Time to rebrand GAA grounds? (As Gaelic hubs)

Replying To MedwayIrish:  "New Order and Joy Division before them top notch in general in my opinion!"
The Madchester/Hascienda era was top notch.Proper house music to rival Chicago.Dublin had some great dance clubs in the '90s - The Asylum,The Olympic,Sides etc Manchester had the Stone Roses,Happy Mondays.Even Simply Red had some good stuff(different i know).Then Oasis came on the scene.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 26/05/2016 17:12:33    1859019

Replying To Htaem:  "Where in the name of jaysus would I park me David Brown 1490 if I moved to Dun Laoghaire? typical soft townie comment there galwayford, not all of us in Meath live in them fancy towns and personally I prefer the peace of the country (although incidentally my address is Dunboyne), you're showing yourself up lad :-)"
I lmfao when I read that too, as many might know I was born and raised in ,,,, wait for it,,,,, ballinabrackey. Yes that most cosmopolitan or areas, honestly the definition of culchie is ballinabrackey, I also lived in bettystown (hardly d4 either, I know live in the countryside in Westmeath, and just to clear up allegations of me not been a true Gael, I suuport ballinabrackey gaa, by buying lotto tickets and recently attending their boxing match, I also support cilles in a similar manner, even though I have nothing to do with either club (would love either to win intermediate this year though). I coach underage football at my Westmeath club, organise fundraising etc, like bag packing etc, I also coached the senior ladies to Westmeath intermediate success a few years back , (one of my proudest succes) in cusack park Mullingar. I am also a long time member of club na mhi, and also of Westmeath gaa, now those questioning my gaelness might ask themselves one question, do you do as much for your adoptive club, as I do, do you willingly give as much support to 3 different clubs in 2 counties? When you can answer yes then question me.
I do all this why? Cause as a young boy my late father lifted me over the stiles at canel end to watch Meath play Dublin, I had my crep paper hat on I saw my idol the mighty jack Quinn, Meath were beaten that day but my dad managed to get me jacks autograph on a piece of paper (I still have it to this day) I was hooked, and I have never came close to anything that can exhilarate me like football, particularly the green and gold of my beloved home county. The original point was to turn gaa clubs into hubs, not to advance our sports (handball is so under utilized) but for ceillis and Irish language, so yes I object to that, my club already has a hard time keeping players without taking up valuable resources for something than can be done so many other places. Concentrate on the games, language can be learned in Gael schools or whatever,

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/05/2016 17:16:49    1859021

Replying To hurlinspuds:  "
Replying To cuederocket:  "[quote=MesAmis:  ".I am the only one who hasn't a clue what i'm singing before games begin.I'll rattle out the words and like many i'll build up to a rousing last chorus when men and woman of sound mind start bawling like banshees with clenched fists and gritted teeth.Sometimes

In fairness it'd probably only take you about 5 mins to learn what the words to Amhrán na bhFiann mean. It's hardly that long. You could find out the meaning to any anthem the world over in the same amount of time.

I'm not a big fan of Amhrán na bhFiann myself to be honest so I'd agree with you there but I think if you're going to sing it then you should probably know what you're singing ;)

You never now cueder, you mightn't agree with the words you've been singing all these years! Maybe it's all about how terrible taxi drivers are!"
Agh mes of course ive read the english translation over the years.I l know its about patriotism,fighting for independance,pride etc.It really doesn't matter because i do not understand Irish.Even if i study the transmation i will forget it.Bar cupla focail it may as well be in Chinese.Its like a Frenchman singin his anthem in Swahili."
Cue if you don't have the memory to learn it and remember it in both languages then you're either lazy or sustained a serious undiagnosed head injury at some point that prevents you from carrying out simple tasks. I presume it's the former.

Read your constitution, Irish is the first language of the country you call home. A french man singing swahili is only a legitimate comparison to you. Thousands of Irish people speak Irish, many don't speak it and still love it. There is no reason why you can't learn what it means.
Amhrán na bhFiann was sung by the rebels in the GPO at the foundation of our State. I think it's a great anthem. When I have watched rugby matches and have had to listen to that pop song by phil coulter 'ireland's call', now that is a poor excuse for an anthem.

Welsh anthem is great. I like flower of scotland as well. I would worry about anyone who likes the german anthem."]I love Irish history and politics and enjoyed the recent Easter rising commemorations.I stood on O Connell Bridge for four hours enjoying the parade and reading of the Proclomation on Easter Sunday.What can i say lads,i just have no irish and never will.I wonder what percentage of attendees at all matches understand the anthem word for word?My guess would be quite low but i could be wrong on that.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 26/05/2016 17:18:12    1859022

Replying To hurlinspuds:  "Nobody is saying someone isn't a gael... whatever that is.
I think royaldunne is insecure because he is the one that keeps going on about identity and passports and is getting angry at other people for not being like him and ignoring the langauge. I think you should read our exchange again. The guy is upset because other people like something he doesn't. He is obviously intolerant and pretty poor at expressing himself into the bargain.

If someone doesn't want any culture surrounding the game then we shouldn't play the anthem beforehand? That sounds nuts to me. Best memories of childhood are the anthem making the hairs on the back of my head stand up before throw in at munster finals in thurles. I don't think there is that much cultural pageantry before most games. Just the anthem, the flag and that's it. I like how the GAA do it to be honest."
You're assuming a lot about him based on his opinions even if you disagree with him on a couple of points of view. I wouldn't agree with him on most of those points but he's still entitled to his opinions.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7364 - 26/05/2016 17:18:13    1859023

Replying To cuederocket:  "The Madchester/Hascienda era was top notch.Proper house music to rival Chicago.Dublin had some great dance clubs in the '90s - The Asylum,The Olympic,Sides etc Manchester had the Stone Roses,Happy Mondays.Even Simply Red had some good stuff(different i know).Then Oasis came on the scene."
Yeah I'm a child of the Indie "baggy" era myself Cued. Sadly I wasn't really old enough to make the most of it in terms of gig going (CARTER USM was my first in Dec 92 when I was 15). Have you seen any of the music posts over on the non-sport thread? Feel free to join in matey!

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 26/05/2016 17:20:37    1859026

Replying To Gleebo:  "You need to pass a test in the Irish language to work in many public sector jobs (certainly for the Gardaí, teaching and judiciary, and probably also to work as a doctor, though I'm open to correction on that)."
Irish for gardai was done away with nearly 10 years ago, yes teaching still needs a pass in leaving cert iris, judiciary? No, greek is actually more beneficial than Irish.
As for doctors? I dont know where you got that, my doc is called Mohammed from Iran, don't think he has the cupla focal.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/05/2016 17:22:23    1859030

Replying To MedwayIrish:  "Yeah I'm a child of the Indie "baggy" era myself Cued. Sadly I wasn't really old enough to make the most of it in terms of gig going (CARTER USM was my first in Dec 92 when I was 15). Have you seen any of the music posts over on the non-sport thread? Feel free to join in matey!"
I did a lot of clubbing back in my younger days.Every weekend in Dublin meself and few of the lads hit a club.Many many years the dance scene was booming.Was never a gig-goer as such.Saw Oasis live in Cork.Few small gigs in Dublin like Aslan and Damien Dempsey but clubs and dance festivals like Homelands and Creamfields were flavour of the month back then.Did a fair bit damage to my brain id say.Maybe thats why i cant remember the anthem (:

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 26/05/2016 17:33:45    1859035

"One very simple step that could be undertaken (and that should not offend anyone too much) would be printing players' and clubs' names as Gaeilge on official match programmes. "

I've never been to a game where this isn't the case!!! Maybe that is just a thing in kerry. Anyone else ever see a program not in Irish?

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 26/05/2016 17:34:23    1859036

Replying To GreenandRed:  "You're assuming a lot about him based on his opinions even if you disagree with him on a couple of points of view. I wouldn't agree with him on most of those points but he's still entitled to his opinions."
The anthem before every match is nonsense Imo , it not only is pointless its also insulting to the anthem, it should be played only twice, before all ire football final, and hurling final. As they are national events, a league game in navan on a cold Saturday night with a horrendous version skipping on what sounds like a record player, sung out of tune, yeah it puts hairs standing on my neck, with embarrassment.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/05/2016 17:39:15    1859039

Replying To DoireCityFC:  ""One very simple step that could be undertaken (and that should not offend anyone too much) would be printing players' and clubs' names as Gaeilge on official match programmes. "

I've never been to a game where this isn't the case!!! Maybe that is just a thing in kerry. Anyone else ever see a program not in Irish?"
Anfield !

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7364 - 26/05/2016 17:39:40    1859040

Replying To DoireCityFC:  ""One very simple step that could be undertaken (and that should not offend anyone too much) would be printing players' and clubs' names as Gaeilge on official match programmes. "

I've never been to a game where this isn't the case!!! Maybe that is just a thing in kerry. Anyone else ever see a program not in Irish?"
Me either they always in irish, as is the clubs they come from.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/05/2016 17:45:03    1859043

Replying To GreenandRed:  "You're assuming a lot about him based on his opinions even if you disagree with him on a couple of points of view. I wouldn't agree with him on most of those points but he's still entitled to his opinions."
What am I assuming?

Of course he's entitled to his opinion. I never said otherwise.

hurlinspuds (Cork) - Posts: 1494 - 26/05/2016 17:47:16    1859045

Replying To royaldunne:  "Irish for gardai was done away with nearly 10 years ago, yes teaching still needs a pass in leaving cert iris, judiciary? No, greek is actually more beneficial than Irish.
As for doctors? I dont know where you got that, my doc is called Mohammed from Iran, don't think he has the cupla focal."
judiciary? No, greek is actually more beneficial than Irish.

Greek? GREEK?!?!?! Wow. Where did you pull that out of? Latin would have been half understandable although not half as important as Irish but Greek? That's news to me.

hurlinspuds (Cork) - Posts: 1494 - 26/05/2016 17:49:51    1859046

Replying To royaldunne:  "I lmfao when I read that too, as many might know I was born and raised in ,,,, wait for it,,,,, ballinabrackey. Yes that most cosmopolitan or areas, honestly the definition of culchie is ballinabrackey, I also lived in bettystown (hardly d4 either, I know live in the countryside in Westmeath, and just to clear up allegations of me not been a true Gael, I suuport ballinabrackey gaa, by buying lotto tickets and recently attending their boxing match, I also support cilles in a similar manner, even though I have nothing to do with either club (would love either to win intermediate this year though). I coach underage football at my Westmeath club, organise fundraising etc, like bag packing etc, I also coached the senior ladies to Westmeath intermediate success a few years back , (one of my proudest succes) in cusack park Mullingar. I am also a long time member of club na mhi, and also of Westmeath gaa, now those questioning my gaelness might ask themselves one question, do you do as much for your adoptive club, as I do, do you willingly give as much support to 3 different clubs in 2 counties? When you can answer yes then question me.
I do all this why? Cause as a young boy my late father lifted me over the stiles at canel end to watch Meath play Dublin, I had my crep paper hat on I saw my idol the mighty jack Quinn, Meath were beaten that day but my dad managed to get me jacks autograph on a piece of paper (I still have it to this day) I was hooked, and I have never came close to anything that can exhilarate me like football, particularly the green and gold of my beloved home county. The original point was to turn gaa clubs into hubs, not to advance our sports (handball is so under utilized) but for ceillis and Irish language, so yes I object to that, my club already has a hard time keeping players without taking up valuable resources for something than can be done so many other places. Concentrate on the games, language can be learned in Gael schools or whatever,"
I'll try one last time before calling it quits.

NO ONE QUESTIONED WHETHER YOU WERE A GAEL OR NOT.

I actually questioned what we mean at all by the term but nobody is obsessed about identity except you.
GAA club resources being wasted on the irish language - a few light bulbs and a bit of heating for club members who want to gather and speak Irish.... you'd begrudge them that?!

Stick to the bag packing royaldunne. Serious chip on the shoulder.

hurlinspuds (Cork) - Posts: 1494 - 26/05/2016 17:53:05    1859047

My eldest daughter has just completed her masters in law in nuig and yes Greek with Aristotle etc was needed as of course was Latin, but Irish? No.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/05/2016 17:58:48    1859050

Replying To cuederocket:  "I did a lot of clubbing back in my younger days.Every weekend in Dublin meself and few of the lads hit a club.Many many years the dance scene was booming.Was never a gig-goer as such.Saw Oasis live in Cork.Few small gigs in Dublin like Aslan and Damien Dempsey but clubs and dance festivals like Homelands and Creamfields were flavour of the month back then.Did a fair bit damage to my brain id say.Maybe thats why i cant remember the anthem (:"
To be honest in terms of music and soccer if I'd been born 10 years earlier I'd have seen all I wanted to. Stone Roses, Inspiral Carpets, Nirvana @ Reading 92 (had tickets for a gig due to be played in Brixton a few months after Kurt topped himself), Summer of Love with all the Orbital raves, our first 3 tournaments..........ah well, thems the breaks!

I know what you mean about the substances! These days I like a spliff and maybe the odd bit of Colombian flu on special occasions but nothing else. Always struggled with the comedowns ( I suffer with a bit of anxiety and depression anyway so adding to the mix wasn't doing me any favours) and that was after it all went commercial - you would've sampled the original disco biscuits Cued :) I

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 26/05/2016 18:23:08    1859062

Replying To royaldunne:  "My eldest daughter has just completed her masters in law in nuig and yes Greek with Aristotle etc was needed as of course was Latin, but Irish? No."
"Greek with Aristotle etc." Please stop royaldunne, please. You don't know what you're talking about.
What is the irish equivalent: "Gaeilge with Brendan Behan etc." Was that the name of the class royal?? Greek with Aristotle etc.?

In order to complete her LLM, your daughter had to learn the greek language or speak it to any degree whatsoever? Can your daughter speak greek then?
I qualified out of NUIG as well but I must have missed that class. I'm sorry but that is total rubbish. Was aristotle mentioned in a jurisprudence class? Is that the sum total of her greek or were they having extensive legal debates through the medium of modern greek?

I often used Irish during my undergrad. Almost all of it was optional of course. Qualifying with Irish as part of your degree allows you to potentially practise on the Irish speaking circuit once you get your extra qualifications. There is case-law heard in Irish every day. There is the law diploma course given purely through Irish as well in NUIG and many lawyers choose to pursue so as to give them a leg up in any future career in Brussels. The head of the law school and many leading lecturers are fluent in Irish.

I can guarantee you that there is no relation between the amount of Irish spoke in NUIG law in comparison to Greek. To even try to make the comparison... I can hardly believe I'm replying. Incredible.

hurlinspuds (Cork) - Posts: 1494 - 26/05/2016 18:34:29    1859069

Replying To MedwayIrish:  "To be honest in terms of music and soccer if I'd been born 10 years earlier I'd have seen all I wanted to. Stone Roses, Inspiral Carpets, Nirvana @ Reading 92 (had tickets for a gig due to be played in Brixton a few months after Kurt topped himself), Summer of Love with all the Orbital raves, our first 3 tournaments..........ah well, thems the breaks!

I know what you mean about the substances! These days I like a spliff and maybe the odd bit of Colombian flu on special occasions but nothing else. Always struggled with the comedowns ( I suffer with a bit of anxiety and depression anyway so adding to the mix wasn't doing me any favours) and that was after it all went commercial - you would've sampled the original disco biscuits Cued :) I"
Ha i hear ya buddy.White speckled doves.Ill say no more.And dont get me started on the Colombian marching powder.I could write a book about it.Not suitable for this forum.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 26/05/2016 18:47:33    1859076

Replying To MedwayIrish:  "To be honest in terms of music and soccer if I'd been born 10 years earlier I'd have seen all I wanted to. Stone Roses, Inspiral Carpets, Nirvana @ Reading 92 (had tickets for a gig due to be played in Brixton a few months after Kurt topped himself), Summer of Love with all the Orbital raves, our first 3 tournaments..........ah well, thems the breaks!

I know what you mean about the substances! These days I like a spliff and maybe the odd bit of Colombian flu on special occasions but nothing else. Always struggled with the comedowns ( I suffer with a bit of anxiety and depression anyway so adding to the mix wasn't doing me any favours) and that was after it all went commercial - you would've sampled the original disco biscuits Cued :) I"
Fair play to you Med. That's a gas post!

hurlinspuds (Cork) - Posts: 1494 - 26/05/2016 18:50:09    1859079

Why would anyone need to learn Irish other than for recreational use or to become an Irish teacher? The vast majority of Irish people speak English as a first language, rightly or wrongly that's the case and we all understand each, it works fine so what's the need for Irish?

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 26/05/2016 18:51:13    1859080