If Kerry were to meet Dublin in league final...

Hermit - funny Donegal on HS have had to put up with much worse .

Also you playing the poor man victim - your comments can be as nasty and disparaging as anyone else's .

It's difficult to have proper football discussion on here .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 06/04/2016 09:31:38    1842414

you know when kerry are rattled when they start defending their titles when there was no cars on the road at the time. Roscommon dublin final would be a great affair.

heresam (Dublin) - Posts: 156 - 06/04/2016 09:32:35    1842416

You start off your post with 'calm down to feck' and then go off on that rant. I think it's yourself that needs to calm down TheHermit.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 06/04/2016 09:44:13    1842420

Calm down Hermit let your team do the talking we certainly attend to let ours......

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 06/04/2016 09:53:35    1842424

hermit

kilkenny posters were never on here and the usual 4 kerry posters continue to post their self proclamation of past glorys

if dublin just played hurling and effectively banned football as is the case in kilkenny youd have lots of kilkenny supporters on here moaning on the financial input to dublin, their facilities, how money ensures dublin remian dominant blah blah blah

there is not a whimper about kilkenny and their dominance and the lack of football focus.

heresam (Dublin) - Posts: 156 - 06/04/2016 09:55:35    1842425

The Hermit - post after post of bitter rants ,then to be excused as only "calling out the Anti-Kerry Brigade" whenever he is pulled on it.
By the way, in my opinion if comparisons between Kilkenny and any football team are to be made at present I would think that Dublin would be more fitting. Yet the board is full of Dublin posters so I'm not sure that point stands up, it's not as if the Dubs or their posters never come in for stick.
I would put the lack of Kilkenny posters down to the lack of any real debate on hurling on here, Hoganstand has definitely become a football dominated forum over the past number of years.

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 06/04/2016 10:21:31    1842443

Any chance we can talk about what the title suggests?

surfdude62 (Kerry) - Posts: 46 - 06/04/2016 10:42:26    1842455

Like fans of all of the less successful counties, actually getting to play in Croke park is in itself kind of mini achievement for Roscommon The other three semi finalists this year are well acquainted with the hallowed turf and would probably have no great issues with playing games somewhere else but as the saying goes "whats seldom is wonderful;". That is not to say that we will not be competitive....WE WILL! but there is no denying that there is a sort of novelty or road trip element to the day for us which I personally would take great exception to being deprived of. I'm pretty sure fans of at least 24 other counties would agree in this.

Anyway......nobody in Roscommon wants to spend any more time talking about venues following the debacle of last weekend!!!! It must be a first to play all seven league games in seven different grounds?????

Finally, surely nobody has forgotten the consternation when our neighbors and rivals had to play an all Ireland semi final replay in Limerick?
I'm not jumping on the bash the Dubs bandwagon but it has to be an advantage to any team that is used to the pitch and surroundings of Croker on big match day so any opportunity to gain experience there should be utilised to the fullest.

xile (Roscommon) - Posts: 9 - 06/04/2016 10:43:58    1842457

totally agree Xile, for teams like Cavan and Roscommon it will be a deserved reward for a successful spring I for one am looking forward to seeing both teams in croker over the next few weeks a breath of fresh air in a very stale room ye have been!

coopersleftfoot (Kerry) - Posts: 91 - 06/04/2016 11:11:51    1842475

Ah lever outt The Hermit one of the good guys he means no badness he just loves his county and telling us all how great they are.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 06/04/2016 11:28:27    1842491

Garymc along with a few other Ulster and some Dublin posters on here are well know members of the Anti-Kerry Brigade at this stage.
They use any topic on here to get their dig in at us. I just think its all a bit pathetic so why not call him out on it.
Nothing to do with getting my underwear noted, its more showing them up for what they really are, sad and bitter.
Garymc: 'I can't remember the last time they beat Dublin in the Championship or even the National League come to think of it'
Do you seriously think that is a genuine comment? It's just a petty little remark to have a go at Kerry.
Am I the only one who has noticed that topics on this forum have been reduced to nothing more than some combination of the following:

a) Ulster v the Rest

b) we hate Kerry

c) Self praise for Dublin

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts:1235 - 05/04/2016 20:54:42

My comment clearly referred to the title of the thread, and questioned whether Kerry could really be considered genuine rivals of Dublin, when they seem incapable of actually beating Dublin in this decade.

As for Ulster v the rest, I don't concur with that at all. Yes some Ulster posters ( Mainly Antrim ones), tend to highlight certain things they deem to be biased against the Ulster Counties ( Sometimes rightly, sometimes wrongly), but it is clearly not a general by Ulster people on all matters. There is a lot of rivalry within Ulster, it's not one big unified province with fans all on the one page with one voice and one view on things.

As for "We hate Kerry", nobody hates Kerry, be it the county or the footballers. I think the real problem is that certain Kerry fans like yourself, dislike the notion that Kerry are not Dublin's sole main rivals in this era. In this decade, Kerry, Donegal and Mayo have all pretty much been constants with Dublin when all things are balanced out. And at full strength, I think there is little between these sides. Likewise it irritated Kerry fans in the noughties when they couldn't beat Tyrone, and only won All Ireland's when Tyrone were knocked out by somebody else. It's an ego thing, where you hate that people don't bow down to your reputation and don't think Kerry are the best.

As for "Self praise for Dublin", I have witnessed praise from all corners of the country including my own for this Dublin side. They are a phenomenal outfit, and have been the team of the decade so far. I have to say that the vast majority of Dublin fans have been dignified and respectful despite having good reason to gloat. I mean when you beat everybody in the land, It kinda gets hard to not praise your own team.

You complain about the topics on HS, but to me the topics generally reflect what's going on in GAA circles at the minute. Yes we always have the more oddball threads, but it add variety.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 06/04/2016 11:32:36    1842495

Gary its hard to take you seriously on this thread when you suggest Dublin players probably don't view Kerry as a threat. Yes Kerry have not beaten Dublin this decade in the championship (only Cork, Meath, Mayo and Donegal have - one from each province!) but of the last 3 All-Irelands Dublin have 2 and Kerry 1. Its hard to believe you cant remember Kerry demolishing Dublin in Croke Park in 2009 which was a real lesson for that Dublin panel and lead to some serious changes (similar to their defeat to Donegal in 2014), 5 or 6 on duty that day for Dublin will be lining out again later this summer. And Kerry also beat Dublin in Croke Park in 2012 in the league, 9 or 10 of the Dubs playing that day will be playing later in the year. Are you suggesting that because Meath and Cork have beaten Dublin in the championship more recently than Kerry that the Dublin players see these counties as a bigger threat this year?

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 06/04/2016 12:21:01    1842528

there is not a whimper about kilkenny and their dominance and the lack of football focus.

Its quite simple Kilkenny has a very modest population (95k) and hasn't received such large financial injections over a 10 year period. What Cody has achieved over the last 15 years is truly remarkable

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 06/04/2016 12:41:19    1842546

Come out of the past Soma, whilst I agree Dublin surely see Kerry as a threat, 2009 has no bearing on what would happen between these teams now. Kerry wining the 2014 championship is relevant but not what happened 7 years ago. Do you think what happened in the 08 final had any relevance to the semi between Tyrone & Kerry last year. Not a bit.

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 06/04/2016 12:43:58    1842549

I've made my point and to be honest it's something I wanted to get off my chest for a while as to the way the main forum is going.

I doubt I'm the only one who feels that way.

I saw the same thing happen to the An Fear Rua site and it was subsequently closed down by its owner, which was sad. I'm sure I'm not the only veteran of that site that went to here.

Maybe I don't have as tick a hide as I should sometimes, but I've no problem giving and taking slagging esp with some of the main Dublin posters who I generally have a lot of time for, with the odd exception.

My problem is with posters who aren't here for a bit a slagging, but use any topic remotely related to who they want to have a dig at, as a platform to get in their bitter little kicks at other supporters/counties expense. And I think my county in particular comes in for a ridiculous amount of it, why is that I wonder????

Just look at the ten topics or so created by a few scuffles at a recent League game on this forum. Why? Mostly to have another dig at Kerry by the usual suspects. The same hypocrites who would pretend that sort of thing never goes on when their own crowd play!

I make no bones about wearing the Green and Gold on here, and why can't I try and bring some balance to the nasty stuff often talked about Kerry by the usual cohort?

Someone above also accused me of hypocrisy and of making comments 'as nasty and disparaging as anyone else', well then show me where I do. It's an easy thing to say. (By the way, in my understand of internet etiquette I thought it was obvious a smiley or winky face meant you were taking the p#ss. Obviously not on here.)

Someone above said sure a lot of posters from other counties also have to put up with this stuff, my question is why let them away with it? Whey not just call them out and tell them they are spouting rubbish?!!!

Anyway that's all I wanted to say on the matter. I do think that the genuine posters on here would share a lot of the concerns I raised about this site in general and what it is being permitted to become. At least I hope they do.

I think that is an issue that needs to be talked about.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 06/04/2016 13:02:10    1842567

Calm down to feck:

a) It was a joke (remember them Dubh-linn: P.S. we have 37 Senior Titles don't forget it)

b) Garymc along with a few other Ulster and some Dublin posters on here are well know members of the Anti-Kerry Brigade at this stage.

They use any topic on here to get their dig in at us. I just think its all a bit pathetic so why not call him out on it.

Nothing to do with getting my underwear noted, its more showing them up for what they really are, sad and bitter.

Ah, the old Iwas only joking angle when pulled up.
Doesn't much read like the tone of a man who's joking in fairness. Didn't even bother to use your usual ;) when trying to convey humour.
i have seen your attempts at comedy and frankly find them laughable. ;-) See , just for you.

It was a general observation to be frank and you just seem to always have the hump with someone. Get over it man.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 06/04/2016 13:04:14    1842570

I think you are right Benched, 2009 hasn't a huge amount of relevance at all but its also hard to believe someone could honestly say they cant remember the last time Kerry beat Dublin in the championship when it was one of the most memorable games played in Croke Park this century. It would be like someone claiming they cant remember when Tyrone last beat Kerry in the championship. Dublin have won the last 3 championship meetings between the sides but as your own county knows only too well, Kerry generally find a way to beat every county eventually.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 06/04/2016 13:17:38    1842576

The Hermit come on man you's might get a bit of stick but nothing near what we get every day of the week On here.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 06/04/2016 13:20:27    1842579

Dubh_linn you can probably guess you are one of the 'odd exception' of Dublin posters I refer to above. I really have nothing more to say to you.

clondalkindub, yes Dublin get fair abuse on here these days, it is just systematic of something deep in the Irish mentality: begrudgery towards anyone and anything successful or that's seen as thinking its above their station. That's also why Kerry get it in the neck, CONSTANTLY on here and that is why I'm exasperated at this point.

You can't say anything about Kerry without this pity s*hite being posted ad naseum. I just think it has gotten to a stage where the entire site is suffering.

If anyone things I'm over-reacting than simply look back at the amount of topics started once anything of note happens in a Kerry match and contrast them to the amount of topics discussing, Cork, Mayo, Dublin, Donegal etc after any similar incidents in similar games. Look at the posters who start those trends and look at what's being posted: the same rubbish designed to dance on our grave when we lose and belittle us with talk of 'handy' All Irelands, 'soft referring' , 'cynical Kerry' when we win.

Why shouldn't someone tell them to go f*ck themselves? They know full well what they are doing.

And in fairness to you Clondalkin we don't agree with each other an awful lot on here but at least you are (hopefully like me) consistent in your views.

Anyway I've made my point, hopefully most see where I am coming from.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 06/04/2016 13:38:54    1842591

Hermit - and what of the abuse of Donegal and Tyrone on here ?

I was on your forum to have a proper football discussion after we met and all I noticed was ' those Donegal lads came to bully us ' crap .

And Clondalkin is consistent in what ? Give us examples please or stop kissing the guys ****.

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 06/04/2016 13:55:11    1842600