Dublin v Laois

The two early goals finished the game as a contest but fair play to Laois for keeping going & not crumbling.

As to the defensive "frailties" that Dublin showed, it is only the beginning of the summer & they will improve.

I must also say that I am getting bored stupid with people complaining that the GAA need to change structures simply because a game is not competitive. There isn't a structure in the world that would put Laois on the same level as Dublin. It's a knockout competition and this is what happens in championship.

I have enjoyed the games I have seen up to now. No, they were not the last word in intensity but there was enough good stuff to engage & entertain. Mind you the good weather probably has had something to do with it!!

Finally, I don't think much of the new Dublin strip. Some things are iconic & the colours that Dublin have worn for decades are iconic & recognisable everywhere. The new strip is, in my opinion, a poor substitute.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 05/06/2016 09:51:13    1861671

Mucker agree with all the above.....except the jersey. The jersey is quality!

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 05/06/2016 10:19:07    1861679

Mucker agree with all the above.....except the jersey. The jersey is quality!

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 05/06/2016 10:19:15    1861680

Replying To royaldunne:  "Not too much of a difference from what was thought would happen,
Tougher opposition lays ahead, but how soon is the question. ?? :)"
All Ireland quarter final/semi final.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 05/06/2016 10:31:08    1861683

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "Lol only 16k. I remember meath v Wexford in a leinster quarter final in 2008 getting over 10k down in portlaoise.

Shows the damage Dublins dominance has done. They should be rotated around the provinces and only play in leinster every 4 years.

And let's never hear about Dublin being too big to take out of croker again."
not this rotation rubbish again! !give it a rest, stupid silly idea, better to get your own counties house in order.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 05/06/2016 10:40:38    1861686

Replying To Oddball:  "We'll forgive me for not counting every single head in the crowd. But some of ye boyos arent clued into what I'm saying. For years some Dub fans claimed they'd fill any ground in the country. Today proved them wrong. No excuse now for them not to be taken out of croke park again. Now, I hope ye can understand that!!"
What dubs supporters are you talking about? Who are these supposed supporters making that argument? Let me know who they are because I haven't met any!
Maybe change your statement from "dubs" to "Leinster council" and there might be an element of truth in it.
Either, in a rush to indignantly accuse the dubs of something you actually forgot about the facts or
the green eyed monster skewing your views....or maybe you're just a troll...

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 05/06/2016 11:46:35    1861698

Replying To gotmilk:  "Does that not mean that there was a quarter of it empty?"
It depends on how you look at it. My glass is always half full.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2480 - 05/06/2016 12:01:56    1861704

I agree that Leinster should be on a home and away basis every year up to the semi and final stages where every game should be in choke park. For example if Dublin are drawn against Laois then play them in Crowe park when they are drawn again play them in portlaois and so on for every two counties like we do in Connacht (semi's and final exempt from this of course) but the real way to curb the dubs is not this way. Limit their unbelievable team sponsorship by imposing a limit on all county teams, what they get to spend on teams is extorsionate compared to others. Limit the amount of players each dub club can transfer in from the rest of the country.

I'm a firm believer that the dub county team benefits from having a top quality club scene that so so many top players from other countries play in.

How many of the dub players actually work compared to other counties? I mean work not some facade of pretending to work!

It's not a level playing field - dub are spending millions a year on their teams and others simply can't afford to - distribute money equally to all teams and see the others match up to them

leitrim4sam (Leitrim) - Posts: 645 - 05/06/2016 12:07:57    1861709

Great travelling Dub support

Plenty of noise and colour

Fair play to the Laois fans who travelled, although very disappointing number of Laois fans there, in fact it was a wee bit pathetic but they obviously boycotted the game, hard to fill a stadium when only one set of fans show up

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 05/06/2016 12:14:57    1861715

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "It depends on how you look at it. My glass is always half full."
Of whiskey or vodka?

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 05/06/2016 12:36:30    1861733

Replying To leitrim4sam:  "I agree that Leinster should be on a home and away basis every year up to the semi and final stages where every game should be in choke park. For example if Dublin are drawn against Laois then play them in Crowe park when they are drawn again play them in portlaois and so on for every two counties like we do in Connacht (semi's and final exempt from this of course) but the real way to curb the dubs is not this way. Limit their unbelievable team sponsorship by imposing a limit on all county teams, what they get to spend on teams is extorsionate compared to others. Limit the amount of players each dub club can transfer in from the rest of the country.

I'm a firm believer that the dub county team benefits from having a top quality club scene that so so many top players from other countries play in.

How many of the dub players actually work compared to other counties? I mean work not some facade of pretending to work!

It's not a level playing field - dub are spending millions a year on their teams and others simply can't afford to - distribute money equally to all teams and see the others match up to them"
I don't agree with not letting boys play their club football where they work. How could you expect a fella from Letterkenny to travel up from Dublin for training and hold on to a job in the capital? If you stop boys transferring to clubs in the capital due to work you have to do away with transfers full stop.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 05/06/2016 12:40:13    1861735

Replying To leitrim4sam:  "I agree that Leinster should be on a home and away basis every year up to the semi and final stages where every game should be in choke park. For example if Dublin are drawn against Laois then play them in Crowe park when they are drawn again play them in portlaois and so on for every two counties like we do in Connacht (semi's and final exempt from this of course) but the real way to curb the dubs is not this way. Limit their unbelievable team sponsorship by imposing a limit on all county teams, what they get to spend on teams is extorsionate compared to others. Limit the amount of players each dub club can transfer in from the rest of the country.

It's not a level playing field - dub are spending millions a year on their teams and others simply can't afford to - distribute money equally to all teams and see the others match up to them"
Jesus wept! They all work...really work!! Or go to college.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 05/06/2016 12:41:47    1861736

Replying To jimbodub:  "Great travelling Dub support

Plenty of noise and colour

Fair play to the Laois fans who travelled, although very disappointing number of Laois fans there, in fact it was a wee bit pathetic but they obviously boycotted the game, hard to fill a stadium when only one set of fans show up"
I have to say I'm glad Laois fans didn't really travel.

Leinster council screwed them, they didn't deserve their money.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4241 - 05/06/2016 12:46:58    1861738

Very little sense in that post. You say "transferring in" like the Dublin clubs are actively looking for country players. Lads are working in Dublin, so to save a commute they join a club. The counter argument is those lads are destroying Dublin club football as they are taking a starting place from a young local Dub.

Mayo and Kerry spend just as much on preparation as the Dubs. Kilkenny do in the hurling.

The finance issue is so overplayed on this site. Dublin happen to have an exceptional panel. It's cyclic. The size and structures of Dublin football need finance. Anybody who doesn't see that needs help.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 05/06/2016 12:57:45    1861745

Replying To Whammo86:  "I have to say I'm glad Laois fans didn't really travel.

Leinster council screwed them, they didn't deserve their money."
All well and good

But going by the attitude of some numb skulls on this thread.. They are almost having a pop at Dublin fans for not filling the stadium themselves...

Yeah well done Laois fans for making your stand, but I still have a whole lot more respect for the Laois fans that despite feeling aggrieved, showed up to support their players who happened to be in Nowlan Park.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 05/06/2016 13:04:29    1861748

Fair play to Bernard Brogan for not working but buying two hotels for 8 million and 2.5 million each, I'd love to know how he does it eh Letrim4sam?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 05/06/2016 13:26:50    1861753

Replying To jimbodub:  "All well and good

But going by the attitude of some numb skulls on this thread.. They are almost having a pop at Dublin fans for not filling the stadium themselves...

Yeah well done Laois fans for making your stand, but I still have a whole lot more respect for the Laois fans that despite feeling aggrieved, showed up to support their players who happened to be in Nowlan Park."
Well said ..some amount of BS being spouted here about dublin fans..

GGdub (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 05/06/2016 13:28:03    1861756

Good to be back
great start two goals on the board but could have had a number more I feel had we have gone after it. Dean rock and ciaran kilkenny were on fire and Connolly played best game of this year stepping up and leading the response after laois two goals. Great atmosphere in what I have to say is a very nice ground. The roof over the terrace made for a brilliant noise.
May aswell have been a home game for Dublin as I'D say you would struggle to seen 500 laois supporters there.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 05/06/2016 13:31:41    1861758

Im a laois season ticket holder . I go to all the games and automatically paid for yesterday s game through my season ticket. But i still refused to travel yesterday. Im a laois supporter not just a supporter of the 2016 team and for the good of laois football i think a boycott was the right. To deprive the county of a home game v possibly the best ever team and to stop the kids of laois seeing the dubs coming to their home patch for a great occasion was terrible. As regards the match my observations are , 1. D connolly is potentially the greatest footballer of all time. Amazing. 2. Laois second goal was brilliant especially the shoulder meaney gave to brogan in the lead up. 3. Referee ignored a foot trip by janes mccarthy blatant black card. Gave the free but no further action. 4. Thought first dublin goal was push in back by dean rock but in fairness connolly penalty could have been re taken. 5. Laois had 8 or 9 different scorers which was great achievement. 6. Dublin used 22 players. I didnt realise this was allowed but seemingly so. .

Malonemagic (Laois) - Posts: 767 - 05/06/2016 13:39:07    1861762

How many of the dubs players actually work compared to other countys??
Never heard such a stupid comment before..so all the leitrim players are brickies and labourers then .is that what you define as real work. Sure the dubs have it easy school teaching and accounting and so on...what BS will people come up with next .

GGdub (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 05/06/2016 13:39:40    1861763