Are Posters happy with Gaa?

My main problem with the football is the structure of the championship. There have been many great proposals made in the past few years on how to change it and they seem to have got widespread support from fans but nothing has been done. Are the GAA hierarchy out of touch or is there no appetite for change?

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 23/05/2016 10:27:26    1857616

I think the games themselves are largely fine to be honest, there can be a tendency to look back with blinkered bias and think that the games were much better in the 70s, 80s, 90s etc and obviously while there were some great games in the past there was some awful shíte aswell. I wouldn't be too bothered by doom merchants, the games are grand.

The organisation and promotion of the games does leave a lot to be desired though, the championships are meant to be our premier competitions yet they're very outdated and the Gaa appears to be very much against any sort of modernisation. Shamefully they even refused to allow the GPA's restructure proposal go forward for consideration, which is the height of disrespect towards the players.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 23/05/2016 10:38:48    1857626

I like the GAA despite the obvious flaws - GPA Elitism is a curse in my opinion, Championship structure is just not fair .

Finsceal (None) - Posts: 559 - 23/05/2016 10:43:28    1857627

Is there a crisis in hurling? If hurling people admit there is a crisis with how the game is played then maybe then some changes could be introduced. But after the Clare waterford drawn match I heard people shouting from the rooftops that hurling was in crisis and a week later it was the best game on the planet. Do we just wait now for the next great game so we can convince ourselves that nothing is wrong. I think that hurling can be easily repaired but some big calls have to be made and Im not hearing anyone calling.
People with agendas towards hurling need not reply.

ZUL10 (Clare) - Posts: 693 - 23/05/2016 10:58:37    1857636

Replying To Rockies:  "Hurling...Sweepers...sweepers...sweepers.

Football: Blanket defence...blanket defence...blanket defence

Taliban stuff.....and Cork bad in both"
what's this with referencing The Taliban, Colm O' Rourke mentioned them yesterday too. I wish people would engage their brain before coming out with any sort of political or religious references of which it is obvious they know little about. It reminds me of Spillanne's "shiite tribe" rant some years ago. also Christy Moore (who should know better) "some of them boys were throwing Shiite shapes".

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 23/05/2016 12:36:31    1857686

s goldrick - think people are just getting mixed up in their factions when looking for a word to describe the fare on offer. Its not Taliban they mean, its shi'ite.... ;-)

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 23/05/2016 12:50:07    1857694

It is well past time to fix the layout of the championship. After yesterday's defeat for example Derry's next match will be at end of June and there is a 50% chance they won't have another game until January. It is easily seen why so many people take an interest in soccer and other sports instead.

The need for any major change to get a 2/3 majority of the most conservative members needs to go if the GAA is to be allowed modernise.

tyroneed (Tyrone) - Posts: 753 - 23/05/2016 13:02:27    1857698

Id love to give Barry Hearn absolute power over the GAA for three years and see what happens.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 23/05/2016 13:24:55    1857709

There are too many stakeholders with differing opinions on the structure. At the risk of sounding undemocratic, I really do think it will take some enlightened individual/group to come up with something radical and new and to just implement it, for a year or two at least. And to hell with congress debating and voting on it!
There's no easy solution but at the moment we're just burying our heads in the sand. The structure is madness at the minute. Like a junior club wouldn't be expected to realistically compete in senior club championship. They have to prove their ability over time and move up the ranks through intermediate and fair play to them if they do. But we don't expect the same at county level? Head scratching stuff really when you think about it.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9154 - 23/05/2016 13:25:08    1857710

I agree that the championship needs to be restructured, the current system is outdated and needs a complete overhaul. But you just have to look at the Gaa's total dismissal of the the GPA's proposal to know what they're thoughts are, they want the status quo to remain for as long as possible.

But I am totally against the idea of a 2 tiered competition, the weaker counties rejected it because they know it would do nothing but damage to the sport in their county, that should be the end of the debate. Something like 8000 people turned out in Carrick yesterday to watch Leitrim play Roscommon, how many do you really think would turn up to watch Leitrim play in a second tier championship against another Div4 team like Carlow or Waterford for example, I'm guessing not too many.

When you're a supporter of a county who's playing in the top tier and has been for quite a while then it's all too easy to champion the idea of a 2nd tier. But if your team was all of a sudden on the verge of relegation from the top tier I'd imagine attitudes would change drastically towards a 2nd tier championship.

If you want to damage football in weaker counties then go against their expressed wishes and relegate them to a 2nd tier competition.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 23/05/2016 14:26:11    1857752

I agree with you somewhat Htaem and understand where you're coming from. But is one day in the year, in front of a good home crowd against your neighbours really worth all that dedication and training by the players? If the players say yes then more fool them I'm afraid. Perhaps there could be some way that the winners of say the "secondary" competition could be incorporated into the AI series as a reward? I'm not trying to be patronising or condescending here, just offering ideas.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9154 - 23/05/2016 14:34:41    1857759

ZUL10,hurling needs more games.the attendances at munster championship games are miles down on years ago.leinster the same.

personally,i would love to see groups of 4-5 teams and play on home/away basis, top 3-4-whatever qualify for quarters,above all regular games.

leaving croke park the other night,i said to myself "on the plus side,4 weeks of club action ahead"!people just want games,they want continuation of a championship and above all the club man does not want all his games in october.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 23/05/2016 14:39:11    1857764

Replying To Lockjaw:  "I agree with you somewhat Htaem and understand where you're coming from. But is one day in the year, in front of a good home crowd against your neighbours really worth all that dedication and training by the players? If the players say yes then more fool them I'm afraid. Perhaps there could be some way that the winners of say the "secondary" competition could be incorporated into the AI series as a reward? I'm not trying to be patronising or condescending here, just offering ideas."
I can see what you're saying Lockjaw, also my post was written earlier, before you had posted (I had forgotten to post it at the time) and was aimed more generally than specifically.

I would have no problem with a 2nd tier competition once every team got a fair crack at the main competition first. So for example I'd like to see the Gaa adopt a World Cup style format where every team is guaranteed 3 group games, with the top 2 in each group advancing to the last 16. Then we could look into the possibility of a 2nd tier competition for the teams that finished 3rd and maybe 4th as well in their groups.

You're right in saying that 1 big day out infront of a home crowd to get a hammering doesn't seem worth it. But also I think if you take away the big teams or local derbies then you're going to do damage to the weaker counties, I don't think there's anyway of avoiding that if weaker counties are removed from the main championship.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 23/05/2016 15:09:51    1857775

I agree with you somewhat Htaem and understand where you're coming from. But is one day in the year, in front of a good home crowd against your neighbours really worth all that dedication and training by the players? If the players say yes then more fool them I'm afraid. Perhaps there could be some way that the winners of say the "secondary" competition could be incorporated into the AI series as a reward? I'm not trying to be patronising or condescending here, just offering ideas.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts:4515 - 23/05/2016 14:34:41 1857759

Post Reply 0 0

I think something like this could be done easily enough.

You have a top tier of 5 groups of 4.

12 teams in tier B.

Top of tier A into QF

2nd place in tier A plus Tier B winners into a playoff round for 3 final places.

You could keep provincial championships.

Provincial finalists into Tier A plus 12 more from league.

Tier B can start once provincial semis are over.

Play provincial series off over 7 weeks.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4236 - 23/05/2016 15:30:31    1857789

I'm not happy with the GAA because my total interest is all about the GAA - Hurling and Football

If the game was run by like minded we would be allot happier.

I do think that we will hit a cross-roads soon. Things are not adding up for most Counties and the players are beginning to see sense, so they are opting out.

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 23/05/2016 15:47:26    1857805

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/tipp-manager-kearns-laments-losing-more-than-half-of-his-panel-in-just-12-months-34744260.html

Certainly no one could be happy with a story like this at the beginning of the summer

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 25/05/2016 13:43:36    1858491

Replying To Damothedub:  "http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/tipp-manager-kearns-laments-losing-more-than-half-of-his-panel-in-just-12-months-34744260.html

Certainly no one could be happy with a story like this at the beginning of the summer"
Correct Damo.I knew of the few lads choosing the hurling over the football at the start of the year but that is a huge disappointment for Tipp football.I read about that few weeks back.The surprising thing was that a Sunday Game pundit(forget which one)predicted Tipp to give Munster a right go and possibly beat Cork.I thought he was talking rubbish and wondered whether he even knew the amount of players that Tipp have lost.Tipp can't afford any losses of personnel if they are to challenge and i wouldn't give them any chance of beating Cork(providing they beat Waterford).

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 25/05/2016 13:56:45    1858497