If Kerry were to meet Dublin in league final...

Now first off, I am well aware that Donegal and Roscommon are both more than capable of beating either team, so this is not arrogance, purely hypothetical.

Back in 1993, Dublin met Donegal in the league final. 80,000 plus crammed into Croker that day for a replay of the 92 AI final. We were hell bent on revenge, the city was a caudron of atmosphere, and we got that revenge. And it was sweet. It was championship-esque.

If it was to come to pass that Dublin and Kerry were to meet in this years final, could we witness something similar, or are those old romantic days just simply in the past and does the league just not matter that much anymore? In a strange way, the league is now almost a better competition. It would be sad state of affairs if that is the final but its played in a half empty Croker.

And if it was to happen, and Kerry were to beat us, in Croker, in front of a huge crowd, could that be relevant for the summer ahead?

ps- if it was a Kerry Dubs final, wouldnt it be a mighty chance to play it in Limerick, fill the place and make a real event out of it?

Of course, this could all be completely irrelevant if as is entirely possible, Donegal, Roscommon or both defeat either of the big boys ;)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 05/04/2016 14:42:49    1842144

I doubt there was 80,000 in Croker in 1993 as it didn't hold 80,000 in 1993!!

I hope it's Donegal v Roscommon though!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13724 - 05/04/2016 15:06:25    1842164

Mes Amis, never had u for a pedantic pat!!!!

After a bit of research i discovered there was an almost full house of 60,000 at the replay!
Still mighty impressive and the point still stands.......

Pedantic Pat!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 05/04/2016 15:11:36    1842171

No chance will it be in Limerick or anywhere else. Not only will it be a double header with the Division 2 final but the GAA are also holding their National 1916 Commemoration on the same day and are looking for every club in Ireland to send representatives.
So Liam, I doubt you will have to hop on the bus and fork out the €10 to get you from Limerick back up to Dublin for the occasion.

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 05/04/2016 15:51:22    1842195

A league win is no revenge for an All Ireland loss
Liam

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 05/04/2016 16:04:27    1842205

Ah sure tis only the league but if the two teams do get to the final im sure there will be old scores to settle.

We will probably be leading by 15 points..McMenamen will come on and get 5 goals in last 10 minutes and cluxton will slot over the winner from 60 yards with the aid of a slight breeze.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 05/04/2016 16:45:32    1842222

no i think we will be winning by 15 points , macker will come on and score 5 goals to lead by 30 points and as cluxton isnt playing savage wont bother taking the free as hell be talking with the umpires on the show after the game.
kerry will run over to donaghy at the final whistle and give him a hug and discuss his unfortunate dismissal after mouthing off to 50,000 people in the stands for 5 minutes and 43 seconds

heresam (Dublin) - Posts: 156 - 05/04/2016 16:55:17    1842227

Is the thread just asking would Dublin v Kerry be played in Limerick if both side reach the League final?
Or is it a spot of romanticism spawned from day dreaming of an era long gone, an era when Kerry and Dublin dominated Gaelic football and beat each other in key battles.

The only team with a score to settle these days is Kerry, I can't remember the last time they beat Dublin in the Championship or even the National League come to think of it. From a competitive perspective, I'd say a good few Dublin players probably don't recall losing to Kerry at senior level, and possibly don't mentally recognise Kerry as a genuine rival or threat, more of a top side who they beat all the time.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 05/04/2016 17:30:15    1842244

Might get 40K (35K Dubs, 4K neutrals and 1K from Kerry), we have the measure of Kerry so less tension and Kerry are worse than fair weather supporters.

Think it would be a great final, no pressure on either side but with Kerry trying to get the losing streak of S-Final/Final losses to Dublin out of the way.

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 05/04/2016 17:32:08    1842249

Might get 40K (35K Dubs, 4K neutrals and 1K from Kerry), we have the measure of Kerry so less tension and Kerry are worse than fair weather supporters.

Think it would be a great final, no pressure on either side but with Kerry trying to get the losing streak of S-Final/Final losses to Dublin out of the way.

witnof (Dublin) - Posts:912 - 05/04/2016 17:32:08 18

Personally I would like to see a Dublin v Roscommon game at Croke Park, get a chance to see the Rossies playing a full strength Dublin on a good surface and the marvellous surrounding of Croke Park. It would be a fresh encounter, and I think it would be a fitting end to what has been a superb league campaign for newly promoted Roscommon and would draw a lot of neutral interest too.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 05/04/2016 18:20:40    1842271

They are without doubt the two top sides in the country at the moment .

They should just play their All- Ireland semi final now .

I think Kerry have closed the gap on Dublin overall although we won't really know until they meet .

I think there will be a big kick in Mayo and ourselves in the summer but both will fall short .

And I don't think losing a league final makes up for a All- Ireland loss - no way actually .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 05/04/2016 18:31:51    1842273

Might get 40K (35K Dubs, 4K neutrals and 1K from Kerry), we have the measure of Kerry so less tension and Kerry are worse than fair weather supporters

If we get 35k Dubs then I'm sure we will have a lot more than 40k there. Cavan are sure to bring a decent crowd given that it is their first national final in a good while, and Tyrone usually travel in numbers too, that and the fact that the GAA's 1916 celebration is on that day too will hopefully push the crowd over 60k. I know I will go whether Dublin qualify or not.

AHP (Dublin) - Posts: 323 - 05/04/2016 18:41:35    1842276

You must have the memory of a goldfish Gary: its probably not the only thing you have in common with one in the brain department ;)

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 05/04/2016 19:17:44    1842292

To be honest Liam, whoever wins the league will have their bit of silverware but really no irrelevance to the championship.
In my opinion the 7 group games are the ones to play to sort out your team.
The semi and final are bonus games.
No doubt Kerry will be going out to win it, but if Dublin win I doubt that would be any hindrance to any Kerry player if we played Dublin in the championship in the summer. Also vice versa.

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 05/04/2016 19:27:12    1842295

You must have the memory of a goldfish Gary: its probably not the only thing you have in common with one in the brain department ;)

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts:1233 - 05/04/2016 19:17:44

Settle down Kermit, Just because Kerry made a fortune from butter and failte Ireland investment, and won 20 or so All Ireland's before most counties started playing the sport, ye think you rule the world. Them two "pot hole" fillers ye sent up to Dail Eireann are giving you all sorts of dreams of grandeur. That butter advert a few years back stated that in Kerry "A dolphin is a man's best friend", which probably has more sinister undertone now that your describing the anatomy of a goldfish as if you have intimate knowledge.

In all seriousness now, I don't recall Kerry beating Dublin in Championship this decade, yet some comments suggest Kerry are Dublin's main rival's.
Mayo and Donegal have actually managed to beat Dublin (the most dominant and consistent team this decade0 in the All Ireland Series ( Where it counts ), which probably makes them a more genuine threat in Dublin's eyes.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 05/04/2016 19:48:43    1842303

Withnof

If ye had to travel 10 hour round trips for multiple games a year ye'd bring very little support ( despite having 10 times our population) we dont have the benefit of having every game on our doorstep. Also football didnt begin in 2011 despite what you may think

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 05/04/2016 19:51:28    1842307

Jaysus Hermit but you're a sour oul hoor no doubt who seems always to be just waiting to be insulted. For a man who comes from where I'm sure you would be only too happy to tell anyone who will listen is the home of so many AI titles and has so many fine players and should be more confident you genuinely come across as a very insecure fella. Ye get a slagging but you well know yeer not the only ones so do yourself a favour and don't be getting your knickers in a twist at the drop of a hat. Jaysus ,it's only April ,what'll you be like in a few months time. You'll eat a crate of Valium before the year is out.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 05/04/2016 20:12:33    1842324

Kermit lol

KerryKillers (Dublin) - Posts: 711 - 05/04/2016 20:24:26    1842326

Calm down to feck:

a) It was a joke (remember them Dubh-linn: P.S. we have 37 Senior Titles don't forget it)

b) Garymc along with a few other Ulster and some Dublin posters on here are well know members of the Anti-Kerry Brigade at this stage.

They use any topic on here to get their dig in at us. I just think its all a bit pathetic so why not call him out on it.

Nothing to do with getting my underwear noted, its more showing them up for what they really are, sad and bitter.

Garymc: 'I can't remember the last time they beat Dublin in the Championship or even the National League come to think of it'

Do you seriously think that is a genuine comment? It's just a petty little remark to have a go at Kerry.

Worse the people who run this site are content to let stuff like this get through.

This place is going down the toilet. It isn't a forum for debate and argument anymore, its just a school yard. The administrators won't stop it, but will probably stop this being posted.

Am I the only one who has noticed that topics on this forum have been reduced to nothing more than some combination of the following:

a) Ulster v the Rest

b) we hate Kerry

c) Self praise for Dublin

Most Kerry posters have long become sick of the main forum and don't even bother posting on here anymore.

Have you also not noticed that Kilkenny posters are never on here either? Coincidence?

So look if the rest of ye are happy with what the place is becoming then good luck to ye.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 05/04/2016 20:54:42    1842345

Don't lose sight of the fact that it is a double header and also there is a 1916 commemoration afterwards. From a Cavan perspective, many in the county are on a high and I think that we will bring reasonably big numbers but maybe not as big as people expect - we have a total population of 70,000 so if we get 10% - 15% of that we'd be doing well. But I really hope that the Dubs are there and maybe Rosommon too as they will bring big support.

Sure the Kerry lads wouldn't be booking any trips to the big schmoke before August/September time. Isn't that right lads?

Reformation (Cavan) - Posts: 356 - 06/04/2016 09:00:59    1842406