Dublin V Kerry NFL Final

Maybe on reflection Master will regret the terminology, and he should apologise for the silly remarks, but hey leave off the public lynching of him. We all say stupid things at times.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 12/04/2016 20:41:58    1844946

Jesus Christ , who is letting this sort of stuff go up ! Disgraceful.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 12/04/2016 20:45:15    1844948

Hill16no1man
With a population of 1.8 million against 145 thousand
Ye should be out numbering Kerry 12 to 1 at games

RAHKILL (Westmeath) - Posts: 395 - 12/04/2016 21:01:18    1844955

Cue and kk.... Massive respect and love to you both. I am full of pride and admiration for you both. I never had a clue. Hermit, well done on a touch of class buddy. Fair play.Master do the good thing here. Come on. I dont believe u really meant it but an apology would be decent. I would give him the benefit of the doubt lads.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 12/04/2016 21:12:56    1844959

Maybe on reflection Master will regret the terminology, and he should apologise for the silly remarks, but hey leave off the public lynching of him. We all say stupid things at times.
Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts:7802 - 12/04/2016 20:41:58

I would draw a distinction between 'stupid things/ silly remarks" and something that is downright nasty and offensive. This is an internet forum not the "deep south'. A number of people found his remarks offensive. That hardly amounts to a 'public lynching". I really suspect a nasty 'anti-Dublin agenda has been allowed to develop in this forum. It's notable the consistency with which certain posters find themselves continually voicing anti-Dublin sentiments here.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 12/04/2016 21:27:05    1844965

Lads,i never had a problem with master.It was a bad joke.I'm sure he meant no offence.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 12/04/2016 21:33:31    1844967

Avonali i firmly believe 99% of us on here regardless of county are ball hopping at times and nothing more. It used to be worse... MUCH worse. Todays incident was dispicable and it was abhorrent to most if us. And it was allowed.... But.. I dont think master meant it the way it is being interpreted and i do think it was more ignorant and stupid than malicious. I would call on him to put this right and us all to move on.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 12/04/2016 21:45:01    1844972

Leave Master off on this. It was a stupid comment, one born more from a lack of understanding rather than malice I'd suspect.

A lot of people in Ireland see heroin addicts as something 'other'. Like they aren't actually real people. Their lives aren't as important etc. It leads to to those types of comments and also is at the heart of our inability as a nation to tackle the issue. People don't really care enough because they themselves could never be in that position! Or anyone they know could never be in that position!

This attitude often, but not always, changes when they or someone they know is directly affected by this issue.

Some people see addicts and they see something 'other' not human whilst others see brothers, sisters, friends etc. The latter group are more attuned to the issue than the former group which leads to people making comments that can offend, however unintentionally (to give the benefit of the doubt here).

Surprising that Admin let that comment through to be honest but in all likelihood whoever it was, just like Master, doesn't get the issue at all.

This is not in anyway a Dublin/Country thing either. To suggest that is ludicrous. Heroin has affected and continues to affect families from every corner of the island.

Those who have experience and knowledge may not like to joke about it, whereas for some reason those without tend to find it fair game for jokes. Each to their own I suppose.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13711 - 13/04/2016 09:19:18    1844983

I was as much part of the banter as anyone , if I in anyway offended anyone I apologise, I come from an area that has been devastated over the years , quite recently Ive become aware of a very young lad from a great GAA family that has succumbed to the scourge, thus I know in real life away from the keyboard these issues are not to be taken lightly,

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 13/04/2016 09:41:06    1844988

Original Master post deleted lads? I didn't see anything back on the thread. I don't think he would have meant something overly offensive TBH but sometimes there's a fine line between banter and insult.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 13/04/2016 10:01:57    1844995

Avonali i firmly believe 99% of us on here regardless of county are ball hopping at times and nothing more. It used to be worse... MUCH worse. Todays incident was dispicable and it was abhorrent to most if us. And it was allowed.... But.. I dont think master meant it the way it is being interpreted and i do think it was more ignorant and stupid than malicious. I would call on him to put this right and us all to move on.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts:6542 - 12/04/2016 21:45:01 1844

Hi Liam, I remember what it used to be like indeed. I don't post often but I have been in and out of this forum since 2010. I Remember 51Longago tthreatening posters that he would give them a smack in the jaw if he ever met them etc. My only issue with Master is that when I pointed out to him that his comments were wrong I was told not to be so 'precious' and not to 'cry'. I don't think he was prepared to accept his comments were unacceptable. That's why I suspect a degree of malice in his post.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 13/04/2016 10:53:32    1845012

Honestly, I think an apology from Master and this would be forgotten but i do think the man himself needs to address this. If he just walks away in a "feck them" way I think thats the end of him on here for a lot of us.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 13/04/2016 11:15:55    1845026

while I wouldn't condone what master said re: heroin no place on a gaa forum
Somebody's a little tetchy someone rob the cookies from their farm subsidy

that doesn't either to be fair damo,

coopersleftfoot (Kerry) - Posts: 91 - 13/04/2016 11:17:09    1845028

while I wouldn't condone what master said re: heroin no place on a gaa forum
Somebody's a little tetchy someone rob the cookies from their farm subsidy

that doesn't either to be fair damo,

coopersleftfoot (Kerry) - Posts:62 - 13/04/2016 11:17:09 1845028

Ive already appoligised this morning

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 13/04/2016 11:28:26    1845036

ok sorry just read it there :) can we talk about the football now?

coopersleftfoot (Kerry) - Posts: 91 - 13/04/2016 11:35:29    1845046

I would apologise to anyone who were genuinely offended by that comment.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 13/04/2016 11:39:31    1845051

Master
Fair play
Job Done
lets move on lads

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 13/04/2016 11:59:44    1845071

ok sorry just read it there :) can we talk about the football now?

coopersleftfoot (Kerry) - Posts:66 - 13/04/2016 11:35:29

Sounds good to me

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 13/04/2016 12:00:39    1845072

Admins have seen fit to remove the part of my post there where I pointed out that heroin addiction was not the butt of the joke, and the word addict never featured. And also the part about suicide in farming brought about by money worries, which I also acknowledge was not part of the point made.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 13/04/2016 12:06:39    1845079

anyone know who the ref will be ? I hope they aren't as fussy as the last two I saw reffing Kerry games?

coopersleftfoot (Kerry) - Posts: 91 - 13/04/2016 12:08:23    1845082