Dublin V Kerry NFL Final

Its fact, also players get a free car , so please what other county footballer gets them advantages?

5/6 players get a free car. Of a panel of how many? Just like Aidan O'Sé and some of his team mates in Mayo and numerous other inter county players around the country. (All you need to do is follow them on Twitter or Instagram and see their photos of the nice shiny cars they've been given by their local garages)

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 25/04/2016 10:48:01    1848963

@ Croigorm Have you nothing better to do besides being on the Kerry forum all the time? You do know that there is a Dublin forum on here as well?

aidan64 (Kerry) - Posts:356 - 25/04/2016 10:12:05

Hahaha All the time? Really?? I think i've posted a grand total of 2-3 comments on the Kerry forum.

But to answer your question, Dublin have just beaten Kerry in the league final and like many Dublin posters I was curious to read the reaction from the Kerry fans. didn't realise there was a rule against that!

Oh and yeah, well aware there's a Dublin Forum but thanks for the heads up!

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 25/04/2016 10:52:03    1848968

Royaldunne, tell us more about these full time coaches in every club

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts:118 - 25/04/2016 10:45:52

RD Spouting BS , I was a coach Im a Dad , my son is currently coached by a mate a Dad a carpenter at Under 16 level , my older son is coached by a barman at minor neither of these well intentioned lads have coaching badges , there is not one single solitary full time coach in our club which has boys and girls ages 8 years to minor and 5 adult teams .
WE DO HAVE a GPO does RD ACTUALLY KNOW THE DIFFERENCE , he works in the schools half his wages paid by county board half we have to raise every year , One GPO for over 180 kids , he is forbidden to coach our adult teams , debate on here would actually be worthwhile if fellas could educate themselves, if someone comes on here and says we have no GPOs fair point , but this full time coaches shi7 has to stop

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 25/04/2016 11:00:20    1848982

Dublin improving by the game, what other county could loose two top defenders and simply slot in another two. If Kerry are second best then pity the rest of us. The chasing pack have reached a certain level, good enough to be there or thereabouts in years gone by, but Dublin simply raising bar with each game. Pity the ref trying to keep up with their pace

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2145 - 25/04/2016 11:05:40    1848988

Time & tide wait for no man and unfortunately the tide has gone out and the time is up for a few Kerry greats. Time for EF to start replacing and rebuilding this team. Marc Ó Sé is now miles off the pace and though Brogan is no spring chicken himself he left Ó Sé for dead yesterday, O'Mahoney & Star also running out of pace and ideas. Gooch just about able to live with game due to his extraordinary skill and positioning. Sheehan only there for the frees at this stage.
A big shake up needed even if it means we drop down the pecking order for a year or two. Great former minors and All Ireland Colleges winners waiting in the long grass for a call up to the panel & they should be given a chance before they get fed up waiting and move on.

Dublin so far ahead of us yesterday that it was genuinely frightening especially with what they brought off the bench.

dingle2 (Kerry) - Posts: 278 - 25/04/2016 11:38:08    1849016

Crpigorman. Not one Meath player has a free car, btw last count was 15/16 dubs had FREE cars.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/04/2016 11:39:46    1849018

Royaldunne, tell us more about these full time coaches in every club

I'd love to know too because my club doesn't have one!

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 25/04/2016 11:41:47    1849019

I haven't posted very much over the last few weeks... was flying busy with work etc., etc.

But I also didn't post because I wanted to avoid the silliness from certain posters in the build up

I wanted to come on and say Dublin by +6

But I didn't want o be accused of being arrogant or cocky or blah, blah, blah...!!

Kerry without JOD thinking they were going to beat Dublin just didn't add up - the fella is worth 3-5 points against Dublin and is capable of setting up another 2 or 3

This Kerry team cannot afford injuries to key men and their reputation is far greater than their actual talent pool at present

Kerry did well yesterday, and really they have had to turn into a defence first and counter team to compete with Dublin

Man on man - Dublin would over run that current Kerry defence, and create a lot of goal opportunities and EF knows it well.

But despite Kerry's defensive system, several players just aren't up to scratch anymore... you Kerry lads know who they are...

I didn't think it was an 11 point game maybe 6-7 points would be more realistic in my view

But losing a man shouldn't mean getting so over run. Dublin have been down to 14 plenty of times over the last 5 years, and have won or drawn games while being down to 14. In fact - we almost played better. So really if you're good enough, you can absorb the loss and counter it and not collapse like Kerry did..

The problem was Kerry were out on their feet over that time, knackered. The energy spent trying to STOP Dublin took its toll. Kerry also don't have the panel to match Dublin, and Dublin can send on a host of lads that could easily start to finish off tired legs.

So in conclusion, neither team were at their best and I'd expect Kerry to be far closer if the time comes,

But IMO Kerry really showed their hand yesterday, they aren't good enough to setup any other way against Dublin. So expect more of the same, except they'll have more of a scoring threat if JOD comes back in good form, which I'm sure he will. Kerry under EF have accepted that they have to go defensive and that's not going to change.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 25/04/2016 11:42:11    1849020

Croigorm, Dublin have full time coaching staff in every club, true how is that exaggeration??

It's an exaggeration because it's not true. Actually it's not even an exaggeration, it's a false statement... end of.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 25/04/2016 11:43:12    1849023

Crpigorman. Not one Meath player has a free car, btw last count was 15/16 dubs had FREE cars.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts:8698 - 25/04/2016 11:39:46

You asked me what other county players could say the same, I answered with a few examples. You were making out only Dublin players get benefits from playing with their counties. Not my fault Meath players don't get looked after, I'm sure there's plenty of local businesses that could sort the lads out.. they clearly don't want to. That's Meath's problem, not Dublin's.

As for you comment about 15/16 Dublin players having free cars, since you've counted 'last count was 15/16 dubs had FREE cars' (would love to know how/when you did this count?!) please name the 15/16 players. And we're talking about Footballers here so don't try throw in the hurlers.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 25/04/2016 11:47:23    1849030

Watching the Dubs yesterday I was wondering what players around the country would add value to the team. Lee Keegan in the half back line, Conor Mcmanus in the half forward line and maybe Gooch in the corner. A midfielder maybe, but apart from that.... If Kerry are the second best team in the country(and there's no reason to think otherwise) what chance have the rest of us got. Kerry can match the Dubs for skill and technique but the frightening thing about Dublin is the pace they have everywhere. Then, when some of them are beginning to tire, the subs coming in are just as lethal. Dublin have six or seven subs who would walk on any team in the country. Are we looking at a similar scenario to hurling where one team becomes completely dominant over a decade? I loved watching hurling when you had true competition between the likes of Tipp, Cork, Kilkenny and Wexford but in later years it has become so predictable that I don't even watch the final anymore. I don't want to sound alarmist but with the countryside being denuded of people and the population in Dublin increasing the future seems entirely blue. Now I know that Dublin people are delighted with the way things stand, and who could blame them, but I'd hate to think that the only reason to watch an All Ireland final is to see how much Dublin win by. Dublin have a lot of advantages, such as huge population, Croke Park on their doorstep and lucrative sponsorship and none of that is going to change anytime soon. I'm not blaming Dublin for any of that as you take any advantage you get and a lot of effort has gone into getting them to where they are. You have to admire the Dubs in full flow and in my opinion they are in the top three teams I have seen over the past fifty years. I thought watching Kerry in the seventies and eighties that they would never lose an All Ireland but as back then maybe this too will pass. I just would't bet on it...

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 25/04/2016 12:59:42    1849100

Dublin have full time coaches
Dublin players get free cars
Dublin get this, Dublin get that

whinge, whinge whinge

Not many counties are stepping up to the new level Dublin are setting. Some counties are to varying degrees, but not all.
The structures in clubs and counties around the country need to improve if they want to compete, the same as always.

Does your club have a clear structure and development plan for underage footballers, what skills should be embedded in players at what age?
Does this fit into an overall county plan.
Do senior club teams have a consistent and high fitness and skills standard embedded in all their players so the county setup can focus on getting the best players in the county working together as a effective unit rather than basics like left-hand passing or fitness?

Whether your county players get free cars or not has little impact on above.

BlastCalyle (Mayo) - Posts: 206 - 25/04/2016 13:17:49    1849124

Chill out man it's not even a year ago when mayo had us in serious bother in both semi finals we got out of jail , Mayo are the second best team in Ireland by the way and will be in this years final and anything can happen on the day, when Donaghy says "Joe brolly what do you think of that" that's when he should of walk away cause it was never going to get any better for him and the older Kerry players than that, read my posts the last two years I've consistently said Kerry were too old to challenge this Dublin team and now I read everyone posting after yesterday saying what I've been saying the last two years ha , Marc o se is the best corner back to ever play the game but he's finished O Mahoney sent off now in two Dublin games , what's Donaghy's story running around hitting everyone and not touching the ball? Gooch scored a great point and he's the greatest forward I've ever seen but his legs are gone , Brian Sheehan was never good enough only for his frees Donacha Walsh average player who works hard for the team , Darren O Sullivan good player who still has his pace but apart from Jod whose a class act but he's out now 6 months so he'll need time to get going Kerry are nowhere near the level of this current Dublin team. It's no Shame we were nowhere near the 00's Kerry team who were unbelievable side and now it's just reversed its our time now and we got an unbelievable team with pace to burn that only mayo can maybe match us this summer. Crying about the ref when the whole country can see who the way better team was is just embarrassing.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 25/04/2016 13:25:12    1849136

Backed Dublin -10 myself...

Its like printing money at this stage. Only 80 quid back but still, The easiest 80 quid ill make in a long time.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 25/04/2016 13:26:18    1849137

read my posts the last two years I've consistently said Kerry were too old to challenge this Dublin team and now I read everyone posting after yesterday saying what I've been saying the last two years ha

Congratulations dude :)

We are not worthy of your analysis on here.

A big bula bus and a tap on the back for you, sir!!

:D

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 25/04/2016 13:34:33    1849144

Backed Dublin -10 myself...

Its like printing money at this stage. Only 80 quid back but still, The easiest 80 quid ill make in a long time.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts:11022 - 25/04/2016 13:26:18 1

You stay classy waynol

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 25/04/2016 13:41:24    1849148

Like I said to you during the week Kerry's success is cyclical in that we dont have waves and waves of talent at the required level ready to come in and replace our older players.

It's a Catch 22 situation, we have too many older players involved currently but if you throw in the talented 19/20 year olds and they ship a hammering you risk damaging them psychologically and losing them before they even have a chance to develop and mature.

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 25/04/2016 13:41:36    1849149

Great achievement to win four-in-a-row.To beat Kerry in the final was extra special.I thought we played average for first 20 minutes.The Kerry back-line were fighting like tigers and our inside-line was struggling to make any inroads.Connolly was woeful,and was lucky to come out for the second half.I don't think hes been great for a good while now,but yesterday,bar his solitary point,he wasn't at the races.We played some nice football from 20-35 minute and Bernard scored three excellent points.C Kilkenny was immense;quickly becoming my favourite player along with J McCarthy.His workrate is phenomenal,he is great at winning dirty ball,his tackling is top class,and he chips in with 2-3 points per game.A real warrior.
Although Dublin dominated possession for large parts of the second half,we failed to show that on the scoreboard,going 15-20 minutes without a score,with many attacks breaking down with poor loss of possession.I was a bit edgy to be only two points in front with 20 minutes to go,but as soon as the referee brandished the red card the game was over ; it was only a matter of time before Dublin picked a few holes in Kerry's tiring back-line,and we took some lovely points,sugar-coated by our two late goals.
Although it looks great to win by 11 points,i wasn't as confident as most on here that the game was in the bag after 50 minutes.I still thought we'd win as couldn't really see where Kerry would get the required scores from but a two point lead was scant reward for our domination and i feared we may come to regret some of our spurned chances.
I wouldn't be as dismissive of Kerry's chances if we were to meet later on in year.Yes,we have the edge at present,and a better,stronger panel of players,but firm favourites and top teams can have off-days,and with the return of J O Donoghue to the full-forward line,Kerry will fancy doing what they have failed to do in four games against Dublin - score goals.
Proud day to be a Dub,great group of men,led by a quiet assassin who continue to perform to a sustained level of expertise.The sky is the limit for the sky blues.Back-to-back All Ireland's is most certainly on,and it would take a brave man to back against it,but Sam was never handed out in April and there will be a few pitfalls to overcome before that dream becomes a reality.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 25/04/2016 13:46:21    1849152

dingle2 (Kerry) - Posts:129 - 25/04/2016 11:38:08
I agree with dingle2 here on a very honest post regarding the age of some of the Kerry greats. Time does not wait for no man, look at our great Tyrone team from the noughties and the beatings they received in their twilight years. This Kerry team is similar to that Tyrone team were too many players continued to compete when they were passed their physical best. Its just a natural, its the circle of life, unless you are continuously churning out world beaters then its inevitable that miles in the legs and past battles take their toll on a counties best players.

Tyrone on the other hand has been where Kerry is now, suffered defeat after defeat but are now on the upward curve to greatness once more, I see Tyrone as being the one team in the country that can stop Dublin this year and I believe we can do it, so does Micky.

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 25/04/2016 13:54:59    1849159

Catch 22

What is more amazing is that Kerry felt they were hard done by the ref . You couldnt make this stuff up .

They're obsessed with refereeing decisions .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts:1167 - 25/04/2016 09:49:47 18

It is a bit unsavoury of some of the Kerry lads to try the oul it was the ref angle. It tends to be the default position when you are bet with some quarters alright. Now , Kinsella is not a good referee but to suggest he favoured Dublin is asking a bit much.
Don't see Kerry winning AI with this particular set up and new blood is essential if they are to regroup in the next year or two.
EF doesn't seem to be able to move forward and is keeping faith with the older lads still. Time for some of them to do the right thing and call it day.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 25/04/2016 14:05:21    1849165