Dublin 'absolutely are beatable' - Jim McGuinness

Of course .on a bad day where nothing goes right and the opposition are having their best game in years.like donegal 2014 who where brilliant and played their final that day..its been said before the only team to beat this dublin team will be themselves,and there is an element of truth in that..but to beat this dublin team it will have to be by a team that will have just peaked at the right moment and are willing to go out and die on their feet for the win and can match us for fitness and bench options..also blending an effective defence with pacey counter attacking plus proper shot selection and point taking and trying to score a couple of goals..dublin dont like giving away goals..i think that will be the kind of effort required..even more of an effort now than donegal gave in 2014, as dublin have learned a bit since that day..

GGdub (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 11/05/2016 17:53:21    1854153

Of course .on a bad day where nothing goes right and the opposition are having their best game in years.like donegal 2014 who where brilliant and played their final that day..its been said before the only team to beat this dublin team will be themselves,and there is an element of truth in that..but to beat this dublin team it will have to be by a team that will have just peaked at the right moment and are willing to go out and die on their feet for the win and can match us for fitness and bench options..also blending an effective defence with pacey counter attacking plus proper shot selection and point taking and trying to score a couple of goals..dublin dont like giving away goals..i think that will be the kind of effort required..even more of an effort now than donegal gave in 2014, as dublin have learned a bit since that day..

GGdub (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 11/05/2016 17:55:51    1854154

GGdub

on a bad day where nothing goes right

Dublin were 5 points up with 27 minutes of the first half played, scoring points for fun from any range.

And you're saying nothing went right? Did you not watch the game?

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 11/05/2016 18:38:07    1854169

Spot the man with a column back for the summer
Saying the dubs can't be beat won't sell papers this year ☺

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 619 - 11/05/2016 19:53:08    1854196

KYTitletown makes a great point here about trying to beat Dublin. You need to bring something new to the table tactics wise and you can't test it in a game prior to that, otherwise Dublin will have seen it. On the flip side of that, everyone knows what Dublin bring to the table so it is up to the management teams to come up with counter measures, not easy an task but it can be done.

I would agree with Jim that Mayo will be the biggest challenge to Dublin. If they can tighten up at the back and not ship goals then they have a great chance. You would have to assume bringing McEntee into the set up was to tighten things up at the back.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts:55 - 11/05/2016 15:35:02 1854

Would agree but Kerry didnt give anything away tactically in 2 league games against us. Kerry didnt even try in league final. You can guarantee if meet again Kerry will push up on kickouts, man mark Cian o'Sullivan by pushing Darran O'Sullivan onto him. They will play with a more mobile too. Kerry are waiting in long grass

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts:1152 - 11/05/2016 15:40:36 1854084

meant will have a more mobile midfield

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 12/05/2016 11:20:44    1854304

Greatpoint usa
The 1st 27mins of a game means nothing..its the final result your judged on..look at dublin v cork nfl final 2014..cork leading by 8points at half time then end up losing by 7 points..do you not think cork would class that as a bad day..yea 1st 20 odd minutes against donegal diblin kicked some great long range points..but how many of them long range kicks went over after donegals goal..how many times did ye see a dublin player trying to run through a wall of donegal defenders..heads dropped..shot selection became terrible..no plan b..so yea it was a bad day for dublin..

GGdub (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 12/05/2016 11:50:45    1854321

Of course .on a bad day where nothing goes right and the opposition are having their best game in years

You've hit the nail on the head there.

And even if you are 2 or 3 up with 15 to go you have to face another wave of players coming who are just as good as the lads they replace while you're tongue is hanging out of your mouth trying to keep up with the reinforcements. An Everest of a challenge

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 12/05/2016 11:53:25    1854322

Of the four teams who I give a chance of beating Dublin I would think Mayo have the best chance
They had a poor enough league but so did a few counties.
I would not have a clue what way Donegal are going Is there much left in the team and again can management come up with a plan to getting us playing a good bit better with a better attacking system. Our scoring fate was very poor in games , like say 3 or 4 points in the second half. Won't be good enough in August if that's all our attack will muster Indeed won't be good enough in Ulster.
Now Tyrone could be the fly in the ointment and I'd say it won't matter if they win Ulster or not. Good team coming through the qualifiers but might be better if they won Ulster. That would put them on course with a likely semi final with Mayo. Win that and by mid September they would be well ready for Dublin IMO.
Tyrone people were giving out about M H over the last couple of years but he is one of the best managers in this year's campaigne.
That leaves Kerry as I doubt if Monaghan or Cork can beat Dublin
I put Kerry in the same boat as Donegal as like Donegal they will line out with a fair batch of lads on the wrong side of 30. Now that same team were well beat n last year's AI , the scoreboard did not do Dublin justice Again they failed badly a few weeks ago so similar to ourselves I can't see a lot of improvement.
Yet we all know sport and how unpredictable it can be
Plus I read an article by K Archer in the Irish news on about not writing off teams just yet , not handing Dublin Sam just yet and he finishes by saying he is also not writing off Dublin

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 12/05/2016 12:01:03    1854329

Ecclesiastes 9:11: 'Again I saw that under the sun the race is not to the swift, nor the battle to the strong, nor bread to the wise, nor riches to the intelligent, nor favor to those with knowledge, but time and chance happen to them all' ... On any given Sunday anything is possible, An Riocht Abu

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 12/05/2016 12:06:43    1854332

Ecclesiastes 9:11: 'Again I saw that under the sun the race is not to the swift, nor the battle to the strong, nor bread to the wise, nor riches to the intelligent, nor favor to those with knowledge, but time and chance happen to them all' ... On any given Sunday anything is possible, An Riocht Abu

I must write that down. Our under 14's have a big game next week and I want to gee them up as it looks like we'll get bet out the gate. Now where's me pencil......

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 12/05/2016 13:20:41    1854376

Eccliastices for 13 year olds?What next,Ullyses for our U12's?Finnegans Wake for our Minors?Jaysus when i was a nipper we were happy to get a clean jersey that fitted even reasonably well(:

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 12/05/2016 13:30:34    1854380

Cue you know as well as I do that Machiavelli is required reading for all Dublin development squads, how else would Phily MacMahon have learnt the dark arts ;)

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 12/05/2016 13:48:00    1854389

From JFK "Ask not what your country can do for you, ask what you can do for your country". Change that to "Ask not what your county or club can do for you but ask what you can do for your county or club".

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 12/05/2016 13:48:32    1854390

You must never have walked through the Ballymun Tower Blocks hermit.Day or night.A perfect breeding ground for the darkest of arts.Ya Boya Philly ya legend (:

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 12/05/2016 14:16:35    1854398

You must never have walked through the Ballymun Tower Blocks hermit.

There's a bit about that in the good book too:

Psalm 23:4: 'Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me.'

One of the few benefits of having being an Altar boy for so long, you can't help pick up the bit of scripture on the way :)

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 12/05/2016 14:25:55    1854401

You must never have walked through the Ballymun Tower Blocks hermit.Day or night.A perfect breeding ground for the darkest of arts.Ya Boya Philly ya legend (:

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts:3948 - 12/05/2016 14:16:35 1854398

Cued are they all not down now? If my facts are right there was seven of them and they were all named of the seven signatories of the 1916 proclamation.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 12/05/2016 14:32:25    1854404

Yes OLLIE their with O Leary in the grave.Nothing stays the same forever.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 12/05/2016 14:37:19    1854409

Cue you know as well as I do that Machiavelli is required reading for all Dublin development squads, how else would Phily MacMahon have learnt the dark arts ;)

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts:1377 - 12/05/2016 13:48:00 185

Perhaps Kerry should hire Professor Snape - Seeing as he could teach them "Defence against the dark arts." It's gotta be better than another hiding from the Dubs.

Jaden (Dublin) - Posts: 139 - 12/05/2016 14:45:15    1854414

GGdub

The 1st 27mins of a game means nothing..its the final result your judged on..

so yea it was a bad day for dublin..

I absolutely believe when it comes to determining whether "nothing went right" or not for a team then nearly half the match is in fact relevant to the discussion, and certainly does not mean "nothing".

Are you now instead saying that it was "a bad day for Dublin" instead of simply nothing going right for them? Because if you read your own post above, that is actually not what you said. Plenty went right for Dublin in the first half, why are you trying to deny that?

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 12/05/2016 14:46:56    1854415

Jaysus hermit you've all the answers.Is there anyting in that good book about how Kerry will beat Dublin?Even Macchievelli would be scratching his head on that one.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 12/05/2016 14:50:13    1854416