The Blue Juggernaut?

Replying To KYTitletown:  "Hang on just a minute! So because Dublin lost ONE game at underage level away from home it disproves the fact that Dublin football setup is a juggernaut? Nonsense. Like I said in another thread last week that Dublin beating KK at minor hurling shouldn't be read as anything more than 1 game the same logic applies here.

The fact that a thread was created about Dublin losing ONE underage match actually illustrates that Dublin are a juggernaut that have created fear and panic to everyone else in the country,. I can never remember Kerry, Mayo Tyrone etc defeat at underage causing such a stir let alone a whole thread about it.

Finally, they lost to Meath. Has the Dublin dominance overshadowed the fact that Meath have a great history and tradition. It wasn't like they lost to Leitrim or Waterford (who by the way beat Kerry twice in the noughties at U21 level including in Killarney) Minor teams will always be inconsistent and impossible to predict.

I have no doubt that Dublin has quality players one underage defeat won't define them. If that was the case
the 12/13 lads on the 2011 Kerry U21 who got shellacked by Cork 2-24 to 0-8 wiuldn't have won AI Senior medals 3 years later."
fair points.I just hope its a sign that Meath are showing something.Big test for them next time out after this display.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 23/05/2016 15:03:44    1857774

Hang on just a minute! So because Dublin lost ONE game at underage level away from home it disproves the fact that Dublin football setup is a juggernaut? Nonsense. Like I said in another thread last week that Dublin beating KK at minor hurling shouldn't be read as anything more than 1 game the same logic applies here.

The fact that a thread was created about Dublin losing ONE underage match actually illustrates that Dublin are a juggernaut that have created fear and panic to everyone else in the country,. I can never remember Kerry, Mayo Tyrone etc defeat at underage causing such a stir let alone a whole thread about it.

Finally, they lost to Meath. Has the Dublin dominance overshadowed the fact that Meath have a great history and tradition. It wasn't like they lost to Leitrim or Waterford (who by the way beat Kerry twice in the noughties at U21 level including in Killarney) Minor teams will always be inconsistent and impossible to predict.

I have no doubt that Dublin has quality players one underage defeat won't define them. If that was the case
the 12/13 lads on the 2011 Kerry U21 who got shellacked by Cork 2-24 to 0-8 wiuldn't have won AI Senior medals 3 years later.

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts:357 - 23/05/2016 13:45:39

Think you will find that its more than one game , like lets say last year 2015 remind me of what we won at minor , 2014 at minor we won what , 2013 again we won what ?
The hysteria isn't one of Dublins making , its fellas like yourself who buy into the same old bullshi7 , there was an out break on here when we won a minor title and were beaten in a couple of finals , when we lose same lads who were mouthing off go very quite.

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 23/05/2016 15:43:02    1857798

a small step in right direction, but a positive one. must beat Kildare in semi for it to mean anything.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2151 - 23/05/2016 15:44:38    1857800

Replying To ziggy32001:  "fair points.I just hope its a sign that Meath are showing something.Big test for them next time out after this display."
I am not posting on this issue of resources etc, I am only and in fairness I think most people are posting on the match itself, (if unfortunately titled thread) .
I think the point from a Meath perspective is that this has eventually happened, it wasn't a fluke result, or one determined by a bad ref call, it was a genuine win. Meath have stuck to old ways for too long, the proper structures weren't put in place when they should have been, Meath are a large county with a top 5 all Ireland haul, and honestly football mad county, but the structures weren't put in place, while every other county modernised Meath cb had the attitude, we are Meath we will always be successful or thereabouts. And that left them behind and needing to catch up, this win Is what many sees as the first group of youngsters who went through the new system, so it would appear to be working, that been said many in Meath will tell you last years minors were better than this years, so with minor its hard to tell, also the without Conor Nash a sublime prospect. While Dublin have the resources it in no way can be attributed to Meath demise, that is truly our own fault by appointing wrong managers, getting rid of good manager, not putting in effort at underage, non of that has anything got to do with what dubs have or have not, its got to do with bad management at cb level over many many years, hopefully this will be a turning point , if we can win Leinster then it will have been a good start. That's all that matters now is winning Leinster, a tough task awaits un next game.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/05/2016 15:45:00    1857801

Replying To Damothedub:  "Hang on just a minute! So because Dublin lost ONE game at underage level away from home it disproves the fact that Dublin football setup is a juggernaut? Nonsense. Like I said in another thread last week that Dublin beating KK at minor hurling shouldn't be read as anything more than 1 game the same logic applies here.

the 12/13 lads on the 2011 Kerry U21 who got shellacked by Cork 2-24 to 0-8 wiuldn't have won AI Senior medals 3 years later.

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts:357 - 23/05/2016 13:45:39

Think you will find that its more than one game , like lets say last year 2015 remind me of what we won at minor , 2014 at minor we won what , 2013 again we won what ?
The hysteria isn't one of Dublins making , its fellas like yourself who buy into the same old bullshi7 , there was an out break on here when we won a minor title and were beaten in a couple of finals , when we lose same lads who were mouthing off go very quite."
Aul KYjelly there is as slippery as his title..

The usual Kerry waffle.. While his own county wins back to back AI minor titles...

He's full of it and as you stated above Damo

His rather obvious attempts of hyper bole are easily exposed with a little thing called facts.

Leinster underage has been very competitive as you correctly pointed out

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 23/05/2016 16:31:08    1857835

Also KYtittietown

To keep up the charade you should at least attempt to respond to Damo..

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 23/05/2016 16:37:38    1857842

Damo

My point was no other county (i.e Kerry Cork Mayo etc) ever had a thread on HS dedicated to an underage loss , at least not an early round defeat which strikes to me as a ''The lady doth protest too much, methinks'' mindset from the Dublin footballing fraternity regarding its dominance,

I don't understand why when we in Kerry had our day in the sun in the 70's and 80's we weren't embarrassed to admit it (even we though we rubbed people the wrong way) Don't deny the truth, embrace it

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 23/05/2016 17:01:17    1857860

Jimbo

I'm not the one overreacting to ONE underage defeat

Did losing to Waterford at underage affect the careers of M O Se, E Brosnan, S O Sullivan, N Kennelly, B Sheehan, S Scanlon, C Cooper, D O'Sullivan and Jack O'Connor?

Of course it didn't just like it wont affect the long-term prospects of this Dublin team.

Bad days at the office happen even moreso at underage level, maybe when one is used to winning so often and in such dominating fashion they forget what defeat feels like and that explains why there is such a shock reaction to a underage defeat which wouldn't happened if any other county's side lost.

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 23/05/2016 17:09:57    1857866

Damo

My point was no other county (i.e Kerry Cork Mayo etc) ever had a thread on HS dedicated to an underage loss , at least not an early round defeat which strikes to me as a ''The lady doth protest too much, methinks'' mindset from the Dublin footballing fraternity regarding its dominance,

I don't understand why when we in Kerry had our day in the sun in the 70's and 80's we weren't embarrassed to admit it (even we though we rubbed people the wrong way) Don't deny the truth, embrace it

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts:359 - 23/05/2016 17:01:17

You cant compare , the internet wasn't around when you guys had your day in the Sun.

As for pages about underage and no other county , your right, but for whatever reason good bad and ugly like newspapers Dublin sells and you being on this forum and this thread proves that.

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 23/05/2016 17:22:49    1857870

Replying To royaldunne:  "I am not posting on this issue of resources etc, I am only and in fairness I think most people are posting on the match itself, (if unfortunately titled thread) .
I think the point from a Meath perspective is that this has eventually happened, it wasn't a fluke result, or one determined by a bad ref call, it was a genuine win. Meath have stuck to old ways for too long, the proper structures weren't put in place when they should have been, Meath are a large county with a top 5 all Ireland haul, and honestly football mad county, but the structures weren't put in place, while every other county modernised Meath cb had the attitude, we are Meath we will always be successful or thereabouts. And that left them behind and needing to catch up, this win Is what many sees as the first group of youngsters who went through the new system, so it would appear to be working, that been said many in Meath will tell you last years minors were better than this years, so with minor its hard to tell, also the without Conor Nash a sublime prospect. While Dublin have the resources it in no way can be attributed to Meath demise, that is truly our own fault by appointing wrong managers, getting rid of good manager, not putting in effort at underage, non of that has anything got to do with what dubs have or have not, its got to do with bad management at cb level over many many years, hopefully this will be a turning point , if we can win Leinster then it will have been a good start. That's all that matters now is winning Leinster, a tough task awaits un next game."
Very good post Royaldunne

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4241 - 23/05/2016 18:08:41    1857885

It was a Dublin poster who started this thread not an outsider though. I was just remarking the amazing rush of highlighting this one underage result as if it is fundamental in the long run, which as I've proved with examples it doesn't.

I don't recall an individual underage football result causing such consternation on here before much to my bewilderment.

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 23/05/2016 18:27:46    1857894

I thought it was a wave not a Juggernaut? :)

gormdubhgorm (Dublin) - Posts: 990 - 23/05/2016 19:00:45    1857909

KY you're missing the point. It hasn't been one result. Look at the minor record over the past 2 to 3 years. Does U21 not count as underage? That team is also out. The point is, so much for many posters on here predicting that Dublin with all of their 'advantages' were going to dominate the IC scene for the next 10 to 20 years. What happened to this 'juggernaut', 'blue wave', 'unstoppable machine', 'talent conveyor belt'. As I have said to a lot of the whingers on here previously, money does not buy you success. Hard work, belief and a sprinkling of talent does. Glad to see Meath's centre of excellence bearing fruit already. I wish we had one!!

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 23/05/2016 19:54:47    1857931

Joxer

Yes U21 does count as underage and indeed is a more accurate barometer of senior success than Minor as players will be more developed and closer to the player they will be at senior level. And Dublin's recent record at U21 speaks for itself.

3 All Irelands since 2010 including 2 one-point defeats in the AI last 2 years. Also from watching the semis this year ye had the best player on a show by a mile which in truth is more important than winning the titles themselves.

Heaven help the HS boards if Dublin go through a period of 2 provincial titles in 17 years........

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 24/05/2016 10:26:18    1858020

Replying To jimbodub:  "Also KYtittietown

To keep up the charade you should at least attempt to respond to Damo.."
Ha Kytittietown, wouldn't mind a weekend away there :-)

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 24/05/2016 10:43:03    1858031

Another culchie Dub stalker

That does nothing but talk about Dublin

There really are some odd balls on here

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 24/05/2016 10:53:58    1858038

Replying To Richieq:  "Ha Kytittietown, wouldn't mind a weekend away there :-)"
KY will supply the jelly

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 24/05/2016 11:11:28    1858042

Replying To jimbodub:  "Another culchie Dub stalker