U-21 Championship

Any word on the semi final venues I'm presuming Portlaoise for Cork and Monaghan and Mullingar/Longford for Mayo and Dublin

BigJohn.6_8 (Galway) - Posts: 704 - 08/04/2016 11:33:29    1843381

I imagine Jack O'Connor had little choice bar blooding so many of the young players on account of the injuries that was rife in the Kerry U-21 squad this year. Fair play to Cork on another title but with 12 of the 15 Kerry players under age next year I have little doubt they will end their hoodoo at the grade very soon and an AI will most likely follow. The last 2 minor teams were as good as I have seen and Kerry have the right management in place. I would compare Donegal to being in a similar situation. Even though last years minors did not come out of Ulster they were a talented bunch as were the previous years who Kerry beat in the AI final. I see both team having a big say at provincial and AI level over the next 2 years. Similarly Donegal had a few injuries which did not help their cause this year.

Well done to Mayo, Monaghan and Dublin. I know it is hard to gauge the different provinces but my hunch is that Connaught probably was the strongest and would make them fav's at this stage. Reading above some were not happy with the refereeing in the Connaught final. This is a big issue in the GAA for me. Most of the referees are just not up to it. In the Ulster semi final Donegal had 2 red cards and Tyrone black cards. The general consensus was even though the 2 teams have a history it was not a dirty game and ruined any chance Donegal had. Seen it in the league too, poor officiating is rife. I think it is a great pity the grade does not get more media coverage especially on TV. T Na G must be commended on their GAA coverage but would love to see this extended to provincial U-21 games as well. All 4 finals were apparently very entertaining and I believe there is a big interest out there to see these games.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 08/04/2016 11:40:13    1843390

Any TV station/programme showing highlights of under 21 football finals ?

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 08/04/2016 12:13:34    1843412

Any TV station/programme showing highlights of under 21 football finals ?

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts:97 - 08/04/2016 12:13:34

I think TG4 are next Monday night.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 08/04/2016 13:32:58    1843454

I guess Kurt that Jack is looking at the medium term. We have a group composed of two All Ireland winning minor team so the experience they gained from the three matches this year will surely stand to them again in 2017...

...I've great faith in Jack O'Connor. I think he is one of the greatest managers to ever patrol a sideline so I'm confident he has a plan and knows what he is doing.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts:1257 - 08/04/2016 11:02:04

The question is, did he bring in too many too quickly? From an overall Kerry perspective, you'd imagine they're looking at having a solid progression plan in place but I find it hard to believe any manager would buy into this to the detriment of current success at their own level.

I think O'Connor has proven his credentials as a manager but I still think constructive criticism is not unwarranted.

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 08/04/2016 13:35:01    1843457

Any word on the venues for the semi's Id really love to see them both if possible!

BigJohn.6_8 (Galway) - Posts: 704 - 08/04/2016 13:40:24    1843461

Indeed Kerry have a young side and a very good side and will probably start the next campaign as favourites (as they did this one). However, less anybody follows Jimmy Flloyd predictions and say that they will beat each team by 10-15 points we should remember that Cork also have players that are underage next year - about 8/9 of the players that featured at some stage last night. Tipperary also exist. They were champions up to last night. Limerick have shown that they are fine team and Clare despite being hammered by Cork are on the up - people said that Cork had an easy run to the final - ya going to play in Cooraclare on a Wednesday night in March is easy! Kerry had all their games at home this year meaning they play away next year. Not a major issue that. However if Kerry do win the Munster next year they will earn it.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 08/04/2016 13:51:01    1843470

Benny I remember a debate going on here last year about Cork and I was saying the same thing.

A fella like James Horan would make Cork a serious powerhouse again. I always felt yer Achilles heal was the caliber of senior managers ye had.

Nice honorable fella's the likes of Counihan, Cuberett etc were just not the same standard as those who have been in charge of Kerry, Dublin, Donegal.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts:1257 - 08/04/2016 11:06:11

Counihan was ok to be fair. Cuthbert wasn't suitable really for the job.

Regards Peadar Healy - I know very little about him. I know that he is/was involved with the Glengarriffe club as he lives there (his home club is Ballyvourney - Naomh Aban). They are a junior A club (a poor one at that). He also was a selector with Cork before. I am not sure what other experience he has..he has never coached a Cork underage team. I do know that. Wikipedia (you get desperate when you search wiki for info on your own county manager) says he was involved with O'Donovan Rossa (Skibbereen) and Killarney Crokes...

Can you or anybody confirm if that is true or not?

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 08/04/2016 13:55:57    1843475

Well Kurt, I suppose whatever plan Jack had/has his hand was also forced last night into playing a lot of young lads because of the huge amount of injuries (particularly in defense) that the U-21 panel was dealing with.

So taking that on board, the age profile of the group and how close they actually were to Cork: I don't think there will be or should be too much criticism of Jack down here.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 08/04/2016 14:02:59    1843480

Any word on the venues for the semi's Id really love to see them both if possible!

BigJohn.6_8 (Galway) - Posts:504 - 08/04/2016 13:40:24

Double header in Tullamore tomorrow week.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 08/04/2016 14:10:25    1843483

Well done to Cork last night on their win, they absolutely dominated us the 20 minutes and in truth should have been further ahead at that stage. Kerry showed great character in the face of adversity but on the balance of play Cork were the stronger team

Re:Jack He had no choice but to blood the players from the Minor winning teams. It's not as if we have a production line of elite young talent every year like other teams. 1 Munster U21 in 14 years is proof of this. Hopefully the disappointment of last night will spur these lads on next year and the future ahead.

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 08/04/2016 14:30:03    1843501

Great win by Cork last night, pity thought we had a good chance to break the u21 hoodoo last night but not to be.
Just shows that Cork minor teams that put it up to Kerry were not that far away either the last few years.

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 08/04/2016 16:26:05    1843545

Almost a great comeback by Kerry but all credit to Cork and much congrats to them...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 08/04/2016 16:37:14    1843550

I was sure Portlaoise would get the Cork game as it would be more central and practical for both teams also it could be played under lights which would add to the atmosphere...Tullamore is a long trip for the mayo fans as well ...This doesn't make sense ...speaking to intercounty players as well they don't really like O'connor park as a venue #strange choice!

BigJohn.6_8 (Galway) - Posts: 704 - 08/04/2016 16:39:04    1843553

Ballaghadereen to tullamore is 122 Kms

Dublin to tullamore is 100 kms

Now are we really going to start giving out about 22 k's in the deference? I accept if you live in Belmullet it's a spin but Belmullet is a spin to the other side of Mayo so what ya gonna do?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 08/04/2016 16:58:29    1843560

clondalkindub - We are well used to traveling long distances to support Mayo. No complaints this end. Hoping for a good game as generally Mayo v Dublin games are....if nothing short on excitment.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 08/04/2016 17:24:30    1843567

The semi finals are up this weekend. It would be another major step forward for Monaghan football if we could beat Cork. Hopefully we will. Should be 2 good games!

Monaghan Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 442 - 14/04/2016 12:46:06    1845507

BigJohn.6_8
Maybe we talk to different people, because I've spoken to a few guys myself who are quite fond of O'Connor Park as a venue to play in. Admittedly, the grass bank behind one of the goals takes away a little bit in terms of atmosphere, as opposed to the terraces in Portlaoise (for instance) but its not often that you would get attendances big enough to really make full use of the behind goal areas. The dressing room facilities are significantly better than most county grounds (that I'm aware of). I know Galway hadn't got a particularly good record there either, so I'm wondering if this is part of the reason why some of those you've spoken to aren't so keen on it.

OffalyBigBall (Offaly) - Posts: 625 - 14/04/2016 13:08:16    1845524

If you read back on page one of this thread you will see i have been fairly spot on thus far and i still believe it will a Cork v Mayo U21 final and with Mayo adding U-21 All Ireland to the minor one they won 3 years ago.

Results tomorrow i expect two high scoring close games with plenty of goals. Mayo 2-12 Dublin 1-14, Cork 3-9 Monaghan 1-11

Mr_Pundit (UK) - Posts: 677 - 15/04/2016 19:35:57    1846036

We didn't concede a goal in Ulster, I'd be a bit surprised if we let in three today.

Two things which this Monaghan group have that most before them haven't had, is a winning mentality and alot of scoring potential, so I'm interested to see how they do on the national stage. Cork today will be a massive test, but our lads will give it a good lash. Hoping for two good games.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 16/04/2016 09:54:16    1846078