Galway vs Mayo Hard Battle

Replying To KYTitletown:  "We've had shocks and great excitement in Connacht and Munster! Ulster and Leinster show us what you've got!"
Ulster will have the 4 best teams by far in semis so there won't be a shock there whoever wins - in Leinster forget about it. However the qualifiers are shaping up to be very interesting - we have Cork, Mayo and losers of Tyrone/Cavan and Donegal/Monaghan. So perhaps both championships will be worth watching now.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 18/06/2016 21:11:18    1868586

Replying To oakleafersir:  "They call me mystic mc as well for a reason, Galway for sam yeoooooooooo,"
Fair play to you Oakleaf. You called it right when most either ignored you or slagged you.

Congratulations to Galway.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7364 - 18/06/2016 21:14:20    1868589

Have to go on and win it now please God.
No room for complacency. The Roscommon lads wont be too disappointed with todays result either lets not forget.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 18/06/2016 21:15:07    1868591

Mayo can and will bounce back from this. It's a final in CONNACHT that we really were not expecting. Let the best team win !

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1080 - 18/06/2016 21:20:05    1868595

Replying To shaggylegend:  "Cillian o Connor is a brilliant free taker, but as usual carries nothing from play"
He was anything but a brilliant freetaker today. Got some brutally bad sides from frees.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1907 - 18/06/2016 21:20:52    1868597

Replying To shaggylegend:  "Cillian o Connor is a brilliant free taker, but as usual carries nothing from play"
He has scored almost 40 percent of his overall total from the last few years from play. The Times had an article on it the other day, bit of a myth that he does nothing from play. He is a class player. Had a poor game today but he never hides, I would be looking at a few others before him today.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 18/06/2016 21:22:36    1868598

Joe Brolly said last year that the Ulster title is the only provincial crown that means anything any more.
Well see in a few weeks when Galway go to battle with the Rossies, and if (imagine) Tipp beat the kingdom how much these titles still mean.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 18/06/2016 21:25:29    1868601

Well done Galway. Great result to uplift the spirits I'm sure. Mayo no scores from play in whole second half? That's not good.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 18/06/2016 21:27:19    1868603

I know it's not the done thing to praise the Connacht championship on here but yet again it has been by far the best of the provincial championships so far this year. Last week's game was really enjoyable and then we had today's shock of the championship. Well done Galway footballers, reports of your death have been greatly exaggerated.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 18/06/2016 21:32:29    1868607

The final is going to be match to see . I said before . It will be a classic

oakleafersir (Derry) - Posts: 808 - 18/06/2016 21:37:27    1868611

Two really entertaining Connacht Semi Finals and a genuinely open 50:50 contest in prospect in the final. So many variables , Div 1 vs Div 2, Ros brutal record when favourites , Galway momentum from that win tonight, Ros momentum from Sligo 2nd half performance. Couldnt call it but really looking forward to it.
Thought ref kept Mayo in game with a succession of very handy scorable frees. Brilliant display from Paul Conroy and a team reward for guts and bravery. Suspect Mayo will pick themselves up and be very tough opposition in the qualifiers.
Overall good night for football in Connacht and sport in general. There is no such thing as a good thing and thats why we love it.

facethepuckout (Roscommon) - Posts: 214 - 18/06/2016 21:41:01    1868615

Congrats Galway...worthy winners. Our Connacht winning streak could not last forever and fair dues ye deserves the win. Beware the written off team...best of luck in the Connacht final

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11237 - 18/06/2016 21:45:56    1868619

Replying To joncarter:  "Joe Brolly said last year that the Ulster title is the only provincial crown that means anything any more.
Well see in a few weeks when Galway go to battle with the Rossies, and if (imagine) Tipp beat the kingdom how much these titles still mean."
Joe Brolly said

In fairness every single word after that point is totally worthless!!!

Very well done to Galway, well deserved victory and it does shake up the west a bit.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 18/06/2016 22:04:47    1868630

Well done to Galway, without doubt the better team. But personally I think Mayo took their eye off the ball and some of their players were thinking that they wouldn't get a test till August and although fit weren't tuned into this game It was too late before they realised they had to up the gears, I'd imagine the lads from last year who were ousted had a wry smile , Mayo will still be very dangerous in qualifiers.
But it's a lesson also for the Dubs or Kerry ye can't take your eye of the next game or ye can be undone.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 18/06/2016 22:38:20    1868640

Replying To moros:  "Mayo can and will bounce back from this. It's a final in CONNACHT that we really were not expecting. Let the best team win !"
Roscommon should have nothing to worry about!! All the EXPERTS on Sunday Game will be going for Roscommon. Hope you go on and win the AI.

SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 18/06/2016 22:56:58    1868646

Yeah Mayo should be able to dust themselves off.. But..

That was still a major set back though and a poor performance, was it only 7 from play.. at home. Galway with 5 newbies in the team against a far more experienced Mayo line up, in the most important stage of a close game, Galway out played Mayo and out scored them 1-6 to 0-1 in the last 14 minutes

No "All Ireland" for Mayo this year...

Sure how can you be champions of "All" after losing your own province but that's just my own take on it..

Mayo are good enough to get a couple of handy back door wins and regain confidence to try and get themselves back into contention, because after that performance.. they aren't even close.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 18/06/2016 22:59:04    1868647

Replying To AthCliath:  "Well done to Galway, without doubt the better team. But personally I think Mayo took their eye off the ball and some of their players were thinking that they wouldn't get a test till August and although fit weren't tuned into this game It was too late before they realised they had to up the gears, I'd imagine the lads from last year who were ousted had a wry smile , Mayo will still be very dangerous in qualifiers.
But it's a lesson also for the Dubs or Kerry ye can't take your eye of the next game or ye can be undone."
I hate to say it but I think can take their eye off the ball and still win comfortably in their next game. Wish I was wrong but it's the truth.

Congrats to Galway and hard luck Mayo. The qualifiers might end up being a blessing in disguise for this Mayo team.

HighKings (Meath) - Posts: 271 - 18/06/2016 23:30:34    1868650

Replying To moc.dna:  "Mayo to win in second gear, not winning by a lot as they are geared to peak later in the year. Lots of very very serious problems in Galway. Stories will break & become public knowledge after this game is over. The truth & reality always outs."
What are these problems in Galway. Congrats Galway great win against the odds

CurranCake1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 130 - 18/06/2016 23:35:55    1868651

How much longer are Mayo goin to persist with wasting Aidan O' Se's talent and their own chances by leaving him up front with hardly any useful supply?

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 19/06/2016 00:59:57    1868660

Totally agree. He is extremely adverage at best from play. Look back through years and his scoring tally from plan as the main forward on a team playing till end of champions and it's terrible. All he does is score frees. I am not one but surprised by today's result. Galway have the better players. Mayo had the better team and unit up until today. Apart from DOC Mayo have one of the worst set of forwards in the country. How will Mayo players react now. Rochford had to go and the players the pushed for last management team to go need to be dropped off panel. It was a joke how they reacted last year and look where they are now.

Pingcity (Longford) - Posts: 568 - 19/06/2016 02:46:18    1868667