Roscommon v Dublin game moved

Jesus if this happened to any other team bar Dublin it wouldn't even register as a drama. It was handled sloppily by the powers that be in Roscommon fair enough, but it's not the first time it's happened and it won't be the last unfortunately. And no, nobody should have been charged but take comfortable my Dubs friends............you only have one more away game for the rest of the year! The rest of us around the country have plenty of travelling left. So maybe accept it was a one off mess up and move on.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 04/04/2016 10:36:38    1841363

Maybe some of the sneering Mayo fans should be sent down to Limerick again. I dont remember them complaining at all about having to go there.

RoyalBadger (Meath) - Posts: 571 - 04/04/2016 10:48:35    1841379

The rest of us around the country have plenty of travelling left.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts:66 - 04/04/2016 10:36:38

Plenty of travelling?? Kildare? High hopes for yourselves in the Championship have you?!?!

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 04/04/2016 10:58:39    1841392

Yeah actually I do, we are consistent quarter finalists so that takes a few games to get to no matter what your root is and plenty of travelling. But you don't hear us whinging about it!

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 04/04/2016 11:28:16    1841429

Ah come on if your from Kildare (especially north Kildare) you can't complain about travelling to Croke Park, it's closer to you's than ballbriggan is so give over.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 04/04/2016 11:40:51    1841440

Ah would ye stop. Leixlip is closer to Croke Park than it is to Newbridge. Sure why would you be whinging. I've been to Down, Mayo, Leitrim this year with the Dubs and will be in Kilkenny for the championship. You'll only hear us moaning if that game is moved to Thurles at 9am on the morning of the match and we are charged an extra 10 euro for the privilege of attending there.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 04/04/2016 14:17:21    1841574

A) I'm from south Kildare B) Where did I say I was complaining about travelling to Croke Park? I wasn't actually complaining about travelling at all, I was merely pointing out we have done a fair bit of it over the years as have every other county but we seem to do it pretty much drama free. If you read the posts it's the Dubs doing the complaining!

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 04/04/2016 14:18:32    1841575

So now this is a thread where people complain about who complains the most. A worthy endeavour.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7369 - 04/04/2016 14:33:20    1841580

No complaints about travelling and well you know that kildare73. The notice both sets of fans were given was disrespectful but sure Roscommon made a few bob out of us as did Carrick as did the opportunistic bus companies plus we won so I'm hapot enough!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 04/04/2016 14:41:27    1841587

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts:69 - 04/04/2016 10:36:38 1841363

Its about standards , and when there not good enough it shouldn't matter which county is involved ,

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 04/04/2016 15:11:23    1841608

http://m.hoganstand.com/Home/Details/253106?county=National

Hard to argue with an articulate argument like that eh? I have got onto friends in Summerhill bus depot and have arranged a free bus up to Croker, with beer and food provided too and sure jump on the Luas as you don't get many tickets checkers on them and take a spin up and down for the craic.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 04/04/2016 15:26:52    1841627

Five state of the art pitches opened in Abbotstown today and no pitch in Roscommon - says it all I think. Who do you think will get use of the pitches in abbotstown, any ideas? The team with the strongest revenue in the country getting pitches laid on for them while around the country numerous counties have no decent pitch!
Would agree that an announcement should have been made sooner re the game at the weekend but think it was good the dubs saw how the other half live beyond the M50. Roscommon seem to have prioritised player development over pitch development and fair dues to them - if you ain't got the cash for everything you got to cut your cloth to measure.

blacknamber (Kerry) - Posts: 267 - 04/04/2016 15:48:21    1841638

Who do you think will get use of the pitches in abbotstown, any ideas?

Any GAA team/county that wishes to use them, I'd imagine?

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 04/04/2016 16:00:58    1841646

Who do you think will get use of the pitches in abbotstown, any ideas? The team with the strongest revenue in the country getting pitches laid on for them while around the country numerous counties have no decent pitch!

Change the bloody record!

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 04/04/2016 16:09:38    1841653

I couldnt give a toss about abbotstown, my club has never played there. I do know that dublin played in carrick on shannon which was playable, i do know roscommon decided not to invest in a new pitch until after the championship this year rather than last year. I do know that without dublin kerry would be tier 1 team right now rather than a tier 2 and i do know that sourness drives contempt.

heresam (Dublin) - Posts: 156 - 04/04/2016 16:10:06    1841655

i dont think anyone in dublin cares where we travel or when we travel or if we travel.

heresam (Dublin) - Posts: 156 - 04/04/2016 16:12:14    1841658

i dont think anyone in dublin cares where we travel or when we travel or if we travel. We will probbaly win right now regardless. I don know thta without dublin and their traveling fans many counties would be like kildare, swimming in the dark ages with a chip on their shoulder and a sheep under thier arm

heresam (Dublin) - Posts: 156 - 04/04/2016 16:13:24    1841659

Interesting that the dubs fans shown by rte were after paying a Dublin bus company 10, while the buses put on by roscommon county board were free. On a side note the reason the Hyde is in the state it is was due to legal difficulties which are now sorted and the pitch will be sorted

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 04/04/2016 16:34:43    1841670

Will be unstoppable now with these new pitches, when everyone else is training on pitches will be training on NEW pitches.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 04/04/2016 16:42:25    1841676

Interesting that the dubs fans shown by rte were after paying a Dublin bus company 10

Nowhere has it been said that it was a Dublin bus company. Roscommon GAA said the buses they put on were free doesn't mean another local company didn't make themselves a few bob by milking the situation. Can't imagine Dublin fans would have arrived in Roscommon, realised they were stranded and arranged for a bus to come from Dublin to pick them up. If they'd always been on a coach from Dublin from the beginning they wouldn't have been asking to reimbursed as they'd have been paying the money regardless.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 04/04/2016 16:51:55    1841684