Meath vs Antrim

Replying To Richieq:  "Meath have agreed to a replay if played on June 18th in Croke Park I am led to believe......."
Yes no reason(once Antrim are ok with this) that the GAA shouldn't be..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 08/06/2016 20:49:15    1863876

I think this is all just really bad luck to be fair on everyone involved. The ref made a mistake it happens he's human. Hawk eye wasn't back up and running because the camera's were down for Bruce Springsteen and there was technical problems when putting them back up so it wasn't working in time (Talking to a friend who works in Croker)

I think the replay is the best option because neither team actually won so there is no point in leaving Meath with the cup and giving them medals because will it actually mean as much to the players, I know it wouldn't mean much to me.

The timing of it left a lot to be desired but it was probably best for most involved that it is next week (Besides Meath club players).
I'm seeing a lot of excuses from Meath people on here about the replay
1) If players have holidays booked then they would be letting their clubs down by not being around for the championship or if the game was a draw after extra time then the replay would have been this Saturday as well.
2) I'm sure Antrim players have also been on the beer the last couple of days drowning their sorrows so ye are both in the same boat as to fatigue and fitness (Although the drink has been probably ran out of both teams already).

I think its advantage to Antrim because they will find it easier to get up for it. Meath are coming down off a high and will struggle to find motivation. Antrim by 3-5 points

Jackos_Wacko (Kerry) - Posts: 417 - 08/06/2016 20:57:12    1863882

Meath agree to replay.
June 18th croke park, I am sure Antrim will have no problem with this (actually rumours have it, this was agreed between both county boards prior to this evening)
Now Mr president please come on radio 1 in the morning and say that cc/HQ have no option but to grant both counties their wishes.
BTW also Meath will not turn up in Newry regardless, ball in your court now GAA HQ.
Fair play to Ennis he has shown true leadership throughout .

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/06/2016 21:16:45    1863885

Clever enough move from Meath to look for replay Saturday week..

Very unusual for the Gaa to change a fixture once its been set but
it kicks the ball back to the Gaa.

If the Gaa stick to this Saturday it gives Meath an opportunity
to walk away from the whole thing.

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 08/06/2016 21:25:33    1863889

I've never seen this happen even in the dog track in Arklow.

Perhaps play it there ?

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2897 - 08/06/2016 21:39:08    1863898

Jackos Wacko, if as you say that Hawkeye was out of action due to the Bruce Springstein concert it shows what the priority was for the Gaa & a total disregard for the two counties in the Christy Ring final & the actions since by all in Croke Park is just one of trying to scrape the s#ite off the shoe.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 08/06/2016 21:48:53    1863906

Royaldunne - first of all your rumours are entirely wrong !!! And from what I heard it was solely a team decision nothing to do with management whatsoever ever.

hurley1 (Meath) - Posts: 45 - 08/06/2016 21:50:14    1863909

Replying To hurley1:  "Royaldunne - first of all your rumours are entirely wrong !!! And from what I heard it was solely a team decision nothing to do with management whatsoever ever."
Where did I say it had anything to do with management? I congratulated Ennis on hos stances since the debacle by croke park , ccc, HQ, ref, linesman, umpires, and the president.
Mr Ennis was absolutely correct. However he had nothing to do with this decision and neither did the players, it was the county board, now only a fool would say they did not consult both players and management.
Just to clear that up for you.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/06/2016 22:06:49    1863928

Yeah I am sure there will be no issue with us playing it on the Saturday in Croke Park on the Saturday then Derry in the Ulster Semi on Sunday. Any club teams in between Dublin and the Athletic Grounds who think they could fit in a wee challenge game on the Sunday morning give our County Secretary or any of the management team a call.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 08/06/2016 22:20:19    1863937

Replying To royaldunne:  "What cup was on offer that day? Was Laois on the beer for days? Was there a homecoming in portlaoise ?
Apples and oranges my friend."
Replying to royaldunne: What cup was on offer that day? Was Laois on the beer for days? Was there a homecoming in portlaoise ?
Apples and oranges my friend.
I will try to answer your questions,
Instead of a cup, Laois were presented by the Bank Of Ireland with a fair play award, prior to the start of the re-match.
I would hazard a guess and say probably not, perhaps a couple of drinks, as they are a reasonably disciplined bunch of lads.
No, there was no home coming as the game was played in Portlaoise, there own back yard so to speak.
Apples and Oranges, I'll have those I prefer them to sour grapes and lemons.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2908 - 08/06/2016 22:38:20    1863944

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "Yeah I am sure there will be no issue with us playing it on the Saturday in Croke Park on the Saturday then Derry in the Ulster Semi on Sunday. Any club teams in between Dublin and the Athletic Grounds who think they could fit in a wee challenge game on the Sunday morning give our County Secretary or any of the management team a call."
Is that the Ulster hurling semi final you mean? If that is scheduled for the following day, then tough s*it -- it should be postponed. Christy Ring should be given priority. BTW how many Ulster titles are ye going for now -- is it 25 in a row? Surely it has got to the stage for ye now that winning it means nothing. No matter how far hurling standards have fallen in Antrim ye should be capable of winning an Ulster hurling title even with your second team.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1905 - 08/06/2016 23:03:55    1863955

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "Yeah I am sure there will be no issue with us playing it on the Saturday in Croke Park on the Saturday then Derry in the Ulster Semi on Sunday. Any club teams in between Dublin and the Athletic Grounds who think they could fit in a wee challenge game on the Sunday morning give our County Secretary or any of the management team a call."
My thoughts exactly offside, I'm sorry but I find this demand by Meath county board as a cynical ploy knowing Antrim play Derry the following day!
Player welfare my a**e!

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 08/06/2016 23:04:02    1863956

Replying To bumpernut:  "My thoughts exactly offside, I'm sorry but I find this demand by Meath county board as a cynical ploy knowing Antrim play Derry the following day!
Player welfare my a**e!"
How many provinces do you want to play in? Qualifier for Leinster being held to ransom over the Ulster semi.
There is no panic to play this this Saturday or next Saturday. My understanding of the rule book is that the list teams for 2017 Leinster round robin series needs to be finalised by 30th September 2016. This sham CCCC exercise is about shafting the little guy and getting this pain in the hole of a completion out of the way.
Fair play to Martin Ennis and the boys . It is right to offer the replay and if the 18th doesn't work then let Meath and Antrim work something out themselves. They would do a far better job than the cccc

showforit (Meath) - Posts: 156 - 08/06/2016 23:20:45    1863961

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "Is that the Ulster hurling semi final you mean? If that is scheduled for the following day, then tough s*it -- it should be postponed. Christy Ring should be given priority. BTW how many Ulster titles are ye going for now -- is it 25 in a row? Surely it has got to the stage for ye now that winning it means nothing. No matter how far hurling standards have fallen in Antrim ye should be capable of winning an Ulster hurling title even with your second team."
Pool
The Meath management let the players supposedly go on the rip for 3 days, knowing full well that a replay was always a probability. So tell me again why Antrim and Derry should accommodate their stupidity.

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 08/06/2016 23:31:03    1863963

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "Is that the Ulster hurling semi final you mean? If that is scheduled for the following day, then tough s*it -- it should be postponed. Christy Ring should be given priority. BTW how many Ulster titles are ye going for now -- is it 25 in a row? Surely it has got to the stage for ye now that winning it means nothing. No matter how far hurling standards have fallen in Antrim ye should be capable of winning an Ulster hurling title even with your second team."
So move the Ulster Semi to when? The next fixture that one of the teams will be involved in is the following Sunday. Final is fixed for 10th July. Counties involved will have club fixtures set around the dates set. But hey, it's only Ulster Hurling. Talk about snobbery!

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 08/06/2016 23:37:35    1863965

Replying To showforit:  "How many provinces do you want to play in? Qualifier for Leinster being held to ransom over the Ulster semi.
There is no panic to play this this Saturday or next Saturday. My understanding of the rule book is that the list teams for 2017 Leinster round robin series needs to be finalised by 30th September 2016. This sham CCCC exercise is about shafting the little guy and getting this pain in the hole of a completion out of the way.
Fair play to Martin Ennis and the boys . It is right to offer the replay and if the 18th doesn't work then let Meath and Antrim work something out themselves. They would do a far better job than the cccc"
He didn't want a replay in the first place he kept hiding behind excuses...

murrax (Wexford) - Posts: 90 - 08/06/2016 23:43:16    1863966

Replying To moc.dna:  "Jackos Wacko, if as you say that Hawkeye was out of action due to the Bruce Springstein concert it shows what the priority was for the Gaa & a total disregard for the two counties in the Christy Ring final & the actions since by all in Croke Park is just one of trying to scrape the s#ite off the shoe."
Apparently it doesn't take that long to get it all back up and running but they had some technical issues so its better that they left it off rather than have a mistake of what happened a few years ago in the minor hurling.

Jackos_Wacko (Kerry) - Posts: 417 - 09/06/2016 00:00:34    1863974

moc.dna makes a good point and I would add that the cup is now tainted and let whoever wants to collect it have it. The cccc have some cheek fixing without consulting about club fixtures in both counties- amateurs! being well paid

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 09/06/2016 01:20:21    1863985

The whole fiasco sums up the shambles the GAA has become. Outdated championship structures, a clear and evident bias in favour of certain counties, a greedy, money grabbing attitude at the highest decision making level, general lack of support for hurling... the list could go on. Maybe time for a new, breakaway orgainsation that is actually geared towards promoting hurling the best field game in the world or that creates a genuine football championship. Sligo playing their first game in 10 weeks illustrates another scheduling failure. It's becoming a joke and something needs to be done. Fair play to Meath standing up for themselves re date and venue of replay also.

Jedobi (Wexford) - Posts: 153 - 09/06/2016 05:28:11    1863990

Replying To bumpernut:  "Pool
The Meath management let the players supposedly go on the rip for 3 days, knowing full well that a replay was always a probability. So tell me again why Antrim and Derry should accommodate their stupidity."
Meath and Antrim are both being asked to facilitate the Gaa's stupidity, carelessness, incompetence and indifference. Don't point the finger at us bumpernut, Meath are no more to blame for this mess than Antrim are and it's disappointing to see both sets of fans have a go at each other, that will suit the Gaa lovely, a very welcome distraction from their point of view.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 09/06/2016 07:57:14    1863995