Crossmaglen Rangers BBC 1 Documentary

It was interesting to hear Jamie Clarke speak. Not a fan of constantly striving to win at all costs

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 22/03/2016 16:39:51    1836817

Clondalkin, time to calm down. Cross are the standard bearers for every club in Ireland. In the past twenty years they have won 19 county titles, 11 Ulster titles and six All Ireland's . They are from a small rural town in Ireland . For the past twenty years they have been incredible. No club in Dublin or anywhere else for that matter can touch their record over the last twenty years. It can't be proven but I would imagine they would take an awful lot of stopping in the Dublin championship and bear in mind they win All Irelands with locals. They don't have the dollars to attract inter county footballers from other counties nor are they interested in doing so. It was a cracking documentary. I loved Oisin McConville's line "f**k youse, we'll win an All Ireland anyway.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 22/03/2016 17:01:09    1836831

clondalkindub - I think that you need to take the blinkers off- facts demonstrate that they have been the best club team over the past 20 odd years.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 22/03/2016 17:29:02    1836840

Ah now Greengrass, the dublin championship is far far more competitive than the Armagh one is, perhaps if a team like Vincents only had to turn up and play a team of lads in jeans to get out of Dublin they may have 11 Leinsters and 6 All Irelands too.

victorkeane (Dublin) - Posts: 28 - 22/03/2016 17:36:51    1836846

Ah now Greengrass, the dublin championship is far far more competitive than the Armagh one is, perhaps if a team like Vincents only had to turn up and play a team of lads in jeans to get out of Dublin they may have 11 Leinsters and 6 All Irelands too.

victorkeane (Dublin) - Posts:27 - 22/03/2016 17:36:51 1

silly, and you know it.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 22/03/2016 18:10:31    1836861

Was an enjoyable show, probably could have done more on the players of the last 20 years than the stuff on the Traveller fight etc but that's just a minor thing. I can't compare it to other dressing rooms but I'd say we're not much different than most top teams, just a bit more fanatical consistently.

As for being the best etc, we're not this year. I don't think BB would have won so easy against us but that's supposition. History has us where we are and that's second on the roll of honour. We need to beat that and this team can but you get nothing based on the jersey you were and they'll have to have a helluva year again to win it. We'Lloyd not be too far off come 12 months time I reckon.

RangerDanger (Armagh) - Posts: 101 - 22/03/2016 18:11:56    1836862

100% Cross are the best club of the last 20 years but there not the best team right now and haven't been in 5 years lads come on , 3 different Dublin teams have been in the final since Cross last won it and there's not a hope in hell Cross would win 19 of the last twenty Dublin championships if posters believe that there deluded.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 22/03/2016 18:57:03    1836879

Dublin is way more competitive victor . But then Cross have to win Ulster which is no picnic . 6 All Irelands off what is a tiny pick of players in comparison to Dublin clubs tells it's own story . As well as that Victor if Cross were in Dublin there would be a lot less Dublin titles available for the rest of them to win .

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 22/03/2016 19:07:25    1836883

To my shame I didn't know this was on...can I view it anywhere?
I wasted my evening by watching RTE's the enemy files, The British view of 1916 which was a complete farch with commentators like Fisk comparing us to ISIS and Myers talking us down too.

Some Men's wish to be loyal and governed/a subject to a crown is something I will never understand.

yew_tree (Mayo)

I also didn't know about it Yew Tree, I'll try and get hold of it on youtube.

I agree with your sentiments. Did you hear/see David Ford from the Alliance Party saying he wouldn't take part in any Easter Rising event because he viewed it as needless violence when Home Rule was in his view "inevitable"?

You'll always find a few sympathetic to that sort of perspective. There's a poster on here from Limerick called Bloodyban who even said he'd be happy to still be part of the UK if it'd saved us from the violence of the ensuing years. There's no point in talking to some people.

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 22/03/2016 19:11:55    1836886

I missed it myself but heard on Off The Ball that it is repeated on BBC2 later tonight.I'll have a wee look then.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 22/03/2016 19:40:38    1836898

MedwayIrish, you're 100% right, this is the same David Ford who regularly attends world war commemorations etc which we all know was a bit on the violent side. The programme is repeated on bbc2 on wednesday at 11.15pm.

ps Ballyboden are the best team in Ireland this year, takes a hell of a team to win a club All Ireland. Congratulations to them and Na Pairsaigh but Cross would have loved to have won it in this commemorative year.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 22/03/2016 19:46:56    1836902

Always enjoy these kind of documentaries.what surprised me was how basic their team talks were.was expecting team talks of inter county standard.

manager5 (Galway) - Posts: 724 - 22/03/2016 20:05:17    1836908

I've heard Cross regularly poach players from neighbouring towns.
Any truth in that lads? My source is from a club who regularly locks horns with Cross in the Ulster championship so not sure if I can trust him!

Donegal_D (Donegal) - Posts: 61 - 22/03/2016 20:12:09    1836911

I agree on the tiny pick but in a small rural club you get everyone to play for the club would a Jamie Clarke born in Dublin play Gaelic football I highly doubt it, so it has its advantages as well.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 22/03/2016 20:17:16    1836916

Any truth in that lads? My source is from a club who regularly locks horns with Cross in the Ulster championship so not sure if I can trust him!

Donegal_D (Donegal) - Posts:36 - 22/03/2016 20:12:09 1

No, he's telling you lies Donegal_D. It doesn't even make sense as you have to live in the parish to play for your club.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 22/03/2016 20:24:27    1836919

I think the Jamie Clarke bit was very revealing and probably gives the answer as to why Cross haven't won an All Ireland in a few years. He's a young fella who obviously has his sights set on other things, as is his right, and maybe the hunger and fear of not letting people down if he went isn't as big as in previous eras. Look at the Dublin fellas who have left the senior panel over the past few months. These fellas have lives and interests outside football.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 22/03/2016 20:30:40    1836921

Donegal_D (Donegal) - Posts:36 - 22/03/2016 20:12:09 1

The only player that played for Cross v Castlebar who did not play all his underage football in Cross was John Murtagh. There have probably been about 5-6 players transferred in over the last 20 years and nearly all of them has had some previous family connection with the club or has married into the club.

RangerDanger (Armagh) - Posts: 101 - 22/03/2016 20:52:22    1836927

and John Murtagh comes from a Cross family, they moved to cullyhanna and he went to primary school there for a few years before moving back home to cross.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 22/03/2016 21:18:39    1836933

Thanks for clearing that up lads - Friggen rumours in Ireland ... would have you believing anything

Donegal_D (Donegal) - Posts: 61 - 23/03/2016 08:21:38    1836945

it would be good to see cross in another county to see how they get on, I would say they would give it a good run!! Dublin Championship is harder but Cross didn't decide were they come from and can only win what's ahead of them!! Fair play to the teams in the final this year but the ref was the difference... Cross still up with the best in the country

youngfella27 (Armagh) - Posts: 110 - 23/03/2016 09:36:41    1836957