U-21 Championship

Mulloly correct black card by letter of rules was changing he will be a future star.
Refereeing was poor for both sides in my opinion
It was a good match with many many future stars on show for both sides.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 03/04/2016 10:29:55    1840682

One of the most entertaining games I've seen in a long time on Saturday. Heartbreaking way for the lads to lose but fair play to the Dubs for turning it around late on in the first half. Seem to have the same horrible habit that other Dublin teams have in following up goals with a couple of scores in quick succession which can completely deflate the opposition.

Sherry could have nicked with the goal chance at the end of normal time but Dublin could just as easily have been out of sight with some of the goal chances they missed.

Same old failings as the senior team for us really, too open down the middle, carrying the ball into trouble, simple mistakes and gave away possession easily at times and were too reliant on 1 or 2 players to take on scoring chances.

Surely only a matter of time before Mikey Quinn actually starts a couple of games with his club now that he has a Leinster medal...

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 04/04/2016 19:49:43    1841789

What a win for the Farney last night I was up in the area fro Work well in navan so I decided to tip over to it...

find game in the conditions with a right good crowd ...Monaghan were slightly hungrier which gave them the edge but Tyrone have some really classy footballers and I'd say the more talent over all.

Conor McCarthy for Monaghan is a fine player and could easily step up to be a senior star this year yet...

Niall Loughman is midfield is another superb player and a fine unit of a chap.

Rooney number 7 for the farney is another fine player...

Tyrone have special players all over the team in Mcshane ,Kavanagh, Mulgrew and Brennan and despite the defeat it will please Mickey Harte no end that these boys are coming through.

Great advert for the u21 game and well worth the money ...

BigJohn.6_8 (Galway) - Posts: 704 - 07/04/2016 11:06:51    1842938

Great game last night in testing conditions, and a well deserved win for Monaghan. Delighted for a great bunch of players, who have now beaten Tyrone in Ulster minor and u21 finals.

The biggest thing for me is that this group have none of the hangups of playing against our Ulster rivals, and have a winners mindset which is huge for the players progressing to the senior team. McCarthy, McGinn and McAnespie have already broken onto the senior panel from the forwards, and I'd say you'll see others coming through from defence and midfield soon.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 07/04/2016 12:16:55    1842969

Kerry and Monaghan semi final should be good. Kerry to beat cork about 10-15 points. Jack oconnor to boost the curriculim vitae when he takes over from Fitz

JimmyFloyd (Wexford) - Posts: 50 - 07/04/2016 18:42:58    1843201

Sounded like another excellent final in Munster tonight in front of a very decent crowd. Well done to Cork on a great win, Kerry now gone 8 years without a provincial title at this level. Semi-final looks hard to call with both teams having played 2 one-sided games before their only real test in their provincial final, but both have done all they have needed to so far.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 07/04/2016 21:04:23    1843263

Nice win for the rebels. ...long may it continue
Kermit.... coodarock and jimmy floydhasslelbang all wrong
When the going gets tough...the tough get going

Now we'll see the kingdom whine (awww shure it's only a game)

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 07/04/2016 21:12:19    1843269

Only 10-15 points Jimmy Floydd!

To be fair to you and others, given who is their backroom team, given that they have won two All Ireland minor titles in a row, given they hammered us in the minor final of two years ago and given that they beat us like a drum at senior level most people would have thought we wouldn't keep the ball kicked out to them.

Few people remember who play in Munster minor semifinals but anybody present in Tralee last year would have seen a very very unlucky and narrow defeat to Cork (1 point AET) which would have knocked Kerry out of a competition they went on to cruise to after their only tea challenge (not saying we would have went on to win it - too late for ifs and buts - Kerry were worthy winners).

It is now 9 years since Kerry last won one at tho grade. There maybe some element of pressure on them. They assembled a juggernaut set up to win the thing which adds to the expectancy in a place where nothing short of outright success is acceptable. Kerry played very well in an absorbing game but missed key chances at times (unlucky not get another goal - great goal line save from Kieran Histon). Perhaps they were not as composed as they might otherwise be (and have been). I don't know.

I am thrilled that we won. We so badly needed it (football in Cork) after some shocking games in the national league. There is no way we deserved to lose two championship games in Tralee by a point either (last year minor and tonight). Kerry got the breaks the last time and we got them tonight. In the first half today we were better and I felt that 5 points might have been a better reflection of that instead of 3. Kerry were better in the second half but we scored at the right times which hurt them.

Hard luck to Kerry. Very enjoyable for us. Delighted with it.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 07/04/2016 21:22:02    1843275

Good man JimmyFloyd....very revealing prediction of Kerry/Cork result by u!!!

eaglehaslanded (Cork) - Posts: 135 - 07/04/2016 21:41:15    1843287

So much for that Jimmy.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 07/04/2016 21:42:20    1843288

Good man rockies,nice to see you've a sense of humour ya langer ya.Bit of give and take.
What a remarkable achievement for Cork to dump their old nemesis out of the Munster U21 football championship for the sixth year in a row.Kerry have dominated the senior and,minor to a lesser extent,but Cork are certainly top dogs at this grade.I don't ever remember Kerry being beaten for six long years by anybody so hats off to Cork on a scarcely believable statistic.
I thought the time had come for Kerry to exact some revenge,especially in front of their own,but goal hungry Cork had other ideas,and will fancy going all the way now.A nice reminder to all of us who castigate Cork football from time to time (including myself) that their could be a sleeping giant waiting to tranform its underage success to senior.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 08/04/2016 09:17:48    1843320

Cork were physically stronger and able to open us up too easily for their goals.

So can't have too much complaints about last night but it is always tough to lose such a close match. After a terrible opening 20 minutes, Kerry really got into their stride and I thought they could have snatched it.

But as Bennybunny said above, Cork got vital scores at the right time to keep themselves on track.

Look this was always going to be a two year project. I think 12 of the team from last night are straight up from minor, they'll be even better again after another year of development and growth. I'm expecting them to have a serious say in the U-21 All Ireland next year.

Cork will be hard stopped on last night's showing. And they certainly have the hex over us at this grade at the moment.

But look 12 of the All Ireland wining panel in 2014 were on the field that infamous night in 2012 when Cork annihilated us in the U-21's.

Swings and roundabouts...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 08/04/2016 09:51:36    1843332

Cork 10 u21football munsters in last 13 years

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 08/04/2016 09:58:12    1843336

Nice win for the rebels. ...long may it continue
Kermit.... coodarock and jimmy floydhasslelbang all wrong
When the going gets tough...the tough get going

Now we'll see the kingdom whine (awww shure it's only a game)

Rockies (Cork) - Posts:133 - 07/04/2016 21:12:19 1843269

Ah sure Kerry probably weren't trying to win it....

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 08/04/2016 10:05:21    1843339

So the question really is "do Cork overachieve at football" ?

We all know that hurling is number 1 in Cork but what other county wins so many underage titles and constantly beats the greatest footballing county of them all all the time?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 08/04/2016 10:05:35    1843340

Look this was always going to be a two year project. I think 12 of the team from last night are straight up from minor, they'll be even better again after another year of development and growth.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts:1253 - 08/04/2016 09:51:36 1843332

Is that maybe part of the problem - promoting minor player to starting positions at u-21 straight away? I remember Dessie did the same when he became the Dubs u-21 manager, promoting several minors and dropping 5 (if memory serves) lads who had won the u-21 All-Ireland the previous year. He came in for a bit of stick for that. He then went on to win the u-21 final the next year, which could be seen as a vindication of sorts or that he learned from his mistakes.

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 08/04/2016 10:44:11    1843355

The U21 championship has been excellent so far, with four great provincial finals. It's a pity that some of these games haven't been live on TV. Also it defies logic that the GAA has now decided to discontinue this championship, while maintaining the hurling counterpoint. They've already more or less "killed" the dual player anyhow, so why couldn't the U21 football championship be arranged a little later in the year, after the third level competitions and the national league?

football first (None) - Posts: 1259 - 08/04/2016 10:45:48    1843357

Exactly the hermit.

Ye have done a much better job of converting under 21s to senior. We have won something like 10 Munster champions since 2003 but only have 2 All-Irelands won. That is only one more than Kerry who have a solitary Munster. I get the feeling that kerry would convert more All-Irelands than Cork would and ye have a better senior team than we have. We really need to get our act together. I would love if we had Jimmy McGuinness, James Horan, Jack O'Connor are someone like that to come in take over for 5 years -pick his own selectors and backroom team and just take the whole show on.

We have what we have though so you'll excuse us if we get over excited about last night. If you were Cork football supporter you'd feel the same way...

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 08/04/2016 10:57:36    1843364

I guess Kurt that Jack is looking at the medium term. We have a group composed of two All Ireland winning minor team so the experience they gained from the three matches this year will surely stand to them again in 2017.

Also Kerry use the Juniors as a sort of under 23 squad, so I would say a few of the players on show last night will be included into that panel while the likes of Killian Spillane might be pushed through to the senior panel for the Championship.

I've great faith in Jack O'Connor. I think he is one of the greatest managers to ever patrol a sideline so I'm confident he has a plan and knows what he is doing.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 08/04/2016 11:02:04    1843368

Benny I remember a debate going on here last year about Cork and I was saying the same thing.

A fella like James Horan would make Cork a serious powerhouse again. I always felt yer Achilles heal was the caliber of senior managers ye had.

Nice honorable fella's the likes of Counihan, Cuberett etc were just not the same standard as those who have been in charge of Kerry, Dublin, Donegal.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 08/04/2016 11:06:11    1843370