Brolly's article having a go at Kerry

Did many of you on here read J Brolly in the Sunday Independant about Kerry , about E F complaining about the treatment of K Donaghy.
I think Brolly and the article he wrote was spot on
What do other people think ?

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 05/05/2016 21:11:12    1852451

The man is absolutely obsessed with 'Star' as he says 30 times during coverage of a Kerry match. I'd love RTE to put a challenge to him that he couldn't go one Kerry match in the studio without mentioning the man. His comments about him before the 2008 AI final were ridiculous, when he called him a far better player than Gooch and in front of an almost embarrassed Dara O'C and ranting about how he was unstoppable and we all know how that ended up. So anything he has to say about him isn't worth listening to as far as im concerned

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2396 - 06/05/2016 09:16:37    1852471

missed it, wat this article say?

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 06/05/2016 11:38:09    1852521

Its his go to topic when things are starting to slow down a bit in terms of readership. Write a stinker of an article about kerry football and sit back and watch the fireworks. I dont think people take him as seriously any more as they used to. He is starting to remind me a bit of Conor McGregor at interviews. He is a world champion at trash talk and rubbing people up the wrong way, by mixing some facts with utter nonsense. For the carnival factor, you cant beat him, but unfortunately it is an act that we have all seen so many times before. There must be another clown somewhere in a neighbouring circus that can take his place and perhaps get us out of our seats again. This punch and judy show is just boring at this stage.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 06/05/2016 11:56:44    1852529

Yet we're still reading his articles

KerryKillers (Dublin) - Posts: 711 - 06/05/2016 12:09:52    1852532

very eloquently put Donegalman. I didn't read the article but can only imagine the rubbish contained theirin.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 06/05/2016 12:31:37    1852537

I do not mind pundits giving an opinion but personal attacks are just wrong.

His article on the Gooch last year was a disgrace and very personal .

Spillane and Brolly are all about sensationalism - pity hey couldnt analyse the matches as they are.

Liam Hayes was the same about Jim McGuinness - constant digs every week .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 06/05/2016 12:37:38    1852541

And the whole world listen's to Conor McGregor's every word and he's laughing all the way to the bank.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 06/05/2016 12:44:33    1852542

Whole world me swissrole CKD.I can't stand McGregor and turn him off the radio/tv as soon as he appears.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 06/05/2016 12:51:57    1852546

I seem to remember during the league Brolly singing the praises of Kerry and suggesting that they would blitz everyone. Now that they've been beaten, he's ready to stick the boot in. He's a fickle commentator who doesn't really know what he's talking about, he just wants to be on the side that's winning. Tyrone are his new pet now. We'll see what happens when/if they get beaten.

ZeitChrist (UK) - Posts: 154 - 06/05/2016 12:55:39    1852549

And the whole world listen's to Conor McGregor's every word and he's laughing all the way to the bank.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts:7389

So true - are you a fan ?

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 06/05/2016 13:17:50    1852557

What was worse was what the Kerry manager said --- ' Donaghy was raped and piligaed out there'

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1676 - 06/05/2016 13:23:45    1852559

Glad to see that Sam aside (a prominent member of the 'we hate Kerry' brigade on this site) most posters see the article for what it is, garbage to sell papers.

Joe is following in the footsteps of Liam Hayes and how we in Kerry celebrated the day the Sunday Tribune folded and he lost his job.

But at least Hayes was consistent in his bile, Joe was on Radio Kerry the Tuesday morning after the 2014 Final telling everyone in Kerry that Fitzmaurice was the greatest manager in modern GAA and that Kerry were a joy to behold.

So, as a poster above stated, you can't respect anything he says.

P.S. Sam its been almost 2 years let the All-Ireland of 2014 go - ye were good enough to beat the Dubs but not good enough to beat us on the day. Deal with it and move on.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 06/05/2016 13:26:49    1852561

Cue that's fine but wether you like it or not the man is box office to people all over the world. Right now he's easily in the top ten most known/famous sports people in the world. And he doesn't care if you like him or not he's laughing all the way to the bank.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 06/05/2016 13:36:12    1852562

I do agree with one of his points on Donaghy, that he couldn't buy a free v Dublin when moved inside and that the big full forward doesnt get a fair crack of the whip from referees.

EF is a shrewd operator and making such a strong statement in the media will bring this into focus and possibly influence referees to give more protection to Donaghy, Expect to hear about this again from the kerry camp come August.

I hope it does tbh as Aidan O Shea could make the same argument.

unclegerry (Mayo) - Posts: 1222 - 06/05/2016 13:37:26    1852564

Glad to see that Sam aside (a prominent member of the 'we hate Kerry' brigade on this site) most posters see the article for what it is, garbage to sell papers.

Joe is following in the footsteps of Liam Hayes and how we in Kerry celebrated the day the Sunday Tribune folded and he lost his job.

But at least Hayes was consistent in his bile, Joe was on Radio Kerry the Tuesday morning after the 2014 Final telling everyone in Kerry that Fitzmaurice was the greatest manager in modern GAA and that Kerry were a joy to behold.

So, as a poster above stated, you can't respect anything he says.

P.S. Sam its been almost 2 years let the All-Ireland of 2014 go - ye were good enough to beat the Dubs but not good enough to beat us on the day. Deal with it and move on.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts:1354

Yes I just made a comment on Hayes myself.

What was your issue with him Hermit ??

Cannot stand the guy myself, Personal attacks on Jim McGuinness every week a few years back.

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 06/05/2016 13:43:02    1852569

I don't like Flip flop Joe at all. I despise the total lack of respect he shows towards people. The time he laid into Paul Galvin and started dragging his profession into the discussion was a low point for me. I had no respect for him after that. The remarks made about Gooch were nasty too. The way he bullies the other panellists with his finger jabbing and his 'Howld on , Howld on . . .' should not be tolerated by Lyster.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 06/05/2016 13:50:25    1852571

Rightstuff, I'm not sure if you can find any of his columns from the Tribune these days on the net, but back around 2009 the stuff he was writing about Kerry was grotesque.

When we were struggling through the qualifiers he was already doing the fox-trot on our grave and seemed delighted with himself.

I remember getting the train down to Tullamore on the morning of the qualifier against Antrim and some of the lads traveling with me passing around his article that day on Kerry.

Really nasty personal stuff that was directed at players like Gooch and Donaghy, I seem to recall him calling the latter the equivalent of a 'donkey' and questioning Gooch's character and talent.

If he was a bar fly you would just laugh in his face but to think he was being well paid to write this muck.

As I said thank God the Tribune folded!!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 06/05/2016 14:30:12    1852584

True Avonli: the worst thing is he is obviously such an intelligent, engaging, entertaining and funny guy.

He could be a really brilliant sports columnist but he just seems to enjoy being a pantomime too much.

Like yourself, I stopped taking anything he said to heart the time he called Gooch a choker. A man that has been top scorer in how many All Ireland finals, 4-5?!!!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 06/05/2016 14:33:01    1852585

Actually on that last post Rightstuff:

The full text of the specific article I'm talking about was posted on the KerryGAA forum at the time:

http://kerrygaa.proboards.com/thread/2902/liam-hayes-article-sunday-tribune

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 06/05/2016 14:41:23    1852586