCCC,instead of accepting it and it's consequences.
Laois by passed all of the above mentioned and took it on themselves to offer a re-match.
Anyway,solving the problem is not enough,- the cause must be solved first.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2908 - 09/06/2016 21:10:33    1864468

Replying To Naysayer:  "25th fine by me, would be a pain if football same day but at least gives everyone a chance to clear their heads and a fair go at winning. That is the important thing for me after the shambles of the last week. May the best team win."
Plus 1. Let's hope it not a draw

showforit (Meath) - Posts: 156 - 09/06/2016 21:35:39    1864478

well at lst everyone is happy and we have closure, now to win again! i think there will be a huge call out to meath fans over the next few weeks and id expect a huge meath crowd in croker

dickie10 (UK) - Posts: 693 - 09/06/2016 22:52:04    1864515

Replying To Marlon_JD:  "Ah come on Bumpernut, this isn't a case of Meath calling the shots. Its a case of Meath's county board actually standing up for their hurlers. I'd say nearly 25% of hurling discussion on this board is around people complaining about the position teams outside the top tier are put in, i.e. unreasonable fixtures, unreasonable fixture dates, unreasonable match locations etc. If other county boards, especially from counties that are football focused, stood up for their own hurlers like Meath have, people would have a lot less to complain about.

But instead of just accepting it, and wallowing in victim-hood, Meath asserted themselves. That's what every county board should do when they're not being treated right, at least if they care about their hurlers. Should Antrim have not done the same thing for their U21 hurlers for the 2013 final location?"
Ach Marlon I'm surprised at you, even htaem could see I was joking ffs! Listen it's a game of hurling and as much as I love my game and my county I'll not lose any sleep over them losing! Being from Antrim we after all are used to it,
We all have our own blinkers when our particular county is involved including yours truly and I'm simply fighting my corner like the Meath lads.
Somebody mentioned the word animosity earlier and I have to say I've never felt animosity towards any GAA county or it's supporters and that will continue in a couple of weeks time!
I'm a hurling man who looks at the big picture and can see what a win can and will do for Meath hurling, however, I make no apologies for being parochial as Gary on another thread continually reminds us!
On that note I'll leave youse to it as tbh I'll be getting the sack from work, obviously not this one!

And tbh Im not quite sure of your parallel with the u21 final!

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 10/06/2016 01:23:56    1864544

Replying To bdbuddah:  "

Your kidding with this post aren't you ?, you are not happy even in the circumstances where a game is replayed"
No, if our County board are happy with the 25th then I have no issue with it (except I for one can't make Dublin on the 25th). Which has been my point i.e. that it has to be a date that suited both camps. Not something that youse dictated on your terms.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 10/06/2016 08:11:31    1864560

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "
Replying To bdbuddah:  "[quote=Offside_Rule:  "Seems a bit unreasonable to me Mes, and thankfully the Gaa has reconsidered and fixed it for the 25th, now there can be no excuses and may the best team win.

Your kidding with this post aren't you ?, you are not happy even in the circumstances where a game is replayed"
No, if our County board are happy with the 25th then I have no issue with it (except I for one can't make Dublin on the 25th). Which has been my point i.e. that it has to be a date that suited both camps. Not something that youse dictated on your terms."]I agree that it should suit both teams, don't forget that Antrim and Meath are both accommodating the Gaa here after their embarrassing cock up, not the way around, so we both have chips to bargin with. The Meath county board didn't find this Saturday to be acceptable so instead of rolling over they stood up for themselves and if the 25th doesn't suit Antrim they should stand up and be counted, I'd have no problem with that.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 10/06/2016 09:19:57    1864581

The Meath county board didn't find this Saturday to be acceptable so instead of rolling over they stood up for themselves and if the 25th doesn't suit Antrim they should stand up and be counted, I'd have no problem with that.

I have a sneaky suspicion that if we had not agreed to the 25th the GAA might have had a problem with it though.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 10/06/2016 10:17:58    1864606

I see that there is serious chat now of the football and hurling being a double header in Croke.

Personally I would rather miss one of the games than give up home advantage in the football. Of our All Ireland series games in football over the last 4+ years we have played 1 away so far in 2016, 3 away in 2015, 2 away plus 1 neutral in 2014, 1 home, 1 away in 2013, 3 away and 1 at home in 2012. So all in we have played 13 Championship games in this time with only 2 at home, 10 away and 1 neutral.

As such I think if we have home advantage we have to use it - we are not that good that we need every advantage that we can get - that said it is a bollix of a journey for Limerick (we had to go the other way in the qualifiers in the period above) so Croke would make it easier for them to bring a bit of a support and of course means a bigger Antrim contingent could see both games but I still am at the point of thinking it would be nice to have a home Championship game.

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 10/06/2016 14:06:18    1864832

They could play both in Newry. Was just checking there out of interest and those from the extremities of Meath would still be in Newry 1/2 an hour or more than those from the extremities of Antrim so not sure why there was this notion that Newry might as well be a home game for Antrim. Actually would be more of a home game for Meath as if people from all over Meath travelled the last person to arrive would still be ahead of a lot of Antrim supporters if people from all over Antrim travelled and started off at the same time. Basically anyone from anywhere in Meath would be there before anyone from North Antrim where a sizable amount of the Antrim support comes from.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 10/06/2016 14:25:39    1864842

Offside_Rule I think for an All Ireland final as the Christy Ring is Croke Park is hard to argue with and besides Newry would not be that Holy Grail of a home game for our footballers. I am hoping the football is set for Sunday at home to give folk a chance to attend both games without giving up the rarity of home advantage for the footballers. That said I would guess Saturday would be a better day for the Limerick contingent to get up and get home again. Sure no doubt the powers that be will make a wise call :)

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 10/06/2016 14:56:41    1864861

Yeah just having a go at those who claim Newry was a home venue for us Naysayer. Have no problem with the CR final being replayed in Croke Park at all but I do agree that my preference would be CR on Sat and the Football on Sunday at home. That way I would at least get to see the Football.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 10/06/2016 15:06:36    1864867