Dublin V Kerry NFL Final

KY you've won two minors in a row your manager hasn't brought one of these players through that's crazy you have to gamble ffs where is Spillane and them forwards who destroyed teams in '14? Surely the manager can see that he's an aging team that he has to bring the young fellas through? I'm not saying they'll beat Dublin but to not have any of them minors involved is a disgrace.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 25/04/2016 14:11:03    1849171

The quicker you get young lads involved the quicker they get use to inter county football, the longer you keep them away the better for your rivals. Like Kilkenny Mannion McCaffrey were brought in after minor and struggled in the latter stages of the '13 championship but look at how comfortable they are now at 22 years of age.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 25/04/2016 14:18:42    1849184

I said during the week that this was a league final and should be just based on its merits athey are streaks agnd wont have a bearing on the championship.
That would definitely be true if Kerry won but possibly yesterday Dublin showed that they are streaks ahead of the rest.

At the moment Dublin have the best 3 players in the country with Brian Fenton , James Mcarthy and Ciaran Kilkenny with Bernard Brogan not far off. Apart from the Gooch who Kerry didnt utilise enough yesterday we dont have players up to their calibre at the moment.

Dublin's speed, ball retention and strength in the tackle was awesome yesterday. I have to admire Kerry for staying in the game yesterday until Kealy handed Dublin a goal. If it was a boxing match Dublin would have won every round but Kerry stayed on their (well until the last 5 minutes).
I wouldnt be totally depressed about yesterday and the comprehensive loss should be a good eye opener for Fitzmaurice and co.

But we just have to dust ourselves off , possibly shows we need some fresh legs into the panel.

I still wouldnt write Kerry off for the AI but a lot of work is needed.

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 25/04/2016 14:27:41    1849190

Lets keep things in perspective, fair enough Dublin are the best side in the country no denying this, but people saying they can't see anyone beating them is preposterous. Mayo had Dublin beaten in the semi-final last year but didn't have the guile to finish them off. It is only the league and Kerry, Donegal, Mayo etc. will be there to challenge come August and will put it up to Dublin

The_Bull (Cork) - Posts: 248 - 25/04/2016 14:29:10    1849195

Tyrone on the other hand has been where Kerry is now, suffered defeat after defeat but are now on the upward curve to greatness once more, I see Tyrone as being the one team in the country that can stop Dublin this year and I believe we can do it, so does Micky.

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts:1083 - 25/04/2016 13:54:59

There's no team more versed to playing against a blanket defence than Dublin

Our entire League campaign has pretty much been blanket after blanket

Tyrone will offer a slightly different form but there's one thing looking good against Cavan who played right into your system and looking great in Div 2...

To beat Tyrone, you play like them.. don't over commit, be patient, have a system of play that can adapt. Then I'd be confident that Dublin's quality over Tyrone will come to the front.

No doubt Tyrone have improved but it's really just more of the same with lesser players IMO.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 25/04/2016 14:40:22    1849214

Lets keep things in perspective, fair enough Dublin are the best side in the country no denying this, but people saying they can't see anyone beating them is preposterous. Mayo had Dublin beaten in the semi-final last year but didn't have the guile to finish them off. It is only the league and Kerry, Donegal, Mayo etc. will be there to challenge come August and will put it up to Dublin

The_Bull (Cork) - Posts:200 - 25/04/2016 14:29:10

Totally agree.

Sam's not been won just yet!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13711 - 25/04/2016 14:41:01    1849215

I said during the week that this was a league final and should be just based on its merits athey are streaks agnd wont have a bearing on the championship.
That would definitely be true if Kerry won but possibly yesterday Dublin showed that they are streaks ahead of the rest.

At the moment Dublin have the best 3 players in the country with Brian Fenton , James Mcarthy and Ciaran Kilkenny with Bernard Brogan not far off. Apart from the Gooch who Kerry didnt utilise enough yesterday we dont have players up to their calibre at the moment.

Dublin's speed, ball retention and strength in the tackle was awesome yesterday. I have to admire Kerry for staying in the game yesterday until Kealy handed Dublin a goal. If it was a boxing match Dublin would have won every round but Kerry stayed on their (well until the last 5 minutes).
I wouldnt be totally depressed about yesterday and the comprehensive loss should be a good eye opener for Fitzmaurice and co.

But we just have to dust ourselves off , possibly shows we need some fresh legs into the panel.

I still wouldnt write Kerry off for the AI but a lot of work is needed.

woops (Kerry) - Posts:1583 - 25/04/2016 14:27:41

In fairness you can't blame the keeper when your defender is standing waiting for the ball, and then looks over his shoulder as it comes to him. It's not like it was a slow ball or missed him.

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 25/04/2016 14:43:23    1849218

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts:15101 - 25/04/2016 14:40:22

Ah lad you cant be for real, that Dublin are the best team versed in playing against a blanket defense
Let me put it better, Dublin are the best versed team in playing blanket defense football and you have been playing that way since lifting your first Sam after the 14 yr drought or however long that was,

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 25/04/2016 14:50:38    1849226

The_Bull (Cork) - Posts:200 - 25/04/2016 14:29:10

Totally agree.

Sam's not been won just yet!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts:9538 - 25/04/2016 14:41:01 1849215

----

Dublin are rightly favs for Sam

But if we are being objective... there was plenty of positives that Kerry could take from the defeat

They were without key players, players worth easily 5-7 points between them!

They were in the game before the sending off but Dublin were playing well at that time... so if AOM had of styed on I think it could have been a lot closer and certainly we may not have scored the couple of goals

Dublin have plenty to work on but at this stage we are worthy favs...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 25/04/2016 14:53:39    1849230

Always nice to beat to Kerry and enjoying the dominance over our old rival. A word of caution though it's a long way to Sep. dublin are beatable, I'm still not fonfedent in the back line and I think bugger questions will be asked in the summer.

Dublin have the Psychological edge over this Kerry team including the management team, they fear Dublin and it has never been so evident in the way they played yesterday and how they set up.. The players where fearful bar a few, Gooch, Donaghey. But those who stood up clearly got disheartened or frustrated as the game wore on.

One thing that saddened me, was Kerrys style of play, there scored some real lovely long range shooting early doors in the first half, this should have been thre route to hurt Dublin,at that point Dublin were over elaborating and labouring there scores, Kerry keeping it simple.

For me they lost the head and started focussing on being cynical to stop Dublin momentum, fouling in the right areas, breaking up momentum, dragging men behind the ball. They went into let's not get a hiding mode far to early and focussed on stoping Dublin instead of beating them, the fear again. It's versy sad to see a Kerry team with their history play like this. My mind drifted back to the semi final in 2013, when Kerry stood toe to toe with Dublin and almost beat them - in what we have come to know and admire is the Kerry way.

Kerry for me have lost their identity, in trying to beat Dublin, they are terrified of this team and its a psychological battle more then anything.

Like i said this Dublin team is beatable, there are many weak points, you can get at them and Kerry scored some lovely long range scores yesterday, the lost head though through fear and frustration. Long way until Sep though and counties will never get a better chance with Rory and Lack putting there feet up.

On a side note was a bit disappointed Con O Callaghan wasn't about yesterday, the Arsenal Dublin have up front really hadn't gern seen before - but that's not how you beat Dublin, ask the defence different questions then lumping it up to O Shea, Donahey or Murphy.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 25/04/2016 15:12:12    1849250

Fair post Woops

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 25/04/2016 15:12:40    1849252

Thought Dublin made some awful mistakes yesterday. They surrendered quite a number of turnovers and took wrong options.
But Kerry were quite poor. No incisive movement up front. Can't recall a single shot on goal.
I absolutely hate it when fans start oleing at every pass. We will regret that - maybe not this year but there will come a time when another team will put us to the sword and the whole country will gleefully watch when somebody does the same to us. pride before the fall and all that.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 25/04/2016 15:50:29    1849279

We will regret that - maybe not this year but there will come a time when another team will put us to the sword and the whole country will gleefully watch when somebody does the same to us. pride before the fall and all that.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts:263 - 25/04/2016 15:50:29

Hate that too. Same with the whistling from the Hill to put opposition free-takers off. They only look like fools when they score.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 25/04/2016 15:54:00    1849281

Yes me too. But avonli regardless of whether we olé or boo or whatever; when the Dubs fall on their collective swords the whole country will rejoice anyway so i say let us immerse ourselves in all of the joy that winning brings cos it wont last forever.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 25/04/2016 16:03:22    1849288

Very good post woops

Listen.. it was a bad day at the office

The end score line does not come near to telling the true story

Once again - despite being on top as per the 2015 final

Dublin failed to put their performance and reflect themselves being on top where it matters

I think there's a lot to be taken from the Kerry performance and if you had JOD playing you could have been ahead at the 50 min mark

There's other ways to look at it but the sensationalist and easy story is this.. DUBLIN ARE ALL POWERFUL thing.

Which is nonsense... we're currently ahead of the rest but it's damn close... and all you have to do is look at some of Dublin's results during this league campaign.

There is def a lot of sensationalist stuff being banded about...

I would still be worried about possibly playing Kerry later in the year - and there is no way that challenge will be take lightly.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 25/04/2016 16:20:54    1849311

From a neutral perspective I thought it was a poor game of football. Dublin dominated, made a lot of mistakes, and managed to win easily. Kerry badly need some fresh blood in the team. Thought it a bit rich complaining about Donaghy's treatment, he gets away with plenty himself. O'Mahony of late is getting involved in a lot of off the ball stuff that he wasn't doing a few years ago or at least he wasn't getting caught out for. Has always been an aggressive player who played on the edge, but appears to be going over the edge every so often of late. Dublin would probably have won the game anyway, but once Kerry went a man down, it was curtains.

moylagh (Meath) - Posts: 484 - 25/04/2016 16:23:05    1849314

Enjoyable game for late April with Dublin cementing their credentials as the best team in the country.

Other wannabee contenders can now be in no doubt as to what they are up against but it is the strength of Dublin's bench that sets them apart.

Are they unbeatable? Of course not. But they are the best and it is going to be some performance that takes them.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 25/04/2016 19:23:56    1849434

The game did have a lot of handling errors but tackling was fierce enough..

On a positive note, I thought there was some excellent fielding out there yesterday. Great skills by the likes Flynn, Fenton and Moran plucking it out of the air old style. Such a great spectacle but for those watching on TV , it is annoying that TG4 /RTE forsake live footage of the kick outs to show replays or even worse, images of the managers doing nothing in particular. Should be new rule for the championship - replays only when the game is fully stopped :) Bring on the summer.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 25/04/2016 19:47:47    1849446

Its gas here how people change their view so easily. About 3 weeks ago i posted an opinion saying no team can live with dublin in FULL FLOW ( although not in full flow yesterday )..i also said kerry where overrated in my eyes with to many hasbeens living off past glory the likes of o mahoney and o shea etc..even donaghy.i was surprised to be labelled nothing more than a troll by my own people.dublin people who leapt to the defence of their kerry posting friends..these dubs even doubted i was a real dublin poster..why ..for saying that kerry arent all their made out to be..its funny now that these turncoats are the very ones now saying the same thing..1 knowledgeable dub even claimed plenty of kerry players would make the dublin team..i claimed only J.O.D would but would have to fight for a place..i knew the dubs would beat kerry yesterday and beat them well..but anyway the point of the story is just because you have over 3000 posts to your name..doesnt give you the god given right to be labelling newbie posters trolls for voicing an opinion..and these 2 dublin no 1 fans know who they are..

GGdub (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 25/04/2016 20:59:47    1849487

I apologise for calling you a troll, I think your just a mouth.
Enjoy this Dublin team, ye don't have try and rub people's noses in it.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 25/04/2016 21:31:39    1849504