Meath vs Antrim

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "Where I stand is that the GAA should have let the two Counties sit down and agree a date which suits BOTH Counties. Given the fiasco the GAA should take a step back in that regard though in reality I doubt they would. My issue is with this notion on here that if we don't agree to Meaths demand then we are in the wrong."
No I don't think Antrim should have had to agree with Meaths motion either.But you are right the GAA should have sat reps from both counties down to come to a compromise a solution.Over the whole fiasco the GAA have created a bigger fiasco.Again with so many officials at the ground this should never have happened.I have never seen this as a Junior B footballer forgod sake..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 09/06/2016 14:21:02    1864253

Oh and by the way,supporters should get in FREE because of this whole mess.Its likely we would have had a winner either way in extra time last weekend..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 09/06/2016 14:22:31    1864256

Replying To benched:  "Meath said they would play the replay.But why should they do it on the GAA'S terms? They made this huge mess,haven't said sorry for it either.
ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts:5482 - 09/06/2016 11:52:59 18641

Probably because it's up to the GAA to arrange and organise the fixtures. What sort of anarchy would ensue if everyone started arranging their own fixtures to suit themselves. To say a game can't be played because players were on the lash is one of the craziest things I've heard. Junior B's wouldn't be at it. I also don't get the call for the replay having to be in Croke Park - ok it's a major final but so are (were) the U21's and they be held in a provincial ground.

The whole thing is a mess, neither teams fault but it also is wrong to say the GAA hierarchy made the mess, unfortunately it was human error on the part of the referee. Talk about the Croke Park scoreboard being wrong is irrelevant, it is up to the referee to keep the correct score - he got this wrong. Also there will be bigger games (no insult meant to the teams or the Christy Ring Cup) played this year with no hawk eye, so whether or not a point was signaled wide isn't relevant. It wasn't given at the time as a wide. On scores awarded by the referee the match finished level. Replay needed, get on with it and then no one will be lining up to have a kick at Meath.
Meath started off getting all the sympathy in this situation but they are loosing it pretty fast - saying this Saturday doesn't suit them but then looking it played 24hrs before Antrim play in the Ulster Championship showed a total disregard for the welfare of the Antrim players."
This isn't what you would call an ordinary replay situation.Seriously the amount of officials at Croke Park could not get the result right? If they did,we may not have had a replay at all.Meath may have scored that free at the end.Its highly likely one of the teams would have won in extra time too.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 09/06/2016 14:24:41    1864259

Replying To MesAmis:  "Now in all honesty I think your personal stance on our hurlers is rigid and unfair, simple as that.
Htaem (Meath) - Posts:7180 - 09/06/2016 14:02:45

So saying that they should replay a game that they drew and that they are disciplined enough to stop drinking long enough to sober up by next Saturday is rigid and unfair?"
No I didn't say having a replay was unfair, the game was subsequently declared a draw and what I actually said was "the replay is fixed for the 25th of June, I'm happy with that, no excuses", I don't have an issue with the replay, please don't put words in my mouth.

You're stance though on the players going out and getting drunk however is rigid and unfair. You're calling for sober, responsible heads among a bunch of young lads who were presented with a national cup. Then expecting them to get back to 100% mentally and physically for a replay that was originally fixed for 7 days after the game and at only 4 days notice, all the while essentially absolving the Gaa's cock up by pointing the finger squarely at Meath.

Seems a bit unreasonable to me Mes, and thankfully the Gaa has reconsidered and fixed it for the 25th, now there can be no excuses and may the best team win.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 09/06/2016 14:36:31    1864274

Replying To Finsceal:  "this date is not common sense . unless if by common sense you mean appeasing a bunch of poorly managed young fellas who thought it wise to celebrate for 3 days something the world and his da knew was not the case . Antrim team were told to be ready for possible replay more than likely the following week . It was completely stupid of Meath not to do same .
Meath have lost all sympathy here and most neutrals hope they get hammered in the replay."
Sympathy??? As a county we have never been in receipt of sympathy. We don't need it or want it either so whether it's there or not is irrelevant.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 09/06/2016 15:02:10    1864288

Replying To Htaem:  "
Replying To MesAmis:  "Now in all honesty I think your personal stance on our hurlers is rigid and unfair, simple as that.

So saying that they should replay a game that they drew and that they are disciplined enough to stop drinking long enough to sober up by next Saturday is rigid and unfair?"
No I didn't say having a replay was unfair, the game was subsequently declared a draw and what I actually said was "the replay is fixed for the 25th of June, I'm happy with that, no excuses", I don't have an issue with the replay, please don't put words in my mouth.

You're stance though on the players going out and getting drunk however is rigid and unfair. You're calling for sober, responsible heads among a bunch of young lads who were presented with a national cup. Then expecting them to get back to 100% mentally and physically for a replay that was originally fixed for 7 days after the game and at only 4 days notice, all the while essentially absolving the Gaa's cock up by pointing the finger squarely at Meath.

Seems a bit unreasonable to me Mes, and thankfully the Gaa has reconsidered and fixed it for the 25th, now there can be no excuses and may the best team win."
I just have a higher opinion of the Meath team's discipline than you is all. I don't think that's unfair or rigid at all.

The replay has been put back now so even if they are as undisciplined as some seem to suggest they should be well sober for the game and can have no excuses now.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 09/06/2016 15:04:05    1864289

Seems a bit unreasonable to me Mes, and thankfully the Gaa has reconsidered and fixed it for the 25th, now there can be no excuses and may the best team win."
Have to so I would love it(in Kevin Keegan style) if Meath won this now.Nothing against Antrim btw.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 09/06/2016 15:17:38    1864298

Seems a bit unreasonable to me Mes, and thankfully the Gaa has reconsidered and fixed it for the 25th, now there can be no excuses and may the best team win.

lol - at least now we only have to decide if we are going to see our Hurlers in the Christy Ring in Dublin or in the Football Qualifier against Limerick in Belfast the same day. But don't worry about us ;-)

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 09/06/2016 15:22:51    1864301

Totally agree, unfortunately some and IT is only some people will use anything to bash Meath, if their county was treated similarly we would have a dail enquiry.
One rule for Meath another for everyone else,
And BTW I said all along there should be a replay, but that replay must be in a fair manner and in croke park, not this Saturday in Newry.
This has now been resolved , Meath have been vindicated for their stance of refusing to play Saturday, now the items that caused this farce is back firmly at croke park doors, not ours, which will disappoint the Meath bashers but tough.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 09/06/2016 15:40:34    1864311

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "Seems a bit unreasonable to me Mes, and thankfully the Gaa has reconsidered and fixed it for the 25th, now there can be no excuses and may the best team win.

lol - at least now we only have to decide if we are going to see our Hurlers in the Christy Ring in Dublin or in the Football Qualifier against Limerick in Belfast the same day. But don't worry about us ;-)"
Is that game in Corrigan?

bricktop (Down) - Posts: 2503 - 09/06/2016 15:41:53    1864313

MesAmis

I just have a higher opinion of the Meath team's discipline than you is all. I don't think that's unfair or rigid at all.

Haha of course you do Mes, ever consider being a politician? with that level of insincerity and spin you'd go pretty far.

The replay has been put back now so even if they are as undisciplined as some seem to suggest they should be well sober for the game and can have no excuses now.

Okey dokey skip, whatever you say, right as always.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 09/06/2016 15:53:17    1864321

Replying To bricktop:  "
Replying To Offside_Rule:  "Seems a bit unreasonable to me Mes, and thankfully the Gaa has reconsidered and fixed it for the 25th, now there can be no excuses and may the best team win.

lol - at least now we only have to decide if we are going to see our Hurlers in the Christy Ring in Dublin or in the Football Qualifier against Limerick in Belfast the same day. But don't worry about us ;-)"
Is that game in Corrigan?"
Yeah as far as I know it is on in Corrigan. Not sure a time has been confirmed but there won't be two matches able to be attended given the Dublin game is at 5pm. Unless Limerick are happy to play the game at around 10'O'Clock that morning. What say you Limerick ones - do the decent thing and travel up early that morning or late the Friday night. Sure why wouldn't youse?

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 09/06/2016 15:53:26    1864323

Replying To bricktop:  "

Is that game in Corrigan?"
it is bricktop

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 09/06/2016 15:59:02    1864327

Sure object, it's great craic, actually the 25th of June doesn't suit me either, I have a few things on.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 09/06/2016 16:03:19    1864331

hello offside and bumpernut
how about putting limerick v antrim in croke park as a curtain raiser to the ring final

is corrigan park the one on the falls road near the ballymurphy estate and across road from graveyard - walked passed it (i think) when up for pro12 final last year. Enjoyed my time there, very picturesque place , hoping to go up for qualifier

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 09/06/2016 16:12:06    1864336

Replying To janesboro:  "hello offside and bumpernut
how about putting limerick v antrim in croke park as a curtain raiser to the ring final

is corrigan park the one on the falls road near the ballymurphy estate and across road from graveyard - walked passed it (i think) when up for pro12 final last year. Enjoyed my time there, very picturesque place , hoping to go up for qualifier"
Yeah janesboro that's it

There are no stands mind you, just grass banks, so bring an umbrella if its wet!

No reason why it cant be a double header in croke, would prob suit youse as much as us.

We'll run it by the Meath boys first tho as they seem to call the shots ;)

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 09/06/2016 16:47:48    1864353

hello offside and bumpernut

is corrigan park the one on the falls road near the ballymurphy estate and across road from graveyard - walked passed it (i think) when up for pro12 final last year. Enjoyed my time there, very picturesque place , hoping to go up for qualifier

Janesboro - it would be giving up home advantage and also I would say denying a lot of people the chance to see it for whatever reason as the journey down to Dublin would rule out a lot of people. I am firmly in the camp of if you are given an advantage for a game (as in you get the home draw or whatever) that you hold on to it. For psychological reasons if nothing else.

As for Corrigan - yeah it sits off the Whiterock (off the Falls) opposite the graveyard. It has been said that the vote alone from the cemetery has elected many a politican but who ever believes hearsay?

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 09/06/2016 16:52:18    1864358

Replying To bumpernut:  "Yeah janesboro that's it

There are no stands mind you, just grass banks, so bring an umbrella if its wet!

No reason why it cant be a double header in croke, would prob suit youse as much as us.

We'll run it by the Meath boys first tho as they seem to call the shots ;)"
Well we are Irish Royalty after all, and the answer is no :-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 09/06/2016 17:03:44    1864362

offside rule Janesboro - it would be giving up home advantage and also I would say denying a lot of people the chance to see it for whatever reason as the journey down to Dublin would rule out a lot of people. I am firmly in the camp of if you are given an advantage for a game (as in you get the home draw or whatever) that you hold on to it. For psychological reasons if nothing else.

yeah totally understand - i hope its in belfast for the trip , - hope im wrong but there will be very few limerick fans heading to this

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 09/06/2016 17:17:00    1864370

dont think the qualifer time is set yet - so probably be on the sunday

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 09/06/2016 17:19:00    1864371