Football League Semi Finals

it is rumoured that the GAA will show Top Gun during the donegal match in case fans nod off asleep. They decided to show this retro film to reminise when donegal last played real football.
The dublin county board are fighting this decision as they would prefer netflick where they can watch only fools and horses so that donegal players wont know when the fans are laughin at their style of play and not at trigger forgetting his sambos

heresam (Dublin) - Posts:79 - 05/04/2016 09:03:55

Funny, I heard they were going to play the 2014 All Ireland Semi Final as that example, as it doubles as a lesson to Dub fans in not getting too cocky.

Al_Maguire (Donegal) - Posts: 246 - 05/04/2016 10:28:17    1841946

If you thought that was anywhere near our first 15 against mayor Kerry lad your raving believe it or not well have a lot of big physical lads and ul more than likely see them Sunday and scratch your head
Dubs wether they were 6 or 7 of there championship team starting and another 4 or so brought on to close it off we're awsome at times and not wonder they don't bother with challenge matches the a v b game must be spectacular shows as Gavin points out himself
He are a absolute mile off dubs as was shown last year and so is everyone else

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 05/04/2016 10:30:13    1841948

If you thought that was anywhere near our first 15 against mayo Kerry lad your raving believe it or not we have a lot of big physical lads and ul more than likely see them Sunday and scratch your head
Dubs wether they were 6 or 7 of there championship team starting and another 4 or so brought on to close it off we're awsome at times and no wonder they don't bother with challenge matches the a v b game must be spectacular shows as Gavin points out himself
Ye are a absolute mile off dubs as was shown last year and so is everyone else

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 05/04/2016 10:31:31    1841951

Think Roscommon will put up a good performance on Sunday, sure they're in bonus territory and after beating us already they'll have nothing to lose.

But I think if Kerry are properly tuned in we should win, overall we have the better players and a better bench and a lot of momentum going into Sunday.

Dublin the best team at the minute, but Kerry are closing on them fast and we are certainly not miles off anyone ...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 05/04/2016 10:43:41    1841957

it is rumoured that the GAA will show Top Gun during the donegal match in case fans nod off asleep. They decided to show this retro film to reminise when donegal last played real football.
The dublin county board are fighting this decision as they would prefer netflick where they can watch only fools and horses so that donegal players wont know when the fans are laughin at their style of play and not at trigger forgetting his sambos

heresam (Dublin) - Posts:79 - 05/04/2016 09:03:55

Funny, I heard they were showing the 2014 All Ireland semi final - as it also doubles a lesson to the Dubs in getting too cocky.

Al_Maguire (Donegal) - Posts:38 - 05/04/2016 10:06:44

Excellent stuff Al_Maguire lol....

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 05/04/2016 10:45:51    1841959

It's Dublin and Kerry for me next Sunday.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1751 - 05/04/2016 10:52:27    1841965

Be intersting to see the crowds for this apart from kerry there should be decent support there...

Dubs 20,000 ..Rossies 7,000 donegal 4000 ..Kerry 1000 ...neutrals 3000 so be up around the 35,000 -40,000 mark I reckon!

BigJohn.6_8 (Galway) - Posts: 704 - 05/04/2016 11:08:15    1841972

Will posters give over about not wanting to win your in a semi final this might be the only cup you's win this year so please stop with the rubbish all 4 counties are in it to win it now.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 05/04/2016 11:28:51    1841989

Much and all as I would like to see Donegal playing open expansive football the weekend in an attempt to win the league I don't see it happening for the following reasons.
1. Donegal couldn't care less about the league. Never have, never will. The Ulster championship & it's severe demands are the only game in town.
2. Many of Donegal senior players are only getting into heavy training now having been rested for the Spring. Big players like Duran, Neil McGee, Lacey, McGlynn, Gallagher & McFadden have seen very little action & are not much fit on anywhere near it.
3. If Donegal go toe to toe with Dublin the will get tanked so they will keep faith with the system they k ow &, trust & which was working quite well until Murphy got sent off.

What I hope to see an improvement in is in their discipline. We are seeing too many cards, annoying too many refs &, doing too much mouthing both on the field &, on the sideline.
Sort that out &, I will be happy enough.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 05/04/2016 11:32:25    1841994

where do people get these numbers from. Just pluck them from mid air ?

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 05/04/2016 11:35:43    1841998

Will posters give over about not wanting to win your in a semi final this might be the only cup you's win this year so please stop with the rubbish all 4 counties are in it to win it now.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts:7288 - 05/04/2016 11:28:51 1841989

Nobody is saying they don't want to win their semi final, just that some are not that bothered.
Winning an Ulster championship is far more important & preparations for that take precedent.
This has been explained ad nauseum & yet some people still have difficulty with it.
Baffling.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 05/04/2016 12:18:09    1842037

Agree with yew_tree, the teams that finishes top of the table should be champions.

KerryKillers (Dublin) - Posts: 711 - 05/04/2016 12:41:36    1842053

Ah I don't know, the whole semi final thing is a bit silly, not as silly as the likes of Offaly playing Kilkenny in the hurling Q-finals mind.

But what's the harm in have a league final. Its a bit of excitement to wet the appetite for the Championship.

Sure its common practice in rugby union - Pro 12, Aviva Prem, Top 14

Just cause soccer doesn't do it doesn't mean we have to follow suit.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 05/04/2016 12:46:53    1842060

I love pingcity spin....he claims Roscommon werent even trying or couldn't give a hoot against Mayo or Dublin....ha...is it possible the teams Roscommon beat earlier this year couldn't have given a hoot either? You can't have it both ways but it is very easy to paint a picture to suit yourself.

Roscommon are not as good as their early season form but not as bad as their first half showing against us....somewhere in between....maybe.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11239 - 05/04/2016 13:04:57    1842076

No harm in having a final as it's not a "proper"league anyway in comparison to leagues all over the world.By that i mean a proper league would have seven home and away matches in all four divisions.As we have it some counties have more home games than others.This is not fair across the board.
Like a lot of posters i love the league
So many games to look forward to each week and to be fair to RTE they do a great job on Sunday Sport radio - four full hours of GAA coverage.Last Sunday was very exciting.It reminded me a wee bit of the final days soccer across the water.Promotion and relegation were in doubt for quite a few teams right up to the death.RTE even mistakenly said Monaghan were relegated on scoring difference.Great craic indeed.
What i would like is each division to play 14 games,home and away.Get rid of O Byrne & McKenna Cups etc and lets have a more all round,equitable league.No need for finals in HQ as like all leagues everywhere the league table doesn't lie.Heres hoping.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 05/04/2016 13:21:30    1842084

We all love Gaelic football yet were moaning cause there putting on two extra games, some lads will never be happy.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 05/04/2016 13:39:42    1842090

Much and all as I would like to see Donegal playing open expansive football the weekend in an attempt to win the league I don't see it happening for the following reasons.
1. Donegal couldn't care less about the league. Never have, never will. The Ulster championship & it's severe demands are the only game in town.
2. Many of Donegal senior players are only getting into heavy training now having been rested for the Spring. Big players like Duran, Neil McGee, Lacey, McGlynn, Gallagher & McFadden have seen very little action & are not much fit on anywhere near it.
3. If Donegal go toe to toe with Dublin the will get tanked so they will keep faith with the system they k ow &, trust & which was working quite well until Murphy got sent off.

What I hope to see an improvement in is in their discipline. We are seeing too many cards, annoying too many refs &, doing too much mouthing both on the field &, on the sideline.
Sort that out &, I will be happy enough.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts:3864 - 05/04/2016 11:32:25 1841994

it must be hard even for a diehard donegal fan to defend whats said here, the laughable thing is the innoncence of the manager believeing that its better to play a high profile match and lose by a few than try and win the game.
Have a look at what roscommon did and try and play football donegal may learn some self respect and honour

heresam (Dublin) - Posts: 156 - 05/04/2016 13:57:11    1842107

It's a silly set up and no 2 ways about it. There are enough games palyed to determine the champions without more money making with the semis and final carry on.
Just bring the championship forward a bit and play games every fortnight and end it sooner and never mind all this lark.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 05/04/2016 13:59:29    1842108

The league is what you make of it. For seasoned teams like Kerry and Dublin it may not mean much, although Dublin have romped to the last few titles. For up and coming teams like Roscommon and Cavan though, a league title would be a nice little validation that their hard work is bearing fruit. They can then use that as a springboard to win further silverware.

On the high stool I have often lamented the fact that Jim McGuinness never got the chance to take us over back in 2007 when we won our one and only Div 1 league title. Then, he would have had boys like Durcan, the McGees, Lacey, Kav, big Neil, McFadden, Toye in their mid twenties. Who knows what he could have done with them?

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 05/04/2016 14:02:38    1842111

Have a look at what roscommon did and try and play football donegal may learn some self respect and honour

Methinks that whole self respect and honour thing is a tad overrated. At least Donegal have an All Ireland under their belts. Personally I'd give up a bit of the old self respect and even a touch of the honour if it meant we could win one. How would you go about it exactly?

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 05/04/2016 14:35:02    1842136