Keyboard warriors

Replying To Dellboypolecat:  "Cue life can be tough and cruel at times but please keep battle going you will get through the stormn My email address if you want to talk [email protected]"
Sound man Del for reaching out to cue like that. And cue,Del is right. Just keep battling man. You can get there. Just over 10 years ago I woke up in a hospital,not for the first time,thankfully it was the last. I'd no idea how I got there. I was told that I was found passed out on the street,again not the first time. I had been regularly drinking myself into a stupor,feeds of beer and whiskey on a regular binge drinking basis with no reason for it at all other than I had become addicted to drinking to block out what was bothering me personally.And broke I was too,every spare penny goin on drink. Anyhow when I left the hospital I vowed I'd get help. I did. I went to AA meetings and counseling sessions for a while. It all helps. Keep fighting. You'll get there. Take care man.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 07/06/2016 16:42:18    1862962

Brilliant Seany.Top man.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 07/06/2016 16:53:32    1862973

Replying To seanie_boy:  "Sound man Del for reaching out to cue like that. And cue,Del is right. Just keep battling man. You can get there. Just over 10 years ago I woke up in a hospital,not for the first time,thankfully it was the last. I'd no idea how I got there. I was told that I was found passed out on the street,again not the first time. I had been regularly drinking myself into a stupor,feeds of beer and whiskey on a regular binge drinking basis with no reason for it at all other than I had become addicted to drinking to block out what was bothering me personally.And broke I was too,every spare penny goin on drink. Anyhow when I left the hospital I vowed I'd get help. I did. I went to AA meetings and counseling sessions for a while. It all helps. Keep fighting. You'll get there. Take care man."
I am glad your also doing well and we should all look after each other as true gaa people . Anyone can email and talk instead of been silent in pain

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 07/06/2016 17:16:42    1862997

A day at a time Cue and the Serenity prayer. Some mornings it seems an impossible effort to even get out of the bed, lying in seems a comfort but it's not good for the head. There used to be days when I lived in a bedsit and would wait until it was dark before going around the corner for bread and milk, fearful I'd meet someone I know and of their reaction. Later you realise people have their own lives, don't really give a shite uf you're up or down and are more likely delughted to see you. A down head will always fear the worst. Getting into a kind of a nightshift, watching telly until early morning and sleeping during the day, getting my head into a fearful state. Get out into the fresh air, it can work wonders. I have, thankfully, some great mates who literally nearly banged the door down to get me out sometimes. They were a bit softly softly with me but it took an almighty bollocking from one of them to give me the kick in the arse I really needed more than 17 years ago. There's been plenty of ups and downs since then but anyone who never made a mistake made anything. Get to that meeting as soon as you possibly can, don't wait until next week. Being able to share your problems with people in the same boat is fantastic and gives you hope.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7364 - 07/06/2016 18:09:02    1863045

Fair play lads,it takes courage to face those kind of problems and to speak about it.
The very best of luck for the future and it puts a lot of other stuff in perspective.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 07/06/2016 18:54:28    1863073

Replying To GreenandRed:  "A day at a time Cue and the Serenity prayer. Some mornings it seems an impossible effort to even get out of the bed, lying in seems a comfort but it's not good for the head. There used to be days when I lived in a bedsit and would wait until it was dark before going around the corner for bread and milk, fearful I'd meet someone I know and of their reaction. Later you realise people have their own lives, don't really give a shite uf you're up or down and are more likely delughted to see you. A down head will always fear the worst. Getting into a kind of a nightshift, watching telly until early morning and sleeping during the day, getting my head into a fearful state. Get out into the fresh air, it can work wonders. I have, thankfully, some great mates who literally nearly banged the door down to get me out sometimes. They were a bit softly softly with me but it took an almighty bollocking from one of them to give me the kick in the arse I really needed more than 17 years ago. There's been plenty of ups and downs since then but anyone who never made a mistake made anything. Get to that meeting as soon as you possibly can, don't wait until next week. Being able to share your problems with people in the same boat is fantastic and gives you hope."
Thank you.This is over a 10-12 year problem for me.Don't know why it started but think Celtic tiger years in the capital.Money was flush.Town busy seven nights a week.And it wasn't just alcohol fuelling the revellers.Started off small.As the years gone by it's ended up big.I ended up having to drink in some of the worst pubs in north inner city to meet the people i needed to meet to get what i want.Have done this for 10 years,on and off.I've drank with people who have been in the media lately and lots of them ; people i otherwise would have nothing in common with.Got into some very scary situations.Addiction is a terrible thing.I've blown so much money,easily six figures.I've had to go to hospital unable to stop puking blood for hours end ; put serious pressure on my heart.Probably lucky to be alive.I only did an addiction studies course in the city last year and paid for it myself to try and stop the rot.It worked for few months but im back to my usual every five/six week massive bender where i do a lot of damage.Dont know why i have highlighted this on here but seen as we're all anonymous i guess i've nothing to lose.I'll attend a meeting next week and try my utmost to kick this crap for once and for all.Fair play to all posters for words of encouragement.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 07/06/2016 19:04:01    1863083

Replying To Dellboypolecat:  "I am glad your also doing well and we should all look after each other as true gaa people . Anyone can email and talk instead of been silent in pain"
Thanks Del. Many a mans had to battle the demon drink. Hope Cuedericket gets the help he needs. And like Greenandred says Cue,one day at a time really is the only way to look at it as it helps to make it all seem so insurmountable. I remember meeting lads who were 4,8,19 years off the drink and thinking I'd give my right arm to get off it 6 months. Now I'm 10 years goin one day at a time. Good luck to yez all lads in your own personal battles.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 07/06/2016 19:45:38    1863115

Replying To cuederocket:  "Thank you.This is over a 10-12 year problem for me.Don't know why it started but think Celtic tiger years in the capital.Money was flush.Town busy seven nights a week.And it wasn't just alcohol fuelling the revellers.Started off small.As the years gone by it's ended up big.I ended up having to drink in some of the worst pubs in north inner city to meet the people i needed to meet to get what i want.Have done this for 10 years,on and off.I've drank with people who have been in the media lately and lots of them ; people i otherwise would have nothing in common with.Got into some very scary situations.Addiction is a terrible thing.I've blown so much money,easily six figures.I've had to go to hospital unable to stop puking blood for hours end ; put serious pressure on my heart.Probably lucky to be alive.I only did an addiction studies course in the city last year and paid for it myself to try and stop the rot.It worked for few months but im back to my usual every five/six week massive bender where i do a lot of damage.Dont know why i have highlighted this on here but seen as we're all anonymous i guess i've nothing to lose.I'll attend a meeting next week and try my utmost to kick this crap for once and for all.Fair play to all posters for words of encouragement."
Stay strong.

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 07/06/2016 20:02:22    1863129

God this thread is good for the soul in one way but desperate in others. I'm awfully sorry to hear your respective troubles. Im a great believer in a day at a time. If that seems too much then an hour or a minute at a time. It just seems more doable then. Cue theres a lad in my gym that used to be like you. He had to remove himself from his whole life to rid himself of his demons. He got rid of all his friends when he realised they were enabling him and as such werent friends at all. Isnt it mad though the perception we form of each other based on our posts when we really know nothing of the person. Might i suggest to the admins that they rename this thread to mental health awareness in an effort to reach out to others who just might confide in strangers on a GAA board since its anonymous? Good luck to you all.....forza!!!!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 07/06/2016 20:18:42    1863140

Replying To Jackeen:  "Sorry to hear that! I can only remember one particular poster here on HS that got to me over a period of a few weeks. Thankfully he f***ked off!:)"
Yeah I had something similar on here a few years ago, I actually proved what I was saying was 100% correct, and while it bothered me at the time, recently I've been riled up even more,
I mentioned something about my daughter doing something (I know I brought it upon myself) but it was just to back up my argument. However this particular poster was allowed to diss my comment and my daughter and her achievement, I even contacted admin to ask for them to be removed.
I can take whatever is levelled at me, and I give as good as I take I hope, but never in a hurtful manner to a poster and certainly not towards their families, again it was me who mentioned a family member so twas my own fault I guess, but I was close to giving up hs permanently.
Until I realised after they put up the likes and dislikes thing, my responses had many a like. So restored my faith in human nature.
Anyhow that's my ramblings on this.
One thing use the preview, and ask yourself while reading it , would you be offended if you or your family member received similar? If not hit add message, however if yes edit, attack county, or playing system as much as you like, just dont get personal.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 07/06/2016 20:39:02    1863170

Replying To Jackeen:  "God this thread is good for the soul in one way but desperate in others. I'm awfully sorry to hear your respective troubles. Im a great believer in a day at a time. If that seems too much then an hour or a minute at a time. It just seems more doable then. Cue theres a lad in my gym that used to be like you. He had to remove himself from his whole life to rid himself of his demons. He got rid of all his friends when he realised they were enabling him and as such werent friends at all. Isnt it mad though the perception we form of each other based on our posts when we really know nothing of the person. Might i suggest to the admins that they rename this thread to mental health awareness in an effort to reach out to others who just might confide in strangers on a GAA board since its anonymous? Good luck to you all.....forza!!!!"
Great idea...

Go for it Admin

Could be the start of something good

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 07/06/2016 20:40:29    1863173

Replying To cuederocket:  "Cheers jimbo and wayno and all the others for kind words.Things were going ok for me on Saturday - off the drink 6 weeks,feeling good.Bloody car broke down at 11am meaning i couldnt work the busy weekend and prob wont get it bak till thurs.My willpower has proved to be poor over the years.I was in pub at 12.Unfortunately for me its not the drink thats the big problem but i let my guard down on it.Few phone calls at bout 4 and that was it.Beem me up Scotty!Gettin a cab home Sun morn at 08.00 feeling sick and depressed after blowing a fortune.The same carry on ive been doin for years.When will this crap ever end!Anyway comin round now.Go back to a meeting next week.Dellboy fair play for highlighting mental issues.Ive brought it all on myself and know how delicate the mind and body are."
Hey man, we all have problems , I was off this forum for a good while a couple of years ago, ill be honest, we lost a baby and then my mom passed away few months after. But when I was down one day I accidently opened the hs tab I had saved on phone, I read through and there was guys like htaem, Ollie, ziggy, even a dub or two wondering where I was, honestly it clicked something inside me, now it didn't cure what I was going through but it made me get back onto site.
Cue hang in there man, it was a slip, the important thing is to just put it aside and go back to Friday in your mind and pick it up from there . Just think if Meath best Louth , you have Tha to look forward to :). Keep the spirit up.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 07/06/2016 20:52:23    1863187

Replying To Jackeen:  "God this thread is good for the soul in one way but desperate in others. I'm awfully sorry to hear your respective troubles. Im a great believer in a day at a time. If that seems too much then an hour or a minute at a time. It just seems more doable then. Cue theres a lad in my gym that used to be like you. He had to remove himself from his whole life to rid himself of his demons. He got rid of all his friends when he realised they were enabling him and as such werent friends at all. Isnt it mad though the perception we form of each other based on our posts when we really know nothing of the person. Might i suggest to the admins that they rename this thread to mental health awareness in an effort to reach out to others who just might confide in strangers on a GAA board since its anonymous? Good luck to you all.....forza!!!!"
Cheers jackeen.Wise words.Funny thing is these lads in town i've associated with on and off over the years,hand on heart,i couldn't count one of them as a friend.I head in there to get what i need and these lads tolerate that because they make easy money.A fake/symbiotic relationship has developed as a result but i have nothing in common with these lads.Sport is the only common ground.

I am ashamed to think of socialising with these people but when your desperate and you know you can get decent stuff you will do anything to get it.I kept it to myself for years and the pressure of this was horrific.Eventually i broke down to my Mam,a good country woman oriiginally.I hated telling her but i was cracking up.For the last number of years she has been a huge help to me.I tell her everything ,warts n all.She is terrified of what could happen to me on that stuff,and she shivers when i say i've been in the north inner city.She fears the worst and has pleaded with me to stay out of there,away from these people.It has worked to an extent,but i still have the odd slip up.Once every five/six weeks may not sound much but i could be out for two days and blow hundreds(even thousands the odd time).In saying that i haven't been in there in over two months.Saturdays session was local in west Dublin.My problem is not the drink.However when i drink,i need the other stuff.And i will go the ends of the earth to get it.Without drink,i couldn't care less for it.So obviously the drink is a bad idea.

When i try and think of it,i dont know how its happened.Or why.Things just snowballed.I got to know some lads in there from my job and the years have just flown by.I'm 40 soon,and am determined to get my act together.I lead a very normal life 99% of the time.I want that to be 100% of the time from now now.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 07/06/2016 20:57:50    1863193

Replying To royaldunne:  "Hey man, we all have problems , I was off this forum for a good while a couple of years ago, ill be honest, we lost a baby and then my mom passed away few months after. But when I was down one day I accidently opened the hs tab I had saved on phone, I read through and there was guys like htaem, Ollie, ziggy, even a dub or two wondering where I was, honestly it clicked something inside me, now it didn't cure what I was going through but it made me get back onto site.
Cue hang in there man, it was a slip, the important thing is to just put it aside and go back to Friday in your mind and pick it up from there . Just think if Meath best Louth , you have Tha to look forward to :). Keep the spirit up."
Haha,excellent royaldunne.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 07/06/2016 21:22:05    1863217

Anyway,lads and lassies,that's enough about me.Feels good to have got that off my chest.Sport is the one thing in life that i couldn't live without.I've no wife,kids etc so sport keeps me company.I know i've veered off course a little,but thank you to dellboy for prompting something in me about mental health.All the kind words on here by posters have given me a lift.Proves there is far more good out there than bad.It's not even close.I return the goodwill and best wishes to all other posters who have/are enduring their own struggles.Cheers.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 07/06/2016 21:33:45    1863236

Brave and courageous post Cue,
Unfortunetly your addictive nature is probably killing you, alcohol because its easily accessable starts the spiral.
Maybe chanel that addictive energy into something that could be brilliant for you , something that clears the head , get your body back stronger.
You might laugh but Crossfit is brilliant, or Martial arts .
You would be amazed if you see progress in something and start getting fit , before long jumping into taxi for early morning starts feeling fresh.
You then won't want to touch the alcohol which unfortunetly is the legal drug that just whispers to you "come on in here it will be grand , sure everyone else is grand "
But before you know it its too late and alcohol is only secondary.
Let getting fit and healthy be your drug, Cue.
You seem a good guy , Your only young , make a plan to join a club and don't waste it man.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 07/06/2016 21:54:02    1863256

Replying To cuederocket:  "Anyway,lads and lassies,that's enough about me.Feels good to have got that off my chest.Sport is the one thing in life that i couldn't live without.I've no wife,kids etc so sport keeps me company.I know i've veered off course a little,but thank you to dellboy for prompting something in me about mental health.All the kind words on here by posters have given me a lift.Proves there is far more good out there than bad.It's not even close.I return the goodwill and best wishes to all other posters who have/are enduring their own struggles.Cheers."
Same as that Cue. To all ye lads and lasses who are struggling,good luck and god bless.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 07/06/2016 22:01:23    1863267

Some great posts over the last couple of pages. The more people who feel like they can be open about any sort of mental health or addiction issue the better, slowly but surely these things are becoming less taboo and even though every one has their demons and is going through their own problems a lot of people still feel scared about actually admitting they have a problem and fail to do anything about it.

It must have been hard for guys to write a few posts here but it's amazing how one person opening up and being honest can have such an impact on somebody else who can relate to it. You'll probably never meet them but it's great to think that there could be one person out there who'll feel better about themselves because of the s***e you've gone through yourself.

Everybody deals with things differently and a lot of people, for any number of reasons, wouldn't be in a position to just walk away from the thing that was them harm. It's been said many times before (Alan O'Mara mentions it quite a bit for anybody who's seen or heard him talk on depression) but finding one thing that actually makes you happy can make a massive difference. It could be something simple like just going for a walk or a run, sitting out in the garden and reading (especially in this weather) but if you can find something that just helps you clear your head for a bit, or something that gets you and just seeing other people then it can be a massive step forward. Slowly the bright days start to overtake the dark ones.

At the same time when it comes depression part of me doesn't think there really is a cure; you just start to realise what the warning signs are a lot earlier and you have a better understanding of how to fix things before they get too dark again.

As Damo mentioned earlier Jigsaw / Headstrong (the group Aisling Thompson from Cork helps promote) are running some great projects and programmes. Aimed at teens and people in their early 20's for the most part there definitely helping get the message across in schools and youth clubs, hopefully it means the next generation grow up in a more open, aware and accepting society.

But when I was down one day I accidently opened the hs tab I had saved on phone, I read through and there was guys like htaem, Ollie, ziggy, even a dub or two wondering where I was, honestly it clicked something inside me, now it didn't cure what I was going through but it made me get back onto site.
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts:8884 - 07/06/2016

Can't believe that now RD, no Kildare fans worried about ya and wondering where ya were? :)

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 07/06/2016 22:16:48    1863279

Replying To Dellboypolecat:  "Keyboard warriors is spread like wild fire in social media twiiter , Facebook etc .it is not to bad here to be fair however on my experience on a personal note I received some shocking abuse couple years ago which everyone know it affected my mental health .now only advice I can give and Said before think before you type as you do not know what that other person is going through in there own personal life and online abuse to affect there mental health .

#iamareason"
I know mental health is a serious issue for some people it is almost fashionable to go on about it now!
Dessie Farrell, Bressie etc.

But I do not think that a GAA forum is the place to discuss things like this (for this reason alone I disliked your post), but I will respond since it is here.

There are two things I never understand about people who let themselves be abused on social media and worse still let themselves be continually effected by it.

Firstly there are block and report functions on social media.
Secondly a person does not have to use social media. I for instant am not on facebook it is a personal choice of mine. You have your own free will to turn it off.

That should not be forgotten. In fact I think people with mental health issues should avoid social media if at all possible as any comment can be a "trigger" no matter how slight.

I hope you continue in your recovery and maybe the Red hands would be playing the dubs this september :).

But thread's like this just lead to people going on about dark places, tunnels (not the port tunnel), seeing the light (not the croke park floodlight's) other people telling them to keep it up. I am not sure whether it is good or a bad thing. If everybody did the same thing about all their problems all forums would be flooded with issues.

gormdubhgorm (Dublin) - Posts: 990 - 09/06/2016 12:37:57    1864176

Replying To s goldrick:  "i don't see any personal abuse on this forum directed towards players especially young players. as someone said you get alot more abuse at a match"
Agreed but the censorship on this site is very stringent. So any abuse of players would definitely not get through.

gormdubhgorm (Dublin) - Posts: 990 - 09/06/2016 13:06:26    1864208