Dublin v Laois

Good win. Won well but got a good bit of work to do.

Full back is still a major issue.

Brogan and Mannion offered zero during the game. Bernard has done it all before but Mannion will do very well to start again for Dublin this summer imo.

Rock and Connolly (missed pen aside) were excellent I thought.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 04/06/2016 20:40:35    1861582

Replying To Oddball:  "For years we've listened to the Dubs complain that if they were moved out of Croke Park for a championship game that no matter what ground wouldn't be big enough to house them. Well tonight has proved them to be talking through their holes as I'm looking at a half empty ground."
Never checked the attendance!! Just kept watching the points sailing over the bar

superdub (Dublin) - Posts: 392 - 04/06/2016 20:42:39    1861585

Canavan seems a bit nervous talking to Jim Gavin

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 04/06/2016 20:52:53    1861591

Diarmuid Connolly is such a natural. He was immense today.

ZeitChrist (UK) - Posts: 154 - 04/06/2016 21:10:08    1861601

Replying To superdub:  "Never checked the attendance!! Just kept watching the points sailing over the bar"
Whats watching points sailing over the got to do with post?? Strange!

Oddball (Roscommon) - Posts: 889 - 04/06/2016 21:15:11    1861603

Too easy for most of the match,
Same 11 point winning margin as Tyrone v Derry.
Whats the odds on M. Lyster saying tomorrow '' now lads that was BRUTAL''

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 507 - 04/06/2016 21:19:22    1861607

Replying To superdub:  "Never checked the attendance!! Just kept watching the points sailing over the bar"
What's watching points going over the bar got to do with my post?? Strange!

Oddball (Roscommon) - Posts: 889 - 04/06/2016 21:33:48    1861612

Replying To Oddball:  "For years we've listened to the Dubs complain that if they were moved out of Croke Park for a championship game that no matter what ground wouldn't be big enough to house them. Well tonight has proved them to be talking through their holes as I'm looking at a half empty ground."
Love how the half empty ground is down to the Dubs supposedly not travelling, nothing to do with Laois only bringing about 600?! A quick stroll down Kilkenny town would show you just how many Dubs made the trip.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 04/06/2016 21:47:58    1861617

Replying To CroiGorm:  "Love how the half empty ground is down to the Dubs supposedly not travelling, nothing to do with Laois only bringing about 600?! A quick stroll down Kilkenny town would show you just how many Dubs made the trip."
Dublin were once pandered to by referees.. just look at the last 5 mins of the 2005 Leinster final where they given a first cousin of a free to level the match. Now they can't be beaten.

crikey (Australia) - Posts: 355 - 04/06/2016 21:59:38    1861625

Replying To CroiGorm:  "Love how the half empty ground is down to the Dubs supposedly not travelling, nothing to do with Laois only bringing about 600?! A quick stroll down Kilkenny town would show you just how many Dubs made the trip."
Read my post again. I'm on about Dub supporters who claimed no other ground would hold them only Croke Park. If you're saying there was 15,500 odd dub supporters there today, then where were the other 20,000+ supporters that file into Croke Park??? Today just proved that plenty of grounds throughout the country can hold them so they can't be using that as an excuse again when talk happens of putting them on the road.

Oddball (Roscommon) - Posts: 889 - 04/06/2016 22:04:24    1861626

Not too much of a difference from what was thought would happen,
Tougher opposition lays ahead, but how soon is the question. ?? :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 04/06/2016 22:07:34    1861627

Jim gavin being interviewed in the studio with the sky panel.. what was that about ... cringe stuff and dare I say it arrogance starting to creep back in ... surprised at gavin buying into it

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 619 - 04/06/2016 22:09:04    1861628

You need to pay Specsavers a visit if you were "looking at a half empty ground" There were 17,000 in attendance, that's a three-quarters full ground.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2480 - 04/06/2016 22:32:19    1861630

Replying To Oddball:  "Read my post again. I'm on about Dub supporters who claimed no other ground would hold them only Croke Park. If you're saying there was 15,500 odd dub supporters there today, then where were the other 20,000+ supporters that file into Croke Park??? Today just proved that plenty of grounds throughout the country can hold them so they can't be using that as an excuse again when talk happens of putting them on the road."
Is the Leinster counties that vote to keep Dublin in Croke park not Dublin. The more gate receipts received works out better for all Leinster counties, that's why it suits for all the other counties to keep the dubs there. If that game today was in Croke park there could have been 30,000 there.

superdub (Dublin) - Posts: 392 - 04/06/2016 22:51:14    1861633

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "You need to pay Specsavers a visit if you were "looking at a half empty ground" There were 17,000 in attendance, that's a three-quarters full ground."
We'll forgive me for not counting every single head in the crowd. But some of ye boyos arent clued into what I'm saying. For years some Dub fans claimed they'd fill any ground in the country. Today proved them wrong. No excuse now for them not to be taken out of croke park again. Now, I hope ye can understand that!!

Oddball (Roscommon) - Posts: 889 - 04/06/2016 23:29:50    1861640

Replying To Oddball:  "Read my post again. I'm on about Dub supporters who claimed no other ground would hold them only Croke Park. If you're saying there was 15,500 odd dub supporters there today, then where were the other 20,000+ supporters that file into Croke Park??? Today just proved that plenty of grounds throughout the country can hold them so they can't be using that as an excuse again when talk happens of putting them on the road."

Your missing point. For first round championship games in Leinster we only get unfortunetly about 20,000 Dubs in croker (obviously us dominating Leinster has affected attendance)
We had 16000 who travelled to a game, where really the outcome was never going to be in doubt. Id agree though it will stop people throwing out silly numbers as to what stadiums we can play in. But really it's only a relevant arguement for first or second one round games in Leinster where only 16000 will travel.
If a Leinster final ( against Meath or possibly Kildare)or quarter final was outside Dublin , you are looking at a totally different scenario of travelling numbers.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 04/06/2016 23:42:00    1861643

Replying To rossy15:  "Jim gavin being interviewed in the studio with the sky panel.. what was that about ... cringe stuff and dare I say it arrogance starting to creep back in ... surprised at gavin buying into it"
Arrogance?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 05/06/2016 00:05:29    1861646

So what was the point of all that then?

The game itself was utterly predictable to be honest although I thought with the start the dubs had and Laois down to 14 the gap would have been more than it was.

Why nowlan park again is the question yet some of the comments leading up this game have been bizarre.

There seems to be this belief that this was going to answer the question and prove that the dubs can play outside of croke park! The issue is that no one was actually asking that question in the first place. Pretty much everyone knows the dubs can play outside of croke park, their league record proves that. The question is why don't they play outside of croke park?

Apparently first off it's because only croke park can handle all the fans that want to go to the games, yet last night the ground was at least 10,000 below capacity. Secondly it had to be nowlan park because there were more seats, yet last night the terrace looked pretty full with huge gaping gaps in the stands, with the seats!!

All in all a predictable game and result on the pitch, everything else a complete cluster.....

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1351 - 05/06/2016 08:38:49    1861657

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "You need to pay Specsavers a visit if you were "looking at a half empty ground" There were 17,000 in attendance, that's a three-quarters full ground."
Does that not mean that there was a quarter of it empty?

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 05/06/2016 08:59:19    1861662

Disappointed with the second half showing.

First half was good for the majority.

Loved Connollys interview afterwards. He fairly laid into the team for that second half claiming its no where good enough or no where near their high standards. That wont be acceptable next time out.

As for the atmosphere. Was brilliant. Much better the 16,000 fans in Nowlan park, than the 30,000 in Croke Park.

Want more away games please. Great craic. And the pocket of Laois lads in the city end terrace were a credit to their county.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 05/06/2016 09:47:34    1861669