Dublin 'absolutely are beatable' - Jim McGuinness

The most limited players to ever win an All Ireland? Eh... Murphy, Lacey, McFadden, McGlynn, McBrearty? Limited.

Meath could never be accused of having limited teams winning All Irelands of course...

30 years without winning anything again, think you're getting mixed up with your own county lad

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 13/05/2016 15:49:03    1854718

What a load of guff Royal Dunne! Durcan, the McGees, McGlynn, Toye, Gallagher, Murphy, Lacey, McBrearty et al. are far from average players. Colm McFadden also played the football of his life in 2012 and was also far from average.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts:706 - 13/05/2016 15:43:43

Agreed

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 13/05/2016 16:40:00    1854730

Some fairly strange statements there royaldunne, but would not expect much else considering your usual level of contribtuion. Tell me which member of the Donegal panel relieved themselves in your branflakes?

I suppose in this context the most relevant difference between Donegal and Meath would be the fact that Donegal are the only team to beat Dublin in the championship since 2012. Donegal have also played in the last 5 Ulster finals winning 3, played in 2 out of the last 4 All-Ireland finals winning 1.

In that time Meath have:

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 13/05/2016 16:41:51    1854731

What a silly man Royaldunn. I don't come on here talking nonsense like yourself and this Bert skin
I won't be saying who is going to win what over the next thirty years. But if any team can make a breakthrough then fair play to them let it be Carlow Clare Fermanagh or whoever.
If The Donegal lads where so average how comes so many got All Stars , got footballer of the year and indeed young footballer of the year.
Another thing you probably don't know is F McGlynn got a trial at Everton at the time W Rooney was there. I think he picked up an injury on the second occasion but lucky for Donegal he stayed at Gaelic. Don't forget we lost another good Gaelic player to soccer --- Seamus Coleman.
Anyway I'll leave it at that as seeing Dublin will be adding more misery on you this year and also over the next few years

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 13/05/2016 20:09:14    1854782

Royaldunne, stop digging. Your ridiculous rantings are just being laughed at now.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 13/05/2016 20:17:29    1854784

Ecclesiastes 9:11: 'Again I saw that under the sun the race is not to the swift, nor the battle to the strong, nor bread to the wise, nor riches to the intelligent, nor favor to those with knowledge, but time and chance happen to them all' ... On any given Sunday anything is possible, An Riocht Abu

I must write that down. Our under 14's have a big game next week and I want to gee them up as it looks like we'll get bet out the gate. Now where's me pencil......

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts:115 - 12/05/2016 13:20:41 185

How did the U-14? get on Llaw??

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 17/05/2016 10:48:30    1855549

Jaysus hermit you've all the answers.Is there anyting in that good book about how Kerry will beat Dublin?Even Macchievelli would be scratching his head on that one.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts:3966 - 12/05/2016 14:50:13

As the Psalm's state: 'Some boast in chariots and some in horses, But we will boast in the name of the LORD, our God. They have bowed down and fallen, But we have risen and stood upright.' ;)

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 17/05/2016 11:00:22    1855562

Of course Dublin can be beaten, like any team, no matter how good, can be beaten, anytime. That's football. But the truth is that nobody can predict that this Dublin will be beaten in the near future. And, by the way, that does not make them the greatest Dublin team ever. It is because there are so few really great teams around at the moment.

michael (Cork) - Posts: 381 - 17/05/2016 13:05:37    1855623

Haha hermit.Jaysus thats real deep stuff.I prefer The Beano myself(:

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 17/05/2016 14:11:52    1855651

Was more a Dandy fan myself Cue.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 17/05/2016 14:56:49    1855672

I thought you'd be more of a Roy of the Rovers man,hermit.Although even that is more believable than yere lads dethroning the mighty Dubs this year (:

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 17/05/2016 15:03:59    1855678

Of course Dublin can be beaten, like any team, no matter how good, can be beaten, anytime. That's football. But the truth is that nobody can predict that this Dublin will be beaten in the near future. And, by the way, that does not make them the greatest Dublin team ever. It is because there are so few really great teams around at the moment.

michael (Cork) - Posts:157 - 17/05/2016 13:05:37 1855

I dont know if this is accurate. There are great teams around at the moment, and a lot of strong also rans, which was a feature that lacked in generations gone.

Imo this is the greatest dublin team ever, as they are beating everyone.
Example, 2011, they beat donegal, tyrone, kerry and the pick of leinster.
2013 they beat cork, kerry and mayo
2015 they beat mayo and kerry.

There is no team left to beat. Teams in the past have either won all irelands through the back door or have had at least one bogie team that they failed to beat. The dublin teams of the 70s were excellent in their own right, but ended up having issues with the great kerry team in terms of being beaten by them at least twice. (Plus they had less games to play).

This dublin team is not only winning the all ireland regularly now, they are winning the league at a canter as well.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 17/05/2016 15:20:40    1855690

I see Mc Guinness backing Donegal Saturday in IT. I think he is correct. Dubs won't win with O'Carroll, McCarthy, McCaffrey out for season and Alan Brogan retired. My prediction is Donegal 3-12 Dublin 0-12 .The dubs will struggle against blanket defense and won't score goals against Donegal plus they had a poor full back line to cope with Murphy /McBrearty duo

Mullerm (Cork) - Posts: 87 - 02/08/2016 19:43:40    1894254

Back on topic, McGuinness is 100% correct. We're talking about a team that are no better than they were in '05 to '09.

Kerry and Tyrone are having a few years on the quiet side. Mayo and Donegal were supposed to be the main challengers. It's a poor reflection on Mayo and Donegal that a team no better than their level of '05 to '09 have picked 2 All-Irelands since they contested the '12 final. It's a poor reflection of the media and many GAA people on here that Mayo and Donegal aren't under much scrutiny nor criticism for their failures. They haven't picked up 1 All-Ireland since that '12 final. That again is from the main challengers while Kerry and Tyrone are having a few years on the quiet side. Absolutely pathetic by the North-West.

This year's final should be Donegal v Mayo. A repeat of '12. Possibly Tyrone if they are back.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7876 - 02/08/2016 20:48:36    1894297

Replying To legendzxix:  "Back on topic, McGuinness is 100% correct. We're talking about a team that are no better than they were in '05 to '09.

Kerry and Tyrone are having a few years on the quiet side. Mayo and Donegal were supposed to be the main challengers. It's a poor reflection on Mayo and Donegal that a team no better than their level of '05 to '09 have picked 2 All-Irelands since they contested the '12 final. It's a poor reflection of the media and many GAA people on here that Mayo and Donegal aren't under much scrutiny nor criticism for their failures. They haven't picked up 1 All-Ireland since that '12 final. That again is from the main challengers while Kerry and Tyrone are having a few years on the quiet side. Absolutely pathetic by the North-West.

This year's final should be Donegal v Mayo. A repeat of '12. Possibly Tyrone if they are back."
Come on legend back up the claim that this Dublin team is at the same level as the 05-09 lads.

I've asked a couple of times now. Who from the 05-09 vintage would make the current side (2010-2016) excluding any that are on both?

This current Donegal side would eat up the 05-09 Dubs all day long. As would the current Kerry, Tyrone and Mayo teams.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 02/08/2016 20:58:26    1894303

In anyways as I said earlier in this thread Dublin are quite beatable, all teams are.

Dublin are definitely weaker than they were last year (not quite as weak as in 05-09 as legend says!) but are still fairly strong.

It should be a good game.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 02/08/2016 21:01:16    1894305

Replying To Mullerm:  "I see Mc Guinness backing Donegal Saturday in IT. I think he is correct. Dubs won't win with O'Carroll, McCarthy, McCaffrey out for season and Alan Brogan retired. My prediction is Donegal 3-12 Dublin 0-12 .The dubs will struggle against blanket defense and won't score goals against Donegal plus they had a poor full back line to cope with Murphy /McBrearty duo"
Where did you get the inspiration to write such a post all of a shot.
What were you saying last week, Donegal too old , over the top and Cork would win easily.
Now have a good look back on what you wrote last week and tells us how did you get it so wrong.
Wonder will you get it so wrong again this weekend. ?? HOPE NOT

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 02/08/2016 21:07:43    1894309

Replying To MesAmis:  "Come on legend back up the claim that this Dublin team is at the same level as the 05-09 lads.

I've asked a couple of times now. Who from the 05-09 vintage would make the current side (2010-2016) excluding any that are on both?

This current Donegal side would eat up the 05-09 Dubs all day long. As would the current Kerry, Tyrone and Mayo teams."
This is the first time I'm aware of you asking these questions. I'm not going to be splitting hairs between the teams. Ye've been consistent since '05. Kerry and Tyrone have obviously dropped back. Donegal and Mayo haven't put up much of a challenge. It's no slight on ye. Mayo and Donegal are the one's with questions to answer. We neglected our youth. We're not running away from our failings.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7876 - 02/08/2016 22:33:11    1894383

Replying To Mullerm:  "I see Mc Guinness backing Donegal Saturday in IT. I think he is correct. Dubs won't win with O'Carroll, McCarthy, McCaffrey out for season and Alan Brogan retired. My prediction is Donegal 3-12 Dublin 0-12 .The dubs will struggle against blanket defense and won't score goals against Donegal plus they had a poor full back line to cope with Murphy /McBrearty duo"
I think you're right with you're prdiction there but you forgot to add that Donegal don't foul so Dublin won't get their usual handy frees at the start of each half, so him Gavin can drop dean rock as he won't be needed.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 02/08/2016 22:38:30    1894387

Replying To legendzxix:  "This is the first time I'm aware of you asking these questions. I'm not going to be splitting hairs between the teams. Ye've been consistent since '05. Kerry and Tyrone have obviously dropped back. Donegal and Mayo haven't put up much of a challenge. It's no slight on ye. Mayo and Donegal are the one's with questions to answer. We neglected our youth. We're not running away from our failings."
So still unable to answer the question then?

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 02/08/2016 22:49:56    1894399