Roscommon v Dublin game moved

Bryanadams is that your second or third such post trying to get Dublin fans to react angrily.

Great game in Navan yesterday btw, Kildare were supposed to mug our 21's. "Clear favourites"

Trotting about.... 7 points up, and guess what, Kildare fans do what they always do........start getting complacent. Start trying to troll the Dublin fans.

One Dublin fan turned when Dublin were 7 points down and said "Haven't you lads seen enough false dawns - pipe down!"

7 points down to win a Leinster title. We are a hardy bunch Bryanadams ........ No lack of guts in our county. We don't get our joys out of others misfortune. Hopefully that 21s team Kildare progress to the senior ranks because they are a good side. Hopefully it will stop lads like yourself sniping at others. Very childish.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 03/04/2016 20:13:29    1841122

If this fella is a real dub im from mayo

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 03/04/2016 20:14:27    1841123

Typical amateur night crap again..i hope for our championship outing the half a brains in the gaa and these 1 horse towns can actually organise it..a lot of dubs fans miffed off today and rightly so. Yis cry all year about getting us our of croker,at least try and give us more notice next time ye cancel, and organize reputable transport thats not out to rip off fans..a laughing stock ..

GGdub (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 03/04/2016 20:15:27    1841124

Unfortunate set of events for the Roscommon County Board. They should have done better in fairness and called the game off from the Hyde last night.

From a GAA point of view it's unfortunate too. After a big weekend of football and hurling this will probably be one of the bigger stories reported on to keep the negative coverage going!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 03/04/2016 20:18:45    1841130

Not too sure why the affairs of Div 1 football would be of such intetest to a Kildare fan with their team being two tiers below and all of that.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 03/04/2016 20:22:49    1841132

pingcity

Dont be sorry.

Not your fault in fairness.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 03/04/2016 20:29:44    1841143

I was told on Friday that the Leitrim were playing on Saturday so as to free up Leitrim officials , stewards etc for the game on Sunday

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1676 - 03/04/2016 20:45:03    1841176

Pingcity the only thing you need to be sorry for is thinking Roscommon have better players than Donegal, Mayo and Kerry.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11237 - 03/04/2016 20:47:32    1841182

I was told on Friday that the Leitrim were playing on Saturday so as to free up Leitrim officials , stewards etc for the game on Sunday

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts:1276 - 03/04/2016 20:45:03
Roscommon officials were used today at match so that ones out.
And there was only 19 paying customers at leitrim match Saturday so wouldn't think it took much stewardship.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 03/04/2016 21:07:30    1841207

Sorry to hear about dubs that's get caught with switching of venue, I drove down so no hassle and thanks to Carrick on Shannon for putting the game on on late notice , great battle and great to see EOG and Mannion back , Mannion is huge now he had a great battle with the Roscommon full back Collins and it was a enjoyable game tru out in bad conditions , I thought Mchugh did well also Kev Mac and Deano up front and kev o Brien and Fitzsimon's a lot of Roscommon players did well but don't really know there names yet but my one moan is the black card again not one of them 3 black cards were the right call what are refs at with this rule ?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 03/04/2016 21:09:37    1841211

Pingcity,if your really sorry,will you cover the cost of the "complimentary" bus?500 smackaroos should cover a nice portion of it.You can give the sheckles to myself and i'll reimburse my fellow capital lads and lassies?I promise i will(:

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 03/04/2016 21:11:39    1841219

Now ye know what the rest of us are going through when every Government spends millions on infrastructure in Dublin and the rest of us have to live on scraps. It was a complete mess up by the GAA. We have been calling for proper public transport, proper trains and connecting lines, proper roads for years and nobody listening, if there was a connecting rail line between Athlone and Longford it would have been simple enough for Dublin and south Roscommon supporters to get from Roscommon town to Carrick on Shannon

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 03/04/2016 21:22:43    1841237

Dubh-Linn

He's no Dub.

Never mind that dopes message back to you

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts:15075 - 03/04/2016 20:10:00

Yeh jimbo,
Think he's probably best ignored and is well and truly rumbled. Sad case indeed.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 03/04/2016 21:22:51    1841238

Shocking way to treat paying customers. There was never any chance that place was going to be fit for football this weekend. The water table is that high in Roscommon that it will be the first place to disappear when the ice caps melt.

Daith (Kildare) - Posts:991 - 03/04/2016 16:59:47 1840904

When are these ice caps melting again?

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 03/04/2016 21:25:16    1841240

Cuederrocket I would love to be able to reimburse you and Dublin fans but unfortunately I spend enough commuting to Dublin for work 5 days a week. But if our county board have anything about them they should try reimburse any dublin fan that had to fork out the €10 today. I don't know how this could be done but some attempt needs to be made to sort out this embarrassment

Pingcity (Longford) - Posts: 568 - 03/04/2016 21:37:47    1841250

There's nothing wrong with the roads Riverboys. This is a simple case of responsible people sticking a ruler into the ponds on the Hyde Park pitch to measure the water depth before calling for a ground switch. This should have been done on Friday but I'm sure Roscommon town businesses wouldn't have been too happy moving the Dubs' money to Carrick, if you see what I am saying. So the best solution for them was to call it off on Sunday morning having bled the Dubs dry of their cash and then get the extra kicker of €10 a head for driving them to and from Carrick. The GAA HQ should investigate this fiasco to see what pressures may have been exerted and by whom to have this pulled at the last minute. Did they not listen to the weather forecast for Sat night?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 04/04/2016 08:41:59    1841290

The buses put on by the county board was free, it was buses hired privately by some dub supporters that the fee was charged. The county board did alot of work into the pitch last week and it was passed fit by someone from croker at 6pm on Saturday evening, he should have checked it again a couple of hours later given the amount of rain falling

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 04/04/2016 09:27:53    1841308

Today FM had Busgate as the top story on their sports bulletin. It's surely someone in the bus company who got greedy. I don't believe someone from the Roscommon County Board decided to charge a tenner for the bus. Hope all got their money back and got home safe and sound.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7369 - 04/04/2016 09:35:46    1841312

Look it was a bit of an inconvenience but in no way should it be dominating headlines. I can see where the confusion arose with regard to buses. Dubs & Rossies I'm sure were glad to pay the tenner to get to the match at the time. Some astute bus owners saw the opportunity & ran with it. Fair play. The only real issue i would have is if they led people to believe they were the free buses.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 04/04/2016 09:58:48    1841323

Now ye know what the rest of us are going through when every Government spends millions on infrastructure in Dublin and the rest of us have to live on scraps.

It's mad the way all the spending is dictated entirely by only 44 TDs.

Rural politicians still selling the lines. "I'll show them there up in Dublin" gets votes I suppose.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 04/04/2016 10:32:30    1841361