Roscommon v Dublin game moved

Jeez, the irony of dub fans complaining about travelling to Carrick. lol. How about if the dubs get to play all of their league games at home too, would that stop you whinging?

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts:724 - 03/04/2016 11:15:17

are you for real? dubs fans travelled by train this morning to Roscommon are now stranded
you have it bad with dubs , very bitter but wouldn't expect anything else from you.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 03/04/2016 11:54:50    1840726

Crazy stuff. Yes give the pitch every chance but lunchtime yesterday was when the call should have been made.
I see Ros GAA are providing a free bus to Carrick - check their Facebook page.

BigSur (Westmeath) - Posts: 1131 - 03/04/2016 11:55:23    1840727

Verry bitter responses here from the Dubs, but that is what you get when they are spolit with all home games.

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 03/04/2016 11:57:42    1840728

I was on the pitch yesterday 2pm and spoke to the groundsmen and officials.They had no doubt that the game was going ahead as planned.

worple (Roscommon) - Posts: 340 - 03/04/2016 11:59:29    1840729

A few Rossies with empty car seats could drop some of the Dublin supporters from the Roscommon train to and from Carrick and restore people's faith in GAA camaraderie? It's a boll#x decision. Don't need to be an expert to know the game wouldn't go ahead. Any supporters should be able to use their Roscommon to Dublin return part of ticket to go Carrick to Dublin after the match.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7369 - 03/04/2016 12:05:30    1840734

Verry bitter responses here from the Dubs, but that is what you get when they are spolit with all home games.

paddyogall (Mayo) - 03/04/2016 11:57:42

Huh? This is an away game. What are you talking about?

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 03/04/2016 12:10:53    1840736

Should we be surprised?? The state it was in last week the decision should of been made there and then. No way would the pitch be in a fit state for the match this weekend. One 5 minute sun shower this week would of caused it to be switched so could they not of looked at the weather for Friday/Saturday and see that constant rain was been promised?? Or were the rossies fobbing off the GAA in the hope that Some miracle would happen with the Hyde?? Very strange that they left it to this morning to make the call instead of yesterday afternoon. I feel for the Dubs who stayed over last night cos Carrick is a far better spot for a night out than Roscommon!!

Spinx (Longford) - Posts: 1236 - 03/04/2016 12:17:51    1840741

Meath had a game called off in Roscommon last year,it was called off very late and a lot of Meath supporters had travelled,so this isn't a first.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 03/04/2016 12:18:48    1840742

Jackeen

Thats a serious pain and If I were you I would get onto the GAA about that.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 03/04/2016 12:19:43    1840743

Is anyone really surprised that this game is not going ahead at Hyde Park. Bit of tomfoolery it seems going on with those who call the shots in Roscommon but I think the Dubs have every right to feel a bit p***** off that it took til the morning of the game for them to say what should have been decided after last weekends game and a quick glance at the forecast. Didn't work out for Roscommon last weekend so interesting to see does it work in their favour this time.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 03/04/2016 12:20:49    1840745

I hear there is a bus service going to be provided for travelling Dubs fans without any other transport.. If that is true, fair play to Roscommon CB making the best out of a bad situation. Although no game should have been played on that pitch.. Poor form that Roscommon and Mayo players had to play on it last week... def risked injury by doing so

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 03/04/2016 12:22:43    1840747

As I said I am with the Dubs on this,anyone calling them babies etc are having a go just for the sake of it..

Meath travelled to Roscommon last season and the game was cancelled something like an hour before throw in! Many supporters were already in Roscommon forgod sake.So if the pitch was unplayable for Ros/Dubs game yesterday like a Rossie man said,why didn't they announce it yesterday??
People spent money etc,some may not even be driving(like jackeen),but no the GAA don't care about all that do they?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 03/04/2016 12:23:34    1840748

Some serious bitter fans(from outside Dublin here) ,now I'm a Meathman and don't like seeing Dubs win etc,but a bit of cop-on is needed here..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 03/04/2016 12:25:50    1840749

Surely the GAA will be providing buses for those supporters who got the train to Roscommon last night or this morning?? Surely they had some sort of plan b in place for this eventuality.. No?

HandballRef (Donegal) - Posts: 520 - 03/04/2016 12:30:18    1840753

A f up indeed but the amount of rain that has fell from 5 pm yesterday evening has been massive. At least the are providing free buses to Carrick.

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 03/04/2016 12:38:27    1840757

Having seen the state of the Hyde last Sunday and witnessed the rain all day Friday and Friday night, you don't have to be an Einstein to know that the undrained Hyde Park pitch would be unplayable for Sunday with more rain promised later Saturday.....the decision should have been made Saturday morning at latest....Afraid to make the right decision ? Looks like it.

michael (Cork) - Posts: 381 - 03/04/2016 12:47:01    1840758

Yeah Saddam , because all travelling fans drive! Idiot! My 16 year-old nephew and his 2 friends were on that 8am train this morning. People have every right to be put out. Crawl back under your rock now.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 03/04/2016 12:51:03    1840760

Ye I'm p***** off ziggy but at least i got sorted for a lift. A Rossie just came up to me & offered me a lift fair play. Really can't see everybody making it by 2 though. Lots of Dubs & Rossies still milling about in Ros.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 03/04/2016 12:58:17    1840762

Some serious bitter fans(from outside Dublin here) ,now I'm a Meathman and don't like seeing Dubs win etc,but a bit of cop-on is needed here..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts:4878 - 03/04/2016 12:25:50 1

Fair play , truth be told we're not too put out when ye loose either but at least you have the intelligence to see beyond rivalry unlike some of the sad cases on here.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 03/04/2016 13:15:10    1840766

Some disrespectful comments by a small few of our fellow Rossies against the Dubs who deserve nothing but apologies for the mess that could and should have been avoided.

michael (Cork) - Posts: 381 - 03/04/2016 13:30:10    1840772