Are Dublin's titles as noteworthy?

In reality, no one in Dublin cares.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 29/04/2016 11:53:36    1850648

....with all these perceived advantages that Dublin has - how come the Hurlers are not winning all-irelands? how come the Ladies footballers and Camogie teams are not winning all before them? How come the Footballers have not won Minor/U21 etc etc etc
I know for most of you here the GAA is Football - (it isn't and it never will) seems strange that advantages are very selective - just like most peoples opinions to make a very lopsided argument. So back to the point (lessness of this damn thread). Could it be at football Dublin just have better players available now? You know the human gene pool fluctuates over generations it is a fact of life. Maybe it is because they are better coached? Because they certainly don't have better facilites they are nomads, counties like Kildare pumped millions into a centre of excellence - Dublin pumped it into something as basic and unsexy as coaching. And maybe the unpalatable truth is that finally picking the cream of the crop is now paying off in spades. and will do for years to come.

There is so much wrong with this its hard to know where to begin.

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 29/04/2016 12:03:15    1850653

This quote comes to mind when dealing with one or two posters on HS....Haters will see you walk on water and say its because you cant swim!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 29/04/2016 12:14:44    1850658

Realman

You're keeping this thread going.. fair play

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 29/04/2016 12:47:55    1850671

Visiting Hawkfield centre of excellence in Kildare on Saturday with a development squad , have never been , be interesting to see the facilities of the realman2s kneck of the woods

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 29/04/2016 13:09:43    1850680

In the last 6 years Kildare have lost to Wicklow and Clare in Croke Park

That has nothing to do with Dublin and everything to do with Kildare.

Kildare had a good team not so long ago.. had some unlucky results, got down in the dumps, didn't cope well with said results, and then they sacked the manager responsible for that team... in fact they forced him out, when the players still backed him. Not great for moral that... and just look at the outcome from that heave-ho....

Kildare have had a lot of success at underage level.. producing some quality players and winning Leinster's and going far in the championship

There is currently nothing between Dublin GAA's U21's and Kildare... and Dublin U21's were a point away from an AI final and probably blew it a little..

So Kildare are every bit as good as anyone else in the country at that level.... they have some very exciting players

It's purely now down to Kildare GAA to take it from there... if they cant bring through players, then that's where the focus of Kildare supporters should be... not looking at anyone else, because that's the real issue.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 29/04/2016 13:11:57    1850681

The financial resource argument levied at Dublin farcical and smacks of bitterness, the GAA will never push the issue, why? Because Dublin is the golden goose and they know if they do Dublin will push for decentralised funding, in fact i would be an advocate of it.

If anything i think other counties should be very quiet on the inssue because in basic financial terms, your being subsided from the revenue Dublin create. If anything Dublin are marginilised in terms of their income generation per proporiton of allocation, which only leads to obstacles in developing the game in the biggest populace area of Dublin.

I doubt very many on here, would want their financial grants/leg up unearned, in reality there is culture of entitlement to centralised funding, but no one really looks at their own counties contribution to that in terms of what they put in and take out - Dublin are the raw end of the deal here and id be very reluctent if i was from a county not being managed well, to draw attention to financial allocations, broader allocations, as currently its been paid for of the back of Dublin.

Looking at decentralised funding, TV rights, sponsorship, merchandising is something Dublin should be stratigiseing, if anyones at a disadvantage with current centralised funding its Dublin - financially its propping up the rest of the counties.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 29/04/2016 13:33:16    1850689

But again Realman you can't just use the population angle to get a dig in at Dublin and then ignore it for other counties, like Kildare for example. Also your home/away advantage analogy is completely flawed. Kerry have played in Dublin's 'home' ground 3 times in the past 3 months and about 7 times in the past 8 months. How is that in any way comparable to say soccer, which is presumably where you were coming from with your comparison? Look this is an exceptional Dublin team. 'Home' advantage and population never added up to anything in three decades that preceded 2011 yet you now seem to think that it means a huge amount. Once more on the money side, what is Dublin's spend per head of population compared to other counties? Surely there couldn't be a huge discrepancy given that 1/3 of the population lives in Dublin?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 29/04/2016 14:16:14    1850699

Visiting Hawkfield centre of excellence in Kildare on Saturday with a development squad , have never been , be interesting to see the facilities of the realman2s kneck of the woods

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts:3266 - 29/04/2016 13:09:43 1

http://kildaregaa.ie/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=158&Itemid=266 .. its basic..dont expect to be wowed..best thing about it is a nice grass pitch

If Maynooth college was more central and had better grounds we could use that at a much lower cost like Dublin use DCU. Lucky for Dublin, Unlucky for kildare so we had to build are own place, there was no choice.

Now Dublin are going to have a 4million centre of excellence built by the government in their backyard, even luckier for Dublin and unlucky for those that have to pay for it.

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 29/04/2016 15:09:33    1850710

if anyones at a disadvantage with current centralised funding its Dublin - financially its propping up the rest of the counties.

Atrocious nonsense, Dublin take 47% of the games development pot, are you seriously saying Dublin bring in more than 47% of revenue ....across hurling and football across the 4 provincial championships where they only play in one, across the 2 main leagues in football and two main leagues in hurling where they only play in one in each sport?

So Dublin bring in over 47% of revenue while taking part in about 5% at a push of the total games played in a season ....sit down and have a good think.

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 29/04/2016 15:15:30    1850711

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts:3266 - 29/04/2016 13:09:43 1

http://kildaregaa.ie/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=158&Itemid=266 .. its basic..dont expect to be wowed..best thing about it is a nice grass pitch

If Maynooth college was more central and had better grounds we could use that at a much lower cost like Dublin use DCU. Lucky for Dublin, Unlucky for kildare so we had to build are own place, there was no choice.

Now Dublin are going to have a 4million centre of excellence built by the government in their backyard, even luckier for Dublin and unlucky for those that have to pay for it.

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts:318 - 29/04/2016 15:09:33

May come to pass , has not as of yet , last Sunday freezing my nuts off at Culas pitch at 08.45 , two weeks previously 18.45 training in OToole Park
on a Sunday Evening as only grounds available , similar for minor teams , when or if this Abbotstown comes to pass I will let you know but for now we are nomads , no bother

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 29/04/2016 16:35:38    1850729

May come to pass , has not as of yet , last Sunday freezing my nuts off at Culas pitch at 08.45 , two weeks previously 18.45 training in OToole Park
on a Sunday Evening as only grounds available , similar for minor teams , when or if this Abbotstown comes to pass I will let you know but for now we are nomads , no bother

Violins.. :)

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 29/04/2016 16:47:50    1850735

Dead right Damo. We don't have our own centre of excellence, our home ground (Parnell) is in dire need of redevelopment yet HQ see it fit that we should be forced to play our games in Croke Park to make money for Kildare and other counties. We don't even have a big yellow bus like Roscommon. Nomads is right.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 29/04/2016 17:46:20    1850754

Joxer - ' forced to play games in Croke Park '

Come on man , this is a home venue at this stage because you's play there all the time - it is therefore an advantage . The Dublin players would be happy with that .

As regards titles being noteworthy - yes they are noteworthy . Good luck to you's on that . All titles are noteworthy .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 29/04/2016 18:29:36    1850767

Dead right Damo. We don't have our own centre of excellence, our home ground (Parnell) is in dire need of redevelopment yet HQ see it fit that we should be forced to play our games in Croke Park to make money for Kildare and other counties. We don't even have a big yellow bus like Roscommon. Nomads is right.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts:2643 - 29/04/2016 17:46:20 1850754

No ye have a bus eireann as one of your many sponsors instead

http://www.buseireann.ie/news.php?id=1575&month=Aug

Ye couldn't make it up with ye lads and your poor mouth

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 29/04/2016 19:22:01    1850775

Maybe it's time to revisit the idea of dividing Dublin into two or three sections for the benefit of the GAA as a whole, but Dublin in particular. The more of their huge pool of players would get the chance to play county football and the county board would not have to agonise over how to spend their huge pot of cash. It might even lead to two Dublin based teams meeting in the Al final while the rest of the country got on with their club football.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 29/04/2016 19:57:32    1850783

Realman that's exactly what I'm saying, last Sunday's sellout was evidance of that and what a money spinner for the GAA, I know it was a double header, but let's be honest it was a tail of two attendances per match. Even splitting that sell out with Kerry. I'd hazard we would make our measly allocation by the Gaa. Imagine Dublin not as part of the centralised TV deal, basically Setanta pay the Gaa to show live Dublin Leage games, Sky Sports etc. that before merchandising and sponsorship or corporate sponsorship.

The real inequity here is county's run like basket cases suckiling at the money spinner, that Is Dublin, the criticism iis akin to handing someone on OConnel bridge with a coffee cup a fiver and then asking for a tenner. The Gaa will never change actually keeping things the way they are is the only way to ensure other counties can in some way fund the game. They are terrified of Dublin and one or two others splitting and doing. A Premier League revolution, trust me.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 29/04/2016 20:10:51    1850786

Neverright, that sounds like a really depressing vision of the future. For everyone. The rest of the country abandoning the county scene and Dublin being split which would, I'm guessing, totally alienate their supporters. That just sounds like a lose-lose situation to me.

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 29/04/2016 20:40:30    1850790

How about something like the draft system they have in American football. Do away with players from a county only playing for that county. Players that come through the underage system can be drafted to any other county in their province. Lets face it, due to population spread and the number of clubs per county there's always going to be an imbalance.
Lets say in Leinster, Carlow are deemed the weakest team (no offence to Carlow supporters), they get first pick on any U-21 player from within Leinster. Restrict it to a set number of drafts a year per county but at least this way the weaker counties get some good prospects that they can potentially build a team around.
I'm surprised that people are more concerned about this in football because of Dublin's recent success, hurling is in a far greater need of change. Why not try it there first?
Yeah this would come with a lot of teething problems and a number of issues, it means players don't play for their own home county, maybe give an option that they can switch back after 3 years. There's also the issue of travelling to training.
I'm sure people can pick a million holes in the idea but the more things stay the same the more we're going to get the same teams winning all-irelands all the time. Wouldn't it be that bit more exciting if all teams had an equal shot at county success. We hear that players have more pride playing for their club than their county all the time anyway so why not give it a try

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 29/04/2016 21:34:57    1850808

TRS ask any Dublin player and most Dublin hardcore supporters where they would like to be playing their home league games and they will tell you the Neller; tight ground, electric stmosphere, packed to it's small capacity versus huge 1/4 full freezing cavern where you could hear a pin drop. The fact that they opened the door to the Spring Series and used Dublin for games promotion and an attempt to boost their coffers is now a problem for Dublin as they can't make a case to go back to the Neller now with 20K turning up at Croke Park.

Realman, yes DCB marketing working hard to get sponsorship and a lift to games from Bus Eireann versus spending a reported 250K on a new bus with bespoke paint job in county colours. Huge difference. You could have had 10 proper piches in Hyde Park for that money.

But anyway, the last I checked trophies were still won by having 15 players play against 15 players on a pitch. Kerry (pop 145K) and Kilkenny (pop 95K) have been doing it very well over the years.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 30/04/2016 08:58:48    1850817