Keyboard warriors

#iamareason #breakthestigma

Like I said lads/ ladies always think before typing I was guilty in the past of not thinking but I learned to be mindful

We are all passionate about gaa and our counties

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 06/06/2016 22:02:04    1862520

Replying To AthCliath:  "

Fair play man, brave and honest post.
Hope your doing well, . Mental health is so important , it has to be treated with the uttermost respect and given all the oxygen it needs to operate properly. Everything else pails into significance ,thankfully now its importance is being recognised .

Your right Life is for Living. Everything is achievable and anything is possible with belief."
So true your post struck a chord and thank you

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 06/06/2016 22:12:02    1862525

Replying To Jackeen:  "Sorry to hear that! I can only remember one particular poster here on HS that got to me over a period of a few weeks. Thankfully he f***ked off!:)"
I think I know exactly who you are talking about

Piece of crap alright

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 06/06/2016 22:12:45    1862527

Replying To seanie_boy:  "Ah Del I'd know idea you were affected to that extent by it. Glad to hear you are doin ok these days. There's not a person on here who wouldn't know somebody in their family or a friend who hasn't faced mental health issues. I'm just glad that each generation seems to be more willing to at least acknowledge and talk about it more. I've faced my own battles too,so I get it. Why were they giving you such a hard time was it in relation to you being a ref?"
Yes seanie I was drepressed at the time but on lot of weight and was badly trolled after a county final I did over weight and personal life .got so bad

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 06/06/2016 22:14:22    1862529

Replying To Dellboypolecat:  "You keep head up and you keep strong we should be all a family on here but you will get keyboard warriors and trolls everywhere"
Good man Del

Great to hear you're doing much better

Very honest of you to share such but by doing so you are doing a lot of good.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 06/06/2016 22:16:12    1862531

Replying To jimbodub:  "Good man Del

Great to hear you're doing much better

Very honest of you to share such but by doing so you are doing a lot of good."
Thanks buddy I hope me reaching out helps others and this stigma helps mental health sufferers as when I was silent at the time it was dark ,lonely and scary

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 06/06/2016 22:37:38    1862535

Replying To Dellboypolecat:  "Thanks buddy I hope me reaching out helps others and this stigma helps mental health sufferers as when I was silent at the time it was dark ,lonely and scary"
Well by putting it out there at least it has every chance, but it still takes guts.. So all credit to you

Maximum respect

You're a good man

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 06/06/2016 23:52:18    1862553

Replying To cuederocket:  "Jeez man,thats awful.As i said before on here,we don't know who's behind these posts,what kind of mental or physical health,financial worries,posters have.Dellboy,i have had problems as well.Big problems.And still do.Not through forums or social media (this is the only one ive ever been on) but other areas.Lets just say i had a wee slip up on Saturday and im in a jocker ever since."
Keep at it Cue

We're all capable of letting it slip but don't be hard on yourself, refocus and move on from it.. focusing on what's next, not on what happened

Keep at it pal.. Good on you for your honesty, takes balls.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 06/06/2016 23:58:01    1862555

Fair play to Del and others for being brave enough to come out and discuss. It's great to see and there should be more of it.
We had Bressie in to talk to us in our workplace a few weeks ago about mental health and one thing he said really struck a chord with me. Basically he made the point that mental sickness should be viewed no differently than physical sickness. Like, if someone is diagnosed with cancer we can all talk openly and freely but with a mental health issue it is almost spoken of in hushed, embarrassed tones.

Let's end the taboo for good so that the unfortunate people who are silently suffering can feel safe opening up and getting the help they need. The tide is turning but still far too slowly. But if more and more stories like yourselves can encourage others to seek help, then we are at least making steps in the right direction.

Maith sibh go léir!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 07/06/2016 10:28:58    1862636

Good man Dell. I didn't realise things got that bad. It's great to have a legend of the forum back! Things can only get better!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12122 - 07/06/2016 10:28:58    1862637

Replying To cuederocket:  "Jeez man,thats awful.As i said before on here,we don't know who's behind these posts,what kind of mental or physical health,financial worries,posters have.Dellboy,i have had problems as well.Big problems.And still do.Not through forums or social media (this is the only one ive ever been on) but other areas.Lets just say i had a wee slip up on Saturday and im in a jocker ever since."
I'm putting2 and 2 together here and I think I'm coming up with 4.

Hope youre okay dude!

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 07/06/2016 10:39:15    1862649

A shout out to an organisation called JIGSAW they deal with young peoples mental health , they came to our club and spoke to our minor/u16s and it was fantastic, as you can imagine it started off with the laughs chuckles of lads who struggle with serious topics at times , but the expertise of the talker soon got them involved in talking about mental illness , with the massive increase in self harm and worse it would do clubs no harm to check out this organisation or similar if possible .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 07/06/2016 10:48:20    1862659

Cheers jimbo and wayno and all the others for kind words.Things were going ok for me on Saturday - off the drink 6 weeks,feeling good.Bloody car broke down at 11am meaning i couldnt work the busy weekend and prob wont get it bak till thurs.My willpower has proved to be poor over the years.I was in pub at 12.Unfortunately for me its not the drink thats the big problem but i let my guard down on it.Few phone calls at bout 4 and that was it.Beem me up Scotty!Gettin a cab home Sun morn at 08.00 feeling sick and depressed after blowing a fortune.The same carry on ive been doin for years.When will this crap ever end!Anyway comin round now.Go back to a meeting next week.Dellboy fair play for highlighting mental issues.Ive brought it all on myself and know how delicate the mind and body are.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 07/06/2016 11:22:11    1862679

Replying To jimbodub:  "Well by putting it out there at least it has every chance, but it still takes guts.. So all credit to you

Maximum respect

You're a good man"
Thanks jimbodub

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 07/06/2016 11:44:34    1862707

Sorry to hear that cue. You strike me as a genuine guy with a lot to offer. There is always a next ball.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 07/06/2016 12:15:11    1862738

Replying To cuederocket:  "Cheers jimbo and wayno and all the others for kind words.Things were going ok for me on Saturday - off the drink 6 weeks,feeling good.Bloody car broke down at 11am meaning i couldnt work the busy weekend and prob wont get it bak till thurs.My willpower has proved to be poor over the years.I was in pub at 12.Unfortunately for me its not the drink thats the big problem but i let my guard down on it.Few phone calls at bout 4 and that was it.Beem me up Scotty!Gettin a cab home Sun morn at 08.00 feeling sick and depressed after blowing a fortune.The same carry on ive been doin for years.When will this crap ever end!Anyway comin round now.Go back to a meeting next week.Dellboy fair play for highlighting mental issues.Ive brought it all on myself and know how delicate the mind and body are."
No trouble at all

Just keep at it Cue.. I know that feeling you currently have

How I deal with it is to focus on the future, set my mind to good things that are coming up, if you need to plan a few things... then do that, plan to get out and about and enjoy some time out in the fresh air, see some nice things

keep at it pal

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 07/06/2016 12:32:48    1862751

Replying To Dellboypolecat:  "Thanks jimbodub"
My pleasure!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 07/06/2016 12:33:14    1862752

Replying To cuederocket:  "Cheers jimbo and wayno and all the others for kind words.Things were going ok for me on Saturday - off the drink 6 weeks,feeling good.Bloody car broke down at 11am meaning i couldnt work the busy weekend and prob wont get it bak till thurs.My willpower has proved to be poor over the years.I was in pub at 12.Unfortunately for me its not the drink thats the big problem but i let my guard down on it.Few phone calls at bout 4 and that was it.Beem me up Scotty!Gettin a cab home Sun morn at 08.00 feeling sick and depressed after blowing a fortune.The same carry on ive been doin for years.When will this crap ever end!Anyway comin round now.Go back to a meeting next week.Dellboy fair play for highlighting mental issues.Ive brought it all on myself and know how delicate the mind and body are."
Cue life can be tough and cruel at times but please keep battle going you will get through the stormn My email address if you want to talk [email protected]

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 07/06/2016 13:12:49    1862778

Replying To Dellboypolecat:  "Cue life can be tough and cruel at times but please keep battle going you will get through the stormn My email address if you want to talk [email protected]"
Sound dell.Cheers for that.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 07/06/2016 13:40:22    1862804

Fairplay to Dell and Cue and anybody else here who I've missed for speaking up about their troubles, it certainly isn't an easy thing to do and sadly it can get the better of many people, genuinely fairplay lads and I hope you's can go from strength to strength.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 07/06/2016 15:42:51    1862903