Meath vs Antrim

MesAmis

Come on, they would have known that a replay was highly probable within hours of the match ending Saturday evening.

Haha, ye that's it Mes, a bunch of drunk young lads, who'd had the score confirmed to them by the referee and were out celebrating winning a national trophy didn't all collectively put down their drinks and head home to prepare for the replay instantly when they heard there might have been controversy.

I'm sorry Mes but clearly our hurlers are not as intelligent or responsible as your good self or bumpernut, they are a team of mere mortals :-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 09/06/2016 12:14:19    1864147

Its the 25th in Croke Park

RoyalBadger (Meath) - Posts: 571 - 09/06/2016 12:16:26    1864149

I for the life of me can't understand how people can even consider this Saturday as suitable for a replay. It's a total joke. Meath (and to a lesser extent Antrim) could not be properly prepared for it.
For people to say Meath knew after the game a replay was going to happen so they should have not celebrated, this is total bulls*ite. What came out on last Saturday evening/ night was that the press box had a different score to the official score. Considering that there was a controversial point not given for Meath and the referee's score matched the scoreboard it looked like it could have been a simple case of a misunderstanding. How people would not expect Meath to celebrate arguably the biggest win in their history in those circumstances is bizarre. It took a bit of time for it to come out that the referee said he had made a mistake tallying up his scores. Even then a replay did not look certain as both Meath and Antrim had played the scoreboard and so much happened in the game after the scorekeeping error error (including Meath having a free in the end in which they concentrated in getting out of play so as not to give Antrim an attack to get a score to tie the game).
The only thing for me Meath did wrong was have a homecoming on Monday night as by Monday a replay looked much more likely.
If Antrim are not in a position to play on Saturday week a later date, suitable to both Meath and Antrim needs to be found. Antrim are doing well in having this game replayed so should make an effort to accommodate Meath on this.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1359 - 09/06/2016 12:23:34    1864158

Replying To ziggy32001:  "The GAA will be delighted if it comes to arguments between Meath and Antrim,their plan is working and some are falling for it with ease."
The blame has been laid on our doorstep once again ziggy and typically neutrals are happy to jump on the bandwagon and point the finger at us rather than the Gaa. I just wish they'd stick to their guns rather than pay us lip service by pretending to also blame the Gaa.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 09/06/2016 12:23:40    1864159

Replying To ziggy32001:  "The GAA will be delighted if it comes to arguments between Meath and Antrim,their plan is working and some are falling for it with ease."
Where I stand is that the GAA should have let the two Counties sit down and agree a date which suits BOTH Counties. Given the fiasco the GAA should take a step back in that regard though in reality I doubt they would. My issue is with this notion on here that if we don't agree to Meaths demand then we are in the wrong.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 09/06/2016 12:24:07    1864160

Meath said they would play the replay.But why should they do it on the GAA'S terms? They made this huge mess,haven't said sorry for it either.
ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts:5482 - 09/06/2016 11:52:59 18641

Probably because it's up to the GAA to arrange and organise the fixtures. What sort of anarchy would ensue if everyone started arranging their own fixtures to suit themselves. To say a game can't be played because players were on the lash is one of the craziest things I've heard. Junior B's wouldn't be at it. I also don't get the call for the replay having to be in Croke Park - ok it's a major final but so are (were) the U21's and they be held in a provincial ground.

The whole thing is a mess, neither teams fault but it also is wrong to say the GAA hierarchy made the mess, unfortunately it was human error on the part of the referee. Talk about the Croke Park scoreboard being wrong is irrelevant, it is up to the referee to keep the correct score - he got this wrong. Also there will be bigger games (no insult meant to the teams or the Christy Ring Cup) played this year with no hawk eye, so whether or not a point was signaled wide isn't relevant. It wasn't given at the time as a wide. On scores awarded by the referee the match finished level. Replay needed, get on with it and then no one will be lining up to have a kick at Meath.
Meath started off getting all the sympathy in this situation but they are loosing it pretty fast - saying this Saturday doesn't suit them but then looking it played 24hrs before Antrim play in the Ulster Championship showed a total disregard for the welfare of the Antrim players.

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 09/06/2016 12:26:53    1864163

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Hang on now..

It was hardly what you would call a normal situation were it was a normal draw now.."
Maybe not. But it's still a draw.

Replay fixed for the next Saturday.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 09/06/2016 12:35:34    1864171

Replying To RoyalBadger:  "Its the 25th in Croke Park"
Let's hope that's the end of it!

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 09/06/2016 12:35:37    1864172

About time they do something that makes sense. 25th June in Croke park. Gives both teams time to get over mistake and prepare for it

GMR (Meath) - Posts: 17 - 09/06/2016 12:37:07    1864174

Haha, ye that's it Mes, a bunch of drunk young lads, who'd had the score confirmed to them by the referee and were out celebrating winning a national trophy didn't all collectively put down their drinks and head home to prepare for the replay instantly when they heard there might have been controversy.

I'm sorry Mes but clearly our hurlers are not as intelligent or responsible as your good self or bumpernut, they are a team of mere mortals :-)
Htaem (Meath) - Posts:7179 - 09/06/2016 12:14:19

Well I suppose when their manager comes out and says that they'll play no replay because they won a game where they didn't score more than the opposition it'd be hard for the players to comprehend that maybe the result wouldn't stand seeing as they had actually drawn the match.

I'd give them a little more credit than you give them to be honest.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 09/06/2016 12:39:21    1864178

Replying To RoyalBadger:  "Its the 25th in Croke Park"
I wonder will the Meath lads have sobered up by then?

According to some on here they have absolutely no self control.

They should probably give them another fortnight to dry out.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 09/06/2016 12:41:20    1864180

Replying To Htaem:  "MesAmis

Come on, they would have known that a replay was highly probable within hours of the match ending Saturday evening.

I'm sorry Mes but clearly our hurlers are not as intelligent or responsible as your good self or bumpernut, they are a team of mere mortals :-)"
I think Htaem that is not the issue.

Whatever about the Saturday night and the few drinks, once it became apparent on the Sunday then surely they shouldn't have done the dog on it and gone around clubs etc with trophy. I'd say Sunday and Monday were a bit mad.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 09/06/2016 12:41:23    1864181

The Central Competitions Control Committee (CCCC) of the GAA have confirmed that the replay of the Christy Ring Cup final will take place in Croke Park on Saturday 25th June at 5pm

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2151 - 09/06/2016 12:53:13    1864198

Replying To Htaem:  "That's it bumpernut, claim you blame Croke Park for '90% or more' of this and then proceed to blame a group of young lads for going out and enjoying themselves after thinking they'd won their first major trophy (if we can call if major). Then smugly claim that you would have been you would have been "furious" and "livid" if the young men from Antrim done the same thing, which is absolute b******s of course and I don't believe it for one second.

Now I won't take the high ground and blame Antrim for any of this because none of it is their fault anymore than it's ours. This weekend doesn't suit us, next weekend doesn't suit Antrim, but there's a whole summer full of Saturdays and Sundays so why don't both Counties come together and agree a suitable date?

Ps, to hell with the Gaa's date, they've already shown complete contempt for both Counties and couldn't give a s***e about the competition anyway, so let's threat their input with a grain of salt."
Htaem,

The obvious problem with forums is that you don't know posters personally so to assume I am being smug about my observations or claiming somehow trying to claim the high moral ground is ridiculous. The high moral ground is overrated anyway as every day in this dump we live in we are asked to assume it politically but that's another story!,

To get back to my point I think the meath management team and county board are either stupid or are playing games by assuming the victim role. In my opinion, as I will express it now and again, I believe it to be the latter. The reason for that is I think they will have a full team on Saturday as will Antrim and the match will be as tight as it was last week.
The management team and county board in my opinion are creating a hullabaloo in the hope that Antrim take their eye off the ball, all the while the meath players continue to train away.
I have yet to see a Meath player interviewed about any impending trip to America or indeed the fiasco that was last week. Given that trips to America were one of the excuses then why is the 18th any different from the 11th?
As well as that even allowing for being on the rip for 3 days, you do have 4 days to sober up don't forget. At this stage of the year training should surely be stickwork and sharpness, fitness should not be an issue, particularly given the meath manager stated he thought they were fitter anyway.

Just play the game on Saturday without all this nonsense and may the best team win. As for the bigger picture, iro the GAA's disregard for smaller counties, in Antrim we've been beating that drum for years and im sure we'll continue to do it. It would be good though if those counties outside the usual suspects/elite actually pulled together and drew up a strategy themselves to present to Central Council, as they seem to have no interest in developing a strategy on their own!

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 09/06/2016 13:07:09    1864210

Replying To Htaem:  "MesAmis

I'm sorry Mes but clearly our hurlers are not as intelligent or responsible as your good self or bumpernut, they are a team of mere mortals :-)"
Inject them with some common sense then!

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 09/06/2016 13:09:17    1864211

this date is not common sense . unless if by common sense you mean appeasing a bunch of poorly managed young fellas who thought it wise to celebrate for 3 days something the world and his da knew was not the case . Antrim team were told to be ready for possible replay more than likely the following week . It was completely stupid of Meath not to do same .
Meath have lost all sympathy here and most neutrals hope they get hammered in the replay.

Finsceal (None) - Posts: 559 - 09/06/2016 13:59:21    1864236

Replying To MesAmis:  "Haha, ye that's it Mes, a bunch of drunk young lads, who'd had the score confirmed to them by the referee and were out celebrating winning a national trophy didn't all collectively put down their drinks and head home to prepare for the replay instantly when they heard there might have been controversy.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts:7179 - 09/06/2016 12:14:19

Well I suppose when their manager comes out and says that they'll play no replay because they won a game where they didn't score more than the opposition it'd be hard for the players to comprehend that maybe the result wouldn't stand seeing as they had actually drawn the match.

I'd give them a little more credit than you give them to be honest."
Well actually we did score more than the opposition but they didn't award us 1 of those points, but fair enough, people make mistakes and the replay is fixed for the 25th of June, I'm happy with that, no excuses.

Now in all honesty I think your personal stance on our hurlers is rigid and unfair, simple as that.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 09/06/2016 14:02:45    1864242

Now in all honesty I think your personal stance on our hurlers is rigid and unfair, simple as that.
Htaem (Meath) - Posts:7180 - 09/06/2016 14:02:45

So saying that they should replay a game that they drew and that they are disciplined enough to stop drinking long enough to sober up by next Saturday is rigid and unfair?

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 09/06/2016 14:16:00    1864248

25th of June in Croke Park

Now the whole thing has been a mess,but both counties should be happy with this?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 09/06/2016 14:16:12    1864249

Replying To bumpernut:  "Htaem,

The obvious problem with forums is that you don't know posters personally so to assume I am being smug about my observations or claiming somehow trying to claim the high moral ground is ridiculous. The high moral ground is overrated anyway as every day in this dump we live in we are asked to assume it politically but that's another story!,

To get back to my point I think the meath management team and county board are either stupid or are playing games by assuming the victim role. In my opinion, as I will express it now and again, I believe it to be the latter. The reason for that is I think they will have a full team on Saturday as will Antrim and the match will be as tight as it was last week.
The management team and county board in my opinion are creating a hullabaloo in the hope that Antrim take their eye off the ball, all the while the meath players continue to train away.
I have yet to see a Meath player interviewed about any impending trip to America or indeed the fiasco that was last week. Given that trips to America were one of the excuses then why is the 18th any different from the 11th?
As well as that even allowing for being on the rip for 3 days, you do have 4 days to sober up don't forget. At this stage of the year training should surely be stickwork and sharpness, fitness should not be an issue, particularly given the meath manager stated he thought they were fitter anyway.

Just play the game on Saturday without all this nonsense and may the best team win. As for the bigger picture, iro the GAA's disregard for smaller counties, in Antrim we've been beating that drum for years and im sure we'll continue to do it. It would be good though if those counties outside the usual suspects/elite actually pulled together and drew up a strategy themselves to present to Central Council, as they seem to have no interest in developing a strategy on their own!"
Ye ye ye, Meath did this, Meath did that, yack yack yack, I still hold no animosity towards Antrim no matter what you say bumpernut but keep trying if you wish. I won't be fooled by the Gaa into thinking that this is an issue between Meath and Antrim, this is the Gaa's mess entirely and we're fools to throw dirt at each other.

Anyway the game is set for the 25th June for Croker, I think that's fair for both teams and may the best team win.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 09/06/2016 14:17:53    1864251