Crossmaglen Rangers BBC 1 Documentary

Jaysus lads give credit where credit is due. Crossmaglen is a fantastic club and to do what they did under the circumstances of a British base beside the pitch is some achievement. I remember in 2007 Louth was playing Armagh in Cross in a league match. It was an early throw in because it was on the same day as the first ever rugby match in Croker (France beat Ireland) and the Brits were flying their helicopter over the pitch during the second half of the game. During the troubles the Brits used to land their helicopters on the Cross pitch.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 23/03/2016 09:48:46    1836962

I enjoyed it-It'd have been impossible to capture every aspect of the club in an 1 hour so inevitably many potentially interesting topics were left out.

I was interested in Jamie Clarke. I've had the pleasure of seeing him in action when Armagh played my own county where he single-handedly dismantled us. Such an intelligent and mercurial player. It made me like him even more to see what an articulate, obviously clever and thoughtful guy he is off the pitch.
McConville and McEntee also came across really well. Their comments on the IRA and other personal issues showed terrific honesty and bravery.

stanley (None) - Posts: 434 - 23/03/2016 10:28:47    1836988

Whose not giving them credit? I said without doubt there the best club team the last 20 years but since Oisin stopped playing they haven't been the same team , he was the star of the team and always showed up when needed most. I argued with the poster who said they were still the best team when clearly they are not.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 23/03/2016 10:33:38    1836994

A few random thoughts:

1) Cross are a remarkable club and deserve all the credit that they get for their phenomenal consistency

2) The other Armagh clubs are a disgrace, having cowered in front of the Rangers for the last 20 years. There's not the tiniest chance that Cross would have have won nearly as many titles had they been in the likes of Tyrone of Derry for the last 2 decades, as sheer ferocity and stubbornness would have driven the other clubs in those counties to stop them on several occasions.

3) Jamie Clarke spoke very openly and bravely about his feelings, which isn't always easy to do in a very tight-knit community. His couple of minutes was easily the most interesting part of the show. The rest of them mostly seemed a bit odd to me, like they live in a little bubble. Good luck to them, and I'm sure they are very happy as they are and with their success, but it all seemed a bit surreal and insular to me.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 23/03/2016 11:48:04    1837018

A few random thoughts:

1) Cross are a remarkable club and deserve all the credit that they get for their phenomenal consistency

2) The other Armagh clubs are a disgrace, having cowered in front of the Rangers for the last 20 years. There's not the tiniest chance that Cross would have have won nearly as many titles had they been in the likes of Tyrone of Derry for the last 2 decades, as sheer ferocity and stubbornness would have driven the other clubs in those counties to stop them on several occasions.

3) Jamie Clarke spoke very openly and bravely about his feelings, which isn't always easy to do in a very tight-knit community. His couple of minutes was easily the most interesting part of the show. The rest of them mostly seemed a bit odd to me, like they live in a little bubble. Good luck to them, and I'm sure they are very happy as they are and with their success, but it all seemed a bit surreal and insular to me.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts:859 - 23/03/2016 11:48:04

I don't know your assessment of the other Armagh clubs is fair, I think they work within their own talent pools the best they can. Crossmaglen are a serious outfit in the wider Ulster pool, with only a handful of clubs capable of competing with them.

If there was more space in the Calendar, I would like to see the Ulster Senior Club Championship transform into a League competition. I don't think Crossmaglen tanking local clubs does them or anybody else any good, while playing other top clubs in Ulster would bring all players on greatly.

I think the Clubs in Dublin are really starting to benefit from playing in a really competitive environment, with players from different counties plying their footballing club trade there. Maybe the clubs in Ulster would benefit from consistently playing the other top sides in the Province, and it might bring them to the next level.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 23/03/2016 12:46:40    1837034

The other Armagh clubs are a disgrace, having cowered in front of the Rangers for the last 20 years. There's not the tiniest chance that Cross would have have won nearly as many titles had they been in the likes of Tyrone of Derry for the last 2 decades

No harm to you but that's pure nonsense, let me tell you some years when cross won ulster the hardest games they got where in Armagh.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 23/03/2016 13:33:21    1837047

No harm to you but that's pure nonsense, let me tell you some years when cross won ulster the hardest games they got where in Armagh.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts:1855 - 23/03/2016 13:33:21 183

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hmm, well, I wonder which of these Armagh county finals were tough games? Cross have been superb, but in recent years the opposition just lie down in front of them.

2015 Crossmaglen Rangers 2-22 Armagh Harps 0-10
2014 Crossmaglen Rangers 4-14 Armagh Harps 0-9
2013 Crossmaglen Rangers 0-17 St. Patrick's, Cullyhanna 0-8
2012 Crossmaglen Rangers 3-9 Pearse Óg 0-11
2011 Crossmaglen Rangers 2-22 Ballymacnab 0-3

Tyrone, on the contrary have had 6 different winners in as many years, because all the teams would move heaven and earth simply to stop their rivals achieving 2 in a row. No side has won 3 in a row in almost 40 years.

2015 Trillick 1-9 Killyclogher 0-11
2014 Omagh 1-10 Carrickmore 0-12
2013 Clonoe 3-8 Carrickmore 0-12
2012 Errigal Ciarán 0-13 Dromore 0-8
2011 Dromore 1-8 Clonoe 2-4
2010 Coalisland 0-9 Carrickmore 0-7

I'm not for a minute saying that any of those sides could have won more than Cross in the last 20 years, but I am saying that Cross' record has been helped by the reverence in which they are held by their fellow countymen.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 23/03/2016 14:06:47    1837061

Eh and how many of those "driven, stubborn" clubs have gone on to win Ulster since 2010 Tom ? None . Omagh beat Cross in 2014 and lost in the final . Only two Ulster titles have been won by Tyrone clubs . Both of those were won by a Peter Canavan led Errigal . No Tyrone club has ever made an All Ireland senior club final . Tyrone clubs might be stubborn and there may be a competitive championship but Tyrone clubs are not competitive at the highest level . Clondalkin, Ballyboden are deserved champions but Cross are not far off .

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 23/03/2016 14:24:29    1837071

Thomas Clarke, posting up results of the county final doesn't prove your point in any way eg Cross had many a tight tough battle with Cullyhanna which went to extra time and replays, but these were semi-finals!! Tyrone clubs haven't achieved at the highest level whereas Cross have beaten the best in Armagh, Ulster and Ireland. If you stand by your argument then surely it is an even more incredible feat for Cross as it means they haven't played a truly competitive game until they get into the Ulster Championship. Does this show how poor the rest of the clubs in Ulster are after all Cross are current Ulster Champions!

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 23/03/2016 14:40:42    1837077

In the 7 seasons between 2006-2012 the only club to beat Crossmaglen in Ulster was an Armagh club, it seems the reverence for them goes beyond their own county border. They are an outstanding club but I thought the documentary portrayed them as a bit dour which is far from the reality. Still, great to see GAA get coverage like this, there are many excellent stories to be told on clubs and individuals across the country and beyond.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 23/03/2016 14:41:02    1837078

Lads,full respect to Cross,but i think Thomas Clarke has a valid point.What are the other clubs in Armagh at?Is it 19/20 county championships that Cross have won?And the way things are going probably 19 of the next 20.This is not a healthy situation with one ultra dominant club winning year on year.And beating most teams out the gate as T Clarke's results indicate.
I doubt it very much if Cross would win a Tyrone,Kerry,Derry championship etc with such regularity.Not Cross' fault at all and their record in Ulster and All Ireland finals is excellent,but the Armagh championship is a bit of a joke.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 23/03/2016 14:42:08    1837079

Eh and how many of those "driven, stubborn" clubs have gone on to win Ulster since 2010 Tom ? None . Omagh beat Cross in 2014 and lost in the final . Only two Ulster titles have been won by Tyrone clubs . Both of those were won by a Peter Canavan led Errigal . No Tyrone club has ever made an All Ireland senior club final . Tyrone clubs might be stubborn and there may be a competitive championship but Tyrone clubs are not competitive at the highest level .

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts:4250 - 23/03/2016 14:24:29

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
That's a fair observation, and it all ties into the same point. Tyrone clubs generally have little interest in Ulster or AI titles. Of course, they'd like to win them, but it is viewed more as a bonus rather than something that they set out to achieve each January. Ambition for Tyrone clubs starts and ends with our own county championship. Which is why I say again, Cross would never dominate in Tyrone like they have in Armagh.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 23/03/2016 14:48:39    1837080

The farcical situation a few years ago where drumintee rounded up people wearing boots etc to play the quarter final against crossmaglen - does indeed show a sign the other armagh teams aren't fully determind

It was clashing with a wedding but they could still have played and gone back to the reception afterwards.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 23/03/2016 14:55:03    1837082

Here's a link to youtube:
Big fan of Cross but a wee bit disappointed with the documentary.
Felt more like Grand Designs with all the drone footage !
But what a club and what a story, hats off to them.
Fair play to Mr.s McConville, she was my star of the show.
For perhaps a better insight into CR, see these 2 presentations from 2012/2013 GAA coaching conference:

BigSur (Westmeath) - Posts: 1131 - 23/03/2016 15:30:03    1837097

Tyrone clubs generally have little interest in Ulster or AI titles

ah so that's why they don't win them, how convenient. Mother Ireland is rearing them yet.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 23/03/2016 15:46:30    1837108

No harm to the other counties around Ireland but if the likes of Dromintee with the o'rourkes,dyas etc Pearse ogs with ronan clarke ,andy mallon etc and going further back mullaghbawn with mcgeeney,mcnultys etc were in tyrone etc they would have won championships. It even took cross 3 attempts to beat cullyhanna a few years ago.
I will admit though that for last few years the standard has dropped and it has been easy going for cross. But to say armagh club football was always bad and gifted cross an easy route would be wrong.

On a side note Armagh currently hold the ulster club championship at Senior and Minor with crossmaglen and under 16 with clann eireann.

intothemixer (UK) - Posts: 9 - 23/03/2016 16:51:16    1837124

Tyrone clubs generally have little interest in Ulster or AI titles
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

ah so that's why they don't win them, how convenient. Mother Ireland is rearing them yet.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts:1857 - 23/03/2016 15:46:30

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Since 1970, Tyrone clubs have won only 2 Ulster clubs, and never won an AI. We've hardly even any losing finalists to boast of!

However, in the same period at intercounty, we've won 40 Ulster titles (senior, U21, minor) and 14 AI. By comparison, no other Ulster county has come to close to winning even half as many Ulster & AI titles in that period.

So, what's more likely? That Tyrone, despite being much more successful and producing more top footballers than any other Ulster county in the last 45 years, have always had dreadful club teams? Or that those teams' top priority is killing each other in their county championship? I'll stand by my point.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 23/03/2016 16:51:46    1837126

Tyrone clubs have been in several All-Ireland junior & intermediate finals over the years so must be just the senior clubs not pushed about winning All-Irelands.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 23/03/2016 17:09:32    1837129

Remarkable club, truly remarkable people, respect!

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 23/03/2016 17:19:50    1837134

Cross are a truly amazing club but I would have to agree with another poster when he suggests that it cannot be good for Armagh football to have one club dominating in such a way. Thomas Clark's stats show that there is little between the club's in Tyrone but does not indicate what the standard of senior club footbal is.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 23/03/2016 17:42:12    1837138