Roscommon v Dublin game moved

Yew Tree. Billy is a new poster with appalling grammar. Maybe because he's in the United States or still in Natonal School ?!!!! Be patient and eventually he will be able to complete a sentence.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7370 - 03/04/2016 18:05:49    1840975

Grammy Knee don't a lot of the other counties hold training sessions in Dublin for county players who have left their own counties and migrated to Dublin. Certainly Mayo do. It's a bit rich to critise another county for managing their finances proportionally in terms of structure, coaching development and infrastruture. Then other counties spending their own allocation in Dublin, likely using said facilities.

Personally I wouldn't have a problem, with other counties not using facilites in Dublin and spending their allocations on developing local coaching systems, infrastructure and cohesive training.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 03/04/2016 18:13:27    1840983

Yeah Croigorm, season tickets were scanned no problem at the town end by two stewards. The actions of the RCB this weekend were a disgrace. That pitch was unplayable on Friday nevermind 9am this morning. A joke!

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 03/04/2016 18:15:23    1840990

Thanks Joxer. Couldn't go as the young lad had a minor hurling match but the neighbour was scanning our tickets for us!

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 03/04/2016 18:20:32    1840996

Pingcity its not your fault no need to apologise! Good game today...prob the biggest test we got!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 03/04/2016 18:27:24    1841006

I'd be delighted to be in Division One with no pitch to play on.

valley84 (Westmeath) - Posts: 1890 - 03/04/2016 18:35:31    1841018

Jackeen I just have this image of you showing off a bit of leg and throwing out a sad puppy look trying to get a lift off the Roscommon lads this morning ;-)

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 03/04/2016 18:48:29    1841026

A croke park official passed the pitch at 6pm last evening according to the dubs manager. Should have checked it again at 9pm. There was a special train from Carrick for those dubs who had gotten the train from to roscommon town. Hopefully the problem with the Hyde will be fixed for next year

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 03/04/2016 18:49:30    1841028

Jaysus jayp you're not far wrong there!! ;p

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 03/04/2016 19:05:46    1841046

Jackeen, where there's a will, there's a way ;-)

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 03/04/2016 19:20:46    1841057

Pingcity its not your fault no need to apologise! Good game today...prob the biggest test we got!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts:2912 - 03/04/2016 18:27:24 1841006

Would agree also, don't think any fans need to apologise or that decisions taken by higher powers should be used to slag any county off. Its understandable that local businesses in Roscommon would not want this match switched as extra revenue is badly needed. But Dub fans were used as the pawns .On the game it was played in good spirits considering the conditions. Great crown and good atmosphere. Roscommon kicked some lovely points at times and their second half display will have given them confidence.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 03/04/2016 19:21:29    1841060

complimentary = given free as a gift or courtesy???

centerfield (Mayo) - Posts: 360 - 03/04/2016 19:33:50    1841072

From a Rossie perspective I couldn't be any more embarrassed about what has happened. Our previous county board along with Roscommon Geals club are to blame for the state of a ground we have, However our new county board this year although an improvement have let themselves and Roscommon people down in last few days. I completely understand the frustrations of the Dubs fans we were all looking forward to Ye coming to town but Ye have been badly treated and I would like to apologies on behalf of myself and a lot of Roscommon for this farce. The pitch was in Shi*e last week against Mayo and rain for cast we should have switched this game to Croker Monday morning.
I know a lot of work was done on pitch during week trying to repair it but it was fighting a losing battle with the weather that was forecast. Coming back from under 21 game in Sligo last night there was floods on the road coming in Ros town there was no chance of game going ahead so why the county bird hadn't the balls to make statement then I'll never know.
They have also let there own fans down as we didn't know where game was going be played either to try make arrangements to attend.
If what has been reported of Dubs fans getting charged for buses from Roscommon to carrick I honestly have no words it's a dark day for Roscommon football and gaa to see fans of another team treated like that and hurts that it's my own county that I am so proud of that's involved

Pingcity (Longford) - Posts:381 - 03/04/2016 17:07:55 1840912

Ordinary decent punters like you are not to blame but your post is appreciated.
The fault lies with officialdom who hum and haw and are unable to make the right decision and this costs the fans while they make excuses.Amateur carry on unfortunately.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 03/04/2016 19:43:50    1841084

Dubh_linn

Who the hell do you think you are questioning me?

Did you make the effort to go to Roscommon today? No you're a armchair fan so dont dare and question me. If you made the effort to travel to Roscommon only to find the venue changedshortly before 2pm you'd be raging as well so you should apologise to me after smearing me with your despicable post

BlueGolconda (Dublin) - Posts:11 - 03/04/2016 17:54:36 18

Listen smartarse , I've been to more Dublin games than you will ever be at and you sound like a real bandwagon merchant.
To suggest that all matches should be played in Croke Park just shows how ignorant you are to most Dubs views on this.
I stand by my doubts about you being a Dublin poster but if you are, you are an embarrassment.Grow up and stop the arrogant rants.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 03/04/2016 19:56:20    1841092

Jaysus lads, imagine the poor dub supporters having to pay a tenner for a bus from Ross to Carrick and back. Headquarters should refund Dublin supporters in full, for any expenses incurred.

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 03/04/2016 19:57:32    1841094

No Bryanadams. Roscommon Gaa should refund them. Appreciate your support though!

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 03/04/2016 20:01:35    1841101

Id echo the comments of most that the position some Dublin fans were put in this morning was nothing short of disgraceful.

On the game itself, Given the conditions, the fact we were already through to the semis and the team that played, I was delighted to come away from that with a win.

I was delighted with the performances of Michael Fitzsimons (yet again) and Kevin O'Brien after a long time out injured. They both had really good games. Darren Daly was good too. Amazing that a player of the quality of Daly generally gets nowhere near the starting XV.

In midfield Fento and Emmet were good again.

McHugh done okay at times, Maccer too but i felt our forwards were generally average today with the exception of Mannion who was very impressive.

Also good to see O'Gara back.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 03/04/2016 20:01:47    1841102

Not really the point Bryanadams

It was supposed to be free

It wasn't... Roscommon CB are already taking steps to rectify the situation... which is to their credit.

I can only imagine what the likes of a whinging poor mouth like you would be saying about the Dublin CB, if they decided to call off a game a few hours before throw in, and instead decide to play it in Wicklow, and charge all the travelling fans money to travel to the new venue when it was promised to be free...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 03/04/2016 20:07:38    1841111

Dubh-Linn

He's no Dub.

Never that dopes message back to you

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 03/04/2016 20:09:46    1841116

Dubh-Linn

He's no Dub.

Never mind that dopes message back to you

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 03/04/2016 20:10:00    1841118