U-21 Championship

Yew tree
Yes he was best newcomer in the o Byrne cup this year but only got one appearance against Kerry in the league due to under 21

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 16/04/2016 19:33:28    1846252

Thought Dublin had some very harsh decisions awarded against them late on. Mind you they have pretty much everything else in the game in their favour so ....

JJ1 (Kildare) - Posts: 547 - 16/04/2016 19:45:17    1846262

I'm over it well done Mayo and Cork it should be a great final.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 16/04/2016 20:15:20    1846273

Hill the 11 for Monaghan was outstanding you must be forgetting him? I also thought 11 for Cork was very impressive as well.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 16/04/2016 20:37:25    1846281

Two great games today. Disappointed for the lads today, they gave their all, best team on the day won both matches (just), should be a great final

GAA hierarchy are like the government here, making decisions [for our own good] regardless of the wishes of majority. Nobody wants this competition to go. Muppets

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 16/04/2016 21:32:30    1846298

Corks senior footballers get very little support so I can't imagine their u21's will get much which is a pity. They deserve it.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 16/04/2016 21:33:39    1846299

Great game Dublin v Mayo real character in Mayo to pull that one out. I was surprised at the abuse Mayo supporters were giving ref at f/t. They were particularly annoyed at a free against DOC in 2nd half. I thought Mayo got their frees coming to the end and good luck to them. I saw a man running onto the pitch at f/t a steward got tangled up with him and the man started kicking and punching. Eventually he calmed down and two stewards were escorting him off and a woman came up grabbed him and gave the steward a slap. The steward stood looking at her not knowing what to do.

theduke66 (Dublin) - Posts: 334 - 16/04/2016 21:47:14    1846304

Hill the 11 for Monaghan was outstanding you must be forgetting him? I also thought 11 for Cork was very impressive as well.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts:7323 - 16/04/2016 20:37:25 1846281

Our no. 11 was Barry McGinn, he had a great game alright. Underage next year again too. Plenty of talent on show across both games today.

Disappointing result for our lads today. The defence just wasn't as tight as it had been through Ulster, but you have to credit the Cork attack with causing them so much bother. Shame it had to end, but it's been a good u21 campaign. There's a good few future seniors in our team today I'd say. McGinn, McCarthy and McAnespie are already on the panel, and hopefully we'll see more of them in the summer. The attack was our strongest part of this group of lads, and there's definitely encouraging signs there that lads are coming up to help take the burden off McManus.

It's just a shame though after seeing two great games today and the quality of the provincial finals too, that this grade is being scrapped. Awful decision.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 16/04/2016 21:58:53    1846305

Not having the advantage of playing at home like their seniors usually have for every game makes it a bit more difficult for the young Dubs.

HEREBENJI (Donegal) - Posts: 422 - 17/04/2016 12:44:09    1846366

HEREBENJI

3 U21 All Ireland's since the turn of the decade, not 1 game played in Croker Park. Now run along...

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 17/04/2016 13:29:01    1846379

Not having the advantage of playing at home like their seniors usually have for every game makes it a bit more difficult for the young Dubs.

HEREBENJI (Donegal) - Posts:230 - 17/04/2016 12:44:09 1846366

too right and if Dublin can't be given home advantage there should at least be an increase in funding to Dublin , well one stupid statement deserves another .
Congrats Mayo, venue had nothing to do with who won or lost well played , go on and win the damn thing now.

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 17/04/2016 13:35:21    1846380

Clondalkin he was monaghan best player alright but for me only the three guys showed they would be top level in next few years. I think the monaghan guy is younger though so give him time.
but I don't but into all the hysteria over the games yesterday it reminds me of hurling games in the media that are close they are automatically labelled classics or epic just because they were close open games
Yet the truth can often be that the standard of the play is often poor which leads to that type of game.
yesterday had two open good to watch games of football but the actual standard of the football wasn't high. Their was drama and high scores but the quality of football wasn't great for me. Some very average tackling and passing particularly was poor.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 17/04/2016 13:38:27    1846381

Well done Mayo, some very talented players , we were a bit light defensively yesterday I felt that after the Meath game and was worried.
But good game and our lads will learn from it.
Best of luck in the final.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 17/04/2016 14:05:02    1846384

Congrats to Mayo on their victory.
Cork will present another big challenge in the final.May the best team win.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 17/04/2016 14:11:28    1846386

I wouldn't be too sorry for the Kilkenny players either.I can't get my head around a loss like that.In hurling it's easier to rack up a big score than football.How can 15 young lads concede 17 -20?I'm not giving the players a pass on that one.And did they score a point or not?
A goal conceded every 3.5 mins and a point conceded every 3 minutes?How is it possible?Was it the camogie under 14 team that togged out?No way jose,i'm not accepting a 70 point loss in football.Holy moley lads it's a frightening scoreline.No excuses for that nonsense.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 17/04/2016 14:21:51    1846390

Benji showing us all how knowledgeable he is on our under 21s bless him. Well done Mayo. Hugely enjoyable game. Not the desired result but contrary to popular belief ye cant win em all! COYBIB

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 17/04/2016 15:16:34    1846400

As much as Dublin fans might not like to acknowledge it your senior football team do get home advantage in all important games they play which is a huge advantage. Along with their huge advantage in playing numbers and resources its surprising you dont win the all Ireland every year and kind of amazing that you are behind Kerry in the role of honour.

It would be like putting Man Utd in league 1 and allowing them to play all games in Old Trafford. Sounds absurd but thats whats happening.

HEREBENJI (Donegal) - Posts: 422 - 17/04/2016 15:33:42    1846407

Start yet another thread on it so benji and stop hijacking this one good lad!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 17/04/2016 16:09:40    1846426

it looks like mayo will win senior, minor and u21 football all-Irelands this year. and snow in april . well done old moore.

liner (Mayo) - Posts: 756 - 17/04/2016 19:03:17    1846489

We got to see the superb Dublin U-21 teams first hand in 2010,2012,2014 many of which went on to produce plenty of senior footballers. Quick question for the Dubs here, how would yesterday Dublin U-21 team compare to those 3 Dublin AL U21 winning teams and how many of yesterdays team will go on to play senior?

Well done to our neighbours Mayo and go on and win the AL now. We beat Cork in 2014 and Galway beat Cork in 2013 the current Cork team is very similar to those sides and its really a final Mayo should win.

ispeakwisdom (Roscommon) - Posts: 2487 - 17/04/2016 19:21:42    1846494