Meath vs Antrim

Lads,

Hold your horses Im well aware 90% or more of the blame lies in Croke Park and im not having a pop just for the sake of it.

However, If you're honest we all knew the only reasonable outcome was a going to be a replay.

Now my point is, and I apologise if im labouring it a touch, the Meath players and management knew on Saturday night that there was a serious issue with the score. By all means go and enjoy yourself on Saturday night, however, I would imagine it will have been discussed in between pints so the management and county in particular would be aware that things were starting to unfold and the possible repercussions of this.
So bearing all that in mind, why would the management be naïve maybe, rather than stupid enough to let the players continue going on the rip. Surely the players also have a responsibility to see the bigger picture too. If the Antrim team and management had allowed that to happen im sure other Antrim supporters would have been furious, as would I. In fact if my club had been in a final and that scenario unfolded I would equally be livid.
I really cant see the game being played any other time than next Saturday and I think it will be played then despite the Meath County Board and management protestations.
You can go on about the meaningless Ulster Championship games and Antrim playing in 2 championships all you want but the reality of that is Central Council made the Ulster Championship meaningless. Firstly they denied a semi final place to the Ulster Champions and then proceeded to take a quarter final place from them. This again was to appease the 'elite' hurling counties and their supporters, in my opinion its no coincidence that the standard/reputation of Ulster Hurling has declined dramatically on the back of that/those decisions!

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 09/06/2016 10:47:53    1864064

Replying To Htaem:  "Ok after seeing the response of both Counties now this is how I see it:

Meath were right not to accept the cccc's replay date but shouldn't have requested the 18th, not sure if that was deliberate or incompetent on their behalf but either way it's not particularly helpful.

Antrim shouldn't be taking advantage of this situation by not negotiating and stating that they will turn up for this unacceptable date. Although if they turn up they will be crowned champions without pucking a ball, now that's a way to win!"
Certainly not the way I would want to see Antrim get the cup - it would not be winning.

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 09/06/2016 10:59:48    1864074

Replying To MesAmis:  "A replay of a game that finished level a week later is hardly that ridiculous a decision to be honest.

Yes they probably should have made the decision earlier but lads going on holidays, or having been on the lash is not a reason to brandish this all a disgrace imo.

Pre match there still could have been a replay scheduled for next week and in terms of going on the beer? Come on, they would have known that a replay was highly probable within hours of the match ending Saturday evening."
They would have known a replay would have been called Saturday evening?? Really?? Where was the precedent for the GAA ever ordering a replay after any controversial finish?? A replay after Meath management were told by match officials that the score was right with 8 minutes to go and TG4 had it wrong?? A replay after the powers that be couldn't bother to meet until 72 hours after the event?? A replay after Meath County Board received no official word at any stage up until and including Tuesday evening that there was any issue and had not been officially informed that the CCCC was going to meet and discuss the issue?? A replay after Meath had an apparently certain point waved wide because Hawkeye wasn't functioning after the Springsteen concert?? I really would love to know if the shoe was on the other foot how Antrim would have reacted to all this, would they be so happy with a replay?? They seem quite comfortable assuming the moral high ground here and directing their ire, as you are, at Meath instead of Croke Park. But why in Gods name would you let anything get in the way of having a good kick at the Royals, sure it's great fun to paint us as the cheating, unaccommodating and unfair philistines that we are, just wipe your feet on us on the way out the door lads

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 09/06/2016 11:02:47    1864076

Replying To Richieq:  "Now look, what's mods important to Antrim, an Ulster title or playing in the Liam McCarthy next year? I am sure an accommodation can be made for the Ulster Championship. I feel a trend here where Meath are once again being blamed for the ineptitude of others, I feel the Meath County Board made the right decision last night and if agreement can't be reached on June 18th well then Antrim can have a walkover and be declared Christy Ring champions and good luck to them, this utter farce has dragged on too long already and the sooner Meath wash their hands of it one way or another the better because irregardless of what happens we will be painted as the bad guys and treated accordingly."
If an accommodation can be made for the Ulster Championship fine but as things stand the offer was made to play the day before the Ulster semi involving Antrim which I feel was either presumptuous or disingenuous. Ideally I would like to see the game played when both teams feel they can give it their best shot - I do not want any hollow victory or defeat.

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 09/06/2016 11:05:13    1864077

Replying To Awwwwnow:  "At least Meath had the Christy Ring Cup for a week or two..... Which is a lot longer than they will ever have the Sam Maguire for!!!"
Meath have won the All Ireland 7 times... Cavan have won it 5 times (last time was in 1952!), whats your point?

And while you are it, you might inform us all as to how Cavan hurling is progressing?

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 09/06/2016 11:10:58    1864082

Replying To bumpernut:  "Lads,

Hold your horses Im well aware 90% or more of the blame lies in Croke Park and im not having a pop just for the sake of it.

However, If you're honest we all knew the only reasonable outcome was a going to be a replay.

Now my point is, and I apologise if im labouring it a touch, the Meath players and management knew on Saturday night that there was a serious issue with the score. By all means go and enjoy yourself on Saturday night, however, I would imagine it will have been discussed in between pints so the management and county in particular would be aware that things were starting to unfold and the possible repercussions of this.
So bearing all that in mind, why would the management be naïve maybe, rather than stupid enough to let the players continue going on the rip. Surely the players also have a responsibility to see the bigger picture too. If the Antrim team and management had allowed that to happen im sure other Antrim supporters would have been furious, as would I. In fact if my club had been in a final and that scenario unfolded I would equally be livid.
I really cant see the game being played any other time than next Saturday and I think it will be played then despite the Meath County Board and management protestations.
You can go on about the meaningless Ulster Championship games and Antrim playing in 2 championships all you want but the reality of that is Central Council made the Ulster Championship meaningless. Firstly they denied a semi final place to the Ulster Champions and then proceeded to take a quarter final place from them. This again was to appease the 'elite' hurling counties and their supporters, in my opinion its no coincidence that the standard/reputation of Ulster Hurling has declined dramatically on the back of that/those decisions!"
That is exactly how I see it too bumper.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 09/06/2016 11:12:27    1864084

You can go on about the meaningless Ulster Championship games and Antrim playing in 2 championships all you want but the reality of that is Central Council made the Ulster Championship meaningless. Firstly they denied a semi final place to the Ulster Champions and then proceeded to take a quarter final place from them. This again was to appease the 'elite' hurling counties and their supporters, in my opinion its no coincidence that the standard/reputation of Ulster Hurling has declined dramatically on the back of that/those decisions!"
I'd agree with you on the players celebrating point of view to a degree when it was becoming quickly apparent that something was wrong.

But the reality for the players might be different if you think that the whistle blows, the referee shakes your hand and says well done, the GAA top brass officials make a speech and hand you a cup in croke park, the celebrations are in full flow in the dressing room... players, families, partners shedding tears of joy.

Is a Meath county board official going to walk in and say steady on there lads and lassies, we're not sure if we should be celebrating or not? Whats he going to say? Are management supposed to call off celebrations at that point and say they are on hold until the CCCC make a decision on the Tuesday (72 hours later)?

Its not fair to call a replay for the following Saturday in those circumstances. The Meath county board, before last night, should have called a meeting with the Antrim county board and found a solution between themselves like gentlemen and not be going tit for tat in the media.

If Saturday doesn't suit Meath and the following Saturday doesn't suit Antrim, then they should find a mutually agreeable date for later in the summer.

But in reality, this should be the GAA's job. But as we all know, they are an absolute disgrace these days.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 09/06/2016 11:19:13    1864089

That's it bumpernut, claim you blame Croke Park for '90% or more' of this and then proceed to blame a group of young lads for going out and enjoying themselves after thinking they'd won their first major trophy (if we can call if major). Then smugly claim that you would have been you would have been "furious" and "livid" if the young men from Antrim done the same thing, which is absolute b******s of course and I don't believe it for one second.

Now I won't take the high ground and blame Antrim for any of this because none of it is their fault anymore than it's ours. This weekend doesn't suit us, next weekend doesn't suit Antrim, but there's a whole summer full of Saturdays and Sundays so why don't both Counties come together and agree a suitable date?

Ps, to hell with the Gaa's date, they've already shown complete contempt for both Counties and couldn't give a s***e about the competition anyway, so let's threat their input with a grain of salt.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 09/06/2016 11:37:17    1864107

Replying To Richieq:  "They would have known a replay would have been called Saturday evening?? Really?? Where was the precedent for the GAA ever ordering a replay after any controversial finish?? A replay after Meath management were told by match officials that the score was right with 8 minutes to go and TG4 had it wrong?? A replay after the powers that be couldn't bother to meet until 72 hours after the event?? A replay after Meath County Board received no official word at any stage up until and including Tuesday evening that there was any issue and had not been officially informed that the CCCC was going to meet and discuss the issue?? A replay after Meath had an apparently certain point waved wide because Hawkeye wasn't functioning after the Springsteen concert?? I really would love to know if the shoe was on the other foot how Antrim would have reacted to all this, would they be so happy with a replay?? They seem quite comfortable assuming the moral high ground here and directing their ire, as you are, at Meath instead of Croke Park. But why in Gods name would you let anything get in the way of having a good kick at the Royals, sure it's great fun to paint us as the cheating, unaccommodating and unfair philistines that we are, just wipe your feet on us on the way out the door lads"
The game finished in a draw. That's the fact of the matter. It was unfortunate to say the least that Meath were led to believe that they had won the game but the fact is they didn't win the game.

Everyone has admitted that now and it was clear from Saturday night that replay was a distinct possibility.

Do you seriously think that Meath won the game and that no replay should be played? You'd seriously want your county to win a Championship despite not having won the final?

The only thing that can be done is to replay the match. Meath and Antrim deserve a chance to earn their title and promotion. It's unfair on both Meath and Antrim otherwise.

Lay off the hyperbole a little.

As for precedent, there was a very controversial finish to the 1998 All-Ireland semi-final in which a replay was ordered. It was a time keeping issue rather than a score keeping issue but the right thing to do then, as now, was a replay.

They may have been a little slow in getting the decision made but that doesn't change the fact that they've made the correct call.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 09/06/2016 11:46:44    1864111

Meath won't turn up this weekend and rightly so.The Gaa will hand the cup to Antrim(even though they didn't win it) and move on blaming Meath for the fiasco..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 09/06/2016 11:47:12    1864112

Replying To MesAmis:  "A replay of a game that finished level a week later is hardly that ridiculous a decision to be honest.

Yes they probably should have made the decision earlier but lads going on holidays, or having been on the lash is not a reason to brandish this all a disgrace imo.

Pre match there still could have been a replay scheduled for next week and in terms of going on the beer? Come on, they would have known that a replay was highly probable within hours of the match ending Saturday evening."
Hang on now..

It was hardly what you would call a normal situation were it was a normal draw now..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 09/06/2016 11:51:48    1864116

Replying To redhanddefender:  "Meath are not coming out of this well. I had sympathy for them but they are beginning to sound like spoilt little kids who stole something of their kid brother and won't give it back!

You did not win, play the replay!"
Meath said they would play the replay.But why should they do it on the GAA'S terms? They made this huge mess,haven't said sorry for it either.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 09/06/2016 11:52:59    1864117

Replying To Richieq:  "They would have known a replay would have been called Saturday evening?? Really?? Where was the precedent for the GAA ever ordering a replay after any controversial finish?? A replay after Meath management were told by match officials that the score was right with 8 minutes to go and TG4 had it wrong?? A replay after the powers that be couldn't bother to meet until 72 hours after the event?? A replay after Meath County Board received no official word at any stage up until and including Tuesday evening that there was any issue and had not been officially informed that the CCCC was going to meet and discuss the issue?? A replay after Meath had an apparently certain point waved wide because Hawkeye wasn't functioning after the Springsteen concert?? I really would love to know if the shoe was on the other foot how Antrim would have reacted to all this, would they be so happy with a replay?? They seem quite comfortable assuming the moral high ground here and directing their ire, as you are, at Meath instead of Croke Park. But why in Gods name would you let anything get in the way of having a good kick at the Royals, sure it's great fun to paint us as the cheating, unaccommodating and unfair philistines that we are, just wipe your feet on us on the way out the door lads"
I would like to think, as previously posted yesterday or the day before, that in the reverse situation that by Sunday at latest when it was well reported that the game was a draw, that the referee was saying as much in his report and that the CCCC were meeting to resolve on Tuesday, that our County would have had the sense to start planning on the assumption that the match would be replayed and knowing how replays work it would be the following weekend.

Under the rules it clearly states (under Chapter 7 - Enforcement of Rules/Arbitration) for matters where there is a going to be a meeting to resolve/hearing that:

(vi) A Referee's Report, including any
Clarification thereto, shall be presumed to
be correct in all factual matters and may only
be rebutted where unedited video or other
compelling evidence contradicts it;

and

(viii) After the Hearing, the Hearings Committee
may, in its sole discretion, seek Clarification
in writing of any matters in the Referee's
Report. Any written Clarification or
comment by the Referee shall have the same
status as the Referee's Report itself, but may
only be used for the purposes of exoneration
of the Defending Party or mitigation of
any allegations made against him. Such
Clarification may not be challenged in
any way or made the subject matter of any
further Hearing.

So we knew there was going to be a meeting. We knew the refs report was going to be showing it as a draw. And the dogs on the street knew that the only outcome they were really going to come to was a replay. Why then did Meath still continue as they were champions? And why should we then just be expected to dance to the tune and meet the demands being set out by Meath and when we don't get lambasted from some corners. That is why you are seeing the reactions you are from some Antrim posters as I am sure many feel the same way.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 09/06/2016 11:54:48    1864120

Replying To Naysayer:  "Certainly not the way I would want to see Antrim get the cup - it would not be winning."
I wouldn't imagine Antrim want to win the cup that way and shouldn't be forced into such a silly situation. I don't have great faith in County Boards to do rational things and I think the Meath Board proposing the 18th was stupid and careless (which sadly is not an uncommon trait among the Meath county board throughout the years).

But why can't the two counties sit down and set a date that suits both teams. This isn't a regular fixture, this is an enormous cock up by an indifferent Croke Park, neither Meath nor Antrim owe them anything.

For me it's either that or the Meath county board release a statement congratulating Antrim on their Christy Ring Cup success and we'll leave the gates open so someone can come collect the cup (someone from Croke Park if they have any interest, not Antrim), now this doesn't make sense, but at least it would be a bit of craic.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 09/06/2016 11:55:15    1864121

Replying To Htaem:  "That's it bumpernut, claim you blame Croke Park for '90% or more' of this and then proceed to blame a group of young lads for going out and enjoying themselves after thinking they'd won their first major trophy (if we can call if major). Then smugly claim that you would have been you would have been "furious" and "livid" if the young men from Antrim done the same thing, which is absolute b******s of course and I don't believe it for one second.

Now I won't take the high ground and blame Antrim for any of this because none of it is their fault anymore than it's ours. This weekend doesn't suit us, next weekend doesn't suit Antrim, but there's a whole summer full of Saturdays and Sundays so why don't both Counties come together and agree a suitable date?

Ps, to hell with the Gaa's date, they've already shown complete contempt for both Counties and couldn't give a s***e about the competition anyway, so let's threat their input with a grain of salt."
the Ulster hurling championship, really what's the point of that when both counties are vying for a spot in the Leinster championship. Meath are dead right not to play this Saturday and also a national final should not be held outside of Croke Park. I understand Antrim's frustration but surely both counties can talk and come up with a date.

AthboyCelt (Meath) - Posts: 147 - 09/06/2016 11:55:23    1864122

The Ulster Council were able to push a final date for the USHC to a different year. I'm sure accommodating Meaths reasonable request wont be a problem.

RoyalBadger (Meath) - Posts: 571 - 09/06/2016 11:56:05    1864123

The GAA will be delighted if it comes to arguments between Meath and Antrim,their plan is working and some are falling for it with ease.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 09/06/2016 12:01:38    1864130

What an absolute cock up, sour taste in everyone's mouth and replay is pointless at this stage. Sorry for those Meath lads that looked so happy but it's only going to get nasty now and the ship has sailed as far as genuine glory is concerned.

KerryKillers (Dublin) - Posts: 711 - 09/06/2016 12:04:44    1864133

A replay because the match finished level?

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 09/06/2016 12:07:30    1864137

Now to focus ahead, I fear that Antrim may be turned over this Saturday, they need to show fight and energy if they are to stay with Meath for the 70+ minutes. Laziness will win us nothing and that's what I see in all our county squads, I watched a training session of our U17/Minors the other week, eighteen boys turned up and the drills were done a half pace at best even if the mentor was asking for a bit more intensity, awful to see such talent not being prepared to work hard.

Brian_Coyote (Antrim) - Posts: 346 - 09/06/2016 12:09:35    1864139