Galway vs Mayo Hard Battle

Well done to galway. Aidan o'shea and o'connor have been reading too much of their own press it seems. Our gameplan seemed overly complicated, guys seemed lost. Galway kept it simple and all credit to them. I certainly hope the 52 guys who couldnt be bothered to go to a trial were watching intently.

Hopefully it is the kick up the backside some of our lads have needed. Hennelly would be better off eliminating these mistakes from his game rather than being stuck in the press talking about how he managed to come back from tough times. We have too many guys who seem more interested in trying to build media profiles for themselves. When these fellas burst onto the scene in 2011 and 2012 they went after teams that had gotten to big for their boots. Now they have become that very thing themselves.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 19/06/2016 08:46:49    1868678

Replying To seanie_boy:  "How much longer are Mayo goin to persist with wasting Aidan O' Se's talent and their own chances by leaving him up front with hardly any useful supply?"
He was out the field for a lot of the game in fairness...

No sky sports in your house then?!

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 19/06/2016 09:02:34    1868681

Great win by galway! Hopefully it will inspired a certain team of underdogs from limerick today!

blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 19/06/2016 09:03:45    1868682

Terrific win for Galway.Galways unheralded defence won it for them Kerin was immense and Power in goal was exceptional with his kickouts. Never doubted Galways vast array of talent from Midfield up but it seems they have now found a superbly tough hardhitting full back line.Galway were seriously good and the elite teams now have a new and very dangerous contender to deal with.Galway in a Connacht final in Salthill represents an incredibly tough challenge for Roscommon who havent beaten either of the "Old Firm" in fifteen years.Should be a great occasion.

Were Mayo to complacent/arrogant?Have they lost the ability to win soft frees?Too much mileage on board?Was Management an improvement on the excellent Holmes/Connelly mgt team? One thing is for sure Mayo will be playing in August at the very least.Still very much All Ireland contenders.

salvador (Roscommon) - Posts: 439 - 19/06/2016 09:11:25    1868686

Replying To TheMaster:  "Well done to galway. Aidan o'shea and o'connor have been reading too much of their own press it seems. Our gameplan seemed overly complicated, guys seemed lost. Galway kept it simple and all credit to them. I certainly hope the 52 guys who couldnt be bothered to go to a trial were watching intently.

Hopefully it is the kick up the backside some of our lads have needed. Hennelly would be better off eliminating these mistakes from his game rather than being stuck in the press talking about how he managed to come back from tough times. We have too many guys who seem more interested in trying to build media profiles for themselves. When these fellas burst onto the scene in 2011 and 2012 they went after teams that had gotten to big for their boots. Now they have become that very thing themselves."
Why would any of your lads need a kick up the backside? They have won nothing to cause them to be big headed or complacent.
I thought it was a poor game but when the fat was in the fire it was Galway who had the bottle to seize their opportunity.Some of Mayo's shooting was so bad it was comical.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 19/06/2016 09:22:40    1868694

I've seen some horrid stuff on social media about Mayo...really personal deep slagging. I don't slag any GAA player as they give their lives to entertain us. I dunno will I ever see Mayo win an all Ireland but I'll follow them to hell and back if needs be.....be interesting to see who we get in the draw....

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11237 - 19/06/2016 09:24:01    1868695

What an evening in castlebar for the people of Galway.I said during the week we are a proud football county big Kevin Walsh had a plan and the players stuck to the plan.Now all ye pundits who wrote Galway off have egg on their face.Up Galway bring on the rossies.

bud14 (Galway) - Posts: 296 - 19/06/2016 09:30:11    1868703

Great result for Galway! As I said before the season started Mayo should be careful what they wish for....

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 19/06/2016 09:31:37    1868705

fair play and all to galway but before hennellys howler of a kickout mayo as bad as they were were going to win by 6/7 pts at least. it puzzles me why managers and coaches persist with this short kick out stuff..can they not see the evidence in front of them?donegal lost an all Ireland because of it,kerry,cork,clare and Armagh have recently lost(or at least conceded goals) games because of it. the only team that can do it successfully is Dublin because they have a keeper who can leave a ball on a sixpence and clued in half forwards like Flynn Kilkenny and Connolly who are clued in to whats happening. I wonder what hennellys thought process was when he looked out and surveyed what was in front of him before he kicked out that ball? was he filled in fear that he would be given out to if he didn't hit the wings instead of giving two 6ft4 midfielders a chance to field a ball by a long kick out? its astonishing really whats going on.. same stuff going on in hurling to the detriment of teams entertainment and crowds again the only keeper and team that perfected the hurling version of cluxton was donal og and cork.

kavvie (Clare) - Posts: 505 - 19/06/2016 09:39:10    1868711

Is no one going to mention the 15 Galway players in their own half for the last 15 minutes? Well done Galway but is this the future of football by everyone now once they have a lead bring everyone back? Just think there's no skill in that it's not a good look and there has to be a rule were every player can't be in there own half cause once teams build up leads we may all go home cause they'll just bring everyone back and hold on till time is up.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 19/06/2016 09:43:56    1868717

Replying To TheMaster:  "Well done to galway. Aidan o'shea and o'connor have been reading too much of their own press it seems. Our gameplan seemed overly complicated, guys seemed lost. Galway kept it simple and all credit to them. I certainly hope the 52 guys who couldnt be bothered to go to a trial were watching intently.

Hopefully it is the kick up the backside some of our lads have needed. Hennelly would be better off eliminating these mistakes from his game rather than being stuck in the press talking about how he managed to come back from tough times. We have too many guys who seem more interested in trying to build media profiles for themselves. When these fellas burst onto the scene in 2011 and 2012 they went after teams that had gotten to big for their boots. Now they have become that very thing themselves."
I agree that both O Se and Coc were poor but I would give the latter more credit, he didn't hide and kept taking responsibility. COC has a super attitude and will be back stronger. O Se was anonymous, as was his brother, Parsons and Doherty for the most part. I would actually prefer Clarke in goals. Hennelly is their for his apparent variation, but he makes a lot of mistakes and has little presence, just my opinion. I still think we can make a run through the qualifiers, half back line is excellent and if we move Higgins back we will be ok.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 19/06/2016 09:48:06    1868718

The Master I don't think today is the day to put the boot in and it's not beyond the realms that Mayo make another ALL Ireland final or even win it. Look at Tyrone or Kerry.
But strangely if this happened with the same management from last year it could be excused more easily. You yourself backed the players against last year's duo.
But ill ask you Is it like spoilt kids demanding the latest new toy from Santa , because they think the other kids have better toys and then when they get it get tired of it very easily. Because they are used to getting what they want.
Players usually are bursting a gut for new management. Kerry credit this with doing back to backs.
Plus New management this year for ye has a lot experience, so was it poor tactically from them or do the main players think they know better.
Either way their was no fire in the belly.
I was watching Dermot Connolly bursting a gut up and down the line against Laois and that was percieved an easier game for us.
Where were the Mayo leaders , when needed. Or more to the point , who are they.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 19/06/2016 09:51:28    1868719

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Is no one going to mention the 15 Galway players in their own half for the last 15 minutes? Well done Galway but is this the future of football by everyone now once they have a lead bring everyone back? Just think there's no skill in that it's not a good look and there has to be a rule were every player can't be in there own half cause once teams build up leads we may all go home cause they'll just bring everyone back and hold on till time is up."
Hopefully you are moaning about this next week..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 19/06/2016 10:09:51    1868726

Replying To SAMMYTHEBULL:  "Roscommon should have nothing to worry about!! All the EXPERTS on Sunday Game will be going for Roscommon. Hope you go on and win the AI."
Good one Sammy lol.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 19/06/2016 10:10:54    1868727

Replying To realdub:  "There's more chance of another shock in Munster than there being one in Leinster!"
Yeah you're right in the excitement of last night's game I forgot that there was a national footballing Goliath for the Leinster teams to overcome.

And if Galway can beat Mayo, Tipperary can just as easily beat ourselves. Tipperary wouldn't be too far off Galway while Mayo are well ahead of Kerry so anything could happen!

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 19/06/2016 10:13:27    1868729

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Is no one going to mention the 15 Galway players in their own half for the last 15 minutes? Well done Galway but is this the future of football by everyone now once they have a lead bring everyone back? Just think there's no skill in that it's not a good look and there has to be a rule were every player can't be in there own half cause once teams build up leads we may all go home cause they'll just bring everyone back and hold on till time is up."
Every team brings men back, your own county included.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 19/06/2016 10:22:50    1868733

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Hopefully you are moaning about this next week.."
I hope not lol...

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 19/06/2016 10:27:24    1868735

Replying To TheFlaker:  "I agree that both O Se and Coc were poor but I would give the latter more credit, he didn't hide and kept taking responsibility. COC has a super attitude and will be back stronger. O Se was anonymous, as was his brother, Parsons and Doherty for the most part. I would actually prefer Clarke in goals. Hennelly is their for his apparent variation, but he makes a lot of mistakes and has little presence, just my opinion. I still think we can make a run through the qualifiers, half back line is excellent and if we move Higgins back we will be ok."
O'connor's shot selection was terrible. If they arent going for you, do what is best for the team and work it to a team mate or win a free. I dont agree with giving him a pass just because he kept showing, when in fact he also kept shooting from crazy places.

I disagree that this isnt the time to be critical. They need a wake up call. As someone stated, why would they need a wake up call when they havent won anything. Id wonder the same myself, yet they clearly do.
It must be said, not all are guilty. Boyle was brilliant. Harrison made some good interceptions too. That just makes you mad though. Some guys are as honest as the day is long, yet others seem to be only playing for themselves alongside them.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 19/06/2016 10:33:18    1868739

I didn't give Galway a hoe in hells chance , I came on here and said they'd be stuffed .I was wrong .
Was I alone ?
Sport has always shocked , this a great result for Dublin as if there was any chance of taking Meath lightly well that's gone no chance we will be sucker punched.
Mayo now in the qualifiers could make them battle hardened come business end. James Horan ouch.

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 19/06/2016 10:37:30    1868742

AithCliath, i dont prescribe to this thing of throwing the change of management in their faces. The reality is they as a group wanted a change. They felt what was going on wasnt good enough. As men, i accept that they were acting in what they believed to be the best for the group. That is fair enough with me, they know better than anyone at the end of the day and if the whole lot of them decide that then it is good enough for me. So no, even if they never win another connacht, id still accept their decision on that front, because it simply must have been bad for them to go that far.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 19/06/2016 10:42:14    1868746