Meath vs Antrim

Video replays are not used when it comes to scores given but were wide or wide's given as scores in close matches so why use video replays in this match to go back and check score. Ref had awarded match to meath on the day but only changed mind after re-watching it. The same thing has to happen in the future if a point was scored but not given and video evidence shows it was, then the outcome of result if affected has to be changed. This can not be the only result that be changed or maybe its cause meath is a weaker team and more effort go in to changing that result as they are weaker team.
The match was awarded to meath on the day so it should stand. Its a refereeing mistake. He should keep score, then he usually gets umpire each end to also keep it and then when 4th official present he should also be keeping it. If difference between them then call a halt to end of match celebrations and clear it up. If this wasn't done then this is bad practice on behalf of ref & GAA

GMR (Meath) - Posts: 17 - 09/06/2016 08:16:14    1863997

Replying To bumpernut:  "Pool
The Meath management let the players supposedly go on the rip for 3 days, knowing full well that a replay was always a probability. So tell me again why Antrim and Derry should accommodate their stupidity."
why should meath be made suffer by the gaa's incompetence. they were told they were all ireland champions and rightly celebrated no matter the rights and wrongs of it. This should have been sorted out saturday night but because its only the christy ring it wasnt until tuesday. Meath players had plans for holidays,j1's etc...need time to sort out plans only fair to suggest the 18th. with all due respect to the ulster championship its a nothing championship anymore with no impact on the rest of hurling on the island apart from a blip in the 00's antrim have dominated this

srgt_slaughter (Meath) - Posts: 462 - 09/06/2016 08:41:05    1863999

Replying To bumpernut:  "My thoughts exactly offside, I'm sorry but I find this demand by Meath county board as a cynical ploy knowing Antrim play Derry the following day!
Player welfare my a**e!"
Are you serious?

I can assure you that Meath are furious with HQ,who haven't apolagised for this mess by the way.They again tried to put it on Meaths door,so Meath have put it back to the Gaa by saying "take it or leave it"Antrim should be equally furious with the GAA.The whole saga is not Antrim or Meaths fault.I don't know why you are having a go at Meath..

Your anger should be directed at the GAA,not Meath.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 09/06/2016 08:41:50    1864000

Replying To bumpernut:  "Pool
The Meath management let the players supposedly go on the rip for 3 days, knowing full well that a replay was always a probability. So tell me again why Antrim and Derry should accommodate their stupidity."
Exactly what I was thinking Bumper - I would like to see this accommodated to give each team their best chance but for some to say Antrim should be able to play Christy Ring on the Saturday and Ulster semi on the Sunday instead of Meath having to play the Saturday after the weekend when their players were on the drink is some new crazy brought to this debate. Maybe we should have an new version of the All Ireland where it is all played in one week early September from Provincials right through to final while anyone who is not on the field playing at any given moment must be drinking alcohol.

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 09/06/2016 08:59:20    1864006

So Antrim have rejected our replay offer.

Damned if we do damned if we dont.

RoyalBadger (Meath) - Posts: 571 - 09/06/2016 09:46:30    1864017

Replying To Jedobi:  "The whole fiasco sums up the shambles the GAA has become. Outdated championship structures, a clear and evident bias in favour of certain counties, a greedy, money grabbing attitude at the highest decision making level, general lack of support for hurling... the list could go on. Maybe time for a new, breakaway orgainsation that is actually geared towards promoting hurling the best field game in the world or that creates a genuine football championship. Sligo playing their first game in 10 weeks illustrates another scheduling failure. It's becoming a joke and something needs to be done. Fair play to Meath standing up for themselves re date and venue of replay also."
Honestly agree with you 100 percent.

GAA has become a toxic organisation and I, and many others I know, including ex county players, are losing all interest in GAA affairs.

People will say "oh typical Meath" not agreeing to the replay immediately, but this fiasco will actually seriously damage the very fragile efforts to promote hurling in Meath and could really put a nail in the coffin of hurling in our county. The whole senior and intermediate football club championship has been held up in Meath over the past 6 weeks (something a lot of people are very ticked off about with many club players just leaving to the States in their disillusion) to give the hurling team the best chance....now the GAA, from the ref to the President, make an absolute shambles of the thing, with no respect shown whatsoever to the players or supporters.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 09/06/2016 09:51:27    1864018

Ok after seeing the response of both Counties now this is how I see it:

Meath were right not to accept the cccc's replay date but shouldn't have requested the 18th, not sure if that was deliberate or incompetent on their behalf but either way it's not particularly helpful.

Antrim shouldn't be taking advantage of this situation by not negotiating and stating that they will turn up for this unacceptable date. Although if they turn up they will be crowned champions without pucking a ball, now that's a way to win!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 09/06/2016 10:05:57    1864024

Replying To RoyalBadger:  "So Antrim have rejected our replay offer.

Damned if we do damned if we dont."
Forgod sake...

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 09/06/2016 10:11:09    1864026

In light of the offer being for the day before Antrim play their Ulster semi-final I would say it is a bit disingenuous. This Saturday is one week since either team last played and at least one week before either play again. What happens away from the pitch does not carry anywhere near the same relevance in my opinion. Personally I would like to see a date that accommodates both parties to have a fair crack at it but I really do think Meath are now playing silly buggers.

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 09/06/2016 10:14:52    1864028

2012, 2013 and 2014 All Ireland Hurling Final was three weeks later in all cases.

Should the same not apply to this final?

Also i wonder how the Limerick u21 hurlers of 2013 are feeling?

MURPHB33 (Dublin) - Posts: 166 - 09/06/2016 10:16:34    1864032

Replying To Crinigan:  "Honestly agree with you 100 percent.

GAA has become a toxic organisation and I, and many others I know, including ex county players, are losing all interest in GAA affairs.

People will say "oh typical Meath" not agreeing to the replay immediately, but this fiasco will actually seriously damage the very fragile efforts to promote hurling in Meath and could really put a nail in the coffin of hurling in our county. The whole senior and intermediate football club championship has been held up in Meath over the past 6 weeks (something a lot of people are very ticked off about with many club players just leaving to the States in their disillusion) to give the hurling team the best chance....now the GAA, from the ref to the President, make an absolute shambles of the thing, with no respect shown whatsoever to the players or supporters."
Why don't both counties turn up Saturday but not play the match? They need to make this as difficult as possible for the GAA.None of this would have happened had it been Kilkenny or Galway for example.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 09/06/2016 10:19:08    1864034

No. The GAA made a proposal to both Counties. Meath responded with in an effect a refusal but with a proposal of their own. We responded to accept the proposal.

Antrim secretary Frankie Quinn has since indicated to RTE Sport that they will fulfil the replay fixture set for this Saturday at Pairc Esler

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 09/06/2016 10:19:46    1864035

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Are you serious?

I can assure you that Meath are furious with HQ,who haven't apolagised for this mess by the way.They again tried to put it on Meaths door,so Meath have put it back to the Gaa by saying "take it or leave it"Antrim should be equally furious with the GAA.The whole saga is not Antrim or Meaths fault.I don't know why you are having a go at Meath..

Your anger should be directed at the GAA,not Meath."
Well said, typical GAA inadequacy , Meath being used as scapegoats. Meath done absolutely nothing wrong, top brass put their heads in the sand then pulled this ridiculous solution out of thin air.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1914 - 09/06/2016 10:25:42    1864038

I thought the replay was ordered by the CCCC but here you have it.

The sense of entitlement here from some, not all, Meath fans is out of control. I feel sorry for the team and fans that ACTUALLY SHOWED up at the game, certainly not their fault that this occurred, but the fact is that, as many have said, Meath did NOT win the game, so there has to be a replay. As others have said, this was a possibility anyway so no excuses for player unavailability. Going on the lash is your own business, not a reason for postponing a national final. Meath's bluff has been well and truly called so it's time for them to knuckle under and replay the game at the appointed time or get booted. When/If it goes ahead I look forward to seeing the huge Meath crowd in attendance.

rcarragh (Dublin) - Posts: 305 - 09/06/2016 10:25:51    1864039

Replying To Crinigan:  "Honestly agree with you 100 percent.

People will say "oh typical Meath" not agreeing to the replay immediately, but this fiasco will actually seriously damage the very fragile efforts to promote hurling in Meath and could really put a nail in the coffin of hurling in our county. The whole senior and intermediate football club championship has been held up in Meath over the past 6 weeks (something a lot of people are very ticked off about with many club players just leaving to the States in their disillusion) to give the hurling team the best chance....now the GAA, from the ref to the President, make an absolute shambles of the thing, with no respect shown whatsoever to the players or supporters."
At least Meath had the Christy Ring Cup for a week or two..... Which is a lot longer than they will ever have the Sam Maguire for!!!

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 09/06/2016 10:31:14    1864045

Replying To Naysayer:  "Exactly what I was thinking Bumper - I would like to see this accommodated to give each team their best chance but for some to say Antrim should be able to play Christy Ring on the Saturday and Ulster semi on the Sunday instead of Meath having to play the Saturday after the weekend when their players were on the drink is some new crazy brought to this debate. Maybe we should have an new version of the All Ireland where it is all played in one week early September from Provincials right through to final while anyone who is not on the field playing at any given moment must be drinking alcohol."
Now look, what's mods important to Antrim, an Ulster title or playing in the Liam McCarthy next year? I am sure an accommodation can be made for the Ulster Championship. I feel a trend here where Meath are once again being blamed for the ineptitude of others, I feel the Meath County Board made the right decision last night and if agreement can't be reached on June 18th well then Antrim can have a walkover and be declared Christy Ring champions and good luck to them, this utter farce has dragged on too long already and the sooner Meath wash their hands of it one way or another the better because irregardless of what happens we will be painted as the bad guys and treated accordingly.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 09/06/2016 10:35:14    1864048

Replying To rcarragh:  "I thought the replay was ordered by the CCCC but here you have it.

The sense of entitlement here from some, not all, Meath fans is out of control. I feel sorry for the team and fans that ACTUALLY SHOWED up at the game, certainly not their fault that this occurred, but the fact is that, as many have said, Meath did NOT win the game, so there has to be a replay. As others have said, this was a possibility anyway so no excuses for player unavailability. Going on the lash is your own business, not a reason for postponing a national final. Meath's bluff has been well and truly called so it's time for them to knuckle under and replay the game at the appointed time or get booted. When/If it goes ahead I look forward to seeing the huge Meath crowd in attendance."
Spot on.

The game finished in a draw. There will be a replay.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 09/06/2016 10:36:33    1864051

Replying To Awwwwnow:  "At least Meath had the Christy Ring Cup for a week or two..... Which is a lot longer than they will ever have the Sam Maguire for!!!"
We have had it for a damn sight longer than ye have in recent years, now away back to the exams with you, the adults are debating here......

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 09/06/2016 10:39:11    1864053

Replying To Bon:  "Well said, typical GAA inadequacy , Meath being used as scapegoats. Meath done absolutely nothing wrong, top brass put their heads in the sand then pulled this ridiculous solution out of thin air."
A replay of a game that finished level a week later is hardly that ridiculous a decision to be honest.

Yes they probably should have made the decision earlier but lads going on holidays, or having been on the lash is not a reason to brandish this all a disgrace imo.

Pre match there still could have been a replay scheduled for next week and in terms of going on the beer? Come on, they would have known that a replay was highly probable within hours of the match ending Saturday evening.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 09/06/2016 10:40:05    1864054

Meath are not coming out of this well. I had sympathy for them but they are beginning to sound like spoilt little kids who stole something of their kid brother and won't give it back!

You did not win, play the replay!

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 09/06/2016 10:43:01    1864060