Are Dublin's titles as noteworthy?

Periods of dominance in sport are cyclical but I would also be critical of county boards. The amount of squabbling and internal politics that occur in county boards is so frustrating to hear about. For example, in Donegal in 2013, Jim McGuinness experienced obstruction and downright contrariness from our county board. All this after winning an All Ireland.

To me, counties with big populations like Meath, Kildare, Cork and Galway simply SHOULD be doing way better than they are. At the minute in Leinster noone can lay a glove on Dublin. When Westmeath and Laois won Leinsters in the noughties, what was so different? Dublin still had a bigger population and played all their games in Croke Park then.

It's too easy in life just to moan and moan your head off when things aren't right. But like most things in life, plenty of hard work, honesty and organisation will take you a long way. I would ask other counties, being totally honest, are you all pulling in the right direction and working hard enough? (I'm not necessarily aiming that at county players either)

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 26/04/2016 13:53:38    1849701

Big John
I would disagree with you and do you not think that whoever meet Dublin in the semi final or All Ireland final( that's if Dublin get there and they do look as if they wil) will not put it up to Dublin
So far this year from what we saw Dublin are going to be the team to beat, no question about that.
But to keep winning will get harder and harder especially towards the latter stages of the championship.
I expect at least one or two teams to be in contention of winning Sam and give Dublin a right hard game , maybe they won't won but Dublin could have to pull out all the stops to win
If we are going to take league form over the last three months then Dublin will win Sam
Championship is different though and watching both of Sunday's games , to me they were not very physical well not the type of physical games you get in the championship.
I still think Mayo can press Dublin , the drawn game last year showed that Mayo are well up there with the best But have Mayo the KILLER INSTINCT ?? Can Kerry recover ? I don't think so as last September and again Sunday showed that Dublin are ahead of Kerry and by a fair bit.
On their day Cork can be dangerous , their league form was poor yet were unlucky to be relegated Would winning Munster bring a revival in Corks fortunes but I can't seeing them being a threat to Dublin
That leaves us with the Ulstermen Who will win the Anglo Celt As certain as Dublin are to win Leinster there is as much uncertainty as to who will win Ulster
I'm standing by a Derry victory against Tyrone in Celtic park but Tyrone , if need to can easily navigate the back door , well used to it and successful coming through the back door To me one of the more likely teams to upset Dublin and if they met would expect Tyrone to put it right up to Dublin
The only other teams of note in Ulster in my book would be Monaghan or Donegal From what we saw in the league both have a lot of work to do and both are similar to Kerry as they have a fair few older boys playing
Still I expect some interesting games come August and I would not give Dublin Sam just yet but it will take a massive effort from some team to stop them getting Sam

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 26/04/2016 14:38:35    1849722

What a mean spirited begrudging OP......badly veiled by this pseudo debate nonsense. Opening poster unable to give credit where it's due....glad he's the exception rather than the rule.

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 26/04/2016 15:01:28    1849734

Most seasoned posters have his/her number at this stage.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 26/04/2016 15:26:51    1849754

I haven't seen Dublin play live in years until Sunday. What impressed me was their energy, their desire and their skill.
As a neutral, it was a pleasure to watch them and could only admire them.
We hear the same old arguments about population and funds. Sure the population of Dublin is huge, but the GAA community is battling against sports such a soccer, rugby etc. There are areas of Dublin without a GAA team.
There were no shouts about these so called advantages when Dublin were not winning All Irelands. Having watched the finals at the weekend, no one will match them in Leinster and it will be All Ireland Semi stage before they are challenged. I believe Mayo are the only team that will actually challenge them this year.
Kerry looked tired and lethargic.
This team won't be around for ever, but I am delighted I got to see them play and look forward to meeting them in the league next spring.
Hopefully the game will be in breffni and the atmosphere electric.
Congratulations of the title at the weekend, and I personally look forward to seeing them again, they deserve the praise and they are a joy to watch.

FrDougalMaguire (Cavan) - Posts: 152 - 26/04/2016 15:42:49    1849763

of course they are noteworthy dublin are an awesome team

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1802 - 26/04/2016 15:49:31    1849770

It seems people cant differentiate between being noteworthy, and being as noteworthy as the achievements of another team...

Nobody ever claimed they weren't noteworthy...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 26/04/2016 15:56:54    1849772

Why are people responding to this troll ? Its obviously a cry for help .

Finsceal (None) - Posts: 559 - 26/04/2016 16:16:08    1849782

If Dublin were beating counties of similar populations, similarly funded and playing games home and away then I would give them huge credit.

They aren't so I wouldn't regard their achievements as noteworthy as what Donegal achieved personally.

They are doing what they should be doing but good luck to them and unless something drastic changes they will keep doing it.

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 26/04/2016 16:19:11    1849787

Dublin can only beat what is put in front of them, they shouldn't be criticized for this, it's up to the other teams to step up to the plate. They have been the best team in the country for the past 5/6 years and that is an achievement in itself to keep these standards up.

Kerry cannot be discounted as they have 4 months to prepare for a re-match with Dublin. In fact this match might have done them some favours in showing them that the older lads don't have the legs for the Dubs (yes Donegal are in a similar position). I would expect Tyrone to present a formidable challenge if they can navigate their way through Ulster. I still think Mayo will have a great chance, if they win Conaught then they will avoid Dublin until the final. They have the legs to compete with Dublin and with a bit more composure they could beat them.

I think we should be congratulating Dublin on their success, not their problem that other teams can't beat them.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1874 - 26/04/2016 16:34:39    1849797

Dublin don't deserve roughly 50% of GAA development funds.

This current Dublin teams achievements are still amongst the most noteworthy in the history of the game.

They've won 4 National leagues in a row. 3 of the last 5 All Ireland.

Money has a part to play but I think you overweight it.

These constant Dublin has too much money discussions are really boring.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4226 - 26/04/2016 16:52:05    1849805

realman2 - Kildare with your population and being a wealthy county should be doing much better and should be well able to match Dublin. That is the fault of the running of GAA within Kildare....simply awful.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 26/04/2016 16:54:12    1849808

realman2 - Kildare with your population and being a wealthy county should be doing much better and should be well able to match Dublin. That is the fault of the running of GAA within Kildare....simply awful.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 26/04/2016 16:54:20    1849809

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts:7280 - 26/04/2016 16:54:12 1849808

Agreed to an extent but we are the 7th most populous county in ireland (i think) and make the quarters most years so not sure you could describe our performance as awful, more underwhelming.

This has nothing to do with the debate but don't worry many many dublin posters will join all over the kildare thing to deflect attention from the actual debate.

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 26/04/2016 17:04:24    1849817

Lads and lasses I'd agree with the sentiments of a fair few of the decent posters in that the only reason these kind of posters have any oxygen is because people keep responding and cannot help themselves when it comes to replying to this sort of post.
Again , most people are fair-minded and genuine fans of Gaelic games unlike a minority affecting the majority on here. Wise up folks it's the easiest thing in the world to do if you think about it.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 26/04/2016 17:05:16    1849818

Of course its noteworthy. Dublin are a credit to the GAA. They play football they way you would like to see it being played. A joy to watch. Every player seems very comfortable on the ball and exhibit a very high skill level. Finally I think you couldn't but admire the attitude of their manager (similar to Mickey Harte) a deep thinker who while being an excellent tactician and motivator also sees the bigger picture i.e. there is more to life than sport. The importance of respect etc. That is why if Mayo don't win this year I would love to see this Dublin team lift Sam.

mod (Mayo) - Posts: 859 - 26/04/2016 17:13:38    1849823

These constant Dublin has too much money discussions are really boring.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts:242 - 26/04/2016 16:52:05 184980

They are alright but perhaps not as boring as the one team All ireland this year. :)

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 26/04/2016 17:20:23    1849826

were beating counties of similar populations, similarly funded and playing games home and away then I would give them huge credit. They aren't so I wouldn't regard their achievements as noteworthy as what Donegal achieved personally. They are doing what they should be doing but good luck to them and unless something drastic changes they will keep doing it.

realman2 (Kildare) - 26/04/2016 16:19:11

Dublin won their 4th league playing teams home and away, no? Or are you just selective in your criticism? Dublin is the capital of and biggest city in the country how on earth can they play counties with similar populations, in Leinster too even if you amalgamate them all it still wouldn't be logical to make that statement? A strange comparison to make it think. Dublin had those same "advantages " for years when we won nothing and suffered several hammerings now we have the squad good enough it's not noteworthy?

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 26/04/2016 17:43:29    1849837

I don't think the Masters comments are as outrageous as some posters seem to think. I don't think that anyone is denying that Dublin are presently one of the best teams of all time and if they keep going as they are could well lay claim to being the best. However Dublin have a lot in their favour that other counties don't have and that tends to take away the wow factor when they win an All Ireland. Just as in The Premiership when Man Utd, Chelsea or Man City win the title most people will say" why wouldn't they"? If the likes of Monaghan or Roscommon won an All Ireland people would give them far more credit than Dublin. Mayo have won five Connacht titles in a row and that's a great achievement but not as great as if those titles were won by Sligo or Leitrim. Nobody is trying to belittle Dublins titles and truth be told we're as jealous as all hell, but the "why wouldn't they" is still out there. In fairness maybe we're clinging on to the Dublins advantages theory to cover our own inadequacies but sure it helps us get through the day. I remember some years ago, myself and another lad going to a weekly card game in a local school. We went every week for six months and never won until this one night. When we won everyone congratulated us saying "well done" and "fair play to ye" and seemed very happy for us. The following week, by a complete fluke, didn't we win again and no one said anything only glared at us. I think that's a bit like Dublin at the minute.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 26/04/2016 19:02:47    1849864

I don't think the Masters comments are as outrageous as some posters seem to think. I don't think that anyone is denying that Dublin are presently one of the best teams of all time and if they keep going as they are could well lay claim to being the best. However Dublin have a lot in their favour that other counties don't have and that tends to take away the wow factor when they win an All Ireland. Just as in The Premiership when Man Utd, Chelsea or Man City win the title most people will say" why wouldn't they"? If the likes of Monaghan or Roscommon won an All Ireland people would give them far more credit than Dublin. Mayo have won five Connacht titles in a row and that's a great achievement but not as great as if those titles were won by Sligo or Leitrim. Nobody is trying to belittle Dublins titles and truth be told we're as jealous as all hell, but the "why wouldn't they" is still out there. In fairness maybe we're clinging on to the Dublins advantages theory to cover our own inadequacies but sure it helps us get through the day. I remember some years ago, myself and another lad going to a weekly card game in a local school. We went every week for six months and never won until this one night. When we won everyone congratulated us saying "well done" and "fair play to ye" and seemed very happy for us. The following week, by a complete fluke, didn't we win again and no one said anything only glared at us. I think that's a bit like Dublin at the minute.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts:105 - 26/04/2016 19:02:47 1849864

You see Llaw_Gyffes it is easy to ask the question and essentially there is no answer . Where the problem lies is at the source ,where it's dominating from and the lack of credibility of the question poser.
At this stage ,it's a case of most people not paying too much attention to this individuals opinions or input because of all the petty , begrudging and trolling comments they post regarding Dublin.
In card parlance I suppose it's a case of him/her having a pair of twos in every hand and everyone knows it at this point.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 26/04/2016 20:41:57    1849900