Time to rebrand GAA grounds? (As Gaelic hubs)

Replying To MedwayIrish:  "To be honest in terms of music and soccer if I'd been born 10 years earlier I'd have seen all I wanted to. Stone Roses, Inspiral Carpets, Nirvana @ Reading 92 (had tickets for a gig due to be played in Brixton a few months after Kurt topped himself), Summer of Love with all the Orbital raves, our first 3 tournaments..........ah well, thems the breaks!

I know what you mean about the substances! These days I like a spliff and maybe the odd bit of Colombian flu on special occasions but nothing else. Always struggled with the comedowns ( I suffer with a bit of anxiety and depression anyway so adding to the mix wasn't doing me any favours) and that was after it all went commercial - you would've sampled the original disco biscuits Cued :) I"
Ha i hear ya buddy.White speckled doves.Ill say no more.And dont get me started on the Colombian marching powder.I could write a book about it.Not suitable for this forum.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 26/05/2016 18:53:27    1859081

Replying To cuederocket:  "Ha i hear ya buddy.White speckled doves.Ill say no more.And dont get me started on the Colombian marching powder.I could write a book about it.Not suitable for this forum."
I'll see your speckled dove and raise you a couple of double strawberries and a micro dot!! :)

But remember kids, jUST SAY NO! :)

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 26/05/2016 19:31:12    1859098

Replying To Htaem:  "Why would anyone need to learn Irish other than for recreational use or to become an Irish teacher? The vast majority of Irish people speak English as a first language, rightly or wrongly that's the case and we all understand each, it works fine so what's the need for Irish?"
I understand what you're saying from a purely practical point of view Htaem and each to his/her own, nothing should be forced on anyone of course but I find it odd that some Irish people hate our own language. It's a perspective that would, for e.g. be totally lost on the Welsh, whose language has been undergoing a revival for some years now. It's individuality, I suppose. Nothing wrong with the global village but I think it's sad if a language is simply allowed to die.

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 26/05/2016 19:42:35    1859101

Replying To hurlinspuds:  ""Greek with Aristotle etc." Please stop royaldunne, please. You don't know what you're talking about.
What is the irish equivalent: "Gaeilge with Brendan Behan etc." Was that the name of the class royal?? Greek with Aristotle etc.?

In order to complete her LLM, your daughter had to learn the greek language or speak it to any degree whatsoever? Can your daughter speak greek then?
I qualified out of NUIG as well but I must have missed that class. I'm sorry but that is total rubbish. Was aristotle mentioned in a jurisprudence class? Is that the sum total of her greek or were they having extensive legal debates through the medium of modern greek?

I often used Irish during my undergrad. Almost all of it was optional of course. Qualifying with Irish as part of your degree allows you to potentially practise on the Irish speaking circuit once you get your extra qualifications. There is case-law heard in Irish every day. There is the law diploma course given purely through Irish as well in NUIG and many lawyers choose to pursue so as to give them a leg up in any future career in Brussels. The head of the law school and many leading lecturers are fluent in Irish.

I can guarantee you that there is no relation between the amount of Irish spoke in NUIG law in comparison to Greek. To even try to make the comparison... I can hardly believe I'm replying. Incredible."
Who's being intolerant and judgemental now?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7364 - 26/05/2016 19:43:05    1859102

Dont get me wrong lads.Although i dont particularly like our anthem im still a proud irishman who stands to attention when its played and although i dont know the irish words i know the basic meaning of it and thats good enough for me.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 26/05/2016 20:14:47    1859112

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Who's being intolerant and judgemental now?"
I dunno green and red. Not me I hope.

hurlinspuds (Cork) - Posts: 1494 - 26/05/2016 20:29:21    1859121

Replying To cuederocket:  "Dont get me wrong lads.Although i dont particularly like our anthem im still a proud irishman who stands to attention when its played and although i dont know the irish words i know the basic meaning of it and thats good enough for me."
That's more than fair cued.

hurlinspuds (Cork) - Posts: 1494 - 26/05/2016 20:30:30    1859122

Replying To Htaem:  "Why would anyone need to learn Irish other than for recreational use or to become an Irish teacher? The vast majority of Irish people speak English as a first language, rightly or wrongly that's the case and we all understand each, it works fine so what's the need for Irish?"
Well, because its your language. Not that its an obligation, more something you have as much right to as anyone else, should you wish to exercise it. Its unique to your culture, and one of the things that makes your culture unique. And it connects you to a heritage that spans thousands of years, which is not something all cultures/nation can say. Probably the same reasons why many Native American groups are reviving their own languages, or why people in India preserve their own languages, and so on.

And speaking (or engaging with) your own language isn't insular. Its not an either or. You can have knowledge of Irish AND learn French. Personally, I think having at least an appreciation of your own language might be a route to establishing an affinity with. or better understanding of, other non english speaking cultures/nationalities, who have their own distinct language.

And all countries identify by something, to distinguish themselves. I'm not saying this should necessarily be language, but a distinctly native culture isn't the worst option, if you have it. I currently live in a country that's increasingly identifying behind a scary nationalism, and militarism. Not good options. We ourselves have seen the consequences of identifying based on religion, dreadful. Its funny, if you look at the country immediately post independence, there was seeds of an actual Gaelic revival, the Tailteann games being introduced etc. But it threatened the church, as Gaelic culture is essentially pagan! Go figure.

But its not an obligation, I don't know why people act so put-upon at the idea of Irish being used. As other posters have said, most signs in GAA grounds are in Irish already, alot of GAA communication is through Irish. Its not oppressive, knowing the difference between fir and mná isn't alot of work. But no matter what language is used, game days should always be focused on the games themselves, and people should enjoy them however they want. But its worth bearing in mind, hurling and Gaelic football are also expressions of Irish culture.

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 26/05/2016 20:31:06    1859123

Replying To royaldunne:  "I lmfao when I read that too, as many might know I was born and raised in ,,,, wait for it,,,,, ballinabrackey. Yes that most cosmopolitan or areas, honestly the definition of culchie is ballinabrackey, I also lived in bettystown (hardly d4 either, I know live in the countryside in Westmeath, and just to clear up allegations of me not been a true Gael, I suuport ballinabrackey gaa, by buying lotto tickets and recently attending their boxing match, I also support cilles in a similar manner, even though I have nothing to do with either club (would love either to win intermediate this year though). I coach underage football at my Westmeath club, organise fundraising etc, like bag packing etc, I also coached the senior ladies to Westmeath intermediate success a few years back , (one of my proudest succes) in cusack park Mullingar. I am also a long time member of club na mhi, and also of Westmeath gaa, now those questioning my gaelness might ask themselves one question, do you do as much for your adoptive club, as I do, do you willingly give as much support to 3 different clubs in 2 counties? When you can answer yes then question me.
I do all this why? Cause as a young boy my late father lifted me over the stiles at canel end to watch Meath play Dublin, I had my crep paper hat on I saw my idol the mighty jack Quinn, Meath were beaten that day but my dad managed to get me jacks autograph on a piece of paper (I still have it to this day) I was hooked, and I have never came close to anything that can exhilarate me like football, particularly the green and gold of my beloved home county. The original point was to turn gaa clubs into hubs, not to advance our sports (handball is so under utilized) but for ceillis and Irish language, so yes I object to that, my club already has a hard time keeping players without taking up valuable resources for something than can be done so many other places. Concentrate on the games, language can be learned in Gael schools or whatever,"
Ah Ballinabrackey and Bettystown are two fine places royaldunne, never lived in them now but I've passed through many times and worked in them on a couple of occasions.

You're right there's a great attachment to moments like your late father bringing you to games as a child, I'd say it's the same for many other people and that's what breeds the lifelong obsession with the Gaa, those big championship clashes, shared with friends, neighbours and relatives. For me it was more my brother (who was a lot older and since deceased) bringing me to games as a child in the 90s, the Kildare games in 97 are my earliest memories of big games in Croker and they were a joy to watch.

Fairplay for putting all the time and effort into coaching royaldunne, sadly I can't say I'm as active but we need people with that dedication and love for the games, it keeps the games going and I hope you stay at it as long as you're enjoying it.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 26/05/2016 20:32:33    1859124

And speaking (or engaging with) your own language isn't insular. Its not an either or. You can have knowledge of Irish AND learn French. Personally, I think having at least an appreciation of your own language might be a route to establishing an affinity with. or better understanding of, other non english speaking cultures/nationalities, who have their own distinct language.

Thank you! Far too often we hear the canard from the anti-Irish language brigade that it's a waste of time, useless etc, which flies in the face of what linguistics tells us: there is no such thing as a useless language, and indeed learning one language eases the learning of others later on. I speak French and German (to varying degrees of fluency), and you know what helped me take them up quicker? Having a good standard of Irish. It is the same for several people Irish people that I know here who speak the local language well.

Nobody has to like Irish or speak it after they leave school, but it's sad that so many have an animus against it simply because they couldn't get the hang of it when they were teenagers.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 27/05/2016 10:18:32    1859215

Replying To Gleebo:  "And speaking (or engaging with) your own language isn't insular. Its not an either or. You can have knowledge of Irish AND learn French. Personally, I think having at least an appreciation of your own language might be a route to establishing an affinity with. or better understanding of, other non english speaking cultures/nationalities, who have their own distinct language.

Thank you! Far too often we hear the canard from the anti-Irish language brigade that it's a waste of time, useless etc, which flies in the face of what linguistics tells us: there is no such thing as a useless language, and indeed learning one language eases the learning of others later on. I speak French and German (to varying degrees of fluency), and you know what helped me take them up quicker? Having a good standard of Irish. It is the same for several people Irish people that I know here who speak the local language well.

Nobody has to like Irish or speak it after they leave school, but it's sad that so many have an animus against it simply because they couldn't get the hang of it when they were teenagers."
Danke schon meine Mayo freunde.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 27/05/2016 10:28:20    1859222

Replying To cuederocket:  "
Replying To Gleebo:  "And speaking (or engaging with) your own language isn't insular. Its not an either or. You can have knowledge of Irish AND learn French. Personally, I think having at least an appreciation of your own language might be a route to establishing an affinity with. or better understanding of, other non english speaking cultures/nationalities, who have their own distinct language.

Nobody has to like Irish or speak it after they leave school, but it's sad that so many have an animus against it simply because they couldn't get the hang of it when they were teenagers."
Danke schon meine Mayo freunde."
Bitte sehr, mein Freund von der Hauptstadt.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 27/05/2016 10:44:27    1859232

Donkey Sh*te to you too! :)

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 27/05/2016 11:09:26    1859249

Replying To Marlon_JD:  "Well, because its your language. Not that its an obligation, more something you have as much right to as anyone else, should you wish to exercise it. Its unique to your culture, and one of the things that makes your culture unique. And it connects you to a heritage that spans thousands of years, which is not something all cultures/nation can say. Probably the same reasons why many Native American groups are reviving their own languages, or why people in India preserve their own languages, and so on.

And all countries identify by something, to distinguish themselves. I'm not saying this should necessarily be language, but a distinctly native culture isn't the worst option, if you have it. I currently live in a country that's increasingly identifying behind a scary nationalism, and militarism. Not good options. We ourselves have seen the consequences of identifying based on religion, dreadful. Its funny, if you look at the country immediately post independence, there was seeds of an actual Gaelic revival, the Tailteann games being introduced etc. But it threatened the church, as Gaelic culture is essentially pagan! Go figure.

But its not an obligation, I don't know why people act so put-upon at the idea of Irish being used. As other posters have said, most signs in GAA grounds are in Irish already, alot of GAA communication is through Irish. Its not oppressive, knowing the difference between fir and mná isn't alot of work. But no matter what language is used, game days should always be focused on the games themselves, and people should enjoy them however they want. But its worth bearing in mind, hurling and Gaelic football are also expressions of Irish culture."
The thing is though I don't consider Irish my first language, in reality English is my first language because I speak it every single day of my life and I've never spoken Irish on a daily basis nor do I have any interest in the language. Now I'm not one bit proud or ashamed of English being my first language, it's merely a matter of convenience and circumstance.

Also sadly Irish is an obligation the whole way through your primary and secondary education, which I think is a complete waste of time and resources for those who don't have an interest in the language. By all means retain it but make it optional. After you leave school you're correct, Irish is optional and it's no coincidence that after I left school my attitude towards Irish softened, I still have no interest in learning it but I don't hold the same contempt for the language.

Culture and identity are fine once they're not harmful, the Irish language certainly isn't harmful and I don't have a problem with people identifying themselves by their language. Cultures and countries identifying themselves with strong nationalism or religious belief can be and often are far worse places to live.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 27/05/2016 11:58:02    1859270

Show me a country in the world that was colonised and isn't stongly nationalist and protective of their culture!

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 27/05/2016 14:05:30    1859336

the area around Croke park has got a lot of bad publicity recently. It is an area in need of investment and security. How about turning this area into a Gaelic quarter?

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2520 - 27/05/2016 15:01:05    1859353

Replying To Htaem:  "The thing is though I don't consider Irish my first language, in reality English is my first language because I speak it every single day of my life and I've never spoken Irish on a daily basis nor do I have any interest in the language. Now I'm not one bit proud or ashamed of English being my first language, it's merely a matter of convenience and circumstance.

Also sadly Irish is an obligation the whole way through your primary and secondary education, which I think is a complete waste of time and resources for those who don't have an interest in the language. By all means retain it but make it optional. After you leave school you're correct, Irish is optional and it's no coincidence that after I left school my attitude towards Irish softened, I still have no interest in learning it but I don't hold the same contempt for the language.

Culture and identity are fine once they're not harmful, the Irish language certainly isn't harmful and I don't have a problem with people identifying themselves by their language. Cultures and countries identifying themselves with strong nationalism or religious belief can be and often are far worse places to live."
Htaem, English is almost all of our mother tongue. Doesn't stop you from using irish when you can if you feel like it.

hurlinspuds (Cork) - Posts: 1494 - 27/05/2016 15:26:39    1859364

Indeed Galway, they could even copy our very own Gaelic quarter here in Belfast!

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 27/05/2016 15:28:53    1859366

Replying To galwayford:  "the area around Croke park has got a lot of bad publicity recently. It is an area in need of investment and security. How about turning this area into a Gaelic quarter?"
Maybe if there was already some Irish spoken there but it's mostly residential as far as I know and it may be difficult to make it work. Locals may not be into the idea.

Getting an urban gaeltacht going is an itneresting challenge but I think it would take the shape of a cultural area (like temple bar but with less emphasis on pubs) rather than a residential area. There have been private initiatives toward trying to found gaeltachts in dublin but I'm not up to date. Interesting attempts in Belfast as well.

hurlinspuds (Cork) - Posts: 1494 - 27/05/2016 15:29:34    1859368

Replying To galwayford:  "the area around Croke park has got a lot of bad publicity recently. It is an area in need of investment and security. How about turning this area into a Gaelic quarter?"
When you say a Gaelic quarter, what do you mean by that? A Gaeltacht bang in the middle of the north inner city? You do realise it probably has one of the highest proportions of non-Irish residents anywhere in the country?

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 27/05/2016 15:32:27    1859371