Should Galway GAA offer Pearse stadium to Connacht

I would have a game in each of the five county grounds in Connacht. The idea of going on a busy Saturday or Friday evening to salthill would not appeal to a lot of people giving the traffic nightmare to get there
ROS1 (Roscommon) - Posts:436 - 24/05/2016 21:33:37
I don't think that's feasible and doesn't help Connacht. Moving ground for each game.

I wouldn't imagine the rent Connacht rugby would pay would have any great impact on the finances of Galway county board. I think most rugby fans in Connacht would rather the IRFU show some long-term commitment to the game in the province by maybe looking into a groundshare at Terryland and investing in redeveloping that to increase the attendance by a few thousand.
Soma (UK) - Posts:1434 - 24/05/2016 21:35:04
Terryland isn't suitable. There is plenty of seats(which sportsground doesn't have) but not much room besides that. How would you propose to increase the attendance in Terryland? Have you seen that site. There isn't room to develop that

Kind of hard to ask the GAA to support Connaught when even the IRFU don't.
witnof (Dublin) - Posts:930 - 25/05/2016 08:34:21
IRFU do support them and bailed them out many times and completely back them when they could easily have removed the professional game on several occasions in the past 20 years

As for Rugby i wouldn't like to see it played in any GAA ground.Letting Ireland play a few games in Croke Park was the correct thing to do given the unavailability of Landsdowne Rd at the time but that should be the end of it.I really dont care much for rugby.To this day,the blatant elitism of the game growing up in west Dublin has left a sour taste in my mouth.
cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts:4021 - 25/05/2016 11:50:13
Yet the sport isn't elitist and never has been. All clubs open to all bar university clubs only open to university students. nobody stopped from joining or getting involved in a club bar from their own prejudices in their own head.

Ormondbannerman, as I know little about rugby structures could you enlighten me?. You say Connaught are not a cub but yet they compete in European club competitions. Are they a regional team drawing players from clubs in Connaught? If so why do they not work with some club or the IRFU to develop a suitable ground. They are a professional entity buying or hiring professional players and managers from around the world so obviously have access to some serious sponsorship. It's hard to understand why they would be looking at usin the facilities of an amateur body
neverright (Roscommon) - Posts:215 - 25/05/2016 12:39:19
They are not a club in the true sense. They are a province. They represent all the clubs within Connacht at an amateur level and are a provincial regional team. What amateur club would they work with? It would realistically have to be a senior club. Of the 2 in Galway City. Galwegians don't have the space. Corinthians do but moving from the city centre out to cloonacauneen on tuam road wouldn't aid the province as that makes it harder for people to access the ground considering the sportsgrounds city centre location.
It isn't hard at all to understand a professional team looking at using other grounds/venues even if they are of an amateur body.

Stick the dogs around the back pitch and build a new viewing area for them there. Then they can work away developing around the good pitch then.
GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts:2350 - 25/05/2016 12:52:13
How do you propose to put the dogs around the back pitch? Have you ever been in the sportsground? That's not possible. If they could it would be fantastic to turn the back pitch into the main pitch and buy the houses at the Loyola park end of the ground and then turn car park into a stand and put bigger stands in and then use the pitch in middle of dog track as the training pitch/our ladys boys club pitch but that would be very difficult.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 25/05/2016 13:44:40    1858492

Ormond I know enough about rugby to know the IRFU do not want and need a Connaught. Makes their progress all the more worthy but they had to fight the IRFU all the way.

Connaught is not a GAA problem. Ulster have Ravenhill, Munster Thomand and Leinster their horse field. Let the IRFU go off and develop something for Connuaght if they support them so much.

Shows how under invested the IRFU are and were in Connaught that after 100+ years they never had their won field.

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 25/05/2016 14:35:49    1858520

To this day,the blatant elitism of the game growing up in west Dublin has left a sour taste in my mouth.

Yet the sport isn't elitist and never has been. All clubs open to all bar university clubs only open to university students. nobody stopped from joining or getting involved in a club bar from their own prejudices in their own head.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts:11216 - 25/05/2016 13:44:40

Think we touched on this before on another post. Having lived in Dublin, Cork and Waterford, I have to say there's a difference between most rugby fans in Munster, and the some of the fans in Dublin, so your experience of rugby fans might differentiate from cuederocket

extranjero (Wexford) - Posts: 375 - 25/05/2016 15:18:05    1858545

Ormond :

I played against OLBC on the main pitch and the back pitch back in the 90s! The main pitch was a peach. I know Galway very well, been in and out of there for more than 40 years. Best city in the world.

It would be difficult alright but it could be done and maybe a lot easier than rejigging capacity around the current track. In my head a ridiculous proposal is better than none and better I think they'd be mad to move out of there. A few minutes walk into town and nightlife second to none anywhere, the pitch is practically in the town. Was looking at the Sattelite view and to my very untrained eye it looks like you could get rugby stadium and grehound stadium at the same address. Can't the greyhound track survive with just one stand like Shelbourne park giving more room for the track? Salthill is a great pitch, great facilities but for me it lacks the atmosphere that town pitches like Tuam Stadium and The Sportsground had/have.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 25/05/2016 19:57:07    1858631

Replying To extranjero:  "To this day,the blatant elitism of the game growing up in west Dublin has left a sour taste in my mouth.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts:11216 - 25/05/2016 13:44:40

Think we touched on this before on another post. Having lived in Dublin, Cork and Waterford, I have to say there's a difference between most rugby fans in Munster, and the some of the fans in Dublin, so your experience of rugby fans might differentiate from cuederocket"
Too right extrajanero.Ooogh that poxy "Leinster Leinster" chant makes me wince.I know this will sound unpatriotic of me but i have to admit i was hoping Argentina would beat Ireland in the recent rugby World Cup.I was sick to the back teeth with the wall-to-wall coverage of it ; radio,print,web and tv,i just couldn't avoid it and it was doing my cannister in bigtime.All that bravado and nonsense after the first game when they beat some hapless,nobodies(was it Ethiopia or some other lambs to the slaughter).The Leixlip ladies team would have given these chancers a game.Ridiculous,over the top hyperbole.I was the only happy man in Ireland that sunny day as the Argies sent the green hordes packing.I was released from my inner turmoil.For another four years anyway.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 25/05/2016 20:28:50    1858643

cuederocket --
Ooogh that poxy "Leinster Leinster" chant makes me wince. --makes me wince too as does Tipp, Tipp , Tipp, rebels rebels rebels, --nothing personal against either team but it means my team is losing , im sure munnnnnster or limerick limerick limerick got up the goat of other teams

I was the only happy man in Ireland that sunny day as the Argies sent the green hordes packing --- incorrect as Sceptical was happy too!!

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 25/05/2016 21:09:07    1858657

To this day,the blatant elitism of the game growing up in west Dublin has left a sour taste in my mouth.

Please give examples stating the club and or school involved, Soma gave an example of a rugby playing school alledgedly having a ban on the playing on gaa, as its not the rugby authorities preventing anybody playing gaa i dont view this a rugby being elitist. I Played rugby hurling football in dublin for few years when i lived there and never had a problem with so called "elitism", in fact i really enjoyed my sport up there (as well as in limerick). Go to a lot of away AIL matches and never have a problem, same in Gaa.

ormondbannerman (Clare)
-

Agree with you on this, I think some universtiy clubs are open though , but your point is well made

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 25/05/2016 21:38:50    1858687

Ormond I don't see why my idea is idea is not feasible or why when the are moving grounds anyway that it would be bad for Connacht. For the future of Connacht the are going to have build a support base through the province and into next door counties, this would be a big help. Plus Salthill is unsuitable due to poor traffic, parking and geal force winds

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 26/05/2016 09:40:50    1858724

Janesboro it goes a bit beyond rugby playing schools with a ban on our national games. To join a number of rugby clubs in Dublin your application for membership form requires you to provide your work address and occupation - why are either of these relevant when joining a sports club? Your form must also be signed by a proposer and seconder before your application can be considered by the club executive, it's quite difficult to get people to do this unless you have some connection. Compare this to a membership application form for a typical Dublin GAA club and you start to appreciate why so many consider rugby in Dublin to be an elitist sport, regardless of much of the good work being done recently.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 26/05/2016 11:09:04    1858781

To Ormond, Janesboro et al

Why do you think a lot of Dublin people consider rugby to have an elitist element to it then?

You lads have obviously never experienced it and do not see it where you are from but I don't think you can deny that the perception is out there about rugby only being for posh people.

Maybe it is only a perception and that perception is completely wrong but you cannot argue that the perception is there in large parts of the capital that rugby is only for the elite economic classes.

Maybe it's a kinda self fulfilling thing. Rugby is undeniably mainly played by upper classes/upper middle classes (in an Irish context) in Dublin so it makes it very hard for the sport to break out of that mould.

The same thing happened with GAA in Dublin. It took a long time for it to stop being the culchie games. It was realistically only from the 70s on that we saw Dubliners massively embracing the GAA and now it's, along with soccer, the most popular sport in the Capital by a long way.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13710 - 26/05/2016 11:39:27    1858807

Replying To Soma:  "Janesboro it goes a bit beyond rugby playing schools with a ban on our national games. To join a number of rugby clubs in Dublin your application for membership form requires you to provide your work address and occupation - why are either of these relevant when joining a sports club? Your form must also be signed by a proposer and seconder before your application can be considered by the club executive, it's quite difficult to get people to do this unless you have some connection. Compare this to a membership application form for a typical Dublin GAA club and you start to appreciate why so many consider rugby in Dublin to be an elitist sport, regardless of much of the good work being done recently."
http://learning.gaa.ie/sites/default/files/Membership%20and%20Registration.pdf
according to this gaa club membership requires a seconder and proposer,

Which clubs are they, have these clubs prevented somebody from joining on the basis of work address/occupation. Do these clubs prevent you from playing on such a basis. Do these clubs prevent you going into the bar or attending a game.

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 26/05/2016 12:14:45    1858836

cuetherocket - Why do you think a lot of Dublin people consider rugby to have an elitist element to it then?
dont know played gaa and rugby in dublin for years -still going to away AIL matches in dublin -even with the limerick accent and mannerisms ive never had a bother with it , i get on grand with the dublin club rugby supporters and Gaa fans too

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 26/05/2016 12:20:05    1858838

Replying To MesAmis:  "To Ormond, Janesboro et al

Why do you think a lot of Dublin people consider rugby to have an elitist element to it then?

You lads have obviously never experienced it and do not see it where you are from but I don't think you can deny that the perception is out there about rugby only being for posh people.

Maybe it is only a perception and that perception is completely wrong but you cannot argue that the perception is there in large parts of the capital that rugby is only for the elite economic classes.

Maybe it's a kinda self fulfilling thing. Rugby is undeniably mainly played by upper classes/upper middle classes (in an Irish context) in Dublin so it makes it very hard for the sport to break out of that mould.

The same thing happened with GAA in Dublin. It took a long time for it to stop being the culchie games. It was realistically only from the 70s on that we saw Dubliners massively embracing the GAA and now it's, along with soccer, the most popular sport in the Capital by a long way."
Yea thats about right mes.I do think the perception of rugby being upper class/posh in Dublin is slowly changing.
My Dad is from Tipp(same area as Ormond) and he enjoys rugby.I used to enjoy watching Ireland in the four/five nations and obviously always wanted them to win.
The Argentina game was the first and only time i wanted them to lose.I was sick of the ott coverage (esp after first game).Hadca few bob on the Argies as well.
I never really got the Leinster thing.Im a proud Dub,with a soft spot for Tipp.Their my two allegiances.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 26/05/2016 12:28:43    1858849

Replying To cuederocket:  "Yea thats about right mes.I do think the perception of rugby being upper class/posh in Dublin is slowly changing.
My Dad is from Tipp(same area as Ormond) and he enjoys rugby.I used to enjoy watching Ireland in the four/five nations and obviously always wanted them to win.
The Argentina game was the first and only time i wanted them to lose.I was sick of the ott coverage (esp after first game).Hadca few bob on the Argies as well.
I never really got the Leinster thing.Im a proud Dub,with a soft spot for Tipp.Their my two allegiances."
sorry cuetherocket just copped i just have addressed the last one to mesamis

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 26/05/2016 12:48:42    1858864

Replying To janesboro:  "cuetherocket - Why do you think a lot of Dublin people consider rugby to have an elitist element to it then?
dont know played gaa and rugby in dublin for years -still going to away AIL matches in dublin -even with the limerick accent and mannerisms ive never had a bother with it , i get on grand with the dublin club rugby supporters and Gaa fans too"
Janesboro,where i grew up in Palmerstown,west Dublin,there just was no rugby.Full stop.None of us talked about it in primary school ; it just wasn't on the menu.We were led to believe the game was the preserve of the private school goi ng posh boys of south county Dublin.Lads whos fathers were all lawyers,doctors,develepors etc.We didn't mix,associate,talk about or know anything about that part of Dublin.That's just the way it was.In saying that,i always enjoyed watching the odd four nations game that ny Dad would have on the box.That was about the height of rugby for me.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 26/05/2016 13:03:59    1858870

Replying To janesboro:  "http://learning.gaa.ie/sites/default/files/Membership%20and%20Registration.pdf
according to this gaa club membership requires a seconder and proposer,

Which clubs are they, have these clubs prevented somebody from joining on the basis of work address/occupation. Do these clubs prevent you from playing on such a basis. Do these clubs prevent you going into the bar or attending a game."
I expected a response like that because the purpose of these debates is usually not to understand the issues but to blindly defend rugby. I won't name the clubs as it would be unfair to pick the ones I know of when i believe it is common among many - in any case it's easy to find. Why would any club need to know your occupation and/or business address on your membership application unless it had some bearing on your actual application? Do you know any other sports clubs that require information like that? Is there any sport or organisation in the world you consider elitist?

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 26/05/2016 13:06:47    1858872

Rugby has made big inroads in Ireland the past 20 years. Soccer is worldwide the number one sport and always will be.
The GAA is still the fabric of Ireland in my view...from rural and small town point of view anyway. The local GAA field centre of the community.

That is not to say it won't always be that way as the local church and pub have found out in recent years. But from what I see locally the GAA is generally well run.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 26/05/2016 13:20:56    1858878

I grew up in Wexford town and then Galway city. Very little Rugby in Wexford town- it was a real Football and GAA stronghold back then in the 70's. Galway was different. I had relations who were heavily involved in the Game, Corinthians and Connacht.
I always found the "British Lions" element of rugby ofputting. Working class lads from say Limerick longing to play for the British Lions- not Limerick hurlers!
Also the Unionist brethern in the North seemed to be big on the Rugby. Not the Nationalists from Tyrone, Derry and Fermanagh.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 26/05/2016 13:53:18    1858892

Why are posters on HS giving so much time and words to rugby. Surely rugby has it's own site. Let's get back to more important things in the GAA world.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 26/05/2016 14:22:07    1858904

While rugby has improved there is still an elitist attitude in some people involved and it's not only in Dublin. I have seen it in a small rural town where the two head man told a solicitor friend of mine that is son would be playing with a better class of people if he left the gaa club and joined the rugby club

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 26/05/2016 14:37:14    1858914