Desperate Ticket Sales for Dubs Laois

Christ wish fellas would get over it , this is not news , it's been known for weeks where the game was been played , it was wrong then it's wrong now it's also boring at this stage , struggling to find anything game related on HS.

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 03/06/2016 20:13:50    1861336

i see few Dublin people getting a early start by heading to the game now..they should be there 30 mins before kick off

Now only 13 more mins until my 5 am jog.

Burp

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 04/06/2016 04:48:31    1861396

Replying To WhyTheLongFace:  "i see few Dublin people getting a early start by heading to the game now..they should be there 30 mins before kick off

Now only 13 more mins until my 5 am jog.

Burp"
I know two Dublin lads who went down last night

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 04/06/2016 07:52:20    1861402

Kilkenny Cat laughs seem to be missing 2 wannabee comedians.
Stick with the day jobs lads.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 04/06/2016 09:35:03    1861413

All the crying over a venue portlaois cannot hold the crowd and parking is a joke laois are beaten before they even kick a ball I'd say most kilkenny people are hoping Dublin give our bitter neighbours a good trimming

northerncat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 30 - 04/06/2016 10:05:16    1861419

Portlaoise can hold the crowd, thats the fecking point.
O moore park holds 27000 and nowlan park holds 24000.
Nowlan park has more seats but ive never heard that being an issue before.
Plus o moore park has just undergone a 1 million upgrade..
Laois are a small gaa county trying to play football and hurling to a decent level.
It would have been a huge boost to gaa in the county to have the all ireland
champions come to town. It would have been a 27000 sellout.
Its a real fuck you to all the volunteers in the county that the game is given
To kilkenny, the home of hurling. Laois would prefer play in croke park than
Nowlan park. It makes no sence. From what i hear very few laois supporters
Are travelling on a point of principle. Idiotoc decision ..

I think laois might put up a decent score. Maybe 1-13 but dublin could rack up
4-22 . They really can run up the score when they empty the bench ..
Only dublin home matches and leinster finals should be in croke park..

Ah_Here (Mayo) - Posts: 42 - 04/06/2016 10:50:51    1861427

Replying To Ah_Here:  "Portlaoise can hold the crowd, thats the fecking point.
Laois are a small gaa county trying to play football and hurling to a decent level.

Only dublin home matches and leinster finals should be in croke park.."
Ah here i agree 100%. Good post

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 04/06/2016 11:32:09    1861435

i see few Dublin people getting a early start by heading to the game now..they should be there 30 mins before kick off Now only 13 more mins until my 5 am jog. Burp

WhyTheLongFace (USA) - 04/06/2016 04:48:31

Kick off what's that hi???

mr_gaa1 (Fermanagh) - Posts: 242 - 04/06/2016 11:35:59    1861437

Does anyone know where this Kilkenny place is.
Jaysus,I'm on the M1 for the last hour and not a hint of a sign anywhere. Lot of northerns about though so should be good craic and they might even see some decent football.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 04/06/2016 12:07:02    1861443

Replying To mr_gaa1:  "i see few Dublin people getting a early start by heading to the game now..they should be there 30 mins before kick off Now only 13 more mins until my 5 am jog. Burp

WhyTheLongFace (USA) - 04/06/2016 04:48:31

Kick off what's that hi???"
public houses opening time hi !

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 04/06/2016 13:48:45    1861463

Replying To Ah_Here:  "Portlaoise can hold the crowd, thats the fecking point.

Only dublin home matches and leinster finals should be in croke park.."
A lot of truth in that post.
But Laois supporters didn't go to watch their county in their last game either . But it still should have been played in O Moore park.
Although to be honest if I was from Laois, I probably wouldn't travel on principal.
Heading to to game in 10 min's, with a feeling that the we are on a hiding to nothing , no matter what happens.
Hope I'm wrong .

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 04/06/2016 15:09:32    1861482

Since when did Nowlan Park oust Semple Stadium as the home of hurling?

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 04/06/2016 15:26:59    1861487

Holding the game in O Moore Park the shortfall would have been $90,000 . The Leinster council could have just raised the entry fee into O'Moore Park. A full house of 27,000 paying a few extra euro would still be cheaper for everyone than driving down to Kilkenny.

crikey (Australia) - Posts: 355 - 04/06/2016 15:50:55    1861492

Jayzis lads.... Im locked. Stewards beware......

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 04/06/2016 18:26:45    1861519

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Jayzis lads.... Im locked. Stewards beware......"
Looks half empty to me...........

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 650 - 04/06/2016 19:13:45    1861537

Replying To bad.monkey:  "Since when did Nowlan Park oust Semple Stadium as the home of hurling?"
When Kilkenny pulled away from everyone in the roll of honour

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1904 - 04/06/2016 19:42:20    1861547

16k there. They wouldn't have sold 27k in portlaoise. Probably over 20k though and that's where it should have been.

But let's end this crap that Dublin are too big to take out of croker for their first round matches. At least there's been an atmosphere at this.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 04/06/2016 20:06:35    1861561

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "16k there. They wouldn't have sold 27k in portlaoise. Probably over 20k though and that's where it should have been.

But let's end this crap that Dublin are too big to take out of croker for their first round matches. At least there's been an atmosphere at this."
There's an atmosphere only because the Dubs unlike Laois bothered to travel. Shocking support for their team by the Laois fans.

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 650 - 04/06/2016 20:40:39    1861583

Great atmosphere tonight. 16000 Dubs travelled down to a game that had no chance of being close and for many didnt hold as much interst as the hurling next week. More could have travelled , but it is what it is. Much better atmosphere than croker. Every first round game should be taken out of croker for us , no matter who we play. Unless ground holds less than 16,000.
Half Empty stand in Nowlan park was the allocation Laois gave back.
Terrace and other stand were full to the brim with Dubs and rocking.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 04/06/2016 23:33:31    1861641

There was a great atmosphere in Nowlan park last night- well done to the Dubs fans for the colour and excitement they brought to the occasion. There was a great marketing opportunity missed, though- this was a great chance to bring kids from surrounding counties to see the All-Ireland champions in action. But then, we really don't market our games properly, do we? Contrast this with the wall to wall hype that surrounded the Pro12 the previous weekend (and no silly talk from Leinster and Connaught supporters, bandwagon or otherwise, of a boycott due to the match going ahead in Scotland). Real supporters will support their team, no matter what. I felt sorry for the Laois players last night- they deserve better.

football first (None) - Posts: 1259 - 05/06/2016 09:31:57    1861665