Galway vs Mayo Hard Battle

What a weekend for Galway football.I have never been more happy aftr a game. The amount of negative comments about Galway Football leading into the match was infuriating to hear. Lazy journailism i felt all week. Galway Bay Fm commentstor/so called analysts have been sledging the team/team management and now they want to give them the keys of the city.A huge day for for us all in Galway.

philip3 (Galway) - Posts: 196 - 20/06/2016 09:06:09    1869308

Sorry Wayno ,
If we lose to Meath we are in A side of draw and won't meet Mayo who are on the B side.
But if we beat Meath , the Leinster winners or Leinster Runners up play a team from the B side and we could get them.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 20/06/2016 09:07:51    1869309

Well like a lot of others I have to hold my hand up and say I got this one totally wrong. There were so many factors indicating a comfortable Mayo win though in fairness. Galway were average enough in Division 2, they are missing a fair amount of players between one reason and another and the game was in Mayo's back yard! So all credit to Galway in proving the doubters wrong. Hopefully it will prove to be the start of a revival for them as I was beginning to the impression that rugby was taking over out West.

What now for Mayo? I think people are running away with themselves a bit. It will take a renewed effort, and maybe some players will need to look at themselves and ask, "am I really fully tuned into this?". A few wallopings dished out in the back door, with a chance to blend in some of the u21's perhaps? I still think Mayo are well capable of having a successful year from here.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 20/06/2016 09:47:32    1869336

sooooo happy....felt awkward for Horan on Sky, why did he not congratulate KW after all the bad press he gave him for 12 months?

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1674 - 20/06/2016 10:49:58    1869406

Replying To moc.dna:  "Mayo to win in second gear, not winning by a lot as they are geared to peak later in the year. Lots of very very serious problems in Galway. Stories will break & become public knowledge after this game is over. The truth & reality always outs."
So, how'd that work out for you then? Still waiting for these stories to come out. Fill us in there since you're clearly in the know.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 20/06/2016 11:25:26    1869452

I thought we were terrible Saturday evening. I said at ht we were lucky to be leading. I thought we would kick on in the second half but it never happened. Galway got the goal and you could see the energy drained from Mayo players and even supporters. Cillian is a great freetaker but he was below par, Aidan O Se did nothing of note....in fact complaining to the ref and linesmen gets tiresome when your eye should be on the ball.

Kevin Mc as a sweeper did not work, he was out of position many times and looked lost. I thought Boyle, Keane, Coen and Regan were among over better players on the night. Trying to make sense of where we are at is hard. I don't think we are as bad as we showed but maybe we have slipped back a bit. I would like to see fringe players get a run in the qualifiers. It will be the making or breaking of this team.

I would agree with Tomas O Se in that it looked bad with Horan and Conroy, both of whom are close to the squad writing/tweeting predicting easy Mayo wins done Mayo no favor....it meant or not, opinions can get into the heads of players.

Mayo management did not show much but when players under perform, game plans can look non existent. It's the players that need to stand up now and such a defeat can make or break a team. Most will now write of this Mayo team....which may be no bad thing either. Keep the faith and all that as Johnno said.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11237 - 20/06/2016 16:27:49    1869771

Congrats Galway on a great win .

I must admit I got this really wrong as well.

I do not think though that people need to say sorry for making a prediction as it is their opinion.

Galway could not get out of a poor D2 so this win came from nowhere. Fair play to them .

Mayo reminded me of Donegal in 2013. All we had to do was show up and beat Monaghan . We looked mentally tired and I think this played its part on Mayo.

Are Mayo finished ? No way is my answer there. I still think they could lift Sam Maguire.

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 20/06/2016 18:09:23    1869830

Replying To yew_tree:  "I thought we were terrible Saturday evening. I said at ht we were lucky to be leading. I thought we would kick on in the second half but it never happened. Galway got the goal and you could see the energy drained from Mayo players and even supporters. Cillian is a great freetaker but he was below par, Aidan O Se did nothing of note....in fact complaining to the ref and linesmen gets tiresome when your eye should be on the ball.

Kevin Mc as a sweeper did not work, he was out of position many times and looked lost. I thought Boyle, Keane, Coen and Regan were among over better players on the night. Trying to make sense of where we are at is hard. I don't think we are as bad as we showed but maybe we have slipped back a bit. I would like to see fringe players get a run in the qualifiers. It will be the making or breaking of this team.

I would agree with Tomas O Se in that it looked bad with Horan and Conroy, both of whom are close to the squad writing/tweeting predicting easy Mayo wins done Mayo no favor....it meant or not, opinions can get into the heads of players.

Mayo management did not show much but when players under perform, game plans can look non existent. It's the players that need to stand up now and such a defeat can make or break a team. Most will now write of this Mayo team....which may be no bad thing either. Keep the faith and all that as Johnno said."
Just wondering Yew Tree what you make of B Flynns comment word on the street that the players are running the show ?
I heard a very senior player was very insistent that a certain player start the game that management had not chosen , is it a case of no smoke without fire ? By the way I told my friend he was talking rubbish but after the result/ performance it has me wondering ? your thoughts ?

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 21/06/2016 10:52:18    1870059

Jason Gibbons who went off injured (looked painful) is now out for the year. What a disappointment for him. Best of luck to him in his recovery.
In another blow to Mayo, Ger Caff is also out for the season after tearing his hamstring in a recent challenge.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11237 - 21/06/2016 11:12:54    1870078

that's worrying about Ger Cafferkey. Don't think we can compete with the top teams without a full strength team. Caffereky is our best defender and we will really struggle without him.

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 21/06/2016 12:34:24    1870142

Things sound ropey all round in Mayo, they'll do well to bounce back from this, and if they do, hats off!

KerryKillers (Dublin) - Posts: 711 - 21/06/2016 13:31:19    1870188

Caffereky is our best defender and we will really struggle without hIM
Far from being our best defender

liner (Mayo) - Posts: 756 - 21/06/2016 21:30:45    1870487

Replying To pdempsey:  "that's worrying about Ger Cafferkey. Don't think we can compete with the top teams without a full strength team. Caffereky is our best defender and we will really struggle without him."
Best defender? Calm down there. A loss yes but not as big a loss as Higgins, Keegan or Boyle would be!

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 21/06/2016 21:50:31    1870502

What to do with Lee Keegan Mayo lads?

He's the best half back in the game right now but when's he's on the opposition's best player he usually marks them out of it but his attacking game (which he's brilliant at) suffers and he just doesn't have the same impact going forward cause he's to busy doing his marking job and I think that's a massive part of mayo's attacking game gone. So my question is do you leave him on the oppositions best player or do you let him attack by marking a lesser player?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 22/06/2016 12:33:58    1870702

Thats the best performance I've seen from Conroy in a longtime, with his ability he should easily be on of the best midfielders in the game, hopefully this is the start of him putting in consistent performances.

TheWestIsAwake (UK) - Posts: 529 - 22/06/2016 18:48:31    1870870

lee keegan might have been best one of the half backs in recent yrs
but at this moment in time james mc carthy from Dublin is miles ahead of him
keegan had his hands full last sat with johny heany and then Damien comer
didn't look to good then lol

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 22/06/2016 19:43:22    1870886

Replying To rhudson:  "lee keegan might have been best one of the half backs in recent yrs
but at this moment in time james mc carthy from Dublin is miles ahead of him
keegan had his hands full last sat with johny heany and then Damien comer
didn't look to good then lol"
First laugh you've had in a while.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 22/06/2016 23:47:45    1870978