Meath vs Antrim

One for Royal Dunne. Meath have the fourth highest number of hurling clubs in Leinster. More than Offaly. Now the standard? Thats another days work to answer.

Auldfella (Meath) - Posts: 472 - 04/06/2016 21:57:11    1861622

As far as most Antrim people are concerned Meath won on the scoreboard and that's the end of it. The Antrim board should make a statement that Antrim accept the result even if a mistake was made.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9719 - 04/06/2016 21:57:49    1861623

Replying To Ulsterman:  "As far as most Antrim people are concerned Meath won on the scoreboard and that's the end of it. The Antrim board should make a statement that Antrim accept the result even if a mistake was made."
Complete blunder all the same...

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 04/06/2016 22:54:25    1861635

As an Antrim man I don't care if technically there may have been a draw. It would be cruel and immoral to take the victory away from the Meath fellas. Let the scoreline stand as it is.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9719 - 05/06/2016 00:04:35    1861645

Antrim were poor today but if they scored the same as Meath they deserve a replay. The same happened to Down a few years ago in the Christy ring and the gas offered the players a pay off if they let it go. The money never was paid out. If the Antrim players agreed to same deal not one of them should ever wear the jersey again. On Today's game, only Tony McC and possibly Paddy B showed any fight, the rest of the guys walked around doing f all. The catching was woeful, didn't move for the ball, but when you see the U17s and minors doing the same you wonder who the f is allowing these boys on to Dev Squads. Bar No 15 in the Celtic Challenge team today the rest of the boys don't show any wish to be hurling for Antrim. It is time we built intensity into our young lads.

Brian_Coyote (Antrim) - Posts: 346 - 05/06/2016 00:29:40    1861648

If the correct score cannot be worked out in Croke Park what chance an ordinary club game. An embarrassing farce. Antrim may not complain but procedures need to be put in place.

Armaghball (Armagh) - Posts: 96 - 05/06/2016 01:15:48    1861649

Replying To Ulsterman:  "As far as most Antrim people are concerned Meath won on the scoreboard and that's the end of it. The Antrim board should make a statement that Antrim accept the result even if a mistake was made."
Why should Antrim board accept the result if it incorrect Ulsterman? I didn't watch the game but it can't be too hard in today's world to ascertain how many scores each team got. And if an incorrect score is let stand because a ref says so then that's simply a sporting disgrace. You might not have been mightily impressed with Antrims display for a variety of reasons but the true score at the end of any game should stand alone.The Antrim players that give everything for their team deserve to be treated fairly with regard to the final score of the game.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 05/06/2016 07:29:13    1861654

Would the ref not have the score himself aside from the scoreboard??

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 05/06/2016 07:57:51    1861655

In fairness Ulsterman I find it very strange that yourself,who is always railing against perceived wrongs,is willing to roll over so easy on this issue involving your own county. What's the story man?

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 05/06/2016 08:55:14    1861661

Agree seanie boy - if the game was a draw then I want it replayed. I don't fall in to the same camp as Ulsterman saying give it to Meath - bull fecking shiiiitte. I don't do sentimental.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 05/06/2016 09:38:51    1861667

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "Agree seanie boy - if the game was a draw then I want it replayed. I don't fall in to the same camp as Ulsterman saying give it to Meath - bull fecking shiiiitte. I don't do sentimental."
Dead right.

The replay will have to come from Central Council though as we know that the Meath County Board won't offer one.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13725 - 05/06/2016 10:52:35    1861687

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "Agree seanie boy - if the game was a draw then I want it replayed. I don't fall in to the same camp as Ulsterman saying give it to Meath - bull fecking shiiiitte. I don't do sentimental."
Its coming out now that the final score was correct.Apparently at HT Antrim had an extra point on the scoreboard and apparently the ref pointed this out...

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 05/06/2016 10:52:52    1861688

Replying To MesAmis:  "Dead right.

The replay will have to come from Central Council though as we know that the Meath County Board won't offer one."
yeah every team should offer a reply if a referee makes a mistake.Stupid.......

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 05/06/2016 11:01:09    1861691

A very enjoyable game of hurling and outstanding performance by Meath. It is a shame that a cloud of controversy hangs over the result. The sooner this is cleared up the better, there is video footage of entire game readily available, this should be reviewed by a panel including Referee and the sooner the better.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 05/06/2016 11:03:51    1861692

What a shambles. We're talking about a national final which was live on television in one of the most modern stadiums in Europe. Not a junior B club match.

I guess sometimes we can get ahead of ourselves. Things like this make us realise the GAA is actually amatuer afterall.

MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 05/06/2016 11:38:59    1861697

Maybe ref did award Seanie Heavy's 'point' ? It looked a clear score from where I was sat even though umpire waved it wide. Meath lads remonstrated immediately and ref was in contact with linesman about it.

showforit (Meath) - Posts: 156 - 05/06/2016 11:48:31    1861699

I know what really happened.......

Ziggy was operating the score board.

Royal Dunne and Htaem were doing umpire for that score.

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2904 - 05/06/2016 11:49:39    1861700

Congratulations and well done to Meath on a great spirited performance.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2993 - 05/06/2016 12:01:35    1861703

This shouldn't happen at all, the ref is the one who records the score. If it is down as one point win in his book it has to be a one point win. A scoreboard is luxury item - in this case looks like it is a liability.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4903 - 05/06/2016 12:05:42    1861706

Ha,but yeah I think it needs to be cleared up very quickly.The Meath lads believe they have won the game.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 05/06/2016 12:06:25    1861707