Geezer as a manager and harsh criticism

Replying To TheFlaker:  "You said he never ran any of the big teams close? That isn't true to be fair. He got the best out of a run of the mill team."
Yeah I was wrong there in fairness. But the bit that annoys me the most is the persona the media created around him. A halo effect based on his mannerisms and what he did as a player.
He did not beat one single team better then them on paper.
Whereas Wicklow and louth both shocked Kildare under his tenure.

Plus as another poster said he had John Doyle great freetaker and could carry a team on his own, to keep them in a game.

gormdubhgorm (Dublin) - Posts: 990 - 31/05/2016 09:52:45    1860187

Replying To if_in_doubt:  "McGeeney did nothing for Kildare football at no stage during his reign in charge did they beat a top team they got lucky with the draws they had up until a quarter final stage where they eventually lost. The teams they beat Kildare were always expected to beat and they would still be expected to beat those teams now. They never beat Dublin Cork Kerry Donegal Tyrone Mayo. He didn't win a Leinster so he was not a success.

Also he never allowed lads to tog for the club and when they were allowed play with the club he would have training the night before or morning of the club game and run them not stop so they wouldn't be able to tog for their clubs. He was a fantastic player probably one of my favourites but all he has been since he stopped playing is a success at getting money for no little result.

dubshurling7 (Dublin) - Posts:926 - 30/05/2016

On what basis do you think we should have been beating the likes of Laois, Meath, Monaghan, Cavan and Derry when McGeeney was in charge? And, possibly more interestingly, why would you still expect us to beat those teams - especially Monaghan? In the few years before McGeeney took over we lost to the likes of Wexford, Offaly, Sligo and Laois so how exactly do we go from that to being expected to beat teams like Derry and Monaghan with largely the same player base available?

We never beat Kerry or Mayo in the championship, hard to beat teams you're never drawn against though in fairness. I suspect Brolly himself wouldn't be able to beat a team he doesn't get to play. We bet them both in the league along with Cork, Donegal and Tyrone but obviously the league doesn't matter...

Are Kildare the only county where players don't play with their club every weekend? Hardly.

This is nothing short of a character assassination of McGeeney by a man who appears to get some thrill out of doing so. He has previous as we all well now and whilst McGeeney has struggled to impose himself as a manager he simply does not deserve these attacks, its a disgrace but nothing surprising given the source.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts:10793 - 30/05/2016

Unfortunately there's a hint of flavour of the summer about it brend. As The_Fridge said on another thread it used to be cynical play, before that it was sledging and before that is paying managers.

There's no irony at all in people mocking the cult of the manager whilst at the same time worshipping at the altar of the pundit themselves..."
I don't like Brolly's antics either. I don't think he believes half the thinks he says thats my opinion anyway. He admitted this when he said the Gooch was finished and Kerry have no forwards.

He gave a complete stranger a kidney in fairness so he must not be as bad as he lets on in real life.

gormdubhgorm (Dublin) - Posts: 990 - 31/05/2016 10:00:59    1860191

I always thought McGeeney did a great job with Kildare and they were unlucky on a few occasions not to win something. Kildare were consistently getting to the All-Ireland quarter finals in his time in charge and were within a whisker of an final in 2010. I think it was the following year Dublin got a lucky free kick to beat them by a point. Fair enough he is struggling with Armagh but I don't think it is fair to try and rewrite history about his time in charge of Kildare. My impression of him is that he is a great coach but maybe lacks the managerial touch.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1874 - 31/05/2016 11:45:05    1860198

Brolly used Armaghs inept performance as an example of the modern GAA faults. I think ultimately he's trying to goad the GPA into a row where he knows he'll take them to the cleaners.

Finsceal (None) - Posts: 559 - 31/05/2016 12:37:36    1860214

Let's put things in perspective :
Kildare have won 2 Leinster senior titles in 60 years
Kildare won a Leinster u21 in 2013, their first final since 2008
Kildare won a Leinster Minor in 2013, their first win since 1991. They had been in only two finals between 1991 & 2013.
Kildare were regularly losing to teams 'they should be beating' in the years pre-McGeeney that they beat comfortably when he was in charge. e.g. in 2005, Laois hammered Kildare by 12 points. In both 2009 & 2011, Kildare hammered Laois by 15 points.

He might be doing poorly for Armagh but let's not rewrite history. I think Jason Ryan was poor for Kildare but does that prove he was poor for Wexford too ? Of course not.

KildareKelly (Kildare) - Posts: 593 - 31/05/2016 12:43:05    1860218

I don't like Brolly's antics either. I don't think he believes half the thinks he says thats my opinion anyway. He admitted this when he said the Gooch was finished and Kerry have no forwards.

He gave a complete stranger a kidney in fairness so he must not be as bad as he lets on in real life.
gormdubhgorm (Dublin) - Posts:491 - 31/05/2016

To be honest I don't see what his charity work or the kidney donation have to do with Joe as a pundit. He was a top player in his day, he could be the nicest fella you could meet and have a chat with. I've never met him and I've no idea what he's like as a person though.

He has a platform to air his views as a pundit. He's a smart man and is well capable of analysing games. Unfortunately though instead of doing this he prefers to go a different route and nobody will pull him up on any of what he says when criticising people and teams.

A lot of the time he just seems to go for the shock factor, and what's worse is that it usually works.

I don't know why my previous comment was edited but Grimley was bang on the money in my book.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 31/05/2016 12:48:56    1860223

Amazing how the kidney donation is brought up when it comes to Brolly and his views.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7899 - 31/05/2016 13:33:49    1860248

Joe is a just a bit of a dude..

Lovely lovely guy in person.

He is pure entertainment. Box office.

He gets people talking.

He gets people tuning into the SG.

When he talks, People listen. They might not like what he says, but they listen

This nonsense of fellas turning the channel when he's on. Yiz are bullshitting us.

You's are every bit as bet into him as the next guy.

His job is to bring viewers to the SG. He does his job.

He is brilliant at every job he has done.

Great barrister

Great TV pundit

Great and articulate GAA journalist.

Great footballer in his day

Amazing charity worker.

Gave a guy one of his kidneys ffs.

LEGEND

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 31/05/2016 13:34:59    1860250

Reading all the stuff that has been put up on this about Mcgeeney, Firstly I would like to say Joe brolly has his say and that's fair enough, why didn't RTE give Kieran the chance to defend himself?? RTE have a lot to answer for and they have let him away with this before and Personal attacks on Sean Cavanagh and he was out of order then and now!!!

Second of all if any man in Armagh is gutted about Sunday and the year so far is the man himself, he is A great man and a great servant to the Orange Jersey, I will not and never will say a bad word about Mc Geeney, He lead by example and always wanted to improve as a player and I'm sure that will happen as a Manager as well. He done ok with Kildare and he is working hard with this current squad, If Armagh get London or any team I will go and support him and his squad cause they are trying hard. I don think that hanging him out to dry is a shame cause he is a great man and was one of the best players to play the game!!

youngfella27 (Armagh) - Posts: 110 - 31/05/2016 14:32:46    1860283

Whatever about the ins and outs about McGeeneys management ability and success or otherwise with Kildare and Armagh, I think it's fair to say he's a better manager than both Spillane and Brolly.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 31/05/2016 15:05:12    1860297

Replying To youngfella27:  "Reading all the stuff that has been put up on this about Mcgeeney, Firstly I would like to say Joe brolly has his say and that's fair enough, why didn't RTE give Kieran the chance to defend himself?? RTE have a lot to answer for and they have let him away with this before and Personal attacks on Sean Cavanagh and he was out of order then and now!!!

Second of all if any man in Armagh is gutted about Sunday and the year so far is the man himself, he is A great man and a great servant to the Orange Jersey, I will not and never will say a bad word about Mc Geeney, He lead by example and always wanted to improve as a player and I'm sure that will happen as a Manager as well. He done ok with Kildare and he is working hard with this current squad, If Armagh get London or any team I will go and support him and his squad cause they are trying hard. I don think that hanging him out to dry is a shame cause he is a great man and was one of the best players to play the game!!"
McGeeney didn't give interviews after the game, he appears to be trying to adopt a siege mentality in Armagh that, along with other things, is not working. McGeeney is a big boy now and I don't think he needs Paul Grimley to come out and defend him. As for RTE, they give all managers a right to speak, they even tried to heal the wounds with Mickey Harte but he refused.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 31/05/2016 15:51:45    1860311

Are managers overrated? It's not like he has talent of Dublin or Kerry's panels at his disposal.

It's sad to see Armagh so bad at the minute. But I don't think Cavan get the respect they deserve. They've had about three really strong under 21 teams in the last five years and that feeding through to the senior team.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 31/05/2016 18:30:53    1860356

Replying To waynoI:  "Joe is a just a bit of a dude..

Lovely lovely guy in person.

He is pure entertainment. Box office.

He gets people talking.

He gets people tuning into the SG.

When he talks, People listen. They might not like what he says, but they listen

This nonsense of fellas turning the channel when he's on. Yiz are bullshitting us.

You's are every bit as bet into him as the next guy.

His job is to bring viewers to the SG. He does his job.

He is brilliant at every job he has done.

Great barrister

Great TV pundit

Great and articulate GAA journalist.

Great footballer in his day

Amazing charity worker.

Gave a guy one of his kidneys ffs.

LEGEND"
Waynol, are you his PRO? To me Brolly comes across as a frustrated, bitter little man. He seems to have no satisfaction or fun in his life, in his personal, professional or GAA hobby/work life. He appears to have a full sack of chips on his shoulder. He strikes out at everything and everybody like an immature kid trying to get attention. In the court sytstem he is protected, if necessary, by the judge who will call him to order if he loses the 'run-of-himself'. Perhaps Lybster should do more of this. Verbal assaults on teams/individuals that come across as personal, petty and vindictive can never be classed as funny or entertaining.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 31/05/2016 20:19:18    1860376

Replying To gotmilk:  "I agree totally, don't forget campbells 21 yard free that he failed to beat the first man in the first half. That penalty goes in and that point over it's a two point game with 15 left on the clock. McGeeney can't do anything about that.
I think a lot of posters here are forgetting the influence mcgeeny had when he joined the Armagh backroom staff two years ago. Didn't they run donegal very close in an all ireland qf. The year prior to that with no McGeeney they were tactically inept. Those who say he done nothing at Kildare need their head examined. If it was not for some awful officiating and Kalum Kings finger tips they would have been in the 2010 all ireland final."
Yeah they did run Donegal close in 2014, and beat Tyrone too that year. I have personally have a lot of respect for Kieran as a manager, I think Armagh played well for large periods the last day, and Cavan themselves looked vunerable a few times.

Sections of the media seem to always need somebody to attack.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 31/05/2016 20:27:21    1860379

Replying To Whammo86:  "To me that game didn't reflect very well on McGeeney as a manager.

Armagh were poor in 4 of the key tactically areas of the game yesterday.

Didn't retain possession from their kick outs.

Didn't put pressure on the ball as it approached their 45.

Didn't attack with pass.

Didn't penetrate the centre of the Cavan 45 and shot from terrible angles.

Those are some of the most important elements of the game nowadays. Armagh are on a hiding to nothing if the don't sort it out."
Regardless of wot brolly said.when Armagh came out second half they picked up the pace and started to trouble cavan more.a mix of hard running and direct ball to Campbell got them scores and penalty.ok was poor one but geezer persists with laborious handpasseing which won't in modern game win games.has to set up differently quicker ball to inside men and say they trouble teams in qualifiers.he prob won't change now seems to stick to his guns so be much of the same going forward.on brolly clever man but no tact at all being honest is one thing but taking personal shots at good gaa men not on.

Reco (Meath) - Posts: 419 - 01/06/2016 10:29:10    1860441

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "One of my favourite footballers ever. Loved his determination and leadership as the THE best 6 of his generation
BUT
He is all over the place as a manager. He did a shocking job with Kildare and led them down the path they are now in. They had the making of a nice team with lovely natural scoring forwards. He turned them into functional big strong men with as much flair as 15 Glenn Whelans.
And now with Armagh.....i mean in a nutshell, if that was a tactic yesterday with the Goalkeeper....that was sheer madness. And the players are just not playing for him. Aaron Kernan "retired" Jamie Clarke on a break etc etc etc..... 2 lads who would make most teams in the country...

Legend, always will be, but no manager!"
Have to take issue with your comment on his tenureship with Kildare. I would remind you that they won Div 2 of the NFL with him at the helm. Also, they managed not to go bankrupt due to a cleverly engineered bailout by Croker.
Pretty decent I would say.

Horse (Laois) - Posts: 1146 - 02/06/2016 15:53:06    1860927

Brolly resorting to his standard defence of DENIAL .
Needs to be told as often as possible that his comments are very personal ( not always poisonous) .. he just doesn't get it.
Grimley was correct to question RTE's agenda and to highlight the very personal nature of Brolly's comments. He was wrong however to refer to his charity work and kidney donation... ended up being personal as well.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 506 - 02/06/2016 22:06:16    1861047

Replying To Curlew66:  "Brolly resorting to his standard defence of DENIAL .
Needs to be told as often as possible that his comments are very personal ( not always poisonous) .. he just doesn't get it.
Grimley was correct to question RTE's agenda and to highlight the very personal nature of Brolly's comments. He was wrong however to refer to his charity work and kidney donation... ended up being personal as well."
I know a lot of Armagh men and I've meet Kieran McGeeney (albeit he was just in my company at 2 events for short periods of time) and the one thing they have in common is total passion for football and winning games. However I do believe this is all consuming for Kieran - what he has in passion for the game he lacks in charisma, charm and a sense of humour. Now I'm not saying that is what's causing the Armagh woes but when you have a number of flair Armagh players who wont play under this regime says a lot - particularly Jamie Clarke who has said on the record that this regimes style is hard wired and non negotiable.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 03/06/2016 09:05:08    1861082

And also I forgot to mention - Joes rant is what he does and why he is on RTE and should be taken with a pinch of salt - its suits RTE to have an Ulsterman attack Ulster players and managers - Paul Grimley, Sean Cavanagh, Tiernan McCann, McGeeney the list goes on - he doesn't personalise his criticisms when it comes to the Kingdom and the Dubs in fact he applauds them for similar offences - I think that's the biggest issue that Joe has, his inconsistency. I also noticed even before a ball was kicked prior to Tyrone v Derry game that Colm O'Rourke was already getting his knives out but thought better of it - lets have a level playing field Sunday Game.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 03/06/2016 09:19:37    1861086

Yes, IrishGael3 your views on the panel are spot on.

While I think Grimley went OTT on the very offence that he objected to in Brolly's comments he did however make a few very valid points.
One being is that RTE need to confirm/deny that they encourage their football panel to be personally offensive. This is based on them staying silent after numerous personal offensive comments at players/coaches. The ONLY time they reacted was when one of their own (Marty) was insulted.
Not sure though about Brolly being gentle on Kerry... Anyone recall 'Gooch is a choker' , 'projectile vomit' and 'catch a falling STAR, put him in your pocket' .. he has of course denied ever saying some of it ..at least he is consistent when denying.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 506 - 03/06/2016 20:02:12    1861334