Fermanagh hurler: we won't have a team in 10 years

It seems like its only a matter of time when the other county boards in Ulster get what they want...... nearly all the hurling clubs in Ulster competing in the Antrim hurling leagues.

We now have 6 Down clubs, 2 Derry clubs and 1 Tyrone club competing in our Senior Hurling Leagues.
6 Derry clubs competing in our minor leagues and 2/3 Derry clubs, 1 tyrone club and 1 Down club at u16 level.

It seems like the Derry clubs are now preparing the ground for entry into the senior hurling leagues, particularly with Ballinascreen entering Division 3 this year.

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 13/04/2016 16:53:06    1845287

In my own humble opinion, if there is an interest in an area for a sport it will take off. If an area doesn't have a tradition for a sport what are people expecting?

With the status of football and hurling as the two popular codes within the GAA, I do think all GAA people should have the facility to play both hurling and football. In areas without one or the other, there should probably be regional teams to represent a number of clubs from that area for the lesser played sport.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7873 - 13/04/2016 21:23:10    1845401

TBF its difficult to expect a small county like Fermanagh (and many others) who with all due respects are putting everything into doing well in football with limited results, to at the same time put resources into developing a game with little tradition. Most hurling counties are dual counties in that traditionally they have football strongholds aswell.
Whats not fair is people having a go at KK who are also a small county but are subject to abuse simply because they have been so successful.

ZUL10 (Clare) - Posts: 693 - 14/04/2016 10:56:00    1845433

Ah here comes 'team ulster' again, another kop out by both Ulster and Central Council.

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 14/04/2016 10:56:51    1845434

Ah here comes 'team ulster' again, another kop out by both Ulster and Central Council.

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts:1180 - 14/04/2016 10:56:51

Correct, pure abdication of duty by full time officials who're getting paid for what, I don't know... Quango by another name..

Time to get Ned Quinn up to sort them out

As for teams from Down, Derry and Tyrone entering the Antrim leagues, does that not tell you more about the deficiencies in the other counties and there'll come a point where Antrim will shout stop as its becoming unsustainable.
It tells you there is an interest in hurling regularly in these places but their county boards are not meeting those requirements. The Tain league isn't working but the Ulster council flagship will not be allowed to fail!

Apart from hosting the national Feile the last few years what are all these full time coaches doing?

bricktop (Down) - Posts: 2503 - 14/04/2016 12:04:01    1845477

They set up a "South Ulster Hurling Academy" 2 years ago for Fermanagh, Cavan & Monaghan U14s & U16s. Is that not just a cop out for these individual counties?

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 14/04/2016 12:29:29    1845493

It's alright though.

Hurling is thriving in Kilkenny, Tipp, Dublin, Limerick and Clare.

valley84 (Westmeath) - Posts: 1890 - 14/04/2016 12:48:06    1845508

I have zero problems with Kilkenny not playing football or Fermanagh .

You can't force people to play another game .

In Donegal , there are a few clubs trying hard to play hurling but trying to promote the game in football strongholds is virtually impossible .

Fermanaghs already small population has like 50% Unionists .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 14/04/2016 12:57:57    1845516

Right Stuff,

Antrim's population is prob 60% unionist, im afraid that's not a valid argument imo. The 3 Peninsula clubs in Down are surrounded completely by unionists. Like any sport if its properly promoted, encouraged and coached it will take off. We only have to look at the promotion of our games in states as an example of this. Ive read numerous posts on here about its increasing popularity with those outside the irish diaspora.

Bricktop is correct as some Antrim clubs are already up in arms about clubs from other counties entering our leagues as they see it being detrimental to their own club's development re promotion etc., that was the reason it took so long to get our leagues up and running this year!

That view is insular looking imo and I disagree with it as I believe having better quality teams in our leagues benefits our clubs too.

However, ive no doubt there will come a time when there will be a backlash from Antrim clubs as we are doing the job for the Ulster Council. Sadly if this happens only hurling and hurlers suffer, I hope we continue to look at the bigger picture in Antrim.

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 14/04/2016 13:52:43    1845553

Antrim also has a population about 3 times the size of Fermanagh

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 14/04/2016 14:06:13    1845565

"Like any sport if its properly promoted, encouraged and coached it will take off. We only have to look at the promotion of our games in states as an example of this. Ive read numerous posts on here about its increasing popularity with those outside the irish diaspora."

That's it in a nutshell. The GAA has a responsibility to promote all our games.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 14/04/2016 14:24:11    1845572

It's pretty clear that there's simply little interest in Fermanagh in hurling. Say tomorrow Croke Park draw up big plans and allocated money towards improving hurling in Fermanagh, who would implement it? Who would administer and coach this system? There's probably about 50 individuals in the entirety of Fermanagh who even care about hurling, and most of those are players. Croke Park doesn't have a group of federal coaches and administrators ready to intervene in case a county needs a hand, it needs to come from within a county.

What would the aim be? Even after years and years of work, and if playing numbers increased 1000%, the most Fermanagh could aim for is probably a Nicky Rackard final. That's pretty much the ceiling unless a hurling revolution unlike anything we've ever seen occurs. With that in mind it's hardly unsurprising that they prioritise football, where with a bit of luck they can reach an AI quarter final every few years.

It's naive and cowardly to blame Croke Park for this. Talk of big playing numbers abroad as an example is laughable. The examples I've seen of "success" abroad are in the of likes of the UK, USA, France, and even Vietnam. There's over half a billion people between those 4 countries alone, you only have to convince 1 in every 100'000 people to play football even as a novel curiosity and suddenly the locals look "Níos Gaelaí ná na Gaeil féin". It's unlikely you'll get a better return in Fermanagh, a county of 60'000, containing at least 25'000 unionists.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1646 - 14/04/2016 16:08:56    1845624

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts:2815 - 14/04/2016 14:06:13

Im sure its more than 3 times, however, what's the population of Kilkenny as we now seem to be saying that's the reason

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 14/04/2016 16:26:06    1845633

It's pretty clear that there's simply little interest in Fermanagh in hurling. Say tomorrow Croke Park draw up big plans and allocated money towards improving hurling in Fermanagh, who would implement it? Who would administer and coach this system? There's probably about 50 individuals in the entirety of Fermanagh who even care about hurling, and most of those are players. Croke Park doesn't have a group of federal coaches and administrators ready to intervene in case a county needs a hand, it needs to come from within a county.

The point of promoting a game is to gather interest is it not?

If its promoted by the relevant bodies properly, in this example Central Council, Ulster Council and Fermanagh County Board, this will encourage clubs and schools to engage and participate. We all know hurling supporters within their counties also have to take ownership as well, however, leaving them to their own devices in Fermanagh, Leitrim, Longford, Donegal will have the outcome Declan McGarry is suggesting.
As for Croke Park not having federal coaches, again we all know that, why don't they? They have contributed considerable resources in Dublin working with their clubs and look at how successful that has been. Obviously there will be different levels of hurling in different counties so its certainly a not a one cap fits all scenario, however, sitting on their hands certainly isn't working is it?
And what has cowardice got to do with asking the body that is responsible for the running and promotion of our games to actually do that in areas that need and want it.

If you wanna throw the white flag up go for it, thankfully others don't!

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 14/04/2016 16:46:07    1845646

Im sure its more than 3 times, however, what's the population of Kilkenny as we now seem to be saying that's the reason
bumpernut (Antrim)

OK lads, I'm taking it easy at work today so, here I am in full-on anorak mode to answer your population queries......well, I'm only going by Wiki, but anyway:

Antrim = 618,108 (2011 census), discount the 60% darkside, leaving you with 247,243

Fermanagh (2011 census) = 61,805

Moving onto Leinster:

Kilkenny = 95,419 (2011)

Wexford = 145,273 (2011)

And no, I'm not aspiring to be MediaMan!!

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 14/04/2016 17:24:01    1845664

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts:1185 - 14/04/2016 16:26:06 18456

A lot larger than Fermanaghs and half there population isn't opposed to all things GAA

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 14/04/2016 17:33:55    1845670

and half there population isn't opposed to all things GAA

No, only opposed to half things GAA in Kilkenny.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 14/04/2016 18:25:12    1845687

What would the aim be? Even after years and years of work, and if playing numbers increased 1000%, the most Fermanagh could aim for is probably a Nicky Rackard final. That's pretty much the ceiling unless a hurling revolution unlike anything we've ever seen occurs. With that in mind it's hardly unsurprising that they prioritise football, where with a bit of luck they can reach an AI quarter final every few years.

It's naive and cowardly to blame Croke Park for this. Talk of big playing numbers abroad as an example is laughable. The examples I've seen of "success" abroad are in the of likes of the UK, USA, France, and even Vietnam. There's over half a billion people between those 4 countries alone, you only have to convince 1 in every 100'000 people to play football even as a novel curiosity and suddenly the locals look "Níos Gaelaí ná na Gaeil féin". It's unlikely you'll get a better return in Fermanagh, a county of 60'000, containing at least 25'000 unionists.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts:843 - 14/04/2016 16:08:56

Some good points there but I disagree with the main argument.

You are right that the GAA does not have a federal coaches and administrators. There is no reason why they can't though. Ireland is very small country. How far is it to drive from Fermanagh to Dublin? Cork to Dublin can be done in about 2 hours now so I imagine Fermanagh would be about the same or less. It is not relevant whether they live in Fermanagh or not. The GAA in Croke Park are responsible for the safekeeping and the promotion of the game. It is their duty to promote it. In sport as in politics, there are occasions when the governing body must step in and do something. There were more clubs in Fermanagh in the past. It has declined. There is some evidence (as supplied by keeper7) that there is some interest there. It might be good if the central council helped.

The Nicky Rackard is not the limit. Carlow has 9 clubs playing the sport - 6 senior, 1 intermediate and 2 junior (essentially football clubs that field a team). AT under 21 level they may have 5 teams. From those 5 teams they have an intercounty team that have beaten Dublin in the Leinster championship and came damn close to doing it against Kilkenny.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 14/04/2016 21:32:59    1845796

I suppose what he was saying if it was Kilkenny there would be a lot of whinging about it but as per usual the excuses come out, Damothedub said people in glass houses don't throw stones what are ye doing for other counties in football hurling only grab what ye can for me fein . Naas are playing in the Kilkenny under 16 hurling league doing quiet well a couple of laois clubs are also playing there as well and a good few Carlow clubs are playing in the junior league. I feel myself people like just to moan about Kilkenny even when we receive a cup we are boring , not excited, etc. A man from Antrim said he had a problem with half gaa in Kilkenny I wonder what he means we particapitate scor, handball, hurling, we play club football we also won the british championship last year.

johnwhite12 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 306 - 15/04/2016 17:30:52    1846003

I suppose what he was saying if it was Kilkenny there would be a lot of whinging about it but as per usual the excuses come out, Damothedub said people in glass houses don't throw stones what are ye doing for other counties in football hurling only grab what ye can for me fein . Naas are playing in the Kilkenny under 16 hurling league doing quiet well a couple of laois clubs are also playing there as well and a good few Carlow clubs are playing in the junior league. I feel myself people like just to moan about Kilkenny even when we receive a cup we are boring , not excited, etc. A man from Antrim said he had a problem with half gaa in Kilkenny I wonder what he means we particapitate scor, handball, hurling, we play club football we also won the british championship last year.

johnwhite12 (Kilkenny) - Posts:175 - 15/04/2016 17:30:52

Bray Emmets play at under age in Dublin league ,if you cant see the Irony in someone from Kilkenny posting about a one code policy well then more fool you, equally if you were on here more often youd see that 99% of my posts would be considered pro Kilkenny re there players , Coady , skill and achievements

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 15/04/2016 17:43:50    1846009