Roscommon v Dublin game moved

ROS1, the smallest crowd Dublin has attracted in the league this year so farwas 20k. The Donegal game. I'd say had it not been Easter weekend there'd have been more at it. Parnell Park has a capacity of less than 9k. There are 7k Dublin season ticket holders. Add to that the Parnell Pass holders and you're coming close to 8k. Parnell Park is NOT big enough to host a home league game. Well not if fans from the opposition county would like to attend.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 04/04/2016 21:59:32    1841865

Well fair play for getting up for the 8am train. You will get lie ins for the rest of the year bar that huge voyage to Kilkenny you are taking on. Obviously you haven't found that bridge you need to get over yet!

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 04/04/2016 21:59:50    1841866

Croi would agree it makes sense but my point was it is a but much for supporters off a county who have been unable to host there own county team for years to stick the boot into us for been unable to hold one game. Joxer your post is complete fanasty ros have not spent anything like the figures you suggested where do you think we would get the money were not Dublin, the bus is leased and costs a fraction of 250k and saved money. There was traffic problems in Carrick but it's off the wall to suggust there was 12 km tailback or anyone missed the match as a result

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 05/04/2016 08:09:28    1841868

Bottom line is we will travel 10 hours to a game it's no bother, just there was anger on the day as to how it was handled. Now most Dublin supporters feel there is too much being made of it and just to let it go.
We still had the Craic on Sunday.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 05/04/2016 08:10:24    1841869

Well fair play for getting up for the 8am train. You will get lie ins for the rest of the year bar that huge voyage to Kilkenny you are taking on. Obviously you haven't found that bridge you need to get over yet!

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts:73 - 04/04/2016 21:59:50

As will you with your huge voyages up to Croke Park all the way from that far far away land of Kildare.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 05/04/2016 08:44:01    1841879

They're still on the 9 o clock news tonight whinging..unbelievable. Just shows how da pampered react when they're inconvenienced -suck it up.
Dubs have their pitch upkeep paid for by central gaa funds sur they live n croker park these days.

blacknamber (Kerry) - Posts:199 - 04/04/2016 21:40:44

I'm sure you weren't one of those Kerry fans whinging when the replay was moved to Limerick. Course you weren't....

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 05/04/2016 08:47:03    1841881

ros1 the last time dublin played in croke park was last weekend against limerick on saturday night, i was there, there was even toilets and a real shop.
we play hurling as well unlike roscommon, it probably wasnt mentioned in the roscommon times

heresam (Dublin) - Posts: 156 - 05/04/2016 08:56:58    1841889

kildare73 if we dubs had a lie in, yawned stretched and went back to bed its quite probable kildre still couldnt score on a pitch with no opposition on it, just sayin...

heresam (Dublin) - Posts: 156 - 05/04/2016 09:00:48    1841891

If I have a problem with any GAA followers it's the ones who only go to games from the AI 1/4 finals onwards and never attend their clubs games etc. The true fans from every county are all really part of the same GAA family and we all have the same hopes, goals and gripes. The people who were treated so shabbily in the Hyde debacle are genuine, die-hard GAA followers. Anyone scoffing because those fans had to be up early to catch a train at 8.00am or indeed at the ones who traveled down the previous day need to take a long hard look at themselves. If I had been treated in the same manner I'd be ****ing fuming. Every dog in the street down here in the West knew all week that the game could not take place at the Hyde and any of this nonsense that it was playable on the previous day is pure ****. Apparently the game against Mayo the previous week had an inspection at 1.00pm and was passed. Two and a half hours later it was a lake. The downpour we had all day on the Friday before the Dublin game with the forecast for another deluge on Saturday night should have made the it a simple decision to switch venues. If folk want to vent their spleen then do so at Gaa officials not at the genuine victims in all this who are working men and women with a deep-rooted love of our games.

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 651 - 05/04/2016 09:49:49    1841912

Would completely agree atha, heresam we are the current Nicky rackard champions which we did without the massive money pumped into Dublin hurling. Athleague is never unpayable where we have our home games but like Parnell park is 2 small to hold the county footballers

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 05/04/2016 10:28:08    1841945

Well it sure seemed to be a great adventure all the same a bit like travelling to Mongolia in the 19th century but sure its all part of the craic.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4898 - 05/04/2016 10:32:58    1841952

Hindsight is a great thing.The director general of the GAA has exonerated Roscommon.He should know.

worple (Roscommon) - Posts: 340 - 05/04/2016 12:36:16    1842047

Arock thats a bit harsh on Angola.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 05/04/2016 13:30:29    1842088

I've seen it all now. A Dub complaining of tailbacks ......... in Leitrim!!!!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 05/04/2016 14:23:19    1842125

cuederocket. I knew an Ann Gola once and a grand girl she was. Always thought she was from down Belmullet direction mind. Although now that you mention it she might have been Mongolian!!!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 05/04/2016 15:04:14    1842159

Ponga agree with your point about travelling to League but one of the issues you have is that Club League matches are played the same day so many people can't travel or choose to support the club

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 05/04/2016 17:34:37    1842250

I understand that Witnof and had to make that choice myself on occasions but what I have a beef with is those whose interest in Gaa matters only starts at the latter end of the AI series.

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 651 - 05/04/2016 17:44:35    1842252

Imagine you are a fan and go to all league and championship games and don't get a final ticket.

2013 Dublin vs Mayo

Dubs outnumbered!

How many fans attended the Connaught final that year? ;-)

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 05/04/2016 18:09:45    1842261

I'm in Roscommon. Came on the train this morning. So no i cant drive like you so righteously put it. I can only imagine the whinging Mayo would do in the same circumstances.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 12/04/2016 11:22:30    1844582

I'm in Roscommon. Came on the train this morning. So no i cant drive like you so righteously put it. I can only imagine the whinging Mayo would do in the same circumstances.
Jackeen

Funny you mention that.
Our game against London is a complete sham. It was getting moved, then it wasn't, then we cant buy tickets but tickets are seemingly going to appear on the day so fly over anyway and book accommodation in one of the most expensive cities in the world... It is clear that London are trying to milk this for all it is worth and are planning on packing as many into the ground as they will get away with, so they don't really know who will get in or not. However, there is no 9 page thread complaining about that or whinging about getting money back... Should we bill London gaa for the price of the hotel and the flight maybe? Your view is laughably myopic.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 12/04/2016 11:50:07    1844610