Tyrone are the only team that can beat Dublin

Not so sure if they're the only team capable of beating Dublin, but they are one of a very small number who are capable. I think the draw suits Tyrone just fine in Ulster. Cavan/Armagh should pose a slightly bigger test than Derry. I've already seen Tyrone beat Cavan in the Div 2 final, so fully expect them to get to the Ulster final where they will face their first real test this summer. Regardless of that result, they'll be there in the quarters and that's when the real fun starts. They also tend to be a different sort of animal once they get out of Ulster and hit Croker. If they win Ulster, I'd fancy them to get to the final and then who knows.

moylagh (Meath) - Posts: 484 - 24/05/2016 12:10:53    1858071

Look, Tyrone are being overhyped but its the only story of note in the championship so far, so the media are losing the run of themselves. However I do see Tyrone building, they were in an all ireland semi last year where they beat but weren't embarrassed and could have had more joy had they not butchered some clear cut goal chances.

Donegal or Monaghan wont fear playing them because of the incestuous nature of the Ulster championship and the opportunity to try and put manners on the young pretenders mean there is the potential for a blood bath at some stage. Tyrone will get to August whether they can overturn a Dublin, Kerry or Mayo that remains to be seen.

Donegal got to the final in 2014 and were favourites in the final having competed in Div2 of the NFL so I dont read anything into that but Tyrone looked good in the face of very poor opposition, sterner tests await.

duckula20 (Antrim) - Posts: 175 - 24/05/2016 12:21:05    1858080

Replying To TheRightStuff:  "Note to everyone : Tyrone have played no top side in 2016 ( league or champo )

Why the hype ?

Imagine Kerry, Mayo or even ourselves were in D2 this year : I'd would reckon all three would easily come through . It was not of a very high standard .

Tyrone are not as good as some say IMO.

I don't think we will win the All- Ireland but I'd have ZERO fear of playing Tyrone . In fact I'd put my neck out and say we would beat them by 3-4 points .

Mayo , Kerry and ouselves are ahead of Tyrone .

The red hand have had some awesome sides down the years - I don't think this is one of them . Okay they're young but calm down people."
I'm not sure where the confidence in Donegal is coming from. Beaten in Ulster by Monaghan (who in turn were easily beaten by Tyrone), and comfortably beaten by Mayo in the AI quarter-final. Personally, I don't see another AI in Donegal and, should anything happen to Murphy, they would struggle to even reach the Q-finals.

Dublin are so fast and relentless, it will take a side who can match them for speed to beat them. I couldn't see Donegal or Monaghan doing that in August/September, and I doubt if Kerry's older players could keep it going for 70 minutes.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 24/05/2016 12:31:03    1858083

Yes probably too much hype after Sunday and it is an Ulster Championship which is very important to try and win this year before worrying about possible all-Irelands. That said I think it is fair to say that Tyrone under Mickey Harte do think they can compete with the likes of Dublin, Kerry, Mayo and Donegal and are preparing accordingly. I not sure if other counties such as Cork, Meath, Galway and Derry are thinking the same way.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 24/05/2016 12:31:09    1858084

Replying To jimbodub:  "KY

Are you a troglodyte?"
Are you my stalker, Jimbo?

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 24/05/2016 12:49:28    1858087

Replying To royaldunne:  "Be careful what you wish for, Meath should have probably beat Tyrone in league and did beat Derry."
What was I wishing for exactly RD? :)

KerryKillers (Dublin) - Posts: 711 - 24/05/2016 13:11:25    1858098

Replying To TheRightStuff:  "Note to everyone : Tyrone have played no top side in 2016 ( league or champo )

Why the hype ?

Imagine Kerry, Mayo or even ourselves were in D2 this year : I'd would reckon all three would easily come through . It was not of a very high standard .

Tyrone are not as good as some say IMO.

I don't think we will win the All- Ireland but I'd have ZERO fear of playing Tyrone . In fact I'd put my neck out and say we would beat them by 3-4 points .

Mayo , Kerry and ouselves are ahead of Tyrone .

The red hand have had some awesome sides down the years - I don't think this is one of them . Okay they're young but calm down people."
You are correct about Tyrone, over hyped by the media I might add not the supporters, they have a lot to prove.

But you are incorrect about Donegal, they are very much on a downward curve and I hope we get them this year in Clones and run them off the park.

Gallagher is not as effective as JMCG in my opinion. Those players just can't get up to that level for someone they don't buy into as they did Jim Mc G. The doubts in his system are there, he never had them at under 21. They simply don't have that faith it seems. About 3 great players still but others can not compete at the top level. It happened us and we took a life time to relaise it, unfortunately its happening our neighbours to and they to are deluded. 2014 was an opportunity missed

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 24/05/2016 13:14:26    1858101

Said at start of year Tyrone would be contenders. In Jim Gavin 4 games against Tyrone we have won 2 games by point each, drawn 1 and lost the other 1. Tyrone strengths are they have best defensive structure along with a quick counter attacking game. They are a team who can play game on their owns terms as Monaghan found out last year. Their could frustrate Dublin and get in their heads. Tiernan McCann and Peter Harte are 2 best of the attacking wing backs who plough forwards forward at every opportunity. Their 2 half forwards Cathal McShane and Richard Donnelly bascially drop as back as extra midfielders when defending. In Matthew Donnelly they have a inspirational leader playing in his best position. Mark Bradley is a huge addition to the attack and Ronan O'Neill and McAliskey starting raising green flags they will be hard to start. Tyrone have averaged 19/20 points in games over recent years and rarely concede goals. As said if added goals to games they could be in All Ireland final.

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 24/05/2016 13:19:00    1858106

Replying To SaffronDon:  "based on what?"
Ahh semi final last year? Remember dougal you were wearing your blue jumper.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/05/2016 13:44:16    1858116

Replying To Thomas Clarke:  "I'm not sure where the confidence in Donegal is coming from. Beaten in Ulster by Monaghan (who in turn were easily beaten by Tyrone), and comfortably beaten by Mayo in the AI quarter-final. Personally, I don't see another AI in Donegal and, should anything happen to Murphy, they would struggle to even reach the Q-finals.

Dublin are so fast and relentless, it will take a side who can match them for speed to beat them. I couldn't see Donegal or Monaghan doing that in August/September, and I doubt if Kerry's older players could keep it going for 70 minutes."
Looking at my post , it did seem like arrogance.

Yeah its just I think the hype is ridiculous. I dont think Tyrone are anyway near Dublin but thats just my opinion.

By the way Thomas- if yous do make it through to the last four - I would be the first to support yous.

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 24/05/2016 13:59:48    1858129

Replying To royaldunne:  "Ahh semi final last year? Remember dougal you were wearing your blue jumper."
all I remember is they lost, as they did two years previous in the final. Even the drawn game last year Mayo were relying on veterans to bail them out late on. A O'S being played in the forward line as opposed to where he has excelled best (midfield) would suggest that they lack the strength in depth in that area of the field. C O'C has been doing too much by himself and during the league Mayo looked one dimensional up front. So I don't know how you can definitively say Mayo are the only team that have the players to beat Dublin.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 24/05/2016 15:13:10    1858156

I have to say that I really like the look of Tyrone this year. I saw their u21s last year in the ulster final and saw something there that was definitely worth mentioning. They broke very quickly from kick outs and they were very efficient in their scoring.

Now they are bringing this to the senior level, and there is a perfect mixture of youth and experience that will stand a long campaign.

I think that they have a well equipped team now to challenge dublin, there is no question about that.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 24/05/2016 16:07:36    1858181

I don't think talk of tryone winning Sam is a couple of years to early. When was the last time the beat a top team? I don't think the have the top quality forwards that you need to win Sam.

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 24/05/2016 16:31:01    1858192

Replying To moylagh:  "Not so sure if they're the only team capable of beating Dublin, but they are one of a very small number who are capable. I think the draw suits Tyrone just fine in Ulster. Cavan/Armagh should pose a slightly bigger test than Derry. I've already seen Tyrone beat Cavan in the Div 2 final, so fully expect them to get to the Ulster final where they will face their first real test this summer. Regardless of that result, they'll be there in the quarters and that's when the real fun starts. They also tend to be a different sort of animal once they get out of Ulster and hit Croker. If they win Ulster, I'd fancy them to get to the final and then who knows."
At the risk of doing something very Un-Hoganstand here and saying what I actually think and not what we are meant to say to appease everyone for fear of causing offence...

I dont fear Tyrone atall, They havent played, not to mind beaten, a Div 1 team all year. I dont get the fear people have of them?
Their forwards are nice footballers, but very small and light and I would imagine James McCarthy, Cian O'Sullivan, Philly Mc etc would ate them alive. James McCarthy in particular is a feckin animal when it comes to clattering the opponents at any given chance!

Anyway, that said, for me, Monaghan and Donegal are still the 2 best teams in Ulster and Donegal are still the one I would have most respect for.
No offence to any Tyrone lads on here, tis only football lads, nothing personal.

ps - anyone saying Cork could on their day beat Dublin/Mayo/Kerry in knock out football in Croker....pass it on lad, on the left hand side.....

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 24/05/2016 19:23:46    1858253

Replying To ROS1:  "I don't think talk of tryone winning Sam is a couple of years to early. When was the last time the beat a top team? I don't think the have the top quality forwards that you need to win Sam."
They have seriously talented forwards. Good enough to win an All Ireland in my opinion. Ronan O Neill is finally living up to the potential that he showed 2 or 3 years ago, which can only be exciting for Mickey Harte and Tyrone supporters. What a talent to have. Mark Bradley is one of the most naturally talented players I've seen in a long time. Just brilliant to watch when he's on his game. Conor MacAliskey and Darren McCurry are up there with the most potent forwards in the country.

The lads that have come through from the U-21's have brought a winning mentality through with them that seems to have re energised the whole Tyrone squad. I was very impressed with Conor Meyler during the league campaign as well. Serious threat carrying the ball. Kieran McGeary was outstanding in a couple of league games, Derry at Healy Park he was the best player on the pitch. Add in Cathal McShane, Richie Donnelly, Lee Brennan, Padraig McNulty and the experience of Sean Cavanagh... I think that is as good a pick of forwards as any team outside of Dublin.

They are not weak in any position in my opinion. They have strength in depth in every position this year. And still have the likes of Joe and Justin McMahon, Conor Clarke and Ronan McNabb to come back from Injury as well. Free taking can be an issue for them at times though.

I think they will win Ulster this year anyway. Hope I'm wrong, but if Donegal get to the final I just think Tyrone will have far more hunger for it after the last few beatings we've given them in Ulster. If Monaghan get there, I can't see them beating this Tyrone team. Playing Donegal brings out the best in Monaghan. They have trouble replicating that same desire and intensity against Tyrone for whatever reason.

HandballRef (Donegal) - Posts: 520 - 24/05/2016 20:03:52    1858267

Just read what J MC Guinness said in today's I Times about Derry.
Brought nothing to the table, no game plan and letting Tyrone players run with the ball without a hand being laid on them I'd say he could not believe Derry could be so bad.
The next game Tyrone play will tells us more about them and I would be expecting Cavan to be the opposition. If that is so I would expect a very tight game and different from the recent Div two final
I would be expecting to see a shock in some one of the next three games in Ulster. Can Armagh beat Cavan? Down beat Monaghan or can Fermanagh beat Donegal ??? If Monaghan / Donegal got beat then it would be Tyrone for me in Ulster.
The winner of the Sam Maguire usually comes from Div 1, Armagh were the last to win it I think coming out of Div 2 but Donegal got to the final In 2014having come up that year.
That would suggest that Dublin Kerry Mayo Roscommon Monaghan Donegal have the best chance of winning

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 24/05/2016 20:49:15    1858290

Replying To HandballRef:  "They have seriously talented forwards. Good enough to win an All Ireland in my opinion. Ronan O Neill is finally living up to the potential that he showed 2 or 3 years ago, which can only be exciting for Mickey Harte and Tyrone supporters. What a talent to have. Mark Bradley is one of the most naturally talented players I've seen in a long time. Just brilliant to watch when he's on his game. Conor MacAliskey and Darren McCurry are up there with the most potent forwards in the country.

The lads that have come through from the U-21's have brought a winning mentality through with them that seems to have re energised the whole Tyrone squad. I was very impressed with Conor Meyler during the league campaign as well. Serious threat carrying the ball. Kieran McGeary was outstanding in a couple of league games, Derry at Healy Park he was the best player on the pitch. Add in Cathal McShane, Richie Donnelly, Lee Brennan, Padraig McNulty and the experience of Sean Cavanagh... I think that is as good a pick of forwards as any team outside of Dublin.

They are not weak in any position in my opinion. They have strength in depth in every position this year. And still have the likes of Joe and Justin McMahon, Conor Clarke and Ronan McNabb to come back from Injury as well. Free taking can be an issue for them at times though.

I think they will win Ulster this year anyway. Hope I'm wrong, but if Donegal get to the final I just think Tyrone will have far more hunger for it after the last few beatings we've given them in Ulster. If Monaghan get there, I can't see them beating this Tyrone team. Playing Donegal brings out the best in Monaghan. They have trouble replicating that same desire and intensity against Tyrone for whatever reason."
I don't think does forwards compare to the likes of Kerry and Mayo or the likes of Michael Murphy. Sure the will win most games espically against not ĺgreat teams like Derry but won't win Sam.

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 24/05/2016 21:22:31    1858310

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "At the risk of doing something very Un-Hoganstand here and saying what I actually think and not what we are meant to say to appease everyone for fear of causing offence...

I dont fear Tyrone atall, They havent played, not to mind beaten, a Div 1 team all year. I dont get the fear people have of them?
Their forwards are nice footballers, but very small and light and I would imagine James McCarthy, Cian O'Sullivan, Philly Mc etc would ate them alive. James McCarthy in particular is a feckin animal when it comes to clattering the opponents at any given chance!

Anyway, that said, for me, Monaghan and Donegal are still the 2 best teams in Ulster and Donegal are still the one I would have most respect for.
No offence to any Tyrone lads on here, tis only football lads, nothing personal.

ps - anyone saying Cork could on their day beat Dublin/Mayo/Kerry in knock out football in Croker....pass it on lad, on the left hand side....."
pass it on lad, on the left hand side.....

Ha ha good one ;)

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 25/05/2016 09:38:23    1858343

Dubsfan28, Tyrone are indeed coming out of division 2, but so were we 2 years ago, and we got to the All ireland final.
I would say division 2 can be an excellent place for a team to regroup if the potential and appetite is there, to get a bit of momentum and shape going. This is what I feel tyrone have done and they will be a force mark my words.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 25/05/2016 10:51:36    1858385

I think Tyrone need to win Ulster first before they can think of an All-Ireland. At this present time, they look the best bet to win Ulster and that would give them the confidence to go on and make a serious bid for the All-Ireland. I don't think they will have learned much from the match against Derry as it was over early doors. In fact a victory like that can give you a false sense of security e.g. after Donegal beat Armagh last year we were being touted as All-Ireland contenders.

It is much too early in the season to talking about who can challenge Dublin, Mayo and Kerry for sure. The real test comes in Croke Park in August, apart form the Ulster championship, it is all just shadow boxing until then.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1874 - 25/05/2016 12:27:15    1858447