Football League Semi Finals

Hermit, does it take long to get Kerry 'tuned in'? Can it be done before the game. It would be interesting to watch.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 05/04/2016 14:46:23    1842149

We will see if Pingcitys claims that the rossies have better footballers then us comes true on Sunday.

They have beaten us once so would not totally write them off. If they can get Donie Shine and a few others back to full fitness for the summer then they could cause an upset or two and maybe reach the quarter finals.

The other semi final will also be interesting to see if Donegal line out similiar to their league meeting with the dubs..surely they wont be as negative again.

From a Kerry point of view if we do get through to the final on Sunday I think the Dubs would be the preferred option in the final..bit of preparation for our potential meeting later in the summer would be a nice end to the league campaign.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 05/04/2016 14:54:20    1842154

Have a look at what roscommon did and try and play football donegal may learn some self respect and honour

heresam (Dublin) - Posts:80 - 05/04/2016 13:57:11 1

Aw here. Questioning the self respect and honour of guys who have trained like dogs for the past 5 years to deliver success to a football mad county?
Lousy enough that.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 05/04/2016 15:03:42    1842158

You get out a remote control and go to menu and press auto tune its that simple or you do what the dubs do and lose no league or championship match in approaching 16 months
He are a mile off take it from me and you might just see Sunday ye are in a pack trying to hold onto there coat tails same as everyone else

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 05/04/2016 15:08:26    1842169

Self respect and honour?

You're some craic, I assume you're trying to be funny..?!

These men brought honour with an All Ireland and Ulster titles. As for playing football, you've a short memory of the last time our counties met in championship. There was serious football played that day by Donegal.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 05/04/2016 15:35:21    1842188

it must be hard even for a diehard donegal fan to defend whats said here, the laughable thing is the innoncence of the manager believeing that its better to play a high profile match and lose by a few than try and win the game.
Have a look at what roscommon did and try and play football donegal may learn some self respect and honour

heresam (Dublin) - Posts:80 - 05/04/2016 13:57:11 1842107

Self respect &, honour indeed!!!
Donegal will give it their best shot this weekend but they will do it their way & with their own priorities to the fore.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 05/04/2016 15:35:41    1842189

Front up Ohtobearossi, what county person are you. Since you refer to Roscommon followers as 'ye', you can't surely be a Roscommon poster. Are you a Kerry man masquerading as a Rossies?

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 05/04/2016 16:04:52    1842207

It will be gratifying to see the responses of the Roscommon posters when the Kingdom show them how a pedigree football team play, one who has a tradition of success, the hubris by them is laughable and re: the Dubs, they are the best team in the country at this moment in time but Kerry are Kerry and we will see how that will pan out, Prediction - A Dublin, Kerry final.

mlcollins (Kerry) - Posts: 440 - 05/04/2016 17:47:39    1842254

Mlcollins it's Arrogance like that is why people don't like Kerry. Statements like that will get you no fans. Nobody from Roscommon has said we will beat Ye this weekend but Kerry people like yourself think it's your God given right to beat us. We will see Sunday as soon as our team is announced I'll give a prediction. If we select full strength side with our u21s starting we will push Kerry close

Pingcity (Longford) - Posts: 568 - 05/04/2016 18:05:40    1842260

Agree with the Donegal lads here regarding self respect and honour. Donegal have been a terrific team (talented bunch) over the past number of years and have won titles with fairly limited resources but a well defined and executed game plan. There is no questioning their honour and self-respect. Their work ethic is phenomenal and while I don't like that style of football, there is no question that they have some seriously talented players in that squad, underutilised in my opinion but great footballers all the same. Truth be known I would be more wary of facing Donegal or Mayo than any other counties at this point.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 05/04/2016 18:35:23    1842275

Don't think there is any reason to doubt Donegal teams respect and honour.I doubt that is the opinion of too many Dubs supporters.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 05/04/2016 19:00:01    1842282

it must be hard even for a diehard donegal fan to defend whats said here, the laughable thing is the innoncence of the manager believeing that its better to play a high profile match and lose by a few than try and win the game.

heresam (Dublin) - Posts:81 - 05/04/2016 13:57:11 1

Try playing in a provincial championship where other teams can actually beat you, where you have to peak in late May or early June, otherwise your in the Qualifiers. To highlight the difference, tough Championship games in Ulster commence approx 6-8 weeks after the National League final. While it will be probably 16-19 weeks afterwards before Dublin face their first stiff Championship test.

So you cannot compare like for like, Dublin will have a good few soft provincial games to try tactics and try some fringe players before you finally meet a real challenge in the All Ireland Quarter final or maybe Semi final. Only then in mid-August do you need to know your absolute best starting 15, and who can cut the mustard. So the National League has little or no bearing on Championship for Dublin, other than ear-marking the fringe players who will be given time in Leinster.

The likes of Dublin and even Kerry can ramp up their training in the league, lower it for recuperation and ramp back up again for difficult part of Championship. Teams like Donegal and Monaghan are already gearing their training ramp up towards May/June, and simply cannot afford to focus on the league in the same way as Dublin or Kerry.

Championship is what your ultimately judged on within the GAA, Championship matters.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 05/04/2016 19:26:28    1842294

Agree with the Donegal lads here regarding self respect and honour. Donegal have been a terrific team (talented bunch) over the past number of years and have won titles with fairly limited resources but a well defined and executed game plan. There is no questioning their honour and self-respect. Their work ethic is phenomenal and while I don't like that style of football, there is no question that they have some seriously talented players in that squad, underutilised in my opinion but great footballers all the same. Truth be known I would be more wary of facing Donegal or Mayo than any other counties at this point.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts:2612 - 05/04/2016 18:35:23 1

I think Mayo are going to come good this year, they look to have found a new quality corner forward Evan Regan, which they badly needed. And I think they are a team to watch.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 05/04/2016 19:57:56    1842313

I think Mayo are going to come good this year, they look to have found a new quality corner forward Evan Regan, which they badly needed. And I think they are a team to watch.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts:2236 - 05/04/2016 19:57:56 1842313

I hope you are right but the same thing has been said for the last few years and we don't seem to be any nearer. The majority of this team have been on the go since 2011 and some of them are starting to pick up an injury or two. We are still very dependent on Cillian O Connor, Aidan O Shea and one or two others staying injury free. We are a bit like Donegal in that we are a match for most with a full team but will struggle with a few injuries. Dublin and Kerry seem to have equally good players to come in to cover any injuries. Harrison and Nally have been given some game time in the League which will give us options in defence and Regan has being showing a little bit of form in attack but it's too early to say if he'll be effective come Championship. It's too early to judge the new management as they stated early on that survival in Division One was they aim and that at least was achieved. I think a lot will depend on whether or not they can keep Aidan O Shea at full forward and vary the way the ball is played into him. Keith Higgins started one game at centre forward, before getting injured, but hopefully that is something they might persist with. On our day we are capable of beating anybody but whether or not we have enough of those days is debatable.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 05/04/2016 20:43:22    1842336

Here's my two pennies worth on the semi-finals;

Dublin-Donegal:
I think this will be a cagey affair again. Both teams will play their cards close to their chest
If Donegal can afford to keep Michael Murphy on the edge of the square I would give them a real chance as he is just a brilliant player.
But the trouble will be that Murphy will be required to put out fires further out the field and will play into Dublins hands.
I'd expect Dublin to pull through with maybe 3-4 points to spare.

Roscommon-Kerry:
Roscommon have been a breath of fresh air and I really like Mcstay. Always thought he spoke a lot of sense as a pundit and is obviously well respected as a coach.
It would be great if the Rossies could push Mayo hard this year in Connacht championship as it would be beneficial to both counties going further in the latter stages of the championship
I think it will be a close run thing and pretty open but I would expect the experience of Kerry playing in Croke Park will give them a slight advantage over the Rossies so a 2-3 point win for the kingdom.

surfdude62 (Kerry) - Posts: 46 - 06/04/2016 11:00:04    1842465

looking forward to both these games at the weekend(yes both) I know I am in a minority but id rather watch Dublin struggle for 50 mins in a dour match with Donegal than hammer someone by 15 points, I think serfdude has it right re murphy as a 2 man inside line of him and mcbrearty would test a relatively small Dublin fullback line as for the other game I hope its a dry day and open football the rossies have brightened up the division this year, next year will be interesting with tyrone and cavan also

coopersleftfoot (Kerry) - Posts: 91 - 06/04/2016 11:43:49    1842499

looking forward to both these games at the weekend(yes both) I know I am in a minority but id rather watch Dublin struggle for 50 mins in a dour match with Donegal than hammer someone by 15 points, I think serfdude has it right re murphy as a 2 man inside line of him and mcbrearty would test a relatively small Dublin fullback line as for the other game I hope its a dry day and open football the rossies have brightened up the division this year, next year will be interesting with tyrone and cavan also

coopersleftfoot (Kerry) - Posts:6 - 06/04/2016 11:43:49

Unfortunately the forecast is for cloud and showers on Sunday I think.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 06/04/2016 12:07:03    1842519

pity , was thinking about going on the hill for the craic on sunday might go stand now :(

coopersleftfoot (Kerry) - Posts: 91 - 06/04/2016 12:11:35    1842523

Roscommon Kerry should be a great game with two sides who are not afraid to play open attacking football. Neither is there any big history behind them to cloud things.

Dublin Donegal on the other hand will be a much more dour affair with Donegal nowhere near the condition they need to be in to take on the Dubs ala 2014. I can only see more of the same as we saw a couple of weeks ago & if Donegal can improve their discipline this could be a tight one.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 06/04/2016 12:36:22    1842538

I can not see Donegal putting any effort into Sunday's game and I would imagine already they are focused on the Ulster Championship. Kerry v Roscommon should be a good game but it does look like a Kerry V Dublin final.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 06/04/2016 13:27:19    1842585